You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 28-04-2023, 10:48 AM   #5341
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 
Default Re: What made you feel good today?

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
Long weekend......
Short (as in two days) weekend here, but had a four day weekend last weekend, so can't complain too much

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-04-2023, 10:57 AM   #5342

Mines a forced one....rain and run out of stone atm.

roKWiz is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-04-2023, 11:55 AM   #5343
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

Mines a forced one....rain and run out of stone atm.
Shouldn't that be in the "Geez, I hate that!" thread? I would've thought that stone supplies would be pretty crucial to your line of work

Are you at home, RW? Rain doesn't look like it will be much of an issue that way over the weekend.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last edited by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0; 28-04-2023 at 12:01 PM.
Old 28-04-2023, 12:12 PM   #5344

Originally Posted by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 View Post
Shouldn't that be in the "Geez, I hate that!" thread? I would've thought that stone supplies would be pretty crucial to your line of work

Are you at home, RW? Rain doesn't look like it will be much of an issue that way over the weekend.
Nah, staying 130km away atm, stone supply is crucial, only if I go and get it myself.

Are you suggesting I work on a Saturday, Sunday ? Did that over Easter.

Rain means not being able to enter the quarry pit to hand select it.
OHS and all that bother.

Old 28-04-2023, 12:26 PM   #5345
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Nah, staying 130km away atm, stone supply is crucial, only if I go and get it myself.

Are you suggesting I work on a Saturday, Sunday ? Did that over Easter.

Rain means not being able to enter the quarry pit to hand select it.
OHS and all that bother.
Soz, poor wording on my behalf. I meant over your long weekend

Not much rain expected over the next four days, including today, up that way, is all I meant. Maybe good weather for a ride then?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 28-04-2023, 12:35 PM   #5346

Soz, poor wording on my behalf. I meant over your long weekend

Not much rain expected over the next four days, including today, up that way, is all I meant. Maybe good weather for a ride then?
I was stirring. knew what you meant, all good. mate.

This job I'm in no hurry to complete, finished one side of their entrance wall ahead of schedule, quarry run Monday back at it Tuesday.

Old 28-04-2023, 02:00 PM   #5347

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Originally Posted by RokWiz
…quarry run Monday
Originally Posted by Monday customer
So you’re not going to do any work today?
Found dry joints in a $170 (replacement cost) blower module, nice easy repair and win for me plus client.
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-04-2023, 09:45 PM   #5348
commodorenutt

Found out today that the young fellow at work who I have mentored for the last 4 years, has landed a great job, not only earning lots more money than he was getting, but also with many more avenues to work his way up the ladder than we could offer him at my work. For him to go further where I work would need one of 2 people to either die, or retire. As both of them are under 50, and quite fit, he’d be waiting a long time.

He was upfront with me when we came back to work in January, about wanting to find a better job with more opportunities, and I told him to go for it. Over the past few months I’ve helped him with his resume, and interview practice. Not that he needed much - he’s an intelligent guy.

I knew the time was close when I did a phone reference for him last week. A few days later he asked me to read the employment contract they offered him. We got a few things changed to make it fairer for him, and both parties were happy.

Today he came to me and asked for help in writing his first ever resignation letter. It was bittersweet. Great for him as a person, but he’ll leave big shoes to fill.

The joy on his face was amazing. It was then that I reflected on the people in my past, who mentored me when I was his age, and encouraged me to get to where I am today. I’m still friends with them today - those who are still alive - and most have retired now. I hope we’re still in touch when I get to retirement age.

It felt damn good to be a key part of his growth over the last few years, and point him on the pathway to new challenges.
commodorenutt is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2023, 02:55 PM   #5349
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

My favourite YouTube channels have released new episodes

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2023, 07:33 AM   #5350

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

I slept from 10:45PM until my alarm this morning. Out like a light; this is almost unheard of in my usual routine.
Old 01-05-2023, 08:26 AM   #5351

Note to self, don't listen to FGY's weekend weather predictions.

Rained all weekend here.

Last edited by roKWiz; 01-05-2023 at 08:34 AM.
Old 01-05-2023, 10:53 AM   #5352
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Note to self, don't listen to FGY's weekend weather predictions.

Rained all weekend here.
Where's 'here'? Wang didn't have much. I'll take a punt and guess you were further east than that? Cooma, for eg, had a fair bit.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 01-05-2023, 11:05 AM   #5353
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

This could go either way; either here or in the "Geez, I hate that" thread as it has become the ear worm for the day for me.

Listening to the radio this monring on my way into work and they were talking about King Charles' coronation and the music list that has been chosen for that. One song on the list is Boney M's Daddy Cool.

That bass line is just addictive!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 01-05-2023, 03:14 PM   #5354

Where's 'here'? Wang didn't have much. I'll take a punt and guess you were further east than that? Cooma, for eg, had a fair bit.
Near Yack/Kiewa, just knocked off as it's raining again.

Old 01-05-2023, 08:27 PM   #5355
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Looks like that area is in for a bit more over the next couple of days, too. A mid week weekend?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 01-05-2023, 09:07 PM   #5356

That bass line is just addictive!
Speaking of low notes, I was stuck with Smooth FM around midday today. A familiar baseline started up - I was impressed - a schmaltzy station playing Iggy Pop’s Lust for Life!

