You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Club and Speciality Forums > Forum Community Car Clubs > Eurofordclub.com > EuroFordClub.com

EuroFordClub.com European Ford Owners Club of Australia forum

Old 16-02-2005, 10:59 PM   #31
fordel
Tricolore Tard

defiantely will be economical... mind you i get about 500kms out of my tank but thats a different story..... 600ish will be great... i always notice that i only use anywhere about 46-50L for my 500 and thats with needle right on empty... so i dont think you will ever use the full 55L

Chris
Old 17-02-2005, 12:57 AM   #32
zetec
Zoom Zoom

Welcome to the European Ford Owners Club. You definitely won't regret taking the step up into a Focus. What the Fiesta gains in fun handling, zippiness and fuel economy, the Focus gains in overall refinement being quieter, easier to drive, more stable and predictable on the limt and more compliant with the rear end. It is a heavier car and not quite as sharp off the mark but still has the edge. You should see below 7 litres / 100km on the highway with some easy throttle work and easily below 9/100km in the city if you don't drive like me... Congrats and enjoy!!

By the way, good to see another Machine Silver owner!!!!!!
Old 17-02-2005, 11:47 AM   #33
whippet_zetec
Supes

yep, I get on average about 8.89L per 100km out of my 2.0L Zetec motor, running on BP Ultimate. I keep a full log of all fuel usage in my Focus, dates, litres, km travelled. You can certainly tell when I have done a long freeway section as opposed to some city thrashing.

On the one long freeway trip I have done I got close to 8.0L per 100km.
Old 17-02-2005, 05:47 PM   #34

I'm looking forward to getting the car. Machne silver for me is a great choice. Owning a black car I can see the benefits of having a light color as my next choice.

My old 2.0l camry used to get me 620 to a full tank. Once pushed it too 635 and it ran out of petrol. I am hoping the Focus is as good as the camry was around town.

I like the idea of the log book. It should give me an accurate account of how well the car is going.

Thanks again
Old 17-02-2005, 05:50 PM   #35
fordel
Tricolore Tard

There is a program you can get called Car Care which you can log fuel / warranty repairs/ non warranty jobs and just about every spec of you car.

It then plots the mileage etc into graphs and just about anything else you want to know about it.

I used it for a while but then kept forgetting to put in the petrol receipts so it wasn't much good to me anymore, but a great program none the less

Chris
Old 17-02-2005, 05:51 PM   #36
zetec
Zoom Zoom

I have seen as low as 7.4/100km on the highway and even that was not as good as it could be, but it was conservative. I could effectively see just above 7/100 I reckon.
Old 17-02-2005, 07:24 PM   #37

Originally Posted by fordel
There is a program you can get called Car Care which you can log fuel / warranty repairs/ non warranty jobs and just about every spec of you car.

It then plots the mileage etc into graphs and just about anything else you want to know about it.

I used it for a while but then kept forgetting to put in the petrol receipts so it wasn't much good to me anymore, but a great program none the less

Chris
Found it. Just downloading it now. Thanks for the tip
Old 17-02-2005, 09:56 PM   #38

id say that regardless of how you drive it, it'll still work ot cheaper to run than your average ford sedan. thus my reason for looking very seriously at the focus for the next vehicle.

fuel, and rego and insurance would be easier on the wallet compared to the falcon.
Old 17-02-2005, 11:36 PM   #39
Timmeh
Fairmont Ghia

Originally Posted by back2thefutura
id say that regardless of how you drive it, it'll still work ot cheaper to run than your average ford sedan. thus my reason for looking very seriously at the focus for the next vehicle.

fuel, and rego and insurance would be easier on the wallet compared to the falcon.
And this is one of the key reasons I bought my Focus and have never looked back, as a replacement to my '95 EF Falcon. I can run around all I like, and if I have done an especially high amount of kms a fortnight, I might have to throw in an extra ten bucks worth of fuel.

Tim
Timmeh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-02-2005, 11:44 PM   #40
fordel
Tricolore Tard

Even with my ST i am getting much better fuel milage then the old EL which is nice

Chris
Old 18-02-2005, 10:04 AM   #41
whippet_zetec
Supes

I have kept fuel and km data on every car I have owned and can catergorically state here and now that the fuel consumption of the Zetec absolutely kills the AU2 Falcon I had. You should see the graph comparison between the 2....(I had a VR commodore ute (pre eco-tech) and its fuel consumption fitted nicely between the Falcon and Focus)

On the freeway the Falcon went awesome, the engine iddled over and used about 8L/100km, around the city the thing sucked the juice at on average 12L/100km.

