Old 24-09-2008, 02:02 AM   #1
5.0 ED

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: has helped a number of AFF members with their cars, particularly with EEC tuning Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with sound technical advice. 
Default Ford for parts, occasionally cheap.

Since i broke my drivers door speaker grill i have been trying to find one, rang numerous wreckers and so on, and haven't been able to get one in graphite to match, and if they did they want $50 for a full door trim.

Anyway went into bayford to get balljoints at $55 a pair (ebay price), and i asked about speaker grill, $14.95. I'm like hell yeah get me one. The thought never even crossed my mind of trying them previously. Just shows sometimes its worth asking

Old 24-09-2008, 09:05 AM   #2
UU TS50
T3 TS50 075

when i got the BA scuff plates for my car the wreckers didnt have any but said they get $20 each for them so went to Ford just to check there new price and got them for $15 each go figure that one out ???

My car T3 TS50 #75 Blueprint manual 1/4 mile 13.38 @ 102.97 mph TS 50 = 237.1 rwkw
UU TS50 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-09-2008, 10:06 AM   #3
The Mighty Red

yeah i bought a new grill for the passenger side $18 from Ford....I usually ring ford for a price on any parts I buy just so I have a comparison ...
Old 24-09-2008, 10:14 AM   #4
bodes-sh

same here, called wreckers about speaker grilles, $15 each if we have them, and they would have to come off a rooted door skin. rang ford, $18 or something each, so i got them in. went to pick them up and they charged me $11 each, so hows that...?
bodes-sh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-09-2008, 10:29 AM   #5
InfernoSR
Sales Representative

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For research and posted write up on cooling system care and repair in AU.COM and offering help where possible 

Yeah, i've gotten cheaper parts direct from Ford at times too :P
Old 24-09-2008, 12:22 PM   #6
superroo
You can't stop the signal

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Has done quite a few excellent write ups for au .com 

It's always worth asking ford, some of the prices are good, some are alright, and some are downright stupid.

My 3 cases:

Good
Clutch clevis pin. This hooks onto the pedal, and the clutch cable hooks onto this. $2.50 form ford.

Alright
Clutch cable. About $60 if I remember right. Was about $5 cheaper else where, but ford were the only ones to have it in stock

The bad
Tonneau hole blanking plug. Goes in the hole left by the soft tonneau bungs. There are 20 of them on utes, and ford wants $5.50 for each plug.

superroo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-09-2008, 02:12 AM   #7
5.0 ED

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: has helped a number of AFF members with their cars, particularly with EEC tuning Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with sound technical advice. 

Another bad one is AU tickford wheel nuts $20 each
Old 25-09-2008, 11:24 AM   #8
InfernoSR
Sales Representative

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For research and posted write up on cooling system care and repair in AU.COM and offering help where possible 

Originally Posted by 5.0whiteaughia
I have been qouted $110 from ford for all 20 :P
Old 25-09-2008, 06:32 PM   #9
brad`

$6 dollar light globe from fords... $1.50 from repco..

how ever.. those scuff plates for $5 each sounds awesome gunna get me some of those with Ford insters ? or XR

brad` is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-09-2008, 06:36 PM   #10

Originally Posted by 5.0whiteaughia
What is an AU Tickford wheel nut? I get my genuine Ford wheelnuts for three dollars each.....

Old 25-09-2008, 10:07 PM   #11
honer
Back to N/A land

I brought some rivets that hold the fuel line into the body.... There were big fat headed ones that I drilled out..

$15 and 5 rivets later, there were ones you can readily get from Bunnings... I raged so hard.

Anyone replaced the Grease/Dust caps on their front hubs ? I got quoted $25 each.....
honer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2008, 08:36 AM   #12
sikford
THE Fairmont Ghia 75th

got some tiny interior 75th anniversary badges for my door trims as 1 was missing a clip and for 3 of them(not even the size of a 20c piece) it was $123.00 or just over, i almost passed out but i thought i have been trying to track some down for months so ill just bloody get them. Never going to ford unless i really cant get around something another way.
Current Mods-HD Built Gearbox+(Mirror Polished, Modified Valve Body), 2500rpm Hi-Stall Convertor(TCE Custom Built), BIG Trans Cooler, Braided Lines/Speedflow Fittings, 2.5" Exhaust, Custom CAI, Detailed UnderCarriage, Custom SQ Stereo Install.
My Ride
My Build Thread
sikford is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2008, 11:18 AM   #13
AU00XR8
AU00

i just had to do my spark plug leads Ford wanted to charge me $598 for the set. I got some NGK 8mm for $300.
Plus i had my alternator crap itself, i contacted ford for a price they wanted $1198, i got a brand new one for $300 from the local auto elec...
AU00XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2008, 12:12 PM   #14
InfernoSR
Sales Representative

Originally Posted by Peuty
What is an AU Tickford wheel nut? I get my genuine Ford wheelnuts for three dollars each.....
Would you be interested in getting me some and posting them to me, if i send you the $$?
Old 26-09-2008, 12:19 PM   #15
Magna

maybe there should be a thread or sticky with cheap ford parts :

but yeah small parts that are like part of an assembly are usually cheaper cause wreckers don't like to break things up.
Magna is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2008, 12:29 PM   #16
Fireblade
Wizard Member

