You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > Ford Forums Central > Site Support

Site Support If something isn't working or you have a suggestion ( a nice one !! ) let us know here.

Old 12-09-2006, 12:37 PM   #31
plext
Forum Director

It looks much better than the getting very cluttered old banner. I will only nitpick in two areas which are evident in Firefox only, IE seems fine:

On initial load, I'm often seeing it have alignment issues, with the first image displayed 3/4 onto the frame. This is not massive, as it sorts itself out at first rotation.

A potentially bigger issue is that the sponsor links are being seen as popups and blocked by the browser, while this can obviously be allowed at the user end, I believe that this behavior can be written around.

Nice work all the same though.
plext is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2006, 01:34 PM   #32

Plext, that's the initial re size depending on the window size the user has, but I have asked for that to be hidden and will look into it further

Pop ups unfortunately are user discretion
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2006, 01:35 PM   #33

Originally Posted by EA2BA
Can the 'Our Sponsors' heading (top left) be a link to a page with all the sponsors on it listed with a link to their website for quick and easy finding them.

Another work in progress, but it wont only be sponsors, that's something to look forward to over time.
Old 12-09-2006, 03:52 PM   #34
Sledgehammer

Good work here, its always difficult with large volumes etc

Change is good but human nature resist change.

S
Sledgehammer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2006, 04:04 PM   #35
HM Headers
PERFORMANCE&QUALITY

Thumbs up

Originally Posted by LG
Sucks if your HM Headers, oh well.

Originally Posted by Laminge
Why would that be the case?
Stop fighting guys !! :
There is enough HM Headers and Perry Performance Exhaust to go around !!
(Might send through a New Banner though ?!) :
HM Headers is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2006, 04:12 PM   #36
plext
Forum Director

I understand what you are saying about popups mate, and I'm certainly not trying to be a smart guy, but rather help if I can. It should be possible to write the hrefs in a manner that the Mozilla engine treats them as a requested popup, rather than evil. I'm thinking along the lines of:
[CODE]<HTML>
<HEAD>
<script type="text/javascript">
var winref;

function poprequest(strUrl, strTarget)
{
var winwid, winhgt, winl, wint;

if(typeof window.screenX == "number" && typeof window.innerWidth == "number")
{
winwid = window.innerWidth * .68;
winhgt = window.innerHeight * .68;
winl = window.screenX + window.innerWidth * .16;
wint = window.screenY + window.innerHeight * .16;
}
else if(typeof window.screenTop == "number" && typeof document.documentElement.offsetHeight == "number")
{
winwid = document.documentElement.offsetWidth * .68;
winhgt = document.documentElement.offsetHeight * .68;
winl = window.screenLeft + document.documentElement.offsetWidth * .16;
wint = window.screenTop - 50;
}
else
{
winwid = 500;
winhgt = 250;
winl = 60;
wint = 40;
};

if (winref == null || winref.closed)
{
winref = window.open(strUrl, strTarget, "top=" + wint + ",left=" + winl + ",width=" + winwid + ",height=" +

winhgt + ",menubar,toolbar,location,resizable,scrollbars,st atus");
}
else
{
winref.focus();
};

}
</script>
</HEAD>
<BODY>
<a href="HTTP://fordforums.com.au" target="TargetRequestedPopupWindow" onclick="poprequest(this.href, this.target);

return false;">Open window requested by client</a>
</BODY>
</HTML>[/CODE]

Note that this routine will invoke an IE "Active Content" warning if run locally, but is fine when accessed from a server

This does require that the client is allowing javascript, but from what I can see, the .swf is doing this anyway.

Last edited by plext; 12-09-2006 at 04:24 PM.
Old 12-09-2006, 04:42 PM   #37

Also, I don't know if this is related or not...

It looks good up top now. Not as cluttered as before.
Old 12-09-2006, 04:52 PM   #38

You have a keen eye, at least its drawn interest to the sponsors now...

My head hurts
Old 12-09-2006, 06:40 PM   #39

New logos uploaded for On The Spot, BOG and Themboys. Others will be coming shortly. You may need to clear your cache or wait for it to expire before you see the new ones.

