Old 30-05-2005, 06:54 PM   #1
au-steve
fully *** turboooo

Default daily driver?

can anyone tell me how an AU with a C4 trans will drive? diff: 3.9 final drive, limited slip, 9".

???
Full comp insurance :nutsycuck
au-steve is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-05-2005, 07:01 PM   #2
Stav

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always ready to help others over the years on AFF with advice and tips along the way 

Mate I dont know if this is a help but I had a 3.5 diff ratio on a c4 gearbox in a xc falcon 4.1 litre. It went crap. It would slow the car down at high speed and rev its head right off. .

Single din radio fascias for fg to fgx fords Australia wide .

FG 1 2 and 3 gauge holder in stock now! https://stingraycar.com.au/shop/
Site Sponsor See Sponsor Stingray Car Security 😍👌✌

AU wagon 6 14.241@96.75 1/4 mile sold.Octane fg xr6 turbo!! 12.312 112.21 mph home tune f6 injectors gone ..now in nitro fgxr6t ready to go again
Stav is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-05-2005, 07:05 PM   #3
au-steve
fully *** turboooo

sounds like your C4 was from a truck or something.
Old 30-05-2005, 07:06 PM   #4

does your car NEED it?
it WILL rev its head off on the highway.
Old 30-05-2005, 07:47 PM   #5
TURBOTAXI
Turbo Falcon Fiend

Why not use a BTR trans? Wouldnt you be going backwards technology wise with a C4?
TURBOTAXI is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-05-2005, 07:49 PM   #6

the BTR can't handle high HP.
you're toying with trouble if you go beyond 200rwkw... and its expensive to get the BTR to handle more reliably.

A C4 will handle the power, but ofcourse thats at the expence of drivability.
Old 31-05-2005, 01:05 AM   #7
au-steve
fully *** turboooo

Originally Posted by EFFalcon
A C4 will handle the power, but ofcourse thats at the expence of drivability.
finally someone understands :

still alot of research to be done.
Old 31-05-2005, 02:58 AM   #8
Silhouette AU1 TS50.

Someone on this forum has a C10 behind a 5.0 AU. Can't remember the members nic, but it's a maroon/burgundy ute. Might be worth a chat to him.

PIC'S OF MY
T1 TS50.
12 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-05-2005, 09:39 AM   #9

Originally Posted by AUGZMK
Someone on this forum has a C10 behind a 5.0 AU. Can't remember the members nic, but it's a maroon/burgundy ute. Might be worth a chat to him.
Yeah, I know who you're talking about. He lives up here. Ummm... yeah, name is on the tip of my tongue.
Old 31-05-2005, 09:45 AM   #10

Au2xls isnt it?
Old 31-05-2005, 09:45 AM   #11
Racecraft
they call me Tibbo

AU2XLSV8

C10 with 3.45's

Racecraft is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-05-2005, 10:25 AM   #12

Originally Posted by Racecraft
AU2XLSV8

C10 with 3.45's
That's the one. Bloody sounds fantastic that ute.
Old 31-05-2005, 10:54 AM   #13

If you are going to make serious power, why not ease the diff ratio back a bit for the C4? I'm planning on running 3.00:1 on my XP with a C4 to make it highway friendly.

An alternative might be the Mustang AOD 4 speed transmission(Comes in Mechanical and Electronic versions). It has its problems, but what doesnt. A few places in the states like lentech re-engineer them to iron out the problems.

Sourbastard is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-05-2005, 01:31 PM   #14
au-steve
fully *** turboooo

the BTR would be better with a higher ratio final drive due to its s**t first and second ratios? just a little expensive to strengthen the BTR.
Old 31-05-2005, 10:38 PM   #15
INJECTED_250
Custom user title

well simple.... expect over 3500 rpm at 100 kmph.... You wouldnt be driving on any long trips... im running a single rail with 3.7's and its not realy a highway type crusa
INJECTED_250 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2005, 02:36 AM   #16

my old f100 ambo had a c10 and 3.9 nine inch 15 inch tyres and it reved pretty hard at freeway speeds c4 and c10 are not much different i think, it would pull a kenworth no problem but chewed fuel at an amazing rate, with that diff i wouldnt have anything but an overdrive box , any one seen the (gear vendors) site . i wouldnt do it