You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 20-09-2020, 04:34 PM   #1261
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

Default Re: Why is it.................?

Originally Posted by Bushbasher View Post
Why is it that no matter how hard I try I can't get any other of my Forza 7 aussie muscle cars to lap Bathurst as fast as the XRGT (and stay in class)?
I had to read what Forza 7 was , if I flog my G6ET in manual shift ... but yeah, see your point.
What aussie Forza 7 ?
Mr_G6ET is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-09-2020, 06:35 PM   #1262
Lunch
Wait, what?

Why is it. that 20 mcnuggets will set you back $18.95 but 24 mcnuggets is only $11.95?

Why is it. that the menu board only shows 20 for $18.95, not the 24 for $11.95?
Lunch is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-09-2020, 06:51 PM   #1263
Tonz

Originally Posted by Lunch View Post
Why is it. that 20 mcnuggets will set you back $18.95 but 24 mcnuggets is only $11.95?

Why is it. that the menu board only shows 20 for $18.95, not the 24 for $11.95?
that would be an interesting q for Dept Fair Trade ....misleading advertising, pit it up on farcebook see the s**t hit the fan
Old 30-09-2020, 05:32 PM   #1264
.:4:.
Kicking back

Why is it that sometimes some genius somewhere changes the terms for something? I was doing the assesments for the whs part of a course i am doing, winging it, being online if i dont know something i look up the course material, but one question was whats a contributing factor to cause an OOS? What the crap is an OOS? So i looked it up. Its an RSI, exept instead of repetitive strain injury, some genius thought the term occupational overuse syndrome is a better term. But why? Its like when occupational health and safety got changed to workplace health and safety. None of any of those terms is racist, sexist or offensive in any way. My medical records have down the time i did myself an RSI, and im not offended by that. For all i care it could be called working to hard syndrome, but that might offend the small percentage of people who pride themselves on laziness who convert their remaining energy into complaining.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-09-2020, 06:05 PM   #1265
ford71V8

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
Why is it that sometimes some genius somewhere changes the terms for something? I was doing the assesments for the whs part of a course i am doing, winging it, being online if i dont know something i look up the course material, but one question was whats a contributing factor to cause an OOS? What the crap is an OOS? So i looked it up. Its an RSI, exept instead of repetitive strain injury, some genius thought the term occupational overuse syndrome is a better term. But why? Its like when occupational health and safety got changed to workplace health and safety. None of any of those terms is racist, sexist or offensive in any way. My medical records have down the time i did myself an RSI, and im not offended by that. For all i care it could be called working to hard syndrome, but that might offend the small percentage of people who pride themselves on laziness who convert their remaining energy into complaining.

Took me a moment to work out what "whs part" was.
Didnt know it was no longer OH&S
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-09-2020, 07:16 PM   #1266
Kicking back

Originally Posted by ford71V8 View Post
Took me a moment to work out what "whs part" was.
Didnt know it was no longer OH&S
I think that just depends on who you ask. Doesnt make much sense as a workplace is where you carry out your occupation, and your occupation is carried out in a workplace. Where ever you are getting paid for your occupation is a workplace. So its political correctness gone wild, even though all these terms are politically correct. Id love it to be called dbadsobafr. Dont be a dumb **** or be a ****ing retard. But i guess these modules in courses have to cater for people who lack the brain power to not touch or do things that may hurt. That being said, there was an apprentice at my old work, i wasnt on the site, but he walked straight up a 6 foot ladder, top stepped it then went for the non existant 7th step and ripped down a ceiling on his way to the ground. That was strike 1. Strike 2 and 3 came 20 minutes after a site meeting saying wear gloves when cutting and handling sharp cable tray. Strike 2 was lieing as he signed off on the toolbox talk, strike 3 was not obeying company policy. So there are a lot of deficiencies with that kid. I wish at times darwinism became a thing again. These days its survival of the fattest not survival of the fittest, and people hide behind policies because their own stupid actions are always someone elses fault. No such thing as appoligies anymore. If you cut your face off with a grinder because you took the guard off, thats not on you for removing a safety device, thats the companies fault because there was nobody in the room at the time to tell you not to. Well, maybe not to that extreme, but people try to shed as much responsibility for their own actions as possible.
Old 30-09-2020, 10:34 PM   #1267

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Suggest them a new acronym, Repetitive Occupational Overuse Trauma.
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-09-2020, 10:41 PM   #1268
Kicking back

Suggest them a new acronym, Repetitive Occupational Overuse Trauma.
Give it 3 days and the term occupation will be used as a pregidiouse term towards some form of the comunity.... but the acroynim root sounds pretty good. I never had ****ers cramp, but i did have a child in my early adulthood.
Old 05-10-2020, 11:53 AM   #1269

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Supermarket prunes, until about a year or so back, were “Product of the USA”.

Ever since, they’ve been “Product of Chile”.