Regards

russellw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2006, 07:53 PM   #40
BLKFPV
true blue from "The BOG"

looking good ..... can we go first ? :dr_Evil:

".... where having a FORD is all that matters"

not a 10sec car but a 2008 Bathurst 12 hour Race Car

(03) 9720 4448
to email click here
www.thebog.com.au

11/176 Canterbury Road BAYSWATER
BLKFPV is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2006, 08:07 PM   #41
Dazza TT
Now Prado Powered

Flash as Michael Jackson!
Looks top notch! Well done.
Old 14-09-2006, 01:31 PM   #42
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 

Banner does not work on my work's computer
Banner does not work on my mate's computer

New Banner is EVIL and is being blocked

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

200BUX - AFF Drag Nats 2019 EF Wagon
Originally Posted by rednose View Post
Common knowledge that the more weight you take out of the car the less power you need to run the time.
Sorted is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-09-2006, 01:37 PM   #43
HM Headers
PERFORMANCE&QUALITY

Originally Posted by BLKFPV
looking good ..... can we go first ? :dr_Evil:
Why am I not surprised .........!?!? :
HM Headers is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-09-2006, 01:46 PM   #44
BlackLS

Originally Posted by HLC
i must say that autotech, awc and asl have been getting the most 'airtime' ( : ) on my end haha

looks good, aside from the database errors i keep getting :P
Likewise
Old 14-09-2006, 01:51 PM   #45
plext
Forum Director

Originally Posted by DRHEMI
Banner does not work on my work's computer
Banner does not work on my mate's computer

New Banner is EVIL and is being blocked
Do those machines have the Flash player installed?

There used to be a fair incidence of workplaces blocking Flash, but as it has become more mainstream and often used as the primary source of building a site, this has dropped off substantially.
Old 14-09-2006, 02:49 PM   #46
Uncle_Ken
Next upgraded Mk1 Leopard

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always putting some imput into the forums to help or make it a bit easier for others Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 

Good idea guys lot cleaner and takes up less space, I tend to go the sponsor section in the forums rather than hit the link from the add. Random order would be good from a sponsor view (others wise they might start renaming their business like AAAAAAAWC
Any way well done you deserve more money LOL
Uncle Ken
How 2's: Change rear view mirror, Install backfire valve, Change foam front seats, Install auto transmission cooler, Replace Trans Shift Globe, Remove front door Trim, Paint AU headlights, install door spears, Premium Rear Parcel Shelf, go here...
Uncle_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-09-2006, 02:57 PM   #47
Dazza TT
Now Prado Powered

Originally Posted by plext
Do those machines have the Flash player installed?

There used to be a fair incidence of workplaces blocking Flash, but as it has become more mainstream and often used as the primary source of building a site, this has dropped off substantially.
It works fine on my Home PC, but not at work, as we don't have Flash enabled. :
Old 17-09-2006, 02:01 PM   #48
BLKFPV
true blue from "The BOG"

I'm a fan of the new look
but :Up_to_som

who has seen our changed logo ??
about a 40sec wait ...
or HM headers and those that follow ...50sec to 60sec wait

I don't think anyone scrolls to the top of the same page after a long read ... nor is it likely that anyone would stay at the top of on any page for longer than 10sec

reckon if it was totally random it would be absolutely great, it might be difficult to do (I don't know) but maybe purposely rotate the sponsor order weekly or whatever

our sponsorship isn't reliant on having our banners in everyones face ... but it is rewarding for us to fly our flag and visually feel part of the AFF community

I haven't seen our banner "by chance" for awhile now

(03) 9720 4448
to email click here
www.thebog.com.au

Old 17-09-2006, 02:07 PM   #49

The request for the random order has been made, and it should be up by the end of the week.

You would have thought that it would have been a no brainer to include that to start with but unfortuantely thats life

Thanks for the feedback all.
Old 17-09-2006, 03:22 PM   #50
BLKFPV
true blue from "The BOG"

Originally Posted by Laminge
The request for the random order has been made, and it should be up by the end of the week.

