You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 11-08-2020, 03:45 PM   #31

Default Re: How would you design a new post-apocalyptic society?

Originally Posted by Yellow_Festiva View Post
4) God returning / making himself / herself known.

I just vommitted leftie oestrogen all over my tasmanian huon pine keyboard...
Old 11-08-2020, 04:06 PM   #32
gooseneck

Better out than in I guess.
Old 11-08-2020, 06:23 PM   #33
superyob

How so? I'm curious.
'Imagine' is the communist manifesto. Lennon also forgot to mention the untold millions dead because 'equality' and the starving millions because of empty food shelves in the shops. Lennon himself was a detestable human being who did not practice the communism he preached. The Bolsheviks managed to kill 40 million Russians before Hitler rose to power in neighbouring Germany...
Old 11-08-2020, 07:04 PM   #34
Sprintey

Originally Posted by gooseneck View Post
Guys. he isn't referencing Lennon's song he's saying that he wants a Star Trek like universe.

Clearly none of you know anything about Star Trek.
Damn straight.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FCARADb9asE

We come in peace, shoot to kill, shoot to kill, shoot to kill
Old 11-08-2020, 07:38 PM   #35

Originally Posted by Sprintey View Post
Damn straight.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FCARADb9asE

We come in peace, shoot to kill, shoot to kill, shoot to kill
How the hell did I not know of this??

Bloody gold

Old 11-08-2020, 08:45 PM   #36
Sprintey

It's so good isn't it?

From the rage era of late 80's early 90's - special effects without any CGI lol
Catchy tune

Mum had us into the Trek as small kids, she loves it
Old 11-08-2020, 08:53 PM   #37

Actually, no. How much food is thrown a way, wasted every year?

I just did a little google search - 9 million people a year die from hunger related diseases.

A child every 10 seconds.

We have the ability and technology to feed every mouth on this planet several times over yet we don't.

Food isn't a possession, it's a necessity. It's only a possession when you have a surplus that is to be sold.
Like I said earlier I need to be getting a cut
Old 11-08-2020, 09:03 PM   #38
CoupeKing

Originally Posted by MITCHAY View Post
You do know you can move to the US if you want to play with guns?
Why would I need to relocate to the US to play with guns when there are close to 3.5 million registered firearms here?
Old 11-08-2020, 10:16 PM   #39

Originally Posted by CoupeKing View Post
Why would I need to relocate to the US to play with guns when there are close to 3.5 million registered firearms here?
That many?? Surprising.

Old 16-08-2020, 11:36 AM   #40

Yeah....aussie guns are pussy guns for little girls.
Las Vegas gun shop, The shooting gallery....Drivers Licence then shoot their..AK47, M16...Oozie machine gun and 50 Cal handgun....all in house.
Told the man at the counter where we were from...he laughed and said that John Howard guy messed up your country, how you gunner defend yourselves now?
Got an NRA T-shirt and welcome pack for our pain.
Old 16-08-2020, 12:45 PM   #41
superyob

Originally Posted by zilo View Post
Las Vegas gun shop, The shooting gallery....Drivers Licence then shoot their..AK47, M16...Oozie machine gun and 50 Cal handgun....all in house.
Told the man at the counter where we were from...he laughed and said that John Howard guy messed up your country, how you gunner defend yourselves now?
Wasn't an auto or semi auto, but the Turkish Mauser 8mm I had in the early 80s sure packed a punch...
Old 16-08-2020, 01:46 PM   #42
mick taylor

Originally Posted by Crazy Dazz View Post
But there would be hunger, that's the problem. Without welfare, who's going to feed all the hippies?
If there is no possession, then there is no food.

Modern History has seen a few attempts to create a Socialist Utopia. The Best attempt, and the one that stuck most closely to its Socialist Ideals, was that created by the National Socialists.
Had it not been for those pesky imperialists in the UK and US, I'm sure they would have succeeded in creating a Vibrant, Modern, and prosperous Europe.

Their methods were a little harsh, outright murdering millions of people who didn't fit with their vision, but I'm sure the end result would have been quite something.
Yes the Nazis were far more advanced then the rest of the world in fact that's why the UK was set to go to war with them, Germany would of controlled all of Europe, the UK would of lost the war without USA in fact and the claim for starting the war being Poland ? well they lost Poland for a start and all the rest not to mention they have the hide to claim to of won the war, fact is that they have lost the battle and we are all Socialist dupes now anyway, we have been set up to fall in fact and the majority do not know jack about the creation of the Nazis or Communism.

The Media is just like Nazi Germanys propaganda machine nowadays, it's a fact that they are being controlled by such cunning morons who are so full of lies that would even make Hitler blush. we are all being taken for fools just as the average German was back in Hitler's days.

The trap has being set in motion now for over a 100 years and it's all gone to plan the next stage is on the cards. even the greenies openly claim to hope to wipe out 80% of the worlds population to save the planet, but who holds them to account ! the media turns a blind eye, nothing to be seen here ! all is good. Even the Germans did not see what Hitler's true intentions were, they were fools, led astray by the same power of the cunning Satanic driven media.
Old 16-08-2020, 02:28 PM   #43
mick taylor

Well the Socialist worked to create a backwards virtue less drug culture and due to all of the drugged up morons and spineless dribbling no hoppers they had planed to take guns away from everyone.

