You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 07-05-2020, 12:20 PM   #61
MercuryT

Default Re: Towing a Caravan - Mechanical strain etc

Originally Posted by Cav View Post
Yeah I think we all wish you well.

Have you got an area to store the caravan?
Thanks mate.

Yeah a friend has an acreage with many sheds etc so it will go there (if I buy it)
MercuryT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-05-2020, 12:23 PM   #62
MercuryT

Originally Posted by Bevsta007 View Post
towing that sort weight with a small sedan or wagon just doesn't compare, I don't know how its legal.
Why wouldn't it be legal? I'm sure big 4wds pull far better but I doubt it means regular cars can't tow safely if within limits.
Old 07-05-2020, 01:11 PM   #63
Chapter Four

I forgot to add a 95 Discovery to my list of tow vehicles.
Did it once and never again, worst of the lot.
Short wheel base (compared to the falcons and commodores), high centre of gravity and soft long travel suspension gave a terrible experience.
Sure it was heavy, had a great cooling system and adequate brakes, but the motion and general stability was shocking. Braking on the Falcons and Commodores was better than the Disco.
Long wheel base, low slung, large family cars are very good tow vehicles. A Fairlane or Statesman would be a great tow vehicle i reckon.

My experience is that big a 4WD gives a false sense of security, the extra mass of the 4WD dampens down the push/pull of the trailer, but when things start going wrong, the high CofG and soft suspension isn't going to help in any way.
The nature of people is that because it feels more stable, they will tow at higher speeds too, which means when something does happen, you have all that extra inertia doing bad things to a high CofG vehicle.
I'd much rather tow 2T with the R36 than with an early Discovery.
Chapter Four is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-05-2020, 01:12 PM   #64
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by MercuryT View Post
Why wouldn't it be legal? I'm sure big 4wds pull far better but I doubt it means regular cars can't tow safely if within limits.
Of course yours is legal.What wouldn’t now be legal are the sort of loads we towed around years ago,like heavy car trailers with up to 2 ton on them and towing with XP Falcons or EH Holdens,1/2 the time the trailer brakes were ordinary at best,but I guess we drove to the conditions rather than getting there as fast as we could.
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-05-2020, 01:39 PM   #65
Vesper Martini

My point is I think sombody has allowed the R36 a higher braked towing capacity of 2200 due to its engine power and maybe because its AWD.

for example a regular 2.0TDI Passat wagon has 1500 braked. both are 750KG unbraked.

the weight, ground clearance and transmission are big factors that seem overlooked.
you put 2 tonne on the back of your golf it will be sitting on its bump stops with its nose in the air with a hand-span of tow ball clearance.

just saying try it out first with wind and hills.
Seadoo Challenger 210SE 310HP
Vesper Martini is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-05-2020, 01:47 PM   #66
Tassie f100

My point is I think sombody has allowed the R36 a higher braked towing capacity of 2200 due to its engine power and maybe because its AWD.

for example a regular 2.0TDI Passat wagon has 1500 braked. both are 750KG unbraked.

the weight, ground clearance and transmission are big factors that seem overlooked.
you put 2 tonne on the back of your golf it will be sitting on its bump stops with its nose in the air with a hand-span of tow ball clearance.

just saying try it out first with wind and hills.
Yeah,but Mercury is talking about 12-1400kg!nowhere near the 2 tonne you are quoting
Old 07-05-2020, 01:49 PM   #67
Vesper Martini

Originally Posted by Chapter Four View Post
Short wheel base (compared to the falcons and commodores), high centre of gravity and soft long travel suspension gave a terrible experience.
Sure it was heavy, had a great cooling system and adequate brakes, but the motion and general stability was shocking. Braking on the Falcons and Commodores was better than the Disco.
Long wheel base, low slung, large family cars are very good tow vehicles. A Fairlane or Statesman would be a great tow vehicle i reckon.

My experience is that big a 4WD gives a false sense of security, the extra mass of the 4WD dampens down the push/pull of the trailer, but when things start going wrong, the high CofG and soft suspension isn't going to help in any way.
The nature of people is that because it feels more stable, they will tow at higher speeds too, which means when something does happen, you have all that extra inertia doing bad things to a high CofG vehicle.
95 disco's era have one of the worst reputations in the Auto industry. they feel like a Tractor to tow with but get the job done. the newer ones are light years better
Old 07-05-2020, 01:54 PM   #68
Vesper Martini

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Yeah,but Mercury is talking about 12-1400kg!nowhere near the 2 tonne you are quoting
ok that's within the spec of standard so it should be fine - just faster :-)
Old 07-05-2020, 02:57 PM   #69
MercuryT

ok that's within the spec of standard so it should be fine - just faster :-)
Ha. Yeah it probably could pull faster than a standard Passat but I'd still take it slow and pull over to let cars pass etc.

