Old 22-07-2013, 01:52 AM   #1
Spudz27
Call me Spud

Default Peoples perception of Technology

I am sitting here thinking to myself how is it that people have this perception of technology, that it changes every second. In some respects yes, in others not so much. Take laptops for example, I sell them for a living and am forever getting people say to me that their laptop will be old the minute they walk out the door, not necessarily. I bought a laptop on the weekend for my partner, now we sell this laptop for $1100. I have a dell xps15z which I bought 2yrs ago for $1290. Now you would expect my dell to be outdated and worthless. However my 2yr old dell, would run rings around almost any laptop in the range of $600-$1000. Maybe not a fair comparison, but remember I am comparing a laptop bought 2yrs ago with laptops up to $1000 now. My dell has full 1080p, 8gb DDR3, 7200rpm HDD, 2.6ghz I5 2nd gen, GT570m, all USB 3.0 etc

I just returned a samsung which I paid $850 for, it has 3rd Gen I5 2.6, 8gb ram, 2GB Radeon Hybrid graphics, HDD was only 5500rpm. It was pathetically slow, no 1080p etc.

I swapped this for an ASUS, with A8 Quad Core 2.1ghz, 8gb ram, 1GB 7920g and 1GB 7920m, 2 x USB 3.0. Whilst the Asus does run quicker than the samsung, just. It is still miles behind my Dell and it retails for $1099.

Yet people have this perception that their $1300 laptop from 2yrs ago is **** and they must upgrade, and a $650 laptop today would be just as good as their $1200 laptop. Whilst my job is to sell people these things, I have also saved people money by explaining that their perception is wrong and that their 2yr old laptop is more than capable of doing what they want. It just seems to be this mindset of, "oh it's old technology, so it must be crap"

Spudz27 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-07-2013, 04:18 AM   #2

Default Re: Peoples perception of Technology

Kind of like when people ask me why I don't have iPhone 5 yet (have iPhone 4S). I explain that unless it makes calls and sends texts better than my iPhone 4, I don't need to upgrade. Cue baffled looks.

Old 22-07-2013, 06:57 AM   #3

my old PIII500E 128 ram is just as fast as my I core5 4 gig ram

but its the softwear that slows them down, win98 is less bloated than win7..

your two year older one spuds probably runs XP the newie would be win8?
Old 22-07-2013, 07:22 AM   #4

Originally Posted by Iggypoppin' View Post
Kind of like when people ask me why I don't have iPhone 5 yet (have iPhone 4S). I explain that unless it makes calls and sends texts better than my iPhone 4, I don't need to upgrade. Cue baffled looks.
What is this " iphone" you speak of ? I've still got the bag phone with the brick battery
Old 22-07-2013, 08:46 AM   #5
ILLaViTaR

nothing more frustrating seeing an old fella dismiss electrical technology for mechanical technology due to it's "overwhelming complexity" despite the laws/mechanics being identical between the two.

An i7 2500k/3570k and whatever the new haswell equivalent have all sat steady in price for the last 3 or so years. I bought my rig a year ago and it was cheaper back then than it is now, because back then Taiwanese DDR3 warehouses weren't getting flooded with water or space aliens or whatever magical excuse they've come up with yet again this time to mark up the old tech.
Old 22-07-2013, 09:36 AM   #6

Originally Posted by buggerlugs View Post
What is this " iphone" you speak of ? I've still got the bag phone with the brick battery
I long had a Nokia 3315 but it succumbed to getting dropped off a balcony onto cement then run over by a forklift, so Optus gave me a brand new iPhone for nothing I wasn't about to say no unless I could find another 3315. No such luck so I accepted my free phone

Old 22-07-2013, 10:04 AM   #7
Spudz27
Call me Spud

Originally Posted by burnz View Post
my old PIII500E 128 ram is just as fast as my I core5 4 gig ram

but its the softwear that slows them down, win98 is less bloated than win7..

your two year older one spuds probably runs XP the newie would be win8?
2yr old one is running windows 7 64bit. Asus is on 8. The first thing I do before I even get on the net with a new laptop is get rid of all the unecessary junk they install. The other thing is my Dell has 2yrs worth of crap on it without so much as a defrag or disk clean. This asus is brand new with no more than avast, steam and utorrent.
Old 22-07-2013, 10:59 AM   #8

Depends on what you want to use your 'technology' for.