We have so many sooks nowadays that are so easy deeply offended that they will go to any lengths to bite back, get punched in the face for being a moron and they would run for a gun and try to shoot you. that's how pathetic our people are nowadays.
We are a pathetic society that has to be controlled like brat kids, welcome to Socialism ! then Communism follows where your life is not worth 2cents to the leadership.

Yep even someone is confronted with there Gender nowadays, I say what are you today ? with 42 genders or whatever and I am expected to understand such dribble, no there is only 2 for a fact and I am made out to be the monster. yet I can loose my job on the spot by such Nazi dictating malicious types with there insane reign of fear tactics. oh how do you want me to think ? oh I don't have the right to think for myself anymore oh welcome to Socialism where everyone is equal morons, who can't think for themselves. oh what did the leader of the Nation say ? such is idolised as a god, you can't question such a one or you dealing with moronic Nazi type thugs.
Old 16-08-2020, 02:38 PM   #44
mick taylor

Originally Posted by superyob View Post
'Imagine' is the communist manifesto. Lennon also forgot to mention the untold millions dead because 'equality' and the starving millions because of empty food shelves in the shops. Lennon himself was a detestable human being who did not practice the communism he preached. The Bolsheviks managed to kill 40 million Russians before Hitler rose to power in neighbouring Germany...
Talk to any Communist, they are all shallow narrow minded fools, they believe in a utopia, not reality, they can not handle reality ! so it's not worthy wasting your time with such people as pointing out how they murder people, such just does not sink home to them, or how they set about starving millions of people to death in the Ukraine it's the same response.
As long as everyone is seen as equal nothing matters to them morons.
Old 16-08-2020, 06:52 PM   #45
CoupeKing

If that range you're referring to is the small indoor place that featured on the show Pawn Stars, I've actually been there before. From memory I hired a Tommy gun and an M-16 variant, both chambered in 9mm. Plus a .22 pistol.

Thing is, most Yanks think all our guns got taken away.

And a 12g point blank or close range, or a lever action 30-30 or 45-70 G, or a Weatherby Magnum 6.5 x 300 - can easily defend yourself using those.
Old 16-08-2020, 07:22 PM   #46

If that range you're referring to is the small indoor place that featured on the show Pawn Stars, I've actually been there before. From memory I hired a Tommy gun and an M-16 variant, both chambered in 9mm. Plus a .22 pistol.

Thing is, most Yanks think all our guns got taken away.

And a 12g point blank or close range, or a lever action 30-30 or 45-70 G, or a Weatherby Magnum 6.5 x 300 - can easily defend yourself using those.
I reckon you would like this place in Texas the Bus Grease Monkey visited.

https://youtu.be/kixDLjiZF3E

Old 18-08-2020, 02:50 AM   #47

Yeah...that's the one, nice man from the Luxor reception took us there, his cousin owns it i think.

Close range I prefer something smaller...them long barrels just get in the way...
Old 18-08-2020, 04:12 PM   #48
mick taylor

Yeah...that's the one, nice man from the Luxor reception took us there, his cousin owns it i think.

Close range I prefer something smaller...them long barrels just get in the way...
A mate had a sawn of pump action shotgun butt gone as well, always had it under the seat of his VB Commodore always loaded as well, never thought much of it back in the days.

But the point of having a butt on a shot gun I do not know why they bothered with such rubbish and old mate would cut down other shot guns as well, he would use mainly solids and by shorting the barrel one would think that it would not be as accurate, but not at all ! he would go through $150 in amo on a weekend back in the early 1980's and what we found was a good gun was a good gun regardless, the length of the barrel was just BS. we would have two guns with solids and shoot a tree at a distance and that pump action was so much better.
Old 18-08-2020, 04:33 PM   #49

How would you I design a new post-apocalyptic society?

......to start with i would change my name to "The Mariner".........

Old 18-08-2020, 04:53 PM   #50
Pis-ton broke

bring back burning witches ( cough,cough, big fat lefties) at the stake,
or we could follow the star trek thing, as they seem to do alright.
Old 18-08-2020, 05:07 PM   #51
PG2
#neuteredlyfe

This thread is getting to creepy - talking of shooting people at close range etc.

This thread is about post-apocalyptic society. Any further talk of guns and/or shooting people even under the guise of 'defending yourself' will result in the thread being closed.
Old 18-08-2020, 05:10 PM   #52
Sprintey

Originally Posted by Pis-ton broke View Post
bring back burning witches ( cough,cough, big fat lefties) at the stake,
or we could follow the star trek thing, as they seem to do alright.
So, logically--
- If she weighs the same as a duck...
- she's made of wood.
- And therefore?
- A witch!
Old 18-08-2020, 05:27 PM   #53
Sprintey

PG2 agreed.