You would have thought that it would have been a no brainer to include that to start with but unfortuantely thats life

Thanks for the feedback all.
thanks Laminge, I wasn't sure what was happening ... back to under my rock now :voldar02:

I was actually thinking of the guys after us e true :gren:

strange how hard it is to make things intentionally random when it comes to computers and the land of nauts'n'ones :

computers seem to have the monopoly on randomness when it comes to breaking down or freezing though !! thats life too

(03) 9720 4448
to email click here
www.thebog.com.au

Old 18-09-2006, 12:26 AM   #51
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 

Maybe this will work also - keep the banner as is with rotating random adds but have it on the side so it is shown 100% of the time - sort of like what is on the attached web site - you have to pan down on the web site to see what i am talkin about (the navigation box moves to every screen)

http://www.sportscover.com/sponsorship.asp

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

Common knowledge that the more weight you take out of the car the less power you need to run the time.
Old 18-09-2006, 08:54 AM   #52
Boss 260 Ute
Rice aint nice!

Hey,

If we have it on the side of the page that would mean people using 800 x 600 screen resoloution would have to scroll across just to read every page,

Thanks.
The teletubbies were bred by the wiggles by mating a rhino with a garden gnome. They were intended to be the ultimate warrior for world domination, cute like a gnome, yet violent like a Rhino. Instead they got 4 multicoloured, brainless rhino sized retards.
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination
Originally Posted by Ralliart
a toll bar hit my car because of my annoying padels
^^Those bastards! LOL
Boss 260 Ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2006, 01:18 PM   #53
Sorted

Originally Posted by Boss 260 Ute
Hey,

If we have it on the side of the page that would mean people using 800 x 600 screen resoloution would have to scroll across just to read every page,

Thanks.
Not if you made the width of everyones avatar's smaller - a lot of space there used for useless pictures and quotes

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

Old 18-09-2006, 01:27 PM   #54
Boss 260 Ute
Rice aint nice!

Originally Posted by DRHEMI
Not if you made the width of everyones avatar's smaller - a lot of space there used for useless pictures and quotes
You do have a good point there...
The teletubbies were bred by the wiggles by mating a rhino with a garden gnome. They were intended to be the ultimate warrior for world domination, cute like a gnome, yet violent like a Rhino. Instead they got 4 multicoloured, brainless rhino sized retards.
(\__/)
^^Those bastards! LOL
Old 18-09-2006, 06:44 PM   #55

The updated flash with random banner rotation is now uploaded and operational. We may look at adding the same rotation into the footer as well as the header to see if that helps.

russellw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2006, 07:13 PM   #56
Boss 260 Ute
Rice aint nice!

Originally Posted by russellw
The updated flash with random banner rotation is now uploaded and operational. We may look at adding the same rotation into the footer as well as the header to see if that helps.

Footer?
(\__/)
^^Those bastards! LOL
Old 21-09-2006, 09:09 AM   #57
Zed7fiddy
Temporary Australian

There is only one problem, althogh i never had a problem with the old ones lol

when i want to visit a forum sponsor it takes an age wait for their add to pop up so i can click the link, sponsors like performance ford mag dont have their own section, and if i dont know the address i have to wait for it to come, a little annoying

but apart from everything else its fine!

Mick
Zed7fiddy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-09-2006, 09:18 AM   #58
DOC

Originally Posted by Co8ra
i have to wait for it to come, a little annoying
but apart from everything else its fine!
Mick
Mick, I know how you feel mate, i get the same complaints from my wife, she says this to me all of the time. ( when using this site of course )
DOC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-09-2006, 05:29 PM   #59

Very embarrassing, but via dialup I can't get FF anymore .. seems to spend forever loading the new banner and that's it. Any suggestions?
Old 21-09-2006, 06:08 PM   #60
BlueRaven
Dual O2 sensors

Originally Posted by OzJavelin
Very embarrassing, but via dialup I can't get FF anymore .. seems to spend forever loading the new banner and that's it. Any suggestions?
Do you use firefox?

If so, do what I do. Download the "Adblock" extension and you can stop it from downloading.

Trust me. The web is a better place without adds everywhere.