Old 24-06-2007, 10:04 PM   #1
JoesAu

Default Are The AU S5 shift solenoids the same as BA's

Reason i wanna know is cos i was speaking to a Fordmods member the other day and he has firmed up his shifts in his Ba by raising the line pressure, theres a screw on the back of the solenoid which u can turn to raise the pressure he reckonss the car feels reallly good, Just wondering if u can do it to an AU, you can get the electronic shift kits but they run 12volt and he reckons the box wont last long whereas by adjusting it at the sloenoid it runs 8volt much friendlier to the box but sharp shifts??

JoesAu is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-06-2007, 12:20 AM   #2

AU S5 solenoid is adjustable.
Old 25-06-2007, 12:28 AM   #3

It's a box out and open up to adjust it though, isn't it?

Old 25-06-2007, 12:31 AM   #4
BLACKAUXR8
Young !@#$ Head

i had it done in my 99 forte and im pretty sure you just have to drop the oil pan and you can access it from there. im not 100% sure though!
BLACKAUXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-06-2007, 12:04 PM   #5
Davo3460

yea oil Pan only
Davo3460 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-06-2007, 12:15 PM   #6
Bluepower
KenneBell Australia

Dont ramp the S5 solenoid manually - it will cost you a gearbox.

Bluepower Racing Developments

Proud Australian Distributors of Kenne Bell superchargers
The Quickest, The Fastest, The Baddest Boss Blower of all.

www.bluepower.com.au

Bluepower is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-06-2007, 05:37 PM   #7

Get a tranny mechanic to do it they know how to adjust it without stuffing the tranny, there are safe limits. A slight increase is actually good for the tranny as you get less wear from the slip requires for the softer shift and less heat build up (the sliping causes heat from friction) . the reason the S5 is set for a soft shift is there are more people who prefer a smoother shift than those of us who want it to kick into gear. although this is just a drop the pan job don't attempt it yourself unless you have a good working knowledge of the BTR it is not a back yard job
Old 25-06-2007, 06:17 PM   #8
JoesAu

yeh fairenuf, any one know what they are worth new?? i was gonna get a electronnic shift kit but ive been steered away by this guy who says thay are not good for the auto due to the 12volt shutter to the box he said, i dont quite understand it but someone else might?? Auto is due for a service so is the diff oil,
Old 25-06-2007, 07:12 PM   #9
toyotaxr8

I don't get you people on this forum, how does increasing the shift pressure good for the auto gearbox? clutch disc/bands are there to wear and slip this is what they are designed for they are designed to slip to protect the other more expensive components of the box that's why they are called consumable parts, heat in the transmission could not be a problem at all as this is a taken into consideration when the box is designed it only when more power is put through the box or the clutch discs/bands are worn and are slipping to much this is when you do some matince to the box in the form of new discs/bands. to give you an idea of what increasing the shift pressure will do to the box, try driving a Manuel car and every time you change gears dump the clutch and see how long that box will last.

It easy
MORE SHIFT PRESSURE = LESS AUTO LIFE NOT MORE

and that's today's rant
Old 25-06-2007, 09:06 PM   #10
BLACKAUXR8
Young !@#$ Head

Toyota xr8 i thibnk you should go down and talk to your local gearbox mechanic. I had my gearbox **** it self from hard driving when standard because when you drive it hard with the clutchs slipping they do heat up alot more and now the shift has been wound up well over 2 years ago on my 99 forte it chirps second gear at 80kmh in a relativly stock I6 and the gearbox has not missed a beat in 2 years so if you theory is correct my gearbox should have blown up along time ago. The real problem with winding your shift up on your gear box and i have experianced this first hand not heard from a mate who heard it down the pub, is when the gearbox shifts harder you will damage uni's on the tailshaft and smash the gears in your diff. So really if you want to wind the shift up pay the money get a tranny shop to do it put an oil cooler on the gearbox for safety and expect to pay 600 bucks for a new diff centre in about 3 months.

And thats my rant
Old 25-06-2007, 09:31 PM   #11

Originally Posted by toyotaxr8
I don't get you people on this forum, how does increasing the shift pressure good for the auto gearbox? clutch disc/bands are there to wear and slip this is what they are designed for they are designed to slip to protect the other more expensive components of the box that's why they are called consumable parts, heat in the transmission could not be a problem at all as this is a taken into consideration when the box is designed it only when more power is put through the box or the clutch discs/bands are worn and are slipping to much this is when you do some matince to the box in the form of new discs/bands. to give you an idea of what increasing the shift pressure will do to the box, try driving a Manuel car and every time you change gears dump the clutch and see how long that box will last.

