You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 11-06-2009, 11:53 PM   #1
zx10

Default Qld registration fee changes

Has anyone heard about a change to rego costs in Qld for utes?

I only heard the end of it on the radio, I think it said that the ctp was going up, not sure though. Anyone know?

cheers
Matt

AU3 XR8 sedan - Manual, Leather, Momo wheel/gear knob
zx10 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 12:18 AM   #2
Jastel

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Has much experience with taxis and always jumps on here to explain things simply and help out the new guys in B-series and Contemporary... 

Yeah utes CTP up by around $60 because of more crashes for utes, mainly caused by P platers in Lo-Luxes

Also rego is up across all classes by about $100

And no more fuel subsidy either

Makes you want to move to Melbourne...
Jastel is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 09:19 AM   #3

our rego has just gone up this year as well ( Vic )

i know we are still lower than you guys

Just got my rego and it has gone up by $40 + this year

Jason

Old 12-06-2009, 09:46 AM   #4
hy_boi
Alan! Alan! Alan!

CTP goes up or down every 3 months, so its nothing new. Just depends on whats happened the previous couple of months.
hy_boi is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 09:58 AM   #5
zx10

Originally Posted by hy_boi
CTP goes up or down every 3 months, so its nothing new. Just depends on whats happened the previous couple of months.
Well it is new cause they are now labeling ute drivers as a bad risk.

AU3 XR8 sedan - Manual, Leather, Momo wheel/gear knob
zx10 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 10:17 AM   #6
hy_boi
Alan! Alan! Alan!

As it stand, there isn't a ute class. Only commercial vehicles. Which yes includes your hilux's and what not, but also includes vans etc.

But then again, I see some of the blokes up here in their utes and I can understand why its going up.
hy_boi is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 11:07 AM   #7
SB076

I am from Vic and no doubt ours will have gone up (probably for no real reason just trying to take more money from us) Must admit getting a bit annoyed with these constant increases in costs (rates, power, car rego, water, health insurance) looks like governments/business dont care about tax payers/customers anymore all they are concerned with is increasing the amount of money they can rip out of you.

with Sunroof and tinted windows
with out all the go fast bits I actually need :
SB076 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 01:06 PM   #8
XABEBAGT
GT Driver

Originally Posted by SB076
looks like governments/business dont care about tax payers/customers anymore all they are concerned with is increasing the amount of money they can rip out of you.
When did the government EVER care about us. The public is seen only as a cash cow and they try to wring every dollar out of us. Look at Queensland - every time someone gets killed on a back road in North Queensland they put a new speed camera in Brisbane to help cut the road toll. :

Now that inerest rates have come down they believe we can all afford to pay more for everything we use. And they think we have short memories. Not looking forward to the rego hike at all.
Keith
3/93 EB2GT No 204 - Cardinal Red 1 of 88
8/03 BAGT No 395 - Blood Orange
6/08 FGGT No 295 - Octane
3/64 XM 4 Door - Red
XABEBAGT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 01:17 PM   #9
Wally
XP Coupe

The market crash is just too good an opportunity for Govts not to raise fees and still have a pausible excuse. I understand that it's the likes of RACQ who are at the vanguard of hiking the Ute third party and even considering not offering accident coverage.... so much for C in "club".
Wally is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 02:03 PM   #10
Springfield_Johny

Shouldn't utes be considered a lower risk? Less passengers (dual cabs excepted) to get hurt in an accident

Daily drive 2010 Mitsubishi triton single cab turbo diesel

1968 XT Falcon (project yet to be started)
Springfield_Johny is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 04:33 PM   #11
SB076

Originally Posted by XABEBAGT
When did the government EVER care about us. The public is seen only as a cash cow and they try to wring every dollar out of us. Look at Queensland - every time someone gets killed on a back road in North Queensland they put a new speed camera in Brisbane to help cut the road toll. :

Now that inerest rates have come down they believe we can all afford to pay more for everything we use. And they think we have short memories. Not looking forward to the rego hike at all.
Keith
Apparently the CBA is about to put its variable rate up 0.1% on Monday and the cost of electricity in Queensland is going up 17.50%. Same thing's happen down here - its rubbish

with Sunroof and tinted windows
with out all the go fast bits I actually need :
SB076 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 05:13 PM   #12
XYGTHO
FORD FREAK

yer seen this on the news. Utes etc will be about $60 more than everything else (was looking at getting one but put off now). And rego is going up alot!
4cyl around $600 or $700 (can't remember as not interseted in buying one), 6Cyl about $800 and V8 about $1000 then plus the extra $60 for utes. So if you have a V8 ute in QLD will cost about $1060 a year when rego comes along. Rediculous. Our roads are absolutely crap, We get nothing for our money. fair enough there are more crashes in utes but why not have the same CTP for all cars. If you have a crash your personal insurance goes up. Anyway, for someone just scraping by with a house loan, hope to have kids within the next few years have no idea how i will cope to be honest with everything rocketing up except my wage. Seem to work harder and harder to get no further. :
Old 12-06-2009, 05:32 PM   #13
Thornie
Off smelting