My Asus laptop from 2004 still works fine, has XP, all the stickers and still looks the part (white composite case, 12" screen). When I used to use it as a daily many people thought it was a Mac of sorts.

My current Acer laptop is what... 4 years old?? Still use it every day, and it's fine. Never been formatted and would probably work a whole lot faster if it got re-set.

Only downfall for both machines is the batteries. The Asus ones are caput, the Acer one is on its last legs. Doesn't phase me as they are always 'desktop' machines. I have another 10" Acer for when I'm out and about...

I generally hold onto phones till they are dead or broken, generally 3 years per handset.

The problem is, there are some very I'll informed people out there that consider their own needs and opinions over what the needs of another person wants...

My brother needed to update his ancient desktop machine that was used to generate invoices and keep track of his business. No internet, no other software needed.

When it blew I told him that the local Hardly Normal had a left over display machine with windows XP, 17" LCD screen, mini tower with specs that surpassed his old machine by 500% for $299. Told him to best grab it while it's still there.

Went to buy it, came back with a $1000 laptop on the advice of the 'salesperson'..... Apparently the $299 machine would be 'useless' in a year or 2 and only good for a school kid to play some basic games....

This was several years ago but the sentiment is still the same.

The thirst for more and more mega pixels in digital cameras (and all most people know is that 'more means better')... yet 90% of pictures stay in their digital format and looked at on computer screens / Facebook where a 12mp picture means squat.

Phones with ever increasing screens. I think Apple have got it right with the Iphone and trying their best to keep the screen size small. You see mobiles getting as big as 7" tablets and then they become a 2 hand device that is more cumbersome and prone to breaking. I just upgraded my 4.3" phone to 4.8 inches and hate it... too big! I will go back to a 4.3" screen or even a 4" screen next. Bigger isn't always better.

Old 22-07-2013, 02:52 PM   #9
MattsDisturbed
Bseries

I wonder if it has anything to do with the demographic of where your workplace is? I also sell laptops at a particular retailer and most customers I speak to have had their existing technology products and systems for up to 8 - 10 years between upgrades.
I feel being in the country/rural area, there is more of a "if it ain't broke" attitude to many things, information technology in particular.

Check it out:
http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11336211
MattsDisturbed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-07-2013, 04:11 PM   #10

a lot of the old stuff still does the basic stuff no worries, my pc i bought good parts years ago for a gaming machine,it is all but useless for the high power demand games now days that require 18 jigawatts of of megabytes to run the graphics , but it still works grouse for mostly every thing else, we have been conditioned to upgrade all the time,
the conditioning probably started out with cars, any one see that detroit documentary posted?
Old 22-07-2013, 04:29 PM   #11
Spudz27
Call me Spud

Originally Posted by MattsDisturbed View Post
I wonder if it has anything to do with the demographic of where your workplace is? I also sell laptops at a particular retailer and most customers I speak to have had their existing technology products and systems for up to 8 - 10 years between upgrades.
I feel being in the country/rural area, there is more of a "if it ain't broke" attitude to many things, information technology in particular.
I am rural as well, but rural city. The ones in town (50,000 odd people) are the upgraders and everything is outdated the minute they buy it. The ones from surrounding towns etc are the ones who have had their pc, laptop, printer etc for 6-8yrs.

Selling a camera is usually good for a laugh "oh I want 20mp, not that one with 12" but madam, are you ever going to enlarge your photo's?
"No no, just 6x4 and the odd 8x12"
"Ok mam, then megapixels is not a concern as you will see no difference between this with 20 and this with 12.1. However the camera with 12.1 has a 20x optical zoom vs the other which only has 8x"
"Oh zoom doesn't bother me, my friend said that the more mp is better and their camera has 25x digital zoom which is more"

At that point I just sell them the 20mp camera lol.