The R36 has surprisingly stiff suspension (stock) - not sure if good or bad for towing but going from the ^ it sounds like soft is worse.
Old 07-05-2020, 03:32 PM   #70
hayseed

Hey mate be serious (if not already)

So the R36 (full towing set up) think ok too?

Hopefully seller down a bit

I was being serious Mate..
hayseed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-05-2020, 04:41 PM   #71
MercuryT

Originally Posted by hayseed View Post
I was being serious Mate..
Sorry as I misread it mate.

Thank you. Still waiting to hear back but 10 is my limit (mortgage, child maintenance etc) - other but great condition small vans have already come on Gumtree so it seems plenty of options!

Last edited by MercuryT; 07-05-2020 at 04:46 PM.
Old 07-05-2020, 07:27 PM   #72
Beastie
The Terrain Tamer

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Catering services for a bunch of layabouts and for being an all-round good guy whose sense of community goes above and beyond. 

Sorry as I misread it mate.

Thank you. Still waiting to hear back but 10 is my limit (mortgage, child maintenance etc) - other but great condition small vans have already come on Gumtree so it seems plenty of options!
I don't know the market in Tassie, but $12K (or your $10k offered) seems quite high for an older van.

We paid $3K for our 1981 17ft Viscount which was pretty much untouched internally.

And we towed it no problem with our AU Wagon...

It looks a bit different inside now and we changed the AU to a Territory (not because of the caravan). It does tow much nicer behind the Territory as it creates a better wind break for the van.

Old 07-05-2020, 08:14 PM   #73
MercuryT

Thanks Bongo Boy and your Van looks great!

The one I've offered on is fully renovated inside with appliances, bedding etc and pretty much perfect condition.

I can always say no so thanks mate.

ps; I'm usually not a Territory fan but yours looks fantastic
Old 07-05-2020, 09:00 PM   #74
MercuryT

WhiteLion (which I'm thankful for) said DSG is not gearbox. I thought was but I'm obviously wrong so I don't know if towing will cook it if it's a weak box compared to ours.

An older AU or BA yeah replace easily with second hand Auto etc - VW DSG *or gearbox) probably costs 10 times as much..........

It seems strong but yeah, who knows under load

Last edited by MercuryT; 07-05-2020 at 09:24 PM.
Old 07-05-2020, 09:27 PM   #75
Beastie
The Terrain Tamer

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Catering services for a bunch of layabouts and for being an all-round good guy whose sense of community goes above and beyond. 

I can't help myself...

Here are a couple of recent pics of the inside of our van now...

The first requirement of our rebuild was for me to install a shower / toilet...

Old 07-05-2020, 09:36 PM   #76
fiestaz

A quick google of ‘towing with dsg’ seems to say there are no issues towing with one of these gearboxes. Plenty of owners in Europe who have done it no problem. Take it easy and try not let the clutch slip too much on starts, especially on hills.

Otherwise if the weights work out with the R36 go for it. Will be a very cool tow rig!
Old 07-05-2020, 10:25 PM   #77
Work Horse
Budget Racer

Is it just me or when you look at this picture do you hear 1980's porn music?

Whatever 1980's porn music sounds like

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jsyX...45lA4o-SX53oSa

Last edited by Work Horse; 07-05-2020 at 10:40 PM.
Work Horse is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-05-2020, 07:41 AM   #78
whitelion65

WhiteLion (which I'm thankful for) said DSG is not gearbox. I thought was but I'm obviously wrong so I don't know if towing will cook it if it's a weak box compared to ours.

An older AU or BA yeah replace easily with second hand Auto etc - VW DSG *or gearbox) probably costs 10 times as much..........

It seems strong but yeah, who knows under load
Merc, I said it IS a gearbox, NOT a transmission.
Hope you get the van, and blow some cobwebs.
Look after yourself bro!
Moondust silver
2016 Focus Trend, 1.5ecoboost, 6sp manual.
Frozen white

Previous
2004 Berlina Wagon (LS1) Vespers Blue
1995 Camry 2.2, white
1971 Ford Fairmont wagon 302w, C4 Polar white
1971 TC Cortina, 2L 4sp, Ermine white
whitelion65 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-05-2020, 10:38 AM   #79
MercuryT

Originally Posted by fiestaz View Post
A quick google of ‘towing with dsg’ seems to say there are no issues towing with one of these gearboxes. Plenty of owners in Europe who have done it no problem. Take it easy and try not let the clutch slip too much on starts, especially on hills.

Otherwise if the weights work out with the R36 go for it. Will be a very cool tow rig!
Thanks for looking that up and for the positive advice.

Much appreciated and yep if it all goes ahead (whether this van or another that comes up at same weight) would definitely take it easy!
Old 08-05-2020, 10:40 AM   #80
MercuryT

Originally Posted by whitelion65 View Post
Merc, I said it IS a gearbox, NOT a transmission.
Hope you get the van, and blow some cobwebs.
Look after yourself bro!
You are pointing out my lack of mechanical knowledge too easily

Will do and thanks mate, other than being colder Tassie has lots of great places for weekends that aren't far away!
Old 11-05-2020, 01:05 AM   #81

Originally Posted by roKWiz
I thought that's good news until I googled it.
Just a Chevron company rebranding itself.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-12-...rands/11823506
Not surprised on the Disco. The wheelbase is way too short to make it a stable tow vehicle. It’s also high up and narrow. The problem with Statesmans (Statesmen?) is they sag at the rear too much with a load.
Old 11-05-2020, 08:18 PM   #82
MercuryT

Only 12ft and 1250kg. Even safer/easier to tow.

I missed out on previous, but I'll have a real crack at this as in perfect condition. (Only my Greyhounds and me)

Last edited by MercuryT; 11-05-2020 at 08:34 PM.
Old 11-05-2020, 10:25 PM   #83
MercuryT

10.5K agreed on inspection.

Small van and nothing great but I like it so fingers crossed for Sunday (I'm very picky....)
Old 14-05-2020, 07:34 PM   #84
MercuryT

Bloody Van sold before I looked. (sunday)

I guess I need to move quicker!
Old 26-06-2020, 08:17 PM   #85
MercuryT

Well sorry to dig up my old thread but I finally towed a van today.

About 1500kgs. Power and brakes seemed fine - although certainly noticeable difference, especially braking.

Whether it ruins the car I don't know, but it was nowhere near as dramatic as I suspected.

Now whether I buy or not......it's a very good time to buy as people are offloading unnecessary items due to Covid etc
Old 26-06-2020, 09:28 PM   #86
Tassie f100

Won’t do the car any harm at all!remember a few years ago people towed heavier vans with 1/2 horsepower 1/2 the brakes (if lucky) and most never got into any trouble,drive to the conditions and you will be fine.
Old 26-06-2020, 10:07 PM   #87
MercuryT

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Won’t do the car any harm at all!remember a few years ago people towed heavier vans with 1/2 horsepower 1/2 the brakes (if lucky) and most never got into any trouble,drive to the conditions and you will be fine.
Ok cool....thanks.

Exactly what the person said......he uses a Liberty Outback for towing and mine should have that covered.
Old 02-08-2020, 06:30 PM   #88
MercuryT

Sorry to dig up.old thread.

Nearly paid for caravan as under weight (Passat 2200 braked, Haymen Reece fitted a 1600kg limit) so thought all good.

Then I'm told by dealer yesterday (checked and correct) my "tow ball weight only 80kgs" so can't tow any caravan as usually around 10% of weight at ball.is minimum safety.

Totally ****ed off as previous owner towed a boat and I'm sure I could a small caravan (1400kgs) would be fine, and was on my test drive, but legally I can't buy any caravan as none are that low.

Ridiculous.

Last edited by MercuryT; 02-08-2020 at 06:50 PM.
Old 02-08-2020, 07:22 PM   #89
Chapter Four

The 10% is an advisory that varies from country to country. Europe is typically 5%. I tow my 2T boat with 110kg on the ball and it's fine.
There is no legal minimum ball load only maximum. So you can rebalance the van to get your 80kg ball load and be ok.
Chapter Four is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-08-2020, 07:34 PM   #90
MercuryT

The 10% is an advisory that varies from country to country. Europe is typically 5%. I tow my 2T boat with 110kg on the ball and it's fine.
There is no legal minimum ball load only maximum. So you can rebalance the van to get your 80kg ball load and be ok.
Thanks mate. I've tested vans on the R36:and such stiff springs it goes fine.

Thing is I was told totally illegal by dealer. Tow ball weight critical. (apparently more important than braked total weight)

Handbook says towball weight that's it. Otherwise aparently as can jackknife etc and im not keen on killing myself or especially anyone else.