You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 02-09-2013, 11:34 AM   #31

Default Re: Telco dispute leaves kogan mobile isp users in limbo

Yes.... I had trouble porting my number. I didn't tick the box that says 'This is a pre-paid account' seeing as when I did the account number field vanished. I assumed that an account number from Kogan would help with the porting. All personal details were correct and exactly like what Kogan had on their end.

I got a msg saying there was a 'mismatch' in information, and had to email them my 100 points of ID. That took 2 days to process, and when my Kogan signal vanished I popped in my Aldi sim and tried to call my number only to get a msg saying the number had been disconnected.... I was furious, thinking my mobile number of 12 years had been lost.

It finally worked after 30 minutes.

I helped a work friend at school connect to Aldi from Kogan. This time, I clicked that it was a pre-paid account. All personal details correct and verified.

She also got a msg saying there was an 'API' problem... another information mismatch between Kogan and Aldi.

I scanned her ID and sent it off. That also took 2 days to finally port.

Old 25-10-2013, 12:30 PM   #32

I hate to bring up telecommunications again, but it would appear if you went to aldi on the 5 gb unlimited plan after kogan closed down, they have now dropped the 5gb to 2.5 gb for the same price, either that or i'm not reading it right or stuffing something up, any one else come across this ???
Old 25-10-2013, 01:15 PM   #33

while i'm at it has anyone come across better internet /talk plans ??
as we speak i'm currently on the phone holding waiting to get through to aldi mobile............ listening to elevator music........... 7 minutes 43 and counting........
lol 26.48 still holding............ i love telcos :(, i'll try again later..

Last edited by mik; 25-10-2013 at 01:38 PM. Reason: add
Old 25-10-2013, 09:44 PM   #34

Indeed confirmed, two months in they have cut the data in half for the same price, bloody telcos !
Old 25-10-2013, 11:33 PM   #35

Originally Posted by mik View Post
Indeed confirmed, two months in they have cut the data in half for the same price, bloody telcos !
Serious? Since when? They were quick to email out updated T&C's to suit them but nothing about this....

Back to researching I guess.... I use between 3 and 4gb a month.

Old 27-10-2013, 03:05 AM   #36

yeah serious mate, i was wondering how long it would take them, and it did not take them very long :( , i wonder if this was part of their agreement with telstra, my guess is the affirmative, this is why kogan got the bullet and aldi got the deal i suspect.
I only found out when i went to recharge, ultimate is now 2.5 gig(half what it was) for the same price,
telcos are on my **** list.
https://www.aldimobile.com.au/plans
Old 24-11-2013, 04:38 PM   #37

Thinking about giving giving the current mob prepaid the bullet and going optus prepaid, looking at the Optus site either I'm as thick as two planks or its not advertised real well.......first option is distinctly possible, a couple of things it's $2.00 per day with 500 meg per day data using 4g speed, any one tried the optus 4g and experience in Melbourne burbs?
Old 25-11-2013, 07:29 AM   #38
xxx000

thanks for the heads up re Aldi mobile cutting their data in half

I changed back to Amaysim, 4GB and unlimited everything else for $39.90 pm plus a much more user friendly website
xxx000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-11-2013, 08:17 AM   #39
baxtc1

I am using optus prepaid for both phone and internet. Supposed to be 3G in my area, more like dial up at times. It does work ok sometimes, but can be veey frustrating. With the internet, the balance rolls over at recharge, I am currently around 7.5gig, I don't recommend optus.
baxtc1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-11-2013, 12:51 PM   #40

Originally Posted by xxx000 View Post
thanks for the heads up re Aldi mobile cutting their data in half

I changed back to Amaysim, 4GB and unlimited everything else for $39.90 pm plus a much more user friendly website
No worries mate, forty bucks and four gig looks pretty reasonable, I will sus them out thank you.
Old 25-11-2013, 01:07 PM   #41

Originally Posted by baxtc1 View Post
I am using optus prepaid for both phone and internet. Supposed to be 3G in my area, more like dial up at times. It does work ok sometimes, but can be veey frustrating. With the internet, the balance rolls over at recharge, I am currently around 7.5gig, I don't recommend optus.
Ok, Thanks for the reply mate.
Old 25-11-2013, 01:18 PM   #42
xxx000

No worries mate, forty bucks and four gig looks pretty reasonable, I will sus them out thank you.
I reckon it's easily the best deal going these days
Old 25-11-2013, 01:23 PM   #43

I stuck with Aldi as most of the other cheap companies use Voda or Optus, both of which are rubbish where I live.