It easy
MORE SHIFT PRESSURE = LESS AUTO LIFE NOT MORE

and that's today's rant
wrong they slip excessivly in a standard tranny to make the shift smooth for the average consumer but the trade off is more wear and inreased heat from friction a firmer S5 help the tranny ask any decent tranny mechanic thats not to say an S5 screwed up excessivly is good it will cause its own problems but an S5 adjusted by someone who knows what he's doing is a good thing all round. I suggest you check your facts before you try and rubbish a good reliable mod we are here for information not disinformation
Old 25-06-2007, 10:53 PM   #12
BLACKAUXR8
Young !@#$ Head

its good to hear someone speaking some sense au3xr6
Old 25-06-2007, 11:19 PM   #13

Heat + BTR = No more gear changes. Simple. In saying that you can go to far and cause damage by having the thing shift to hard so it's important to find the happy medium.
Old 25-06-2007, 11:26 PM   #14

Originally Posted by RedXR347
Heat + BTR = No more gear changes. Simple. In saying that you can go to far and cause damage by having the thing shift to hard so it's important to find the happy medium.
true thats why i said don't do it yourself get an expert who know the BTRs and do it right it will save you money in the long run ( a new tranny costs heaps)
Old 26-06-2007, 01:48 AM   #15
BLACKAUXR8
Young !@#$ Head

if you wind it up yourself your going to end up at the gearbox shop anyway in the end paying for a new gearbox and as au3xr6 said they cost heaps!! mine was 2200 and its only about 200 for service on the box and while the service is getting done ask him to wind up the shift. kill 2 birds with one stone!!!
Old 26-06-2007, 02:56 AM   #16
wodahs

i also believe its the same s5 soliniod in the ef/el , im currently and have for about 7 to 8 months now rean the ba box in me el and there has been no probs
but might take it down get it servised and get this mod done aswell _2:

rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually

just remember don't be afraid to try something new.
Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!

I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !!
wodahs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2007, 06:53 AM   #17
JoesAu

yeah all i want is just a little more not heaps, i'll prob get a new one and tell em to adjust it a little while they have it in there hands, i can get one fairly cheap. Half a turn is enough i was toold but i wouldnt do it myself.
Old 26-06-2007, 08:12 AM   #18

EF/EL S5 is different to AU S5, AU and BA should be the same or similar.
i fitted an AU S5 solenoid with 1.25turns to my EF gearbox and it made some decent improvments on my turbo EF.
Old 26-06-2007, 05:29 PM   #19
toyotaxr8

Originally Posted by BLACKAUXR8
Toyota xr8 i thibnk you should go down and talk to your local gearbox mechanic. I had my gearbox **** it self from hard driving when standard because when you drive it hard with the clutchs slipping they do heat up alot more and now the shift has been wound up well over 2 years ago on my 99 forte it chirps second gear at 80kmh in a relativly stock I6 and the gearbox has not missed a beat in 2 years so if you theory is correct my gearbox should have blown up along time ago. The real problem with winding your shift up on your gear box and i have experianced this first hand not heard from a mate who heard it down the pub, is when the gearbox shifts harder you will damage uni's on the tailshaft and smash the gears in your diff. So really if you want to wind the shift up pay the money get a tranny shop to do it put an oil cooler on the gearbox for safety and expect to pay 600 bucks for a new diff centre in about 3 months.

And thats my rant

the reason why your old box **** itself was because you drove an old box to hard as you said that's an easy one :togo: . and your new box has lasted because it was fully rebuilt it doesn't mean its going to last forever though it will IT WILL wear the components quicker than a standard box and i don't mean the clutch discs/bands i mean all the other components like the input/output shaft splines. and the clutch discs will last longer i never said they wouldn't, i sail everything else wouldn't last long. and you will damage the rest of the drive terrain eg, unis diff axles.
Old 26-06-2007, 05:35 PM   #20
JoesAu

im not talking of making the car shift like an animal chirp and that, im talking just a slight turn thats all, slight turn wont wreck your AUto, what happens when the S5 solenoid shits itself the car shifts harder anyway is that true??.
Old 26-06-2007, 05:50 PM   #21
toyotaxr8

Originally Posted by au3xr6
wrong they slip excessivly in a standard tranny to make the shift smooth for the average consumer but the trade off is more wear and inreased heat from friction a firmer S5 help the tranny ask any decent tranny mechanic thats not to say an S5 screwed up excessivly is good it will cause its own problems but an S5 adjusted by someone who knows what he's doing is a good thing all round. I suggest you check your facts before you try and rubbish a good reliable mod we are here for information not disinformation
whats this slip excessively stuff, they slip enough to allow a smooth gear engagement. and the trade off is to wear a consumable part not a non-consumable part.

The thing that i have a problem with is what you stated, A slight increase is actually good for the tranny as you get less wear from the slip requires for the softer shift and less heat build up this is my argument!!!!!