Sadly no - it was Phil Collins and You Can’t Hurry Love. But - an uncannily similar groove.
Old 01-05-2023, 10:32 PM   #5357
ford71V8

Speaking of low notes, I was stuck with Smooth FM around midday today. A familiar baseline started up - I was impressed - a schmaltzy station playing Iggy Pop’s Lust for Life!

Sadly no - it was Phil Collins and You Can’t Hurry Love. But - an uncannily similar groove.
You did okay from PC solo options....you could have been stuck with Against All Odds!
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2023, 10:17 AM   #5358

Was yesterday, but still feeling good today.
Me and the bride booked a trip to Northern Italy (the lakes, Como etc) then over the border to Switzerland for a couple of train rides through the Alps and Lucerne up to Zurich, fly home.
Got to brush up on my Italian now.
Bravo.
Old 02-05-2023, 12:16 PM   #5359
five 7

Mush for brain Biden, has lifted the covid restrictions so I can now enter freely by air.
five 7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2023, 09:11 PM   #5360
ford71V8

(Wasnt today but).... last weekend got asked to pick up a futon for my daughter so jumped in the ute which was nice because I dont drive it that much lately.
I stopped at a servo to put some air in the tyres and I heard a young lad excitedly tell his mum to look at the car. He was reeling off the model, badge names and engine, couldnt quite decide if it was a BA or FG. He was about 8 or 9 Id say and I was so chuffed that a young boy knew, and cared!, about a 03 XR8 Falcon. Reminded myself of me when I was that age boring my mum with similar spotto's.
I was real close to heading over to tell him which model it was but my wife gave me one of those looks of How about we leave them be.
I was also slightly embarrased how dirty the car was so we got on with the day but that little dude made my day, and I accidentally made his.
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2023, 10:45 PM   #5361
.:4:.
Kicking back

So this was round 2. A week or so ago i was at my brothers and he asked had i ever had blood sausage? My answer was no, so i asked if he had had it. He gave me the same answer however he bought blood sausages. I'll say, they do not look tasty raw, they also do not look tasty cooked. But turns out, they are. So round 2 of blood sausages, i rate them.
.:4:. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2023, 11:09 PM   #5362

Laughing my *** off at all the experts that said interest rates won't be going up any more...

(It's the red triangle with exclamation mark on the left)
zilo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-05-2023, 09:26 AM   #5363

Looks like that area is in for a bit more over the next couple of days, too. A mid week weekend?
Thanks FGY, you and BOM got it right.
Doesn't look like I'm getting into the quarry for a few days.

But looking at the feel good side, truck will stay clean-ish.

Old 03-05-2023, 10:41 AM   #5364
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Thanks FGY, you and BOM got it right.
Doesn't look like I'm getting into the quarry for a few days.

But looking at the feel good side, truck will stay clean-ish.
I may not get it right all the time, but I do get it right some of the time

Mind you, the east coast low that impacted up your way over the weekend is notoriously hard to predict accurately. That's my excuse, and I'm sticking to it

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 03-05-2023, 11:13 AM   #5365

At least wind shear doesn’t affect quarry loads.
Old 03-05-2023, 12:53 PM   #5366

At least wind shear doesn’t affect quarry loads.
Assuming I could get in the pit in the first place + the bush road shortcut will be under a metre of water by now.

Old 04-05-2023, 06:58 PM   #5367

I laid the replacement radiator support onto the VE Commodore this afternoon, lined up the top corner holes with the “dirtprints” of its original and nipped up the bolts. The rail bolt holes were all within a bee’s willy of dead centre. That felt good to see!
Old 04-05-2023, 11:03 PM   #5368
Late braker

Originally Posted by ford71V8 View Post
(Wasnt today but).... last weekend got asked to pick up a futon for my daughter so jumped in the ute which was nice because I dont drive it that much lately.
I stopped at a servo to put some air in the tyres and I heard a young lad excitedly tell his mum to look at the car. He was reeling off the model, badge names and engine, couldnt quite decide if it was a BA or FG. He was about 8 or 9 Id say and I was so chuffed that a young boy knew, and cared!, about a 03 XR8 Falcon. Reminded myself of me when I was that age boring my mum with similar spotto's.
I was real close to heading over to tell him which model it was but my wife gave me one of those looks of How about we leave them be.
I was also slightly embarrased how dirty the car was so we got on with the day but that little dude made my day, and I accidentally made his.
Was filling up at a servo a while ago and went in to pay. The console lady said words to the effect “beautiful car, such good nick, really wanted one of those… even the mirrors are the special
colour, did it come like that from factory…”
It’s a BF Mk II XR6, yes it’s in good nick 😃

Made me smile, was not expecting any such attention
Late braker is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2023, 09:31 AM   #5369
marty351
Shenanigans..............

I laid the replacement radiator support onto the VE Commodore this afternoon, lined up the top corner holes with the “dirtprints” of its original and nipped up the bolts. The rail bolt holes were all within a bee’s willy of dead centre. That felt good to see!
Taking a gamble and it paying off!

I think that deserves a kit-kat and a quick-pick.
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-05-2023, 08:31 AM   #5370
xkxlxm

Friday morning I went to the supermarket quite early to get a couple of things and I was also looking for a roll of clear, wide, sticky tape that I needed that day. They only had a three-roll pack and I didn't need/want that much.

I was going to go to the post office at 9 to get one but in between, we went for a walk to/through the park and in the gutter on the way there I saw a roll of wide, black tape, maybe 1/3 of a roll. Being black really didn't matter and it did exactly what I wanted it to do (with plenty left over).
xkxlxm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post