You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 27-01-2006, 11:42 AM   #1
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

Default sore throat lol

Ok a weird subject, but hey... maybe someone can help me

I have been getting soo many throat infections since i had glandular fever (bastard!!)

I think i need my tonsils out they look a bit wrecked :

Anyways

Does anyone know how to stop a throat infection coming on when you get the classic symptoms

My throat hurts a bit when i swallow and its a bit itchy burny.. but its not a full pledged infection yet

What can i do to stop it coming on altogether!!!

I have stuff to do this weekend & I HAVE MY P'S TEST BOOKED NEXT WEEK DAMMIT

HELP ME AND MY POOR SORE THROAT

(I already tried gargling salty warm water)

foxtrot is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 11:49 AM   #2

mmmmm bird flu.
Old 27-01-2006, 11:53 AM   #3

What does gargling warm salty water supposed to do? I thought it was something completely different!! ;)

Do you smoke?

Sometimes infections are hard to beat and at times when you think you have, you haven't.
Old 27-01-2006, 12:10 PM   #4
max^power
Formerly au^ute

I'll SMS you the solution, but it may take me a while cos i'm old...

Seriously, get some Betadine Throat Gargle - that will fix the problem within a few days.
max^power is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 12:11 PM   #5
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

LTDHO you are too smart

Ok I admit i have been smoking a lot lately...

But i used to smoke just as much and it never caused a throat infection!!!
Its only been since the glandular fever.. thats really stuffed my throat up bad

I cant help that when im drinking I just have to have a ciggy in the other hand

anyway pretend this has nothing to do with my throat because i havent touched a smoke since the slightest feeling of sore
Old 27-01-2006, 12:13 PM   #6
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

Ok betadine it is though

Uh warm salty water? I found that on some medical website!
Old 27-01-2006, 12:18 PM   #7
max^power
Formerly au^ute

While you're at the pharmacy, get some patches and quit, it'll be the best money you ever spend.
max^power is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 12:28 PM   #8
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

I smoked since year 11 but no joke I never got real addicted.. when i stop a get a slight headache along with a craving but only last a few days and i can fight it easily

I started going to the gym 4 days a week and quit smoking for about 3 months at one stage but then i started hangin out with mates heaps again and a lot of them smoke so i kind of fell back into it

I'll try and stop again i suppose.. Poor lungs
Old 27-01-2006, 12:47 PM   #9
Pedro

[QUOTE=foxtrot]Ok a weird subject, but hey... maybe someone can help me
I have been getting soo many throat infections since i had glandular fever (bastard!!)
I think i need my tonsils out they look a bit wrecked

You said it all in the line above. If your tonsils are crook you'll get sore throat all the time.
Get the buggers out!
Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 12:57 PM   #10
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

Yeah I Think i'll have to . stupid tonsils
Old 27-01-2006, 01:10 PM   #11
Mrs347stroker

Why don't you go to the doctor and get their opinion, if you haven't already done that???

I have always gargled salt water aswell when I have had a sore throat, not sure if it really works though.
Mrs347stroker is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 01:16 PM   #12
BlackLS

LOL getting medical advice from a bunch of car nuts..
Old 27-01-2006, 01:18 PM   #13
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

ok theres this huge lump that formed when i had glandular fever on the back of my throat the side, it looks grose and everyone says its not normal

also my tonsils used to look normal now one looks like it's been to war and the other is out of shape also

doctor "oh thats normal"
me "will it go away"
doctor "probably not"

well my tonsils dont look the same and i always get throat infections now bla bla

doctor "nah they are fine"
Old 27-01-2006, 01:19 PM   #14
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

Originally Posted by BlackLS
LOL getting medical advice from a bunch of car nuts..
LoL

Im a member of fordforums not medicalforums.com.au

and i know most people are willing to help on all subjects :
Old 27-01-2006, 01:19 PM   #15
romaniac
holla at cha boy

try gargling some mobil synthetic oil
romaniac is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 01:21 PM   #16
Mrs347stroker

Originally Posted by foxtrot
ok theres this huge lump that formed when i had glandular fever on the back of my throat the side, it looks grose and everyone says its not normal

also my tonsils used to look normal now one looks like it's been to war and the other is out of shape also

doctor "oh thats normal"
me "will it go away"
doctor "probably not"

well my tonsils dont look the same and i always get throat infections now bla bla

doctor "nah they are fine"
I would be finding another doctor. You weren't in Bundaberg at the time seeing that "indian doctor" Patel were you.
Old 27-01-2006, 01:24 PM   #17
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