So now with my Focus I am getting close to Falcon freeway consumption in city driving.

Also having a smaller car means the Vehicle Tax @ the RTA is cheper (becasue it goes on vehicle weight).

Have had free servicing on the Falcon and Focus so cant really compare that one for you.
Old 23-02-2005, 08:30 PM   #42

I spoke to the dealer today and enquired on the estimated arrival date of the Focus. Says it will be here this week sometime. Maybe. He said we are aiming for a deleivery to moi on Tuesday, if not late Monday. He will call me to confirm the exact pickup details. Can't wait. Although, I'll be in Melbourne for FPV Open Day, so the time should pass very quickly.
Old 23-02-2005, 10:05 PM   #43
Timmeh
Fairmont Ghia

Sweet action! Sounds good!

Tim!
Old 24-02-2005, 11:59 PM   #44

Its even better now, cause I sold the XE Wagon. Good to be rid of that thing. Around 380k's per 50 litres of fuel. Not very economical at all. I'm gonna double my economy, and maybe triple the power from the XE to the Focus. The XE was a snail at 0-100. I think I could boil water faster. :
Old 01-03-2005, 07:22 PM   #45

Well the car arrived. All standard gear. A couple of pics

Old 01-03-2005, 07:37 PM   #46
Timmeh
Fairmont Ghia

Talking

Well the car arrived. All standard gear. A couple of pics

Very nice! I am a fan of the SR rims...

Shall we induct you into the eurofordclub as Bucknaked, or Nancy Boy? :

Should be a reliable performer for you, cheap to run, and a precise drive!

Tim

Last edited by Timmeh; 01-03-2005 at 07:43 PM.
Old 01-03-2005, 07:58 PM   #47

Hmmm, I was thinking EuroNancy. : Just kidding. Bucknaked will do.

She goes great. Pretty happy with it so far. Picked it up and it 8.1 k's on the clock. Not much at all.

Last edited by Bucknaked; 01-03-2005 at 08:00 PM.
Old 01-03-2005, 08:38 PM   #48
zetec
Zoom Zoom

MMMmmmm Machine Silver. Good lookin baby there. Congrats
Old 01-03-2005, 10:25 PM   #49
The MaDDeSTMaN
No longer driving a Ford.

Very good looking car indeed you've got there, congratulations!

May you have many years of trouble free, enjoyable driving in it.
The MaDDeSTMaN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-03-2005, 10:23 AM   #50
genebaby
Abuser of Charvels

Nice one Bucky, I expect to see it lowered and tinted soon.

Daily: Tornado MY20 GTI

Retired: Venom BA XR8 - build thread
genebaby is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-03-2005, 03:05 PM   #51
Fast Eddie
Motorsport Guru

Hey Bucknaked,

Great pictures. Are you planning to get the windows tinted? Also a chrome extension (like the one I have) looks great when you look from behind.

By the way, I regularly travel to Goulburn (just up the Highway from you). We'll have to do a track-day at Wakefield Park i.e. open for road-registered cars. Would you be interested??

Fast Eddie.
Fast Eddie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-03-2005, 05:57 PM   #52

Originally Posted by Fast Eddie
Hey Bucknaked,

Great pictures. Are you planning to get the windows tinted? Also a chrome extension (like the one I have) looks great when you look from behind.

By the way, I regularly travel to Goulburn (just up the Highway from you). We'll have to do a track-day at Wakefield Park i.e. open for road-registered cars. Would you be interested??

Fast Eddie.
Hi Fast Eddie

I think I'll just get the window tint done for now. Maybe the chrome tip like you suggested.

I'll come to a track day for sure. But Only for a look. I'm not too keen on having a run, but I'm always up for the trip to have a look. I got mate who would be keen. So when its arrnaged, let me know and I'll pass it onto him.

Dwayne
Old 02-03-2005, 05:59 PM   #53

Thanx guys for all the comments. Especially the stalker in Australia's Number 1 Post 98 XR8. :
Old 02-03-2005, 06:08 PM   #54
genebaby
Abuser of Charvels

Thanx guys for all the comments. Especially the stalker in Australia's Number 1 Post 98 XR8. :
You know I'll find you wherever you post......lol...

Daily: Tornado MY20 GTI

Retired: Venom BA XR8 - build thread
genebaby is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-03-2005, 07:17 PM   #55

I know. Now I am scared
Old 02-03-2005, 07:21 PM   #56
genebaby
Abuser of Charvels

Be afraid....be very afraid.....