Originally Posted by XYGTHO
yer seen this on the news. Utes etc will be about $60 more than everything else (was looking at getting one but put off now). And rego is going up alot!
4cyl around $600 or $700 (can't remember as not interseted in buying one), 6Cyl about $800 and V8 about $1000 then plus the extra $60 for utes. So if you have a V8 ute in QLD will cost about $1060 a year when rego comes along. Rediculous. Our roads are absolutely crap, We get nothing for our money. fair enough there are more crashes in utes but why not have the same CTP for all cars. If you have a crash your personal insurance goes up. Anyway, for someone just scraping by with a house loan, hope to have kids within the next few years have no idea how i will cope to be honest with everything rocketing up except my wage. Seem to work harder and harder to get no further. :

Can agree there, QLD has bitumenised camel tracks everywhere, potholes the size of small volcanos.
Thornie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 05:33 PM   #14
GT69

I see your Problem.
Originally Posted by XYGTHO
Seem to work harder and harder to get no further.
There it is.....whats this work you speak of? Go on welfare man....free money, cheaper rego, rates, power, gas, phones, doctors, scripts. You name it, you get a discount on it.

:togo:
GT69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 06:38 PM   #15
steamin63
old skool

all i can say is that anyone who voted for captain bligh and her crew of inbreds at the last election deserve everything they get.
Old 12-06-2009, 07:51 PM   #16
GT69

Originally Posted by steamin63
all i can say is that anyone who voted for captain bligh and her crew of inbreds at the last election deserve everything they get.
+1

Old 12-06-2009, 11:19 PM   #17
04redxr8

The problem is we grumble and moan about it, but do nothing. If we were to stage a very disruptive protest, like park all our utes in the streets of Brisbane, blocking all roads in and out, maybe the thiefs, (oops, i mean pollies) would gret the message.

The reason our country has gone completley to s***, is that these mongrels do as they please, and we let them get away with it. FFS, we outnumber them. (atleast for now). If we all did stage a mass protest where we blocked of the city, Would could they possibly do about it??
04redxr8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2009, 11:23 PM   #18
Pedro

[QUOTE=steamin63]all i can say is that anyone who voted for captain bligh and her crew of inbreds at the last election deserve everything they get.[/QUOTE

+2 and many others.
Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-06-2009, 12:39 AM   #19
GT69

whoops....wrong thread :
Old 13-06-2009, 06:33 PM   #20

Originally Posted by steamin63
I think you will find they are all tarred with the same brush mate
DJM83 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-06-2009, 07:36 PM   #21
last fairlane

Angry rego costs in QLD

Got the rego papers yesterday
its as follows renew rego by the 15th of July or
$45 extra will be charged for late fees
the charges not counting the late fee are
CTP insurance $340
rego fee $415.60
traffic improvement $45.80 (what the hell is that)
a total of $801.40
that is for a BA Ghia 4.0 litre
last year it was $690 the year before it was $590 and the year before that it was $500 all those increases were never announced just crept in not like this weeks anouncement that was advertised how many are going to drive unreg and just cop the fine
thanks for nothing (captain) Anna (hard hat) Bligh
ever see a poly on the news every night wearing a hard hat and high heels
only in Queensland
thanks for letting me have my rant
John
last fairlane is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-06-2009, 08:47 PM   #22
Dazza TT
Now Prado Powered

Received mine last week.
BA XL Mkii 6 Cyl Ute.
CTP is $368.00 with RACQ.
Rego Fee- $335.90
Traffic Improvement Fees- $44.45

$748.35 for 12 months, not including the $46.60 late payment fee.

We qualify for the pensioner discount, so it comes back to $580.40, not including the late payment fee.

Last edited by Dazza TT; 13-06-2009 at 08:56 PM. Reason: Added info.
Dazza TT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-06-2009, 08:56 PM   #23
R0BD0G

yeah... i think that because this has happened that stupid fuel thing that she did should be removed even though she didn't give a rats *** about the petition from racq and that she should work on roads and highways that don't involve Brisbane.. how many highways and bridges and tunnels are seriously needed in Brisbane when some other areas of the state don't even have a bitumen road

http://fordforums.com.au/showthread....4&page=1&pp=25
R0BD0G is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-06-2009, 08:58 PM   #24
Dazza TT
Now Prado Powered

Originally Posted by R0BD0G
....she should work on roads and highways that don't involve Brisbane.. how many highways and bridges and tunnels are seriously needed in Brisbane when some other areas of the state don't even have a bitumen road
Agreed.
I don't know the details (And don't spend much time in SEQ) so I'm probably not qualified or educated enough to comment too much.
But is there really a need for a second road into the Brisbane Airport??? Could this money be better spent elsewhere???

Mind you, it was bloody good to see the Camooweal-Mt Isa stretch finally get fixed up & sorted out. What a goat-track that used to be....

Last edited by Dazza TT; 13-06-2009 at 09:03 PM.
Dazza TT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post