Old 03-08-2021, 11:43 PM   #13171

Default Re: Covid 19 -

Originally Posted by oldel View Post
Your mum is in a suburb next to me (I'm the other side of whitford sc), does she need anything that an old dumb dropkick in a ute can get?
(I ain't promising vaccines or anything)
Thanks mate thats very very generous of you but unfortunately due to the nature of her illnesses even family have to call ahead before visiting, she has early dementia and suffers bouts of delirium.

She is in a great little specialist care home run by angels who can't do enough for her and the other residents.

Thanks again

Old 04-08-2021, 12:02 AM   #13172
Warrenk

If you are in Qld and over 60, just turn up to a Phizer only hub, wait in line for your turn and get the Phizer injection, regardless of age. That was before the sh!t hit the fan in NSW and vaccinations then turned into a focus point, so it might be different now. The government here said anyone turning up to an injection hub will not be turned away regardless of age.
Old 04-08-2021, 12:30 AM   #13173

Originally Posted by Warrenk View Post
If you are in Qld and over 60, just turn up to a Phizer only hub, wait in line for your turn and get the Phizer injection, regardless of age. That was before the sh!t hit the fan in NSW and vaccinations then turned into a focus point, so it might be different now. The government here said anyone turning up to an injection hub will not be turned away regardless of age.
We are fast running out of Pfizer, up here in Bundaberg the TAFE collage will only take advanced bookings for Pfizer, same same at the Respiratory clinic and they are only giving Pfizer shots on Wednesday mornings, like everywhere else though we are awash with AZ and you can get that almost anytime.

The latest direction from Qld Health...updated 01/08/21

https://www.qld.gov.au/health/condit...accine/rollout

Old 04-08-2021, 01:36 AM   #13174
oldel

Originally Posted by DJR-351 View Post
Thanks mate thats very very generous of you but unfortunately due to the nature of her illnesses even family have to call ahead before visiting, she has early dementia and suffers bouts of delirium.

She is in a great little specialist care home run by angels who can't do enough for her and the other residents.

Thanks again
Sorry to read about her condition. Let me know if it changes and you need something because I know you're stuck in QLD I think, while I'm ~1km away.
Old 04-08-2021, 07:09 AM   #13175

Read this on another forum, quite appropriate I think

Below are their findings – don’t shoot the messenger

I have been doing some reading on the psychological characteristics of people susceptible to conspiracy theories, interesting reading, I had a feeling there would be common characteristics and this certainly seems to be the case.

For those who are would like to read more here is a link to the article I am quoting https://www.technologynetworks.com/n...eorists-345553

There's an enormous amount of reading material available, most of it echoing similar sentiments.

It's interesting that in times of crisis (Covid 19, US election) people are more likely to embrace conspiracy theories.

"Conspiracy theorists typically:
• tend to have a little less education.
• more often live in societies that have less successful democracies, which influences trust in others and in the authorities.
• belong to groups that feel they should have more power and influence.
• belong to special political organizations or religious groups a little more often.
• more often use intuition - their "gut feeling" - when making decisions.
• see connections more often than most people do, also where such connections do not exist, and they are more likely to see intention as the cause of events.
• are a little more narcissistic and paranoid than others.
• more often obtain their information from social media."
Old 04-08-2021, 07:56 AM   #13176
slowsnake

Hello Trev 57,
would of quoted your post but I am not computer savvy, in fact I am a library man, index, file and research, but I use this tablet out of necessity for my daily affairs, ie, doctors apps, talking to family etc. So I utilise this type of communication because it's 4:30 am and I have a heater in front of me!

The link you put up, clicked on and I have read it before, but on another website! I only got as far as the first 6 paragraphs and remembered why I only got past the first 6 paragraphs the first time.

What I read is not what you pasted here!..
What we both read and I suppose comprehended was the same wording but 2 different views, we both viewed the same words but interpreted them in a different manner, I did not get as far as your list you posted, I put it down to nonsense on top of nonsense.

I for one am not into conspiracy theories, but watched a beaut movie with Mel Gibson about them, could of been Pelican Brief, not sure, but for entertainment purposes only.
We humans are all and every one of us a conspiracy theory, we only need a different point of view to another, who then thinks we conspire to debunk their viewpoint, and collect more thinkers similar to them to back their point!

This is how political parties and local and shire councils operate, you know the old caveman stuff " my tribe is bigger than your tribe " well that's how conspiracy theories work, not based on fact, but based on sheer numbers!

