You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 19-11-2010, 05:59 PM   #1
Bushbasher
When in doubt, GAS IT!!

Default Hands up those who've heard of a Keensert

This is a bit of a story and a bit of a rant but also a bit of a show and tell that some may be interested in...........read on,

I've just had a most frustrating day. What started off as a quick oil and filter change turned to chit when on removing the sump plug from the missus' wagon a 6mm length of helicoil came out with it, plus the alloy it was threaded into, leaving me with a 13.5mm hole in my sump with a bit of thread about 25mm inside that turned out to be the rethreaded helicoil size. Some numbnutz has stripped the sump bolt in the past and bodgied a bit of helicoil into the hole but instead of doing the job properly they've only put in a 6mm piece of coil and I'd say that wasn't in straight either otherwise it wouldn't have stripped itself back out considering i only ever spin the sump plug in with my fingers and nip it up till it's a firm but not tight fit. Since this engine has been in I've done roughly 10 oil changes and never noticed anything untoward yet this time it strips out on undoing it. ...anyway, now I'm in a spot, I don't have a bolt that'll match the helicoil thread and I'm 60km from any real shop where I can hunt up parts anyway so right now I've got a longer bolt siliconed into the sump with a shirtload of thread tape around it to grip what's left of the helicoil thread till I can fix it properly next week. It appears to be holding and hasn't weeped even after I got the oil warm so fingers crossed it'll hold till my bits turn up.
Now to the fix! I don't like helicoils much, never have, so have decided to fit a Keensert that I know will never let go but do you think I could find anyone in this state who even knew what one was let alone get me one. I spent 2 over hours online and on the phone trying to track down a supplier or retailer in SA who would sell me one. Every single place I called, including every mechanic in a 100km radius, and every auto store and industrial and engineering supplier from here to Adelaide had no clue what I was talking about. I ended up having to ring a specialist aviation equipment supplier in Victoria before I found someone who knew what they are. I can't believe nobody has ever heard of them, especially long standing mechanical workshops. I used to use these things 20 odd years ago to stop from blowing spark plugs and head studs out of my dirt bikes after I upped the compression so they're not a new thing.
How many here under 40 have seen them before and know what they are? For those that don't know what they are , here they are - If you want to make absolutely sure that thread won't EVER let go again, forget helicoils, these are what you want.

Ahhh, i feel better now .

Bushbasher

HERS- BFIII Wagon Gold, alloys, dual fuel, bullbar, big tow pack, trans cooler, fully rebuilt HD suspension, Clarion, alarmed, full 2 1/2" sports system, mint body

MINE- AUII Forte
Meteorite, dual fuel but otherwise bog stock.

MINE- AUII Fairlane Sportsman Liquid Silver over meteorite,HIDs', Airhog, Eagle Leads, dual fuel, custom rear springs, BA slotted discs + a second one for spares

Bushbasher is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2010, 09:16 PM   #2
Yaw
Ford Fanatic

mate I am 40 and have been a small engine mechanic. I can honestly say I have never heard of them. But they look great from the diagram.
Old 19-11-2010, 09:51 PM   #3
Yaw
Ford Fanatic

You know, you should rename this thread to "The Thread Thread"
Old 19-11-2010, 10:08 PM   #4
Matt P
No Boundries

Yep got taught all about them when doing tafe have never used one since helicoils are more readily available as you have found. They are a very impressive piece of engineering though.
Old 19-11-2010, 10:39 PM   #5
XD 351 Ute
Excessive Fuel Ingestion

Thanks for sharing, I've never heard of them, and I'm on the wrong side of 40.....

They remind me of a process called 'scotch keying' though, and that involves the drilling and tapping of multiple holes to fit screwed inserts when you don't want a bush to move from it's parent metal, casting etc.

I'm sure most mechanically minded people have heard of that, but yeah, Keensert, that's a new one for me.

Ed
Old 19-11-2010, 10:40 PM   #6
Pedro

I've never heard of them but I'm impressed ... not only by the product ... but by the masterly way you inserted the text, diagram and animation into your post.
Good stuff!
Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2010, 10:47 PM   #7
Tucool

Originally Posted by Pedro
I've never heard of them but I'm impressed ... not only by the product ... but by the masterly way you inserted the text, diagram and animation into your post.
Good stuff!
Yep plus one on that one

AU II XR8 Daily driver.