Let's get back to a post-apocalyptic society.

I'd design one with as simple, durable infrastructure as possible. Apocalypse suggests all we know around us, is gone. So what works?

Heaps of solar panels! Oh, hang on, I can't do the complexity of making a solar panel plant, and don't have the material. Lithium batteries - umm, they all ran out and we can't make or mine anything like that. I can make simple stuff like solar hot water in black plastic pipe tubing, or a solar oven using glass though. Simple windmill, yep. Good 'ol fireplace, fireplace stove tops work too for cooking a meal after the gas ran out.

I can do brewing and distilling, so I can do ethanol. I can take a simple motor, and use my PC to program it to run on that (if PC's are not EMP'd). If the PCs are gone, I can put in larger jets to the carby, harden the valves and advance the timing. Thus I have motive transport.

Easier still, my mate in Gippsland found all this coal. We can fischer-tropsch it and there's diesel. We can whack the coal into a plant, and there's some electricity.

Glad we kept all those seeds, but growing gardens is hard work! We've got heaps of beans, so we swapped for our neighbours pumpkins.

People have to work harder to make food, and they're getting fitter. Less asthma too.

We do need some forms of weapons to protect us from Franco and his roving hordes out of the city. So we put a big wall around our town. I'm up for sentry duty on Friday.

We're really suss on people from out of our area. Last time a group came through, all the water fittings got flogged.

We've nearly finished machining parts for a steam power plant, boiler, reciprocating engine too. A heap of mirrors pointing at a central water boiler keeps it moving after dark too, so we don't have to add coal or wood to heat it most of the time.

There's not enough fuel for big ships, so we're sailing again to offshore islands and trading with the people there. The town has a couple of nice ketches, and they brought back some great abalone, which the islanders said was recovering and covered all the reefs, they're pretty much giving it away.
Old 18-08-2020, 06:45 PM   #54
Pis-ton broke

one of my many skills is that i,m a farrier , so i can shoe horses,so i can get around with my horses, and i will have a trade-able skill. i live on arcerage, i can grow food, house cows,pigs,lambs and chickens. i have firearms too, good for zombies, xxxxxxx and killing animals (for food, sorry city people but thats how it done, deal with it). my property is boarded on a spring fed creek that has never run dry in the 20 years i,ve been here. i have solar power and a diesel and petrol generator.
anyway its all hypothetical isn't it.
Old 18-08-2020, 06:57 PM   #55
Pis-ton broke

Originally Posted by PG2 View Post
This thread is getting to creepy - talking of shooting people at close range etc.

This thread is about post-apocalyptic society. Any further talk of guns and/or shooting people even under the guise of 'defending yourself' will result in the thread being closed.
yes , some stuff is getting a bit silly, lets get back on topic, we are not robbing bank you know.
Old 18-08-2020, 08:16 PM   #56
CoupeKing

my property is boarded on a spring fed creek that has never run dry in the 20 years i,ve been here. i have solar power and a diesel and petrol generator.
You mean OUR property!

A permanent supply off running water would be essential - preferably isolated. You have drinking water, fish etc, water birds, plus most edible creatures in the area will be visiting at least once a day = kebab van on legs. And when you have that type of location generally means there a plenty of trees, which equates to more birds, and most importantly, plenty of wood.

What about all the people that have a 'mental illness' and require daily meds?

I wonder how long the vegans would last? The next ice age will **** them anyway.
Old 18-08-2020, 09:28 PM   #57

I'd let Karl Pilkington set it up. It sounds amazing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BAhqN97BIc&t=232s
Old 18-08-2020, 10:00 PM   #58
Pis-ton broke

You mean OUR property!

A permanent supply off running water would be essential - preferably isolated. You have drinking water, fish etc, water birds, plus most edible creatures in the area will be visiting at least once a day = kebab van on legs. And when you have that type of location generally means there a plenty of trees, which equates to more birds, and most importantly, plenty of wood.

What about all the people that have a 'mental illness' and require daily meds?

I wonder how long the vegans would last? The next ice age will **** them anyway.
"our property"..... no fxxxx way. i will look after friends and family. if the zombies and desperates come out of the rat hole city, they will not be accommodated, i,m being nice. anyway, know one knows about my spot.

veggans, ha,ha. survival of the fittest my friend. till things settle down.
Old 18-08-2020, 10:23 PM   #59
CoupeKing

"our property"..... no fxxxx way. i will look after friends and family.
Family is everything.
Old 19-08-2020, 08:13 AM   #60

one of my many skills is that i,m a farrier , so i can shoe horses,so i can get around with my horses, and i will have a trade-able skill. i live on arcerage, i can grow food, house cows,pigs,lambs and chickens. i have firearms too, good for zombies, xxxxxxx and killing animals (for food, sorry city people but thats how it done, deal with it). my property is boarded on a spring fed creek that has never run dry in the 20 years i,ve been here. i have solar power and a diesel and petrol generator.
I know someone local who has a spring fed well that has been running for 125 documented years until last year when it ran dry during the bushfires.