Cheers Billy
Old 04-08-2021, 08:02 AM   #13177

Originally Posted by oldel View Post
Sorry to read about her condition. Let me know if it changes and you need something because I know you're stuck in QLD I think, while I'm ~1km away.
Thanks heaps mate, she still has my brothers/cousins/nephews/niece's and sister-in-laws and other family members around Perth fussing about her, I'm the only one who strayed from the flock so to speak

Old 04-08-2021, 08:26 AM   #13178
xkxlxm

Conspiracies happen. It's too easy to dismiss genuine, soundly based concerns about what our political masters get up to and who benefits from that?

I'm not talking about Covid.
Old 04-08-2021, 08:39 AM   #13179
HIPO
Al

Originally Posted by Trevor 57 View Post
Read this on another forum, quite appropriate I think

Below are their findings – don’t shoot the messenger
sounds like a conspiracy to me.............
Old 04-08-2021, 09:28 AM   #13180
slowsnake

Originally Posted by HIPO View Post
Geez it's catching
Sounds like a conspiracy theory to me too

That's what winter does to ya, instead of "perspire" we "conspire"

Cheers Billy
Old 04-08-2021, 09:36 AM   #13181
cheap
Wirlankarra yanama

Originally Posted by HIPO View Post

Some of the conspiracy narratives that are being played out:

Trust the government
No need to worry, just follow orders
Covid is a widespread naturally occurring virus
Only the vaccines can protect you, Independent research into alternatives to the vaccines are FAKE
There are no issues with the vaccines
Lockdowns are fault of the unvaccinated, and not the fault of the vaccine
Old 04-08-2021, 09:37 AM   #13182
slowsnake

Am off to SCGH Nedlands Perth, will be there for half a day or more, I will make it a point to get every bit of info on this vaccine bullsh.t, and make sure its on their letterhead, will see what comes up and post if relevant!

Cheers a Billy
Old 04-08-2021, 10:02 AM   #13183
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

Doughnut day for Vic

PS I refuse to spell it the American way, although it seems far more common in the Australian media of late.

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor
Old 04-08-2021, 10:09 AM   #13184

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Originally Posted by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0
…I refuse to spell it the American way
Because it has no “ugh” you’ve given it the boot?

I wonder how we might track, if restrictions were given a regular day off? Would general caution result in a fairly low additional rate of cases?
Old 04-08-2021, 12:41 PM   #13185

Data valid as at 00:00 GMT August 3rd 2021.

Note
: As not all Australian States report at the same time, the data below is based on the previous full day reporting.

223 new cases for Australia and no deaths so the CMR is 2.655%.

No new cases and no deaths for NZ so CMR is 0.904%.

The UK had a lower 21,466 cases yesterday and higher 138 deaths for a CMR of 2.193%.

A higher 102,499 new cases in the USA yesterday and higher 333 deaths sees CMR at 1.753%.

Other notable points:
Global cases pass 200M, the last 1M in 1 day;
Global deaths pass 4.25M, the last 50 k in 6 days;
The USA passes 36M cases;

Gambia (587) - they report weekly;
Eswatini (838);
Reunion (3,014) - also reporting weekly; and
Iran (39,019)

... recorded new highs; those in blue for the second consecutive day and those in red for a third or more consecutive day.

No countries move above the 90th percentile for the 10 day period and none drop below.

Old 04-08-2021, 02:24 PM   #13186

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Having trouble finding the original source to monitor for further comments and adjustments. Can you advise, please?

Originally Posted by cheap View Post
FWIW...

Rick Penney Forecast for Sydney (he's been on the money with other outbreaks).

Old 04-08-2021, 02:43 PM   #13187

Originally Posted by cheap

Trust the government
Only the vaccines can protect you, Independent research into alternatives to the vaccines are FAKE
Yep. Anyone who doesn't follow the narrative is soon branded in some way. The people with influence are doing a great job getting people to turn on each other. The old divide and conquer strategy is working a treat. It's only going to grow further.

