Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > Ford Forums Central > Site Support

Site Support If something isn't working or you have a suggestion ( a nice one !! ) let us know here.

Old 29-04-2008, 04:17 PM   #1

Default Changes to Club Forums

Howdy All

As you can see, we have made some changes today to the layout and placement of both the Physical Car clubs and those of the online community clubs.

It has drastically reduced out main front page and organised these extremely important areas into some order.

Hopefully this will help is build in building numbers for the the forums and the clubs in turn.

If you are a member of a car club and are not represented on these forums as such we would be more than happy to have a chat to your committee with an aim of helping out

Admin Team

Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-04-2008, 05:47 PM   #2
tickford2001

a move in the right direction i reckon! good idea :
Old 29-04-2008, 05:50 PM   #3

Yep good move fellas.
Old 29-04-2008, 06:38 PM   #4
DaveGod
Your not Ron

IMO its a good idea in theory...but it just adds yet another step to reach the info i want. So to check any new ACT Events for example from the homepage i would have to load 3 pages in total. Which is not alot, however when at work on 28.8kbps MAX wireless internet it adds another unnecisary step. Maybe something else to look at would be to tidy up all the photos or whatever they are below the sales forums, seems to grow and grow. Dave

::EDIT:: Just had an idea, is there a way (to implement) for the user the choice whether they want to expand or retract a forum category. Sorta like an MS eplorer tree.
Old 29-04-2008, 07:06 PM   #5

The function has always been there use the double arrow up located on the right of each section in the blue bar
Old 29-04-2008, 07:48 PM   #6
DaveGod
Your not Ron

Well what do ya know...

Maybe bring back the club forums to front page ;)
Old 29-04-2008, 11:04 PM   #7
ROOSTA
DFDFDF

Gees.. Learn something new everyday.. That just tidied everything up a lot.. LOL..

Nik
ROOSTA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-04-2008, 11:42 PM   #8

no offence, but yeah i really dont like it.

i prefered having all the clubs listed out so i could open each that were relevent to me, now it seems to take more effort
Old 30-04-2008, 01:41 AM   #9
XR5-Boy
You mad, bro?

Originally Posted by SgtBourne
no offence, but yeah i really dont like it.

i prefered having all the clubs listed out so i could open each that were relevent to me, now it seems to take more effort
Yep i agree! I'm not a fan to be honest. I understand the cleaning up bit, but it just adds another click to the list i think. I reckon run with it for a week and see what the feedback is

SFS 2007 Best Cougar, SFS 2010/2011 Best Focus XR5
XR5-Boy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2008, 02:03 AM   #10
superroo
You can't stop the signal

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Has done quite a few excellent write ups for au .com 

Yeah not a fan as well.
I like your thinking/theory, but i think this simplifies the club section too much.

I'm a fan of what you did with the bar, but yeah.

Wait and see what people say/think once we get used to it.

superroo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2008, 10:05 AM   #11

the AUFalcon.com went from 1 click to 4 clicks as it is my most used forum I find this to be a pain also I used to be able to see the last post of this forum from the front page and now this is gone . not a fan of this change you would have saved more space by moving the sponsor pages to a sub page it is long and there are a lot of sponsors that are irrelivent to partiular users. take me i would visit maybe 4 sponsors forums at the most as the others are of no interest or are located to far away to be practical for me so moving them to a sub page would make sense. also the pub is left on the front page and it is the breeding ground for some of the stupidest threads I have seen I would hazard a guess that it has the highest incidence of closed threads?
your call of course but plese return the clubs to the front page

Old 30-04-2008, 10:50 AM   #12
Tha Jack
Legend!!!

I agree too. Before I could see the last post on the clubs that I look at,now when a new post is put up,I have to click inside the club section to find out which club posted it. Not a fan at all. Liked it better the way it was.

BACK TO THE BONE YARD
Tha Jack is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2008, 11:31 AM   #13

We are not sold that having everything on the front page is the way to move forward, with some great constructive comments from some of the club moderators already I can see some great changes in play.

Which does include sponsors.

If you are having an appendicitis attack over having to click further.................
Old 30-04-2008, 11:38 AM   #14

Looks heaps better now Minge. Especially with the small sub categories to click on now.
Old 30-04-2008, 11:40 AM   #15

Ok - we have added a level of sub forum display to the top level view - this will reduce the clicks required to navigate anywhere by one and don't forget that from any sub forum you can use the Forum Jump navigation bar at the bottom of the page to navigate elsewhere.

russellw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2008, 11:42 AM   #16

Also worth adding that when you see the little icons for those sub forums, the yellow ones indicate that there are new posts within them while the grey ones don't.

