Old 26-10-2007, 05:56 PM   #1
ILLaViTaR

Default What ford engines are more powerful than a 351???

I've never driven a 351 but keep hearing lots about them.

Are they more powerful than my ED inline 6 or the BA's 6?

What about fords current V8?

I don't understand it really everyone goes on about the 351 but it's a 30 year old engine. Surely technology would give the New 8's the advantage???

Old 26-10-2007, 06:01 PM   #2
sfr rob
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○ ○○○○○

Originally Posted by ILLaViTaR
I've never driven a 351 but keep hearing lots about them.

Are they more powerful than my ED inline 6 or the BA's 6?

What about fords current V8?

I don't understand it really everyone goes on about the 351 but it's a 30 year old engine. Surely technology would give the New 8's the advantage???
A 351 would eat your Ed I6 for breakfast, and give the BA v8's a real good run. 30 years or not, a 351 tuned properly is a whole lot of HP.

I don't know the exact HP figures of a stock clevo 351, boss 260 ed I6. Someone will fill us in i am sure.
sfr rob is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 06:02 PM   #3
poolkeeper
Its Resonating!

30 years of research & development
but yeah, id say it would be even???
poolkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 06:03 PM   #4
HOON69

My Mates and the Ex Inlaws 351's were basically great tuned 351's and ran like Monsters
a good tuned 351 will eat I6's in the E series range(stock to stock tuned)

makes me wanna go and buy another now
HOON69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 06:03 PM   #5

351s are really fast. like fast as the wind.

an engine is just an air pump. technology does them more harm than good. look at top fuel engines. no vtec there
||| is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 06:04 PM   #6
HOON69

Originally Posted by |||
351s are really fast. like fast as the wind.

an engine is just an air pump. technology does them more harm than good. look at top fuel engines. no vtec there
and to get power most big HP engines are back to the Carby setup
so much for technology
HOON69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 06:18 PM   #7
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

At it's peak under the nose of the XY GTHO phase 3 the Cleveland 351 put out an estimated 294 kilowatts.

The current peak for the Modular BOSS is 302 kilowatts.

The peak reached by the SOHC 250 crossflow found in the ED reached 172 kilowatts in the AU XR6.

The DOHC six found in the BA/BF has hit a peak of 190kw naturally aspirated and 270kw turbocharged.

Even though it's the oldest I am under the impression that the best engine out of the 250 crossflow, BOSS and Cleveland is in fact the Cleveland 351..why???

The Cleveland is a oversquare design which encourages high rpm. I think engine builders have seen upwards of 400kw naturally aspirated in the Cleveland 351.

I'm sure the Cleveland guys have much better knowledge but the Cleveland 351 is in fact a new engine in relative terms. The BOSS 302 Mustang was used as a development fuel for the design of the excellent heads on the Cleveland and it was until the end of the muscle car era that the Cleveland was put into production which is a shame because the Cleveland had the potential to dominate the muscle car scene (which it did in Australia).

While not as powerful as the FE big blocks the big blocks were too heavy and inefficient for circuit racing and the Windsor small block was an outdated and restricted design by the late 60's.

For circuit racing the Cleveland was THE BEST engineavailable (though I think they had oiling problems).

Though many would dispute it there hasn't been a V8 to match the Cleveland since. The Windsor had shocking head flow and the Modular V8 is an overweight monstrosity with a design limiting it's ability to rev and be bored and stroked.

GM and Dodge took the path of in fact modernising their pushrod V8's from the 70's such a shame that we didn't get a modern Cleveland.

Don't be fooled by it's age remember man landed on the moon when the Clevo was released and that fest hasn't been matched since.
sleekism is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 06:51 PM   #8
Mongoose
Can't go around corners

I always thought the 390 in the galaxies and other american fords had more power, certianly feels like it.
Mongoose is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 06:58 PM   #9
GT 4eva

i wish they would bring back the 531 please,please,please
GT 4eva is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 07:01 PM   #10
ILLaViTaR

Ah so stock the boss is better and when modded the 351 can handle way more?

Also I thought fuel injection gave more power than a carburettor setup?
Old 26-10-2007, 07:06 PM   #11
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

Originally Posted by ILLaViTaR
Also I thought fuel injection gave more power than a carburettor setup?
Not yet they cant..
nugget378 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 07:09 PM   #12

Originally Posted by sleekism
....Even though it's the oldest I am under the impression that the best engine out of the 250 crossflow, BOSS and Cleveland is in fact the Cleveland 351..why???....

I'm a bit concerned as to why we are comparing a 250 crossflow to a 351 Cleveland......................