LoL whos this indian doctor

nah NAMBOUR

Even worse

Romaniac where do u find mobil synthetic?
Old 27-01-2006, 01:24 PM   #18
SB076

Umm I know this probably isnt the best advice, but when my throat feels a bit sore I drink straight scotch. Sounds silly I know but it seems to work.

with Sunroof and tinted windows
with out all the go fast bits I actually need :
SB076 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 01:25 PM   #19
Mrs347stroker

Originally Posted by foxtrot
LoL whos this indian doctor

nah NAMBOUR

Even worse

Romaniac where do u find mobil synthetic?
You have not heard of this doctor, do you not watch the news. He is a wanted man in Australia for misdiagnosing people with cancer etc and they are dying by the dozen now.
Old 27-01-2006, 01:25 PM   #20
phoon
BOLLOCKS

Originally Posted by romaniac
try gargling some mobil synthetic oil
Just make sure the oil is filtered before gargling though, must get rid of the inperfections even though it is synthetic.
phoon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 01:36 PM   #21
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

i must try drinking scotch
how about scotch with mobil synthetic
ill call it motch

that indian doctor sounds like a bit of a d!ck
Old 27-01-2006, 04:07 PM   #22
lisa76
BEU77Y and the BEE55T

I have troublesome tonsils too - should've been removed when I was a kid but I was too chicken.

They'll look all scarred and have like craters on them because of the constant fighting of infections. Tonsils are your first line of defense against bacteria/virus. The best thing you can do is to get them removed if they are so damaged. You can try the betadine gargle, or I think you can still get it - there's an anaesthetic gargle you can use. It used to be green - a bit like mouthwash. Tastes foul, and numbs your tongue while you're at it, but it does kill the pain for a little while. If you are able to take aspirin, I found gargling aspro clear also helps a little - kind of helps take the inflammation out of them. Only use it if you are able to take aspirin though.

His: BEE55T 80 Series Landcruiser
Double diff locks, Rancho in cab adjustable shocks, 2" lift, GPS, Mickey Thompson Baja Claws (offroad) and coming soon Mickey Thompson ATZ Radials
lisa76 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 04:07 PM   #23
Envious

Originally Posted by au^ute
I'll SMS you the solution, but it may take me a while cos i'm old...

Seriously, get some Betadine Throat Gargle - that will fix the problem within a few days.

Yep, betadine throat gargle is the best stuff ive ever used..
Old 27-01-2006, 04:31 PM   #24
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

yeah mine are scarred and cratered!!

If they are there to defend howcome removing them is going to help lol
Old 27-01-2006, 04:36 PM   #25
Jokers Wild
ANYWHERE ANYTIME

Well i reckon your one funny dood, when you go to the doctor do you ask him the what's the best tyres to use on your car ?
Jokers Wild is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 05:46 PM   #26
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

Originally Posted by Jokers Wild
Well i reckon your one funny dood, when you go to the doctor do you ask him the what's the best tyres to use on your car ?
Note:

The Bar (15 Viewing)
For non Automotive Related Chat

Thats where i posted

NON AUTOMOTIVE

general chit - chat

smart ***
Old 27-01-2006, 06:01 PM   #27
lisa76
BEU77Y and the BEE55T

They say once they get all scarred and cratered and stuff they aren't really doing their intended job. My daughter had her tonsils out when she was 3 1/2 ( yeah, I know - too chicken to get my own out though) and she is now almost 7 and has had I think 1 case of a sore throat in all that time. I like her stats better than my own.

His: BEE55T 80 Series Landcruiser
Double diff locks, Rancho in cab adjustable shocks, 2" lift, GPS, Mickey Thompson Baja Claws (offroad) and coming soon Mickey Thompson ATZ Radials
lisa76 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2006, 06:34 PM   #28
foxtrot
Blood, sweat & tears

Thanks Lisa

I know for sure it's my tonsils now

Ill try and get them out as fast as i can.. my brother had his done when he was little (and so was I) and it made his lips kind of tear apart for a week or 2 .. grose
Old 27-01-2006, 11:07 PM   #29

Be a man get to the doc find out the truth act on it!!!!!!

Old 01-02-2006, 07:40 PM   #30
Sporty Corty
1977 TE Cortina

It's ok hun, I know how you feel I've had diagnosed tonsilitis every month for the last 4 months and it's agony and I loose my voice all the time but still they wont take em out??? Salt water gargle or Listerine every hour and a coarse of antibiotics, I would also suggest a blood test to find out the coarse, Oh and stay away from Irishmen i heard a rumour they can cause throat infections???

Good Luck.
Sporty Corty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post