Last edited by Spudz27; 22-07-2013 at 04:34 PM.
Old 22-07-2013, 04:37 PM   #12
GASWAGON

I HATE texting on my new smart phone with the new touch sensitive screen.... I just make calls now....And I cannot keep up with all this technology they keep throwing at us. Not to mention the costs and the plastic waste in ensures!
GASWAGON is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-07-2013, 09:06 PM   #13
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

I can go even better than that.

My mobile phone’s so old I have to but a bloody coin in it.
Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-07-2013, 11:07 PM   #14

Originally Posted by Full Noise View Post

My mobile phone’s so old I have to but a bloody coin in it.
Pfft, give that old phone of yours to Chuck Norris. He'll touch it with one hand and turn it into an Iphone 6!
duaned is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-07-2013, 11:35 PM   #15

Originally Posted by Iggypoppin' View Post

I long had a Nokia 3315 but it succumbed to getting dropped off a balcony onto cement then run over by a forklift, so Optus gave me a brand new iPhone for nothing I wasn't about to say no unless I could find another 3315. No such luck so I accepted my free phone
I think I still have my old Nokia 3315 around here somewhere.
pauljh74 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-07-2013, 11:50 PM   #16
Bulletime

Yeah definitely the marketing of more megabytes gigahertz CPUs pixels etc etc more more more is better. Combine that with most ppl having no idea about tech and it overwhelms them.

Then there's planned obsolescence where batteries or screens die or the specs not being enough (for phones) to keep up with the OS upgrades. Notice how everything now days does after warranty, toasters die on me all the time out of warranty.
Bulletime is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-07-2013, 12:06 AM   #17

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Can't think of anyone more deserving. Russ Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the technical support behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Technical submission 

It's a completely different story for enterprise computing. A 20% improvement in compute performance or a 10% reduction in power consumption can make a massive difference to the costs of IT.

You can reduce the number of machines and run them on less power.
Old 23-07-2013, 08:30 AM   #18

Originally Posted by pauljh74 View Post
I think I still have my old Nokia 3315 around here somewhere.
I may be interested if you want to offload it. Pm me.

Old 23-07-2013, 10:40 AM   #19

Yeah bloody good those old nokias, only retired my old silver one this year still working fine, my bro dropped his out of his pocket getting into the work ute , his offsider promptly ran it over with the back wheel, he pulled it out of the dirt and give it a clean up and it still worked.............. true story ;).
Old 23-07-2013, 12:55 PM   #20
GASWAGON

This morning I found an old ASUS laptop in the top of a wheelie bin.... Took it to local puta shop and he took the battery out, plugged in power and it started.... Has got Windows XP on it.... I asked him if he could load up Windows 7 or 8 and he said no cos the puta is only worth $150.....I couldn't believe it..... Am still going to get him to check it over and fix the login for me.... I don't need a new puta with all that wizzbang tech crap... Just give me XP and i'll be fine.
GASWAGON is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-07-2013, 01:37 PM   #21
Lotte
YE-US! Wait. I don't know

I still have an old Microbee computer. I need to fix it (as in, some soldering on a single piece of board and the thing is done - hopefully), but once it's fixed, it will be my gaming machine.
The Weekender: '06 BF Pursuit, Toxic, lumpy af

Lotte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-07-2013, 03:33 PM   #22
Kable72
Parts Interpreter

I just upgrade my PC as I go along. Had my previous Motherboard and CPU since '10, Added a second 5870, subbed them out for a 6870 then crossfired them, upgraded motherboard and CPU just recently and looking to upgrade to a 7970 after tax time. Then looking at adding an SSD for streaming and windows.

Upgrade if you can, replace if you cannot. Most of your components will still be current as it will use similar hardware to be compatible with newer stuff. It's often cheaper to upgrade than it is to replace completely.
Old 26-07-2013, 04:09 PM   #23

Still using my 2008 MacBook Pro. I used it for our technology business back then when it was the latest and greatest. Used it for capturing videos, ripping all my families CDs, then went through a 4 yr psychology degree, downloaded many TV shows, spent many hours on Ford Forums, and it's now getting me through my MBA program. No plans to replace it. People who say they need the latest gadget for school make me laugh. I had an iPhone 3G when it first came out. Now back to using my 2007 Samsung flip phone. It has a camera on it! I find myself caring less about technology to be honest. I want good quality things (like my new Yamaha receiver and Ascend Acoustics speakers), not necessarily the latest gimmicky gadgets.
Old 26-07-2013, 04:23 PM   #24

Originally Posted by Lotte View Post
I still have an old Microbee computer. I need to fix it (as in, some soldering on a single piece of board and the thing is done - hopefully), but once it's fixed, it will be my gaming machine.
Oh the memories. I built one of those Microbees when they came as a blank board and a bag of components.