The most ridiculous one is the complete and utter clowns saying it's the unvaxxed fault that people who have been vaxxed are getting infected. Why do you care if you are vaxxed? Or is it maybe, just maybe, that the vaccine really isn't that effective? Or are they stupid enough to believe that the vaccine stops you getting covid completely?
Old 04-08-2021, 02:58 PM   #13188
Pis-ton broke

Originally Posted by cheap View Post

Trust the government
and that little chestnut the authorities are saying " the vaccinated people, are all doing the right thing" . there's a little more to it than that.

i didn,t know that it was compulsory to get a untried "vaccine" in your arm.

i guess people have forgotten all about thalidomide babies, babies born with deformities, the drug administration said it was safe too.

what the long term affects? no one knows.

so now i,m the bad guy, what joke.
Old 04-08-2021, 03:40 PM   #13189
Metdevil

Originally Posted by Pis-ton broke View Post
i guess people have forgotten all about thalidomide babies, babies born with deformities, the drug administration said it was safe too.

And apparently some people seem to think that nothing has changed in the 60 years since the largest medical disaster in living history.

The mRNA vaccine has been used in research for the last 20 years, and this vaccine has been in development since the first SARS-CoV outbreak nearly 10 years ago. So it's far from being 'untried'.

[EDITED]

All of the test phase results are available online [not needed]

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7745181/
https://www.fda.gov/media/144337/download
https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04760132

Last edited by PG2; 04-08-2021 at 09:29 PM.
Old 04-08-2021, 03:53 PM   #13190
T3rminator

If I had a choice, I would have opted for the inactivated viral vaccine. Tried and true, what the flu shot uses. Lower efficacy on symptoms but just as good for death prevention.

This is the first time mRNA has been licenced to be injected in humans, so I get why some people have hesitancy. When you give your body something that triggers a strong enough reaction to provide 90%+ efficacy, its bound to have some side effects?

Anyhow, I take some comfort that Pfizer and AZ have been given to all the privileged, from royals to presidents. If there are any long term effects, you can be sure all resources will be thrown to find a remedy.

In the mean time anti vaxxers can gamble with the side effects of long covid......lungs, heart and brain.

Rides (past and present)
Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual
Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m)

AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button.
Old 04-08-2021, 04:04 PM   #13191
Metdevil

hey smart ****, don,t call me an idiot. ****in key board warrior.
i still have a right to chose.
Of course you have the right to chose, but remember that it's called an 'informed' decision.
Old 04-08-2021, 04:23 PM   #13192

Originally Posted by Metdevil
And apparently some people seem to think that nothing has changed in the 60 years since the largest medical disaster in living history.

The mRNA vaccine has been used in research for the last 20 years, and this vaccine has been in development since the first SARS-CoV outbreak nearly 10 years ago. So it's far from being 'untried'.

So yes, you are the bad guy, because you're spreading the misinformation for the next uninformed idiot to repeat.

All of the test phase results are available online if you want to confirm for yourself instead of just repeating what you heard off Info Wars. Give it a go, a lot has happened since the 60's.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7745181/
https://www.fda.gov/media/144337/download
https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04760132
The drug companies who are making billions and billions of dollars from this can be fully trusted though right?

It's not like Pfizer hasn't been sued for selling dodgy medications many times before. Surely they can be trusted

Originally Posted by T3rminator
If I had a choice, I would have opted for the inactivated viral vaccine. Tried and true, what the flu shot uses. Lower efficacy on symptoms but just as good for death prevention.

This is the first time mRNA has been licenced to be injected in humans, so I get why some people have hesitancy. When you give your body something that triggers a strong enough reaction to provide 90%+ efficacy, its bound to have some side effects?

Anyhow, I take some comfort that Pfizer and AZ have been given to all the privileged, from royals to presidents. If there are any long term effects, you can be sure all resources will be thrown to find a remedy.

In the mean time anti vaxxers can gamble with the side effects of long covid......lungs, heart and brain.
But you can still get covid after being vaxxed. So what's the difference? It's not stopping you getting covid

Yeah it probably reduces the chances of getting sick, but most people show no symptoms anyway.

It's not the great breakthrough people are expecting it to be. There was a recent super spreader event in Massachusetts in the US where 75% of the people infected were vaccinated. That's pretty damning that it really isn't that effective at all.

Everyone has the right to choose. I'm on the fence.
Old 04-08-2021, 04:25 PM   #13193

and that little chestnut the authorities are saying " the vaccinated people, are all doing the right thing" . there's a little more to it than that.

i didn,t know that it was compulsory to get a untried "vaccine" in your arm.

I don't recollect anyone saying that it was compulsory, and I'm sure that the Pfizer/BioNTech people along with Oxford/AstraZeneca would love to hear you say that they're 'untried'.

FWIW my wife starts Chemo (for the 2nd time in 3 years) in the next few weeks, her Oncologist strongly recommended that she get her first jab of either Pfizer or AZ before they start treatment.
Old 04-08-2021, 04:33 PM   #13194
tweeked
N/A all the way

2.2 Billion people have had at least one shot, over 1 Billion both. With those numbers if there was something particular about these vaccines it would be becoming very apparent. We are already on to the side effects that are 1:100000 (Clotting symptoms) plus, and the clotting deaths that are 1:1000000.

If people are concerned about what will happen to them, have a real good read and think on Covid. If you are a numbers person, you can see that countries that have started to head into the new normal have it running rampant. We need to head into the new normal.

In 6 months time, when we open up, Australia will have thousands of cases per day. Those that are vaccinated will probably have something like a cold. How will you feel then when you are no longer protected by isolationist policies that have to end? You have to start thinking about that now, because it is coming.

As I have said all along, I absolutely support each person having their own choice. But we have to open up when those who want the protection of a vaccine have had a chance to get one.

Old 04-08-2021, 04:34 PM   #13195
T3rminator

Originally Posted by Bossxr8 View Post
But you can still get covid after being vaxxed. So what's the difference? It's not stopping you getting covid

Yeah it probably reduces the chances of getting sick, but most people show no symptoms anyway.

It's not the great breakthrough people are expecting it to be. There was a recent super spreader event in Massachusetts in the US where 75% of the people infected were vaccinated. That's pretty damning that it really isn't that effective at all.

Everyone has the right to choose. I'm on the fence.

Remember, SARS COV 2 is the virus, Covid 19 is the disease. The vaccine won't stop you from catching the virus. It does however help your body to fight off the virus to lessen the probability of it developing into the disease, and if it does develop into the disease, it should reduce the severity. And if you are less symptomatic, you are less likely to pass it on to the next person.

As for Massachusetts, I couldn't tell if that 75% was virus or disease. If its virus, its not a surprise. The article did say no one, who had been fully vaccinated, died. That is the vaccine doing its job?

Rides (past and present)
Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual
Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m)

AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button.
Old 04-08-2021, 04:36 PM   #13196

A bright side of lockdown. Tyre about 1mm above the wear bars needed a plug, immediate service at the shop near me and no “sorry, too worn”. $30 now is obviously easier than trying to upsell.
Old 04-08-2021, 04:45 PM   #13197

Originally Posted by T3rminator View Post
As for Massachusetts, I couldn't tell if that 75% was virus or disease. If its virus, its not a surprise. The article did say no one, who had been fully vaccinated, died. That is the vaccine doing its job?
With a 99% survival rate, probably not.
Old 04-08-2021, 04:54 PM   #13198
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

On the topic of information gained from online sources, did anyone happen to catch the story on 60 Minutes on Sunday? I only caught a little bit of it, but happened to catch the bit where they were talking about 73% of all anti-vaccine content on Bookface stemmed from just 12 people who are predominantly drawing people in to bolster marketing opportunities. The specific part I've referenced start at 11:15.

My point here is, that whilst I can understand people's hesitancy with big businesses and the money they are making from it, just because someone has an opposing view to them doesn't mean that they are any more well-intentioned than those they oppose.

At the end of the day, we all have the right to make up our own mind. What is right for you may not, and probably will not, be right for someone else. To try and argue about which path is right or wrong on a forum, where few of us really know each other's personal circumstances, is fruitless.

The best advice I've heard is for each person to go and see their doctor and get advice from them. They have the ability to assess each individual's personal circumstances, weigh up the risks associated with each option path and provide a recommendation based around that, which each person can then contemplate and make a decision on.

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor
Old 04-08-2021, 04:56 PM   #13199
Metdevil

Originally Posted by Bossxr8 View Post
The drug companies who are making billions and billions of dollars from this can be fully trusted though right?

It's not like Pfizer hasn't been sued for selling dodgy medications many times before. Surely they can be trusted
This is a company whose best interest is their vaccine customers living long enough to become Viagra customers. So yes, I trust that they want me to at least live long enough until I suffer erectile dysfunction.
Old 04-08-2021, 05:48 PM   #13200
slowsnake

A bright side of lockdown. Tyre about 1mm above the wear bars needed a plug, immediate service at the shop near me and no “