BF XR8 ute (Red the only true Modification) My Toy.

The boy,

XT Ute 393 cleveland.

Genuine XB GT.
Tucool is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2010, 10:55 PM   #8

Nup, never seen them before. Very clever though - how do you get them out?
Old 19-11-2010, 11:09 PM   #9
aussiblue
FG XR6 Ute & Sedan

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Has been floating around the oze tech section for a long time and is always there to give advice when people have an issue. 

There are several very similar products and perhaps they may have been easier to source:

Recoil Keyserts http://www.alcoa.com/fastening_syste...rtBrochure.pdf

Acme Keylocking Threaded Inserts http://www.acmeindustrial.com/keylockinsert.htm

Old 19-11-2010, 11:13 PM   #10
macca13

Go and see your Caterpillar dealer (not sure if they are westrac or not) they will sell them to you.
macca13 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2010, 12:11 AM   #11
66FAIRLANE

Yep. Also Nutserts and Timeserts.
66FAIRLANE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2010, 12:34 AM   #12
loxxr6
XB in parts...

Originally Posted by macca13
Go and see your Caterpillar dealer (not sure if they are westrac or not) they will sell them to you.
Westrac would be the one.

Has Fez and XB.

loxxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2010, 08:05 AM   #13

I've heard of them, never used them but then Ive never had a problem with a helicoil Ive fitted more than a few, and never had a problem (Ive fitted plenty for my self as well as other people I still know where 90% of them are)

as for sump bolts there the things that hold the sump to the motor the one that holds the oil in is called a plug

Old 20-11-2010, 10:27 AM   #14
aussiblue
FG XR6 Ute & Sedan

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Has been floating around the oze tech section for a long time and is always there to give advice when people have an issue. 

Nutserts are not for thread repair but for putting threaded holes in thin or hollow components.

I have used them to attach hinges for rear window louvres to window moldings for example:

Old 20-11-2010, 06:01 PM   #15
gregaust

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Greg always goes out of his way to provide assistance and support to members of AFF. Greg freely shares his knowledge with people who ask for help and often assists them with obtaining parts and repairs.  A great member of the AFF community. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always happy to offer assistance from his own experiences and often posts up photos when someone is having issues finding/locating something they are trying to repair or replace. 

Yes been using them for years , quite common more in the heavy vehicle industry
gregaust is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2010, 06:55 PM   #16

Why not just use a larger bang ???
Old 20-11-2010, 07:11 PM   #17
hawke

They are often used for open wheel race car construction, along with rivnuts or nutserts.

Most aviation bolt suppliers will have them. Of all places, I have bought them at Bunnings at Mascot in Sydney. Maybe someone ordered the wrong part.
hawke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2010, 10:18 PM   #18
naddis01
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

Originally Posted by aussiblue
Acme Keylocking Threaded Inserts http://www.acmeindustrial.com/keylockinsert.htm
Highly recommended by the coyote?
naddis01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-11-2010, 01:20 AM   #19
aussiblue
FG XR6 Ute & Sedan

Check out the catalogue;

Old 21-11-2010, 01:25 AM   #20
aussiblue
FG XR6 Ute & Sedan

Old 22-11-2010, 01:23 AM   #21
bpefi

Yeah I have used them before - application is limited if there isn't enough surrounding metal though as you have to drill a fair bit of metal out to fit them & in automotive that is usually the case. But they work well if there is - sorry to hear about the sump problem - I would be welding a socket & plug in myself - never been a fan of Fords setup
Old 22-11-2010, 01:34 AM   #22

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by macca13
Westrac are NSW, ACT and WA
Cavpower is for SA (OP locations)
William Adams is TAS & VIC
Hastings Deering is for N.T & QLD
Goughs is for NZ
Old 22-11-2010, 04:55 PM   #23

Originally Posted by hawke
Of all places, I have bought them at Bunnings at Mascot in Sydney. Maybe someone ordered the wrong part.
or maybe they sell a lot to qantas at mascot airport?
Old 22-11-2010, 06:20 PM   #24

Never heard or seen of them before, but we use nutserts at work, but its for a different purpose, putting a thread into a 10.5mm hole (M8 nutsert) to hold things together.