Old 30-04-2008, 11:54 AM   #17
XR5-Boy
You mad, bro?

Yep, that's heaps btr mate!

SFS 2007 Best Cougar, SFS 2010/2011 Best Focus XR5
XR5-Boy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2008, 12:00 PM   #18
Quicksand
Lucky, lucky bastard!

wow for a while there i was wondering why i didn't have to scroll down 10 kilometres just to get to the WA section at the bottom. Nice work!!

It makes it a *little* harder to see whether a new post has been added to some threads but this might encourage more people to actively jump into the threads and take a look.

T
Old 30-04-2008, 12:04 PM   #19
Pursuit250
Neglecting the P250

I can understand what is trying to be achieved here, but are a little concerned that the clubs now have minimal exposure, i.e. new guy jumping on the forums for the first time probably would feel more comfortable posting in a "local" thread.

I've been taught that you need to provide solutions to any problems you see, so here goes.

I see that the sponsors take up a large amount of space. However I can also understand that the sponsors need the highest exposure, without which (and the numerous donating memebers) we wouldn't have the forum. That being said, is there a way to tidy up this area (perhaps remove the descriptions)?

Can I suggest that the layout of the photo galleries be revisitied (as mentioned by DaveGod). A large amount of space is consumed by the photo galleries, in comparison to the posts against these forums.

I notice that 'The Sales Yard' still gets full exposure, and perhaps could be bundled up into sub-forums.

These are just my thoughts. Some people may have some others they can put forward to give the administrators something to think about.

AUIII XR8 Pursuit 250
241 RWKW with Advance Headers, Twin 2.5" Exhaust, G&D CAI, Walbro Pump, Crow Cam, Custom Tune
Pursuit250 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2008, 12:29 PM   #20

The galleries are easy enough to deal with - just fold up the ones you don't want to see by using the little double arrows at the side. They are at the bottom so they don't get in anyones way.

We are looking at a number of methods that can be used to deal with the sponsor forums - primary exposure is via the rotating banner at the top anyway and perhaps folding these down a level might be a good way to go.

Old 30-04-2008, 02:39 PM   #21
Josh_XC

Good solution guys.

I wasent a fan of the move but now you have added the Sub Forums it is easy to find what I am looking for.

Keep up the good work!
Bionic BF XR8 - 6 speed manual, reversing sensors, premium sound, GT starter button. 218rwkw - Got to love the BOSS!!
Josh_XC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2008, 02:54 PM   #22

i like the latest change. thanks

Old 30-04-2008, 02:56 PM   #23

makes it a whole lot easier to go exactly where you want.
good work!
Old 30-04-2008, 03:08 PM   #24

Being able to see the sub forums makes the site easier to use and I can see sub forums now that I never knew existed. Well done Admin.
Old 30-04-2008, 04:00 PM   #25
Tribal
OCD keeps me busy...

Change is good - the sub links look really neat too.

Only point I'd like to raise is the Club Sub Forums links from the main page is a little messy to read with all of the links bunched together...
Tribal is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2008, 04:41 PM   #26
DEVL-XR
EBII XR6

Heaps better now, it was annoying yesterday but today it looks a better with the smaller sub-forums listed.
Old 30-04-2008, 04:46 PM   #27
DJL351
XR & FPV Owner

Yeap, works well guys.

If it is anything like IPB, it would have been a pain in the backside. (moving trees and sub-trees)

The site looks nice and neat.

D
2005 BF GT (6sp manual - Build #183)
2015 SZ MkII Territory Titanium
2016.75 LZ Focus Sport

probably the stupidist post on aff - congrats
There was once a time when every young man in this country was familiar with firearms and many owned them privately along with a stock of ammo and some bush gear.

Now the best we can hope for is to unfriend them on facebook then SMS their commanders with !!!1!!!!!!11!1!! and then finally plank a tank.......
DJL351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2008, 09:38 PM   #28
xalent
Red Eye Racing

Well done. Heaps easier to get around now. Good work :voldar02:
xalent is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2008, 01:19 PM   #29

it might be my imagination but there seems to be less activity in AUFalcon.com. might just be a matter of members getting used to the change though

Old 01-05-2008, 02:03 PM   #30
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 

Originally Posted by BradensEBxr6
Heaps better now, it was annoying yesterday but today it looks a better with the smaller sub-forums listed.
As Above, just have to get use to it
Sorted is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post