And i never tried to rubbish a good reliable mod, i have this same mod on my Ute and is a good cheap mod but don't tell people that it is "GOOD" for the box it is not it a trade off between performance and longevity of the box.

and finally yes we are here for information not disinformation and so from someone who's family has been in the transmission game for a total of 80 years learn basic mechanical principles.
Old 26-06-2007, 05:51 PM   #22

let him have his opinion we all know he's wrong. my advice to anyone wanting to know for sure go see an auto specialist i'm sure they know more than toyotaxr8 on this subject. just a matter of interest i was told by my tranny guy (nothing to do with the way he dresses BTW ) that some other electronic trannys have a firmer shift from the factory and this is acheived by having an increased pressure from the VPS (thats the S5 in the falcon) without any detrimental effect. The crummydore is one such example and I have yet to hear of any major make ripping their drivetrain apart from a higher VPS setting from the factory. it's simple really ford go for the soft shift for comfort not durability. of course there will always be people out there that say don't change factory settings as it was designed that way but just think, there are still those out there that say extractors and exhaust make you use more fuel when the oposite is true so myths abound. too often people offer their opinion as being fact but please if your not sure do the reaearch. to Quote Abraham Lincoln "it is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt"
Old 26-06-2007, 06:08 PM   #23
JoesAu

yous have confused me with each of your opininons??
Old 26-06-2007, 06:36 PM   #24
trick_xd
I build your wish list...

Joe .. I have the AU box in my EA .. and I turned the s5 1/8 of a turn ... just enough to help it out but still child asleep friendly .. and you know what its like im my EL .. but thats a full mechanical shift kit.... not really something you would like
trick_xd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2007, 06:45 PM   #25

Originally Posted by JoesAu
yous have confused me with each of your opininons??
sorry about that it takes just one who knows nothing to confuse someone so take my advice and see a transmission specialist and ask him thats what I did so i am passing on facts from someone who know where toyotaxr8 is just giving you an uninformed opinion so ask someone who does it every day
Old 26-06-2007, 06:54 PM   #26
toyotaxr8

Originally Posted by au3xr6
sorry about that it takes just one who knows nothing to confuse someone so take my advice and see a transmission specialist and ask him thats what I did so i am passing on facts from someone who know where toyotaxr8 is just giving you an uninformed opinion so ask someone who does it every day

Can't you read boy so i will write it slower for you
I NEVER SAID THAT IT WAS NOT A GOOD MOD (it is a good mod), I SAID!!! IT WILL CAUSE DAMAGE IN THE LONG RUN AS ANY GOOD AUTO MECHANIC WILL TELL YOU, IT IS A TRADE OFF BETWEEN PERFORMANCE AND LONGEVITY OF THE AUTO

Is this not what i said
Old 26-06-2007, 07:21 PM   #27

Originally Posted by toyotaxr8
Can't you read boy so i will write it slower for you
I NEVER SAID THAT IT WAS NOT A GOOD MOD (it is a good mod), I SAID!!! IT WILL CAUSE DAMAGE IN THE LONG RUN AS ANY GOOD AUTO MECHANIC WILL TELL YOU, IT IS A TRADE OFF BETWEEN PERFORMANCE AND LONGEVITY OF THE AUTO

Is this not what i said
obviously your reading skills are as poor as your knowledge i was stating that any reputable auto mechanic will tell you a slight increase in line pressure will improve longevity providing you don't raise it excessivly. this is fact not opinion and mant specialist rebuild their trannys with a slightly raised S5 pressure to improve transmission life we all know the tranny in the AU is its weak link and this is because of the soft shift causing excessive wear and heat build up (incase your don't know the meaning of the word excessive means too much) ford trade transmission reliability for a soft shift to make their cars smoother as is said do the research instead of offering your own opinion and you will find you are wrong I am not posting these comments to upset you but to prevent a fellow forum member from being given wrong information. if I am corrected on a subject I will research the matter and then reply and if the reply means admitting I am wrong so be it so please toyotaxr8 i invtie you to do the research and find the facts for yourself
Old 26-06-2007, 10:21 PM   #28
BLACKAUXR8
Young !@#$ Head

In the end i think the best option as it has been stated many of times here is
Go to an auto mechanic and ask him to do it for you he will know exactly what is good for it and what is to much!! And they will clean it and service the box while the oil pan is of. You get a service and a touch up of the solenoid to make the gearbox last longer!!! you cant go wrong.
Old 26-06-2007, 10:34 PM   #29
JoesAu

Yeah sweet thats what i'll do, im gonna get them to replace the solenoid with a new one and to adjust the new one.
Old 26-06-2007, 10:34 PM   #30
JoesAu

Thanks for the info people!! will post up my feedback after i get it done.