In the mean time, I'm still able to tether my laptop to my phone to use my mobile as a modem. That was the main concern as the only net I have at home is via my mobile.

There is a lot of talk that these 3rd party mobile suppliers are getting squeezed out one by one, which is why I'm hesitant to change.

Having said that, I have just cut back on watching the usual rubbish on YouTube most evenings and my usage has dropped big time. So, for the moment 2.5gb is doing me fine.

Last edited by GasoLane; 25-11-2013 at 05:06 PM.
Old 25-11-2013, 09:56 PM   #44
Dusty1
Giddy up!

Thinking about giving giving the current mob prepaid the bullet and going optus prepaid, looking at the Optus site either I'm as thick as two planks or its not advertised real well.......first option is distinctly possible, a couple of things it's $2.00 per day with 500 meg per day data using 4g speed, any one tried the optus 4g and experience in Melbourne burbs?
I'm on this. Out in the inner west of Melb, no drama. In rural Victoria outside of major towns, I reckon the service has dropped.

I'm looking at going to a $65 plan with them, as I would be dumping $60 on the prepaid and don't want to worry about recharging.
Oct 07 built Mondeo TDCi hatch, Stardust Silver, bluetooth, leather, tow pack, sunroof.
Dusty1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2013, 12:39 PM   #45

Originally Posted by Yellow_Festiva View Post
I stuck with Aldi as most of the other cheap companies use Voda or Optus, both of which are rubbish where I live.

In the mean time, I'm still able to tether my laptop to my phone to use my mobile as a modem. That was the main concern as the only net I have at home is via my mobile.

There is a lot of talk that these 3rd party mobile suppliers are getting squeezed out one by one, which is why I'm hesitant to change.

Having said that, I have just cut back on watching the usual rubbish on YouTube most evenings and my usage has dropped big time. So, for the moment 2.5gb is doing me fine.
I can see where your coming from mate, I also have cut back a fair bit............. a bit annoying really when you sign up for a service and about a month later they change rules for the same price,
I'm probably in a different boat to you, , I'm on a pension I don't need it for work, I could manage with two and a half gig, most of the time ......... but I won't stay on principle, aldi/telstra can go forth and ............ er, well you know what I mean..
Old 26-11-2013, 11:18 PM   #46
GASWAGON

And bloody Telstra ADSL 2 deals are sold as either 5GB per month or the next deal up is
50GB.....Nothing around 30GB....So they basically force you to sign up for the 50GB deal.
GASWAGON is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-03-2014, 02:22 PM   #47

Aldi are moving the goal posts again...

I fail to see how reducing what you get for the same money is offering "increased flexibility and better value for money."....

From 5gb, to 2.5gb to 1gb. Looks like this will be the last month with them....

https://www.aldimobile.com.au/newplans

Jason

Old 19-03-2014, 09:52 AM   #48

Anyone else on Aldi Mobile woken to no internet access??

Both customer support numbers are not working as well.

Old 25-03-2014, 09:43 AM   #49
iCat
doof doof doof doof

I almost went with Aldi. I went with Vodafone instead. I think i was had. :O
Old 25-03-2014, 01:22 PM   #50
xxx000

Went back to amaysim $39.90 p/m deal a while back
4gb of data incl sometimes 5gb
no nasty surprises
Old 25-03-2014, 11:23 PM   #51

Originally Posted by xxx000 View Post
Went back to amaysim $39.90 p/m deal a while back
4gb of data incl sometimes 5gb
no nasty surprises
Signing up with them tomorrow. Screw Aldi mobile...

Old 26-03-2014, 05:11 PM   #52
Hally

Who is the carrier for Amaysim?

Our kids are on Aldi and we are going to move them. Happy to pay an extra $5 bucks a month so there is no suproses around data usage.
Hally is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-03-2014, 05:21 PM   #53

Originally Posted by Hally View Post
Who is the carrier for Amaysim?

Our kids are on Aldi and we are going to move them. Happy to pay an extra $5 bucks a month so there is no suproses around data usage.
Amaysim uses Optus.

We did have Vodafone in the past but for some reason the reception and mobile internet were very poor. I tether my mobile to my laptop at home for my internet connection.

Using the Optus site, it says the reception is the highest level available for both the places I generally need it.

Will try it out for a month or so and see what happens. Been living on 2.5gb a month and can probably get that down to 2gb if i'm careful if Amaysim dosn't work for me and go to Boost.

Aldi should have really thought this one through. What they offer is now no better than most other brands and I think at least 50% of their business will jump ship when the download limit drops to 1gb a month.