When I first got my car, I got the tickford stroker intake snorkel from ford spare parts for $12, I have now paid $325 for SS Big mouth wish Ford made 1 in this size.
Fireblade is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2008, 01:19 PM   #17
BOTTLEDUP

Originally Posted by AU00XR8
i just had to do my spark plug leads Ford wanted to charge me $598 for the set. I got some NGK 8mm for $300.
Plus i had my alternator crap itself, i contacted ford for a price they wanted $1198, i got a brand new one for $300 from the local auto elec...
$300 for NGK?????
Wowzers no wonder I sell so many MSD sets at $185ea! *Goes off to revise AU lead pricing*

On the topic of Ford pricing, I agree somethings are unbelievably expensive... I quoted over the phone $11ea for the tiny globes in the demister/antenna/central locking switches, pulled some strings with the Parts manager whom I knew and they ended up at $3.50ea. Still expensive but at least they are correct.
BOTTLEDUP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2008, 01:33 PM   #18
RspecAU
BA GT-P Owner

The problem i have with buying from ford dealers is that most have a differnt price for the same part. Like the windscreen washer nozzel on the bonnet i had to get for the EB Hallam Coffee Ford wanted $17.95 each but didn't have any in stock so i went to Coffee Ford in Dandenong and and got them for $10.95 each :
ON MAXXIS MAV1's 275/45/17 13.27 @ 106mph
RspecAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-09-2008, 02:26 AM   #19
sly
Sly like a G6

Anyone who chokes at a $120 O2 sensor from Repco when you can get them off ebay for $60 or less, should ask Ford for a price...

...try $420.

OTOH I've got some parts very cheap from Ford. Always pays to ask.
The Frankenfalcon... AU1.5 Wagon, BA brakes, AU2 booster, BA2 XR6T engine, stock from airbox to turbo, 8psi/98 octane tune 240RWKW, BF XR6T cat, quiet 3" zorst, Pex BSO660 & BSO439 mufflers, 84 db, built BTR box, 3.08 LSD, Emer SVI LPG, AU1 XR8 alloys, Momo wheel, JVC KDR746BT head unit, Aerpro steering wheel control wiring.

Sleeper, anyone?
sly is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-09-2008, 04:33 AM   #20
5.0 ED

I think a sticky thread with cheap ford part prices could be a good idea.
Old 27-09-2008, 10:28 AM   #21
whiskers
gone fishing

Originally Posted by superroo
The bad
Tonneau hole blanking plug. Goes in the hole left by the soft tonneau bungs. There are 20 of them on utes, and ford wants $5.50 for each plug.
try getting these plugs from clarke rubber I was in one of their shops the other week and was looking around and seen the parts for the tonneau holding down bits and pieces. might be worth a look
Old 27-09-2008, 10:54 AM   #22
RspecAU
BA GT-P Owner

Originally Posted by sly
Anyone who chokes at a $120 O2 sensor from Repco when you can get them off ebay for $60 or less, should ask Ford for a price...

...try $420.

OTOH I've got some parts very cheap from Ford. Always pays to ask.
Dam were they glod plated...for that price thats what i would of expected
ON MAXXIS MAV1's 275/45/17 13.27 @ 106mph
RspecAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-09-2008, 01:30 PM   #23
5.0 ED

I purchase an o2 sensor from autopro which is right next door to bayford spare parts section, anyway he went and got one of the genuine ford o2's from next door and put side by side and surprise surprise they were exactly the same, same pn everything, only difference was the box in came in.
Old 27-09-2008, 03:34 PM   #24
Bobman

Ford parts prices vary from store to store. Just be aware of that.

Like one fool who told me an ECT sensor was $97 (same old guy who said it's dangerous to install aftermarket exhausts), but going to my regular and more sensible Ford dealer, the price was $25.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-09-2008, 12:01 AM   #25
sly
Sly like a G6

The ECT I bought from Ford for my AU was in the middle of that range at $60-odd. Repco wanted $120 for an E-series one but couldn't source an AU one at the time.
The Frankenfalcon... AU1.5 Wagon, BA brakes, AU2 booster, BA2 XR6T engine, stock from airbox to turbo, 8psi/98 octane tune 240RWKW, BF XR6T cat, quiet 3" zorst, Pex BSO660 & BSO439 mufflers, 84 db, built BTR box, 3.08 LSD, Emer SVI LPG, AU1 XR8 alloys, Momo wheel, JVC KDR746BT head unit, Aerpro steering wheel control wiring.

Sleeper, anyone?
Old 28-09-2008, 04:09 AM   #26
5.0 ED

oh my, sly. that is nasty, i purchase a brand new ECT for my AU v8 from ford for $27, at which i thought was nasty
Old 28-09-2008, 04:29 PM   #27
sly
Sly like a G6

The real pain was that Repco sourced 2 from 2 different suppliers, both suppliers' catalogues gave part numbers for the AU item, but the parts with those numbers were E-series items. In the end I had no choice but go to Ford... I suppose I could've gone to a wrecker as I do for many other parts, but I prefer to buy new sensors when I need to replace them.

Sleeper, anyone?
Old 28-09-2008, 08:52 PM   #28
5.0 ED

Bobman seems to be correct their, different store, different price. It's almost like the salesman goes, oh this much and just pulls some rediculous figure out of his head.
Old 29-09-2008, 09:29 AM   #29
Hords
Treasure your balls?

Back to thread starter. Got pax side charcoal speaker grille at local wreckers for $5.