Has American prune production dropped radically, or did importers just see an opportunity to increase their margin?
Old 05-10-2020, 12:14 PM   #1270
Work Horse
Budget Racer

Buy your kids a job, buy Australian prunes!
Old 05-10-2020, 12:17 PM   #1271

Prunes? Wait until I get my crop of esrogim up and running.

No, marty351, not estrogen.
Old 05-10-2020, 01:09 PM   #1272

Supermarket prunes, until about a year or so back, were “Product of the USA”.

Ever since, they’ve been “Product of Chile”.

Has American prune production dropped radically, or did importers just see an opportunity to increase their margin?
This is a trick question, right?
Old 05-10-2020, 01:16 PM   #1273

No?

Literalist here. :-/
Old 05-10-2020, 03:14 PM   #1274
marty351
Shenanigans..............

Prunes? Wait until I get my crop of esrogim up and running.

No, marty351, not estrogen.
It's OK CB, my dyslexia hasn't kicked in. Yet.
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-10-2020, 02:11 PM   #1275
Lunch
Wait, what?

... that people who work night shift think they are a protected species and that anyone making noise during to day has to stop it so they can get some sleep? .!..
Lunch is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-10-2020, 02:27 PM   #1276
Kicking back

... that people who work night shift think they are a protected species and that anyone making noise during to day has to stop it so they can get some sleep? .!..
Depends how well you get along with your neighbors. When my mate who works nights lived at his mums house next door to me, we just agreed that after 1pm was fine for me to mow the lawn. That worked out fine for me as on a saturday i dont get going until atleast mid day. During the week it was no issue. Id be leaving for work as he got home, and id get home as he left for work.
Old 29-10-2020, 09:31 PM   #1277
marty351

Why is it that now Australia is now mostly covid free, the brainlet media feel the need to report the euro covid outbreak on the same levels and frequency as if it was affecting us directly?
Old 29-10-2020, 09:37 PM   #1278
Kicking back

Originally Posted by marty351 View Post
Why is it that now Australia is now mostly covid free, the brainlet media feel the need to report the euro covid outbreak on the same levels and frequency as if it was affecting us directly?
Easy, some people are easily impressional, and hysteria sells news papers.
I personally dont know anyone who has had covid, or suspected of. I know 1 bloke who came back from overseas who had to hotel quarantine. But other then that, ive liked social distancing.
Old 29-10-2020, 09:48 PM   #1279
marty351

Same, same, and me too.
Old 29-10-2020, 10:14 PM   #1280

My mate’s father died (in New York) of complications after contracting coronavirus. His wife’s family (India) have had several cases but none serious. They are all quite risk-averse these days.
Old 01-11-2020, 05:27 PM   #1281

Why is it - that 98 is 12¢ dearer in Gundagai than Junee?
Old 26-11-2020, 11:32 PM   #1282
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Why is it people say you only live once? You only die once but live everyday.

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-11-2020, 12:08 PM   #1283

Because the world keeps running when you're asleep. I bet you would be annoyed if someone started making noise every time you went to bed. Even if they were not doing it maliciously

I bet if a doctor made an error at 3am due to lack of sleep you'd be blowing up about it.
Old 10-12-2020, 06:12 PM   #1284
ford71V8

Why is it.....

The gearbox in the wifes Terry is rooted. Just found out its a $6k job so that rules that out. So why is it this happens after I fit 4 new tyres, new front pads and rotors, and service the car??
And I have a bill for the work that was done to try and rectify the original problem.

Not the greatest of situations.
Old 10-12-2020, 06:22 PM   #1285

Not a 2WD ZF box?
Old 10-12-2020, 06:25 PM   #1286
ford71V8

Its a 6speed in AWD 2006

Apparently cracked clutch case and ruined circuit board within.
Old 11-12-2020, 09:08 AM   #1287
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Originally Posted by ford71V8 View Post
Why is it.....

The gearbox in the wifes Terry is rooted. Just found out its a $6k job so that rules that out. So why is it this happens after I fit 4 new tyres, new front pads and rotors, and service the car??
And I have a bill for the work that was done to try and rectify the original problem.

Not the greatest of situations.

Same price for fixing a ZF 6 speed after it has been filled with engine coolant. See milkshaked thread.

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 11-12-2020, 09:42 AM   #1288
superyob

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
Easy, some people are easily impressional, and hysteria sells news papers.
I personally dont know anyone who has had covid, or suspected of. I know 1 bloke who came back from overseas who had to hotel quarantine. But other then that, ive liked social distancing.
Because there is a narrative to push, re a vaccine that is not in our best interests...
superyob is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2020, 04:06 PM   #1289

Six years since the Conargo Pub burned down.

No new pub.
No official stickers available.

If Twiggy Forrest has coin for RMW, I’m sure he can sort the pub with pocket change.
Old 13-12-2020, 04:42 PM   #1290
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Why is it before the 2016 US election it was impossible for the elections to be rigged. But during Trump's first term as President it was constantly claimed that the Russians put him in office. And now that the media has anointed Biden as President elect, it is again impossible to rig the US elections?

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides