Old 25-06-2012, 12:01 AM   #1
Rosscco

Default Charging Problems

I was driving home Saturday night, slowed for a bend and heard a bang. Looked at my dash and noticed the alt light was on and the voltmeter indicating around 12v (usually around 14v) Thought it might have been a drive belt, pulled over but the belt's OK. Got back in the car and noticed my guitar practice amp in the passenger front footwell had fallen over. Maybe this was the bang? But then what caused my charging issues? The alt light has never even flickered before, and the voltage always hangs around or just over 14v. Is there any wiring under the passenger side dash that my amp may have damaged?

Thanks
Ross

Rosscco is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-06-2012, 12:50 AM   #2

Default Re: Charging Problems

i`ve never heard an alternator go bang before, and i don`t think there`s much the amp could hit on the passenger floor that would do anything, perhaps it was coincidence the amp falling over and the alternator starting to die at that moment?, i think from memory my alternator, R.I.P carked it at about 180,000 k`s, no noise noticeable, firstly it would charge a small amount intermittently with light on, not long after it failed to charge altogether.
it might be time for a trip to the sparky?
Old 25-06-2012, 01:14 AM   #3
Rosscco

I'm not even sure it was the amp falling over. I just heard a bang and then noticed my alt light on. Don't know what the bang was. I'll be calling the RACV soon to have a look.
Old 25-06-2012, 10:19 AM   #4
Maka
Au Falcon = Mr Reliable

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Embodiment of the AFF spirit in his efforts with ACP. 

G'day Rosscco, there is a chance the amp hit the ecu under the passeger kick panel just depends on how big the amp is suppose.

cheers,Maka

Proud owner of a optioned keeper S1 Tickford Falcon AU XR6 VCT - "it's actually a better-balanced car than the XR8, goes almost as hard and uses about two-thirds of the fuel" (Drive.com 2007)
Maka is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-06-2012, 10:36 PM   #5
Rosscco

Well I just ordered a new alternator. Guess I'll find soon enough if it was the alternator at fault. It probably was, because I noticed it's covered with power steering oil, although it never gave any symptoms before.
Old 25-06-2012, 11:47 PM   #6

if it`s covered in oil i would be looking into fixing the leak pretty soon , or you maybe buying another alternator down the track, they don`t like oil much.
Old 26-06-2012, 10:25 PM   #7
Rosscco

Thanks. I got a new fitting for the power steering line. Just have to cut the old one off.
Old 27-06-2012, 07:08 AM   #8

hope it wasn't worn brushes, spending money on a new alternator.
Old 27-06-2012, 10:45 PM   #9
Rosscco

Originally Posted by burnz
hope it wasn't worn brushes, spending money on a new alternator.
Yeah, me too.
Well I'll find out this weekend.

Ross
Old 28-06-2012, 12:52 AM   #10

big chance if it`s an original alternator and had oil getting into it the copper part that the brushes run on will be non existent, probably good for scrap metal.
Old 30-06-2012, 10:15 PM   #11
Rosscco

Well I fitted my new alternator today (and fixed the ps leak)
Good news - it's charging again.
Now I need to pull the old one apart, just for a look, to see what went wrong with it.

Ross