Then started on the mods......

Upgraded the sram to 32Mb and modified the firmware and burned a new eprom to allow sync video and to allow prototyping for game machines for burning into 2716s.

Made a lot of money until the Fitzgerald enquiry shut it all down..... :(
Old 26-07-2013, 05:28 PM   #25
karj
XY Falcon

Originally Posted by EF_6 View Post
This morning I found an old ASUS laptop in the top of a wheelie bin.... Took it to local puta shop and he took the battery out, plugged in power and it started.... Has got Windows XP on it.... I asked him if he could load up Windows 7 or 8 and he said no cos the puta is only worth $150.....I couldn't believe it..... Am still going to get him to check it over and fix the login for me.... I don't need a new puta with all that wizzbang tech crap... Just give me XP and i'll be fine.
XP is well into its extended support phase, which ends in April next year. No more security updates will be released after that.

So you may as well resign yourself to the fact that it's time to upgrade Windows, and if your hardware doesn't support it... it's time for a new computer (or a shift to linux if you feel so inclined).
Old 26-07-2013, 06:36 PM   #26
OffRoadFalcon
"Flooded it mate?"

I'm 17, and I've only just got my own mobile phone in the last few days. Before that, I never actually needed my own! Always borrowed one of my parent's ones before this. I've had an iPod Touch 4 for two or three years, and it's done everything an iPhone would've, except the mobile coverage which costs you $400 extra. Exactly the same device otherwise.
While I like the Apple operating system on my iPod, the price difference between an iPhone and many Android phones is huge. So, I've got a LG Optimus P880 for under $290. It's fast, has a great screen, and well, it does calls and texts. It's not the latest or greatest, but it does the job.
I'll only upgrade when there's a significant reason to, not just an 'update'. I've got better things to spend my money on.

I love new technology. The Internet, computers, programs like photoshop, digital cameras, auto tech, etc etc, even the phones, but I'm not interested in 'keeping' up every day or two when something gets outdated. I'll keep up when something has significantly been improved!
OffRoadFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2013, 06:42 PM   #27
KIWI-1

Had a telemarketer ring me one day - got very agro when I told him didn't need a new mobile phone because I still use two cans and a piece of string.
Old 27-07-2013, 12:07 AM   #28
Lotte
YE-US! Wait. I don't know

Originally Posted by flappist View Post
Oh the memories. I built one of those Microbees when they came as a blank board and a bag of components.

Then started on the mods......

Upgraded the sram to 32Mb and modified the firmware and burned a new eprom to allow sync video and to allow prototyping for game machines for burning into 2716s.

Made a lot of money until the Fitzgerald enquiry shut it all down..... :(
I just love the games that I have with this one. Memories of being four years old and playing Dungeon; Island; and Sword
The Weekender: '06 BF Pursuit, Toxic, lumpy af

Lotte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2013, 02:04 PM   #29
Dusty1
Giddy up!

My 2004 Toshiba laptop was having issues with XP. Put Ubuntu on it, runs well. Only main issue is that Ubuntu is designed for widescreen screens, and the screen on the Toshiba is square, so I lose a bit on the right. I'll have a look at some settings to see if I can change it. Reality is I rarely use it, so it's not really a bother.

The only issues is that it doesn't run Word. I'm looking for a job, and many places want applications in Word. So I have to use Docs, then use another computer to convert it. Easier just to use the Mac upstairs.

For websurfing and email, there is very little difference, and Ubuntu is very user friendly now and not that scary. It is a good alternative to buying a new laptop.
Oct 07 built Mondeo TDCi hatch, Stardust Silver, bluetooth, leather, tow pack, sunroof.
Dusty1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post