25-11-2023, 07:52 PM | #1 | ||
praek tih kl jo kr
This is just a thread on the good old times when life was simpler
Like Remember when you could fill a jerry can and get change from $10, or going to the local shop with .20c and coming home with a bag full of Cobbers bigger than your hand as a kid. Interested in hearing what other people remember . |
25-11-2023, 08:43 PM | #2 | ||
remember when the derestricted speeds zones existed outside Sydney.
25-11-2023, 08:44 PM | #3 | ||
RS The Faster Fords
I remember when you could get 10c for the big glass coke bottles. There'd be fights at the bin in the park over them.
We'd go to the small deli in our suburb and cash them in to buy lollies, he didn't lock the gates out back so we'd knock them off the next day and take them to the big deli, he unfortunately did lock his gates
25-11-2023, 09:27 PM | #4 | ||
…When you could hug someone without wondering if it was going to come back in ten years as a DV charge against you?
14 users like this post: |
25-11-2023, 10:01 PM | #5 | ||
praek tih kl jo kr
when you could let your kids play in the street, leave your front door unlocked and put your car keys on the visor, drive ins, service stations (not petrol stations like now) Bog laps in town.
4 users like this post: |
25-11-2023, 11:20 PM | #6 | ||
When you could say every colour under the sun without being questioned or frowned upon.
Redskins ! No parking meters. Have loud exhausts no one would care. Servo attendants. Milk and bread delivered home. Watch Benny Hill On the Bus’s Love They Neighbour ! Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
25-11-2023, 11:36 PM | #8 | ||
Shenanigans..............
Take the bunny gun and ride down to the river to fetch some din-din.
Fireworks And while down at the river, see an old holden or two dumped in there. |
26-11-2023, 07:58 AM | #9 | ||
or, take a girl to the drive-in movies, find heaven in the back seat of your (insert car name), and not be charged with sexual assault at some indeterminate time in the distant future.
26-11-2023, 08:11 AM | #10 | ||
Where it's cold and lonely by the dashboard light.
3 users like this post: |
26-11-2023, 08:31 AM | #11 | |||
my ears are still ringing.
26-11-2023, 10:24 AM | #12 | ||
Remember when only women competed in women's sport.
26-11-2023, 11:00 AM | #13 | ||
As a young kid around 12/13 I would walk up to the local shopping centre after dinner to go slot car racing. I'd walk the 2 miles home around 8:30 pm. Not a worry in the world.
10 users like this post: |
26-11-2023, 11:37 AM | #14 | ||
praek tih kl jo kr
When you used to write a letter and wait a few weeks for a response, actually talk to someone with speech (not text), when a phone only was a phone, you got paid in Cash, you could talk to your bank manager, your friends were either a girl or a boy , you could get off a speeding fine with some good talking, the police actually came when you called, you could buy red freezers and take a hour to eat it.
5 users like this post: |
26-11-2023, 12:09 PM | #15 | ||
.............. crack a joke in a group of 10 people without offending 9 of them for 9 different reasons.
12 users like this post: |
26-11-2023, 01:09 PM | #17 | ||
I remember life being so much simpler, no mobile phones or internet.
10 users like this post: |
26-11-2023, 01:23 PM | #18 | ||
FG XR6 Ute & Sedan
As an arthritic 70 year old, it's: do up your shoe laces without any pain or aids for the aged, form fist with your hands and repair mechanical watches and read ingredient lists on food packaging without needing a microscope.
regards Blue Last edited by aussiblue; 26-11-2023 at 01:34 PM. |
8 users like this post: |
26-11-2023, 01:26 PM | #19 | ||
eat real food, no Soylent Green.
26-11-2023, 06:07 PM | #21 | ||
Advise a mate about to paint old varnished timber panelling in an old house, to use a blocker with shellac to prevent bleed, without being told in response "no- we cannot use shellac in paint -we are vegan...."
Ford Rides: Ford Fiesta ST Mk 8 -daily- closest thing to a go kart on road for under 50K FG X XR8 smoke manual - Miami hand built masterpiece by David Winter, BMC Filter, JLT Oil separators, Street Fighter Intercooler Stage 2, crushed ball, running 15% E85 and 85% 98- weekender |
26-11-2023, 06:20 PM | #22 | ||
reminds me of going to the hardware store (a little independent) and being able to buy Coprinol, Red lead or copper roves and naturally seasoned timber.
26-11-2023, 08:01 PM | #23 | ||
Shenanigans..............
Get vaccinated and not catch autism.
27-11-2023, 10:31 PM | #24 | ||
Very regular
…borrow Grandads STEN SMG (a left over from WW2, we never really did find out how it came into his possession), take it down to the local rifle range and fire off a few rounds without anyone giving a shiit. Those were the days!
28-11-2023, 09:55 AM | #25 | ||
backyard burning off fires.....
Ride your mini or motorcross bike down the paths and into the bush and go for your life ! No battery powered power tools !
28-11-2023, 10:40 AM | #26 | |||
Same,no idea how he got it, we think he traded it for something. After the buy back business from Port Arthur, handed it in to the Army Museum here in WA, didn't want to get caught with that.
28-11-2023, 10:55 AM | #28 | ||
Speaking of guns, school cadets. A open air firing range down behind the basketball courts and we took our guns home on the bus for cleaning before various displays. Hilariously unthinkable now.
5 users like this post: |
28-11-2023, 11:37 AM | #29 | ||
...renovate a house without having to worry about whether the materials inside could potentially kill you. Or not having to worry about getting in a professional to suit up, wrap the house in plastic and pay them a fortune just coz you wanted to demolish that wall.
Not everything was better.......
Labels are for jars, not for people. Life is a journey, not a destination. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor |
This user likes this post: |
28-11-2023, 11:40 AM | #30 | ||
I remember doing my BAS, paying the required tax and still having funds left over in the business bank acct.