Old 26-10-2007, 07:12 PM   #13
bob 351
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010

Location: yarram se vic in the shed listening to pinkfloyd and rubbing panels

Originally Posted by GT 4eva
i wish they would bring back the 531 please,please,please
i want one of these 531 cudic inches now thats big
bob 351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 07:13 PM   #14
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

Originally Posted by Peuty
I'm a bit concerned as to why we are comparing a 250 crossflow to a 351 Cleveland......................
You'll get over it...
Old 26-10-2007, 07:14 PM   #15
bob 351
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010

Originally Posted by Peuty
i know there is no comparison to a 351 but i did read an article about some engine builders that got a 250 crossflow to develop 600 bhp
Old 26-10-2007, 07:19 PM   #16
nugget378
Weezland

Originally Posted by bob 351
i know there is no comparison to a 351 but i did read an article about some engine builders that got a 250 crossflow to develop 600 bhp
Post it up Bob,I'd love to see it..
Old 26-10-2007, 07:19 PM   #17
cuz

Originally Posted by Mongoose
I always thought the 390 in the galaxies and other american fords had more power, certianly feels like it.
Thats the torque your feeling there buddy.... feels great don't it!! lol
Old 26-10-2007, 07:25 PM   #18
bob 351
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010

Originally Posted by nugget378
Post it up Bob,I'd love to see it..
mate if i could find magazine i would but true story
Old 26-10-2007, 07:27 PM   #19
aquahead2001

I've driven heaps of Cleveland powered cars and even the 4 barrelled 302 clevelands were dogs compared to a stock 2 barrel 351. I remember how well even the smog restricted XD 5.8 went.

That 4 inch bore and 3 1/2 inch stoke plus the semi hemi heads with them huuuuuugggggeeee valves (2V valves were bigger that Chev fuelly valves stock!) just seem to make power right across the rev range. May be the crank to deck height was "just" right where in the 302 clevo is so wrong...

It was designed as a performance engine and that really shows.

Just dragged out my old copy of Ford Performance Engines by Bob Ganahl (ISBN 0-931472-05-9), he loved them.

Long live the 351 Cleveland as one of the great ford engines ever.
aquahead2001 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 07:27 PM   #20

Originally Posted by nugget378
Not yet they cant..
Of course injection can produce more power
Old 26-10-2007, 07:31 PM   #21
irish2

no big horsepower is still carbed
irish2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 07:33 PM   #22
bob 351
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010

Originally Posted by irish2
no big horsepower is still carbed
of course you mean newer motors as most are fuel injected these days
Old 26-10-2007, 07:33 PM   #23
nugget378
Weezland

Originally Posted by atec77
How so?
Do you have any proof?
We are talking EFI here,not a mechanical injection hat...
Old 26-10-2007, 07:38 PM   #24
jabba

Actually the carburetor will make more power then fuel injection.. It's just fuel injection is more tunable and easier to tune....

Fact

Tuned by Elite Automotive

11.91 @ 117mph Vid
jabba is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 07:40 PM   #25
Tiapan
XF 393 3v CHI heads

EFI is for saving trees and little jap cars, i would only use efi if it was an 8 individual throttle body cross trumpet design...mmmmmm supercars, but when it comes to the KISS method, you cant fault a carb, at the end of the day ALL electrics f**ck up, keep it all mechanical baby!
Old 26-10-2007, 07:42 PM   #26
Tiapan
XF 393 3v CHI heads

Originally Posted by jabba
Actually the carburetor will make more power then fuel injection.. It's just fuel injection is more tunable and easier to tune....

Fact
IF you have the right equipment, i can tune my carb with an allen key and a screwdriver
Old 26-10-2007, 07:43 PM   #27
Nostalgia
LOW AND SLOW

351 is all about the sound of its power, not how much power it has. Its like watching the television, the pictures are better on the wireless !!! :
Nostalgia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 07:43 PM   #28
cuz

Originally Posted by Tiapan
EFI is for saving trees and little jap cars, i would only use efi if it was an 8 individual throttle body cross trumpet design...mmmmmm supercars, but when it comes to the KISS method, you cant fault a carb, at the end of the day ALL electrics f**ck up, keep it all mechanical baby!
AGREED 110%.

After just changing the engine on a EF, I will never ever own/work on one again.
Old 26-10-2007, 07:43 PM   #29
Barry_v
rocknrolla

Im not sure its that simple. I have a book titled "Ford 5.0 dyno tests" and it does back to back testing of a windsor with and without fuel injection. the test showed that the carb produced more power overall but the injection made more power on the way up... this was put down to the fact that the injection manifold had longer runners. overall very similar results, and not as black and white as you might think.
Barry_v is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-10-2007, 07:49 PM   #30
gregaust

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Greg always goes out of his way to provide assistance and support to members of AFF. Greg freely shares his knowledge with people who ask for help and often assists them with obtaining parts and repairs.  A great member of the AFF community. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always happy to offer assistance from his own experiences and often posts up photos when someone is having issues finding/locating something they are trying to repair or replace. 

Originally Posted by bob 351
i want one of these 531 cubic inches now thats big

Easy to do mate and they do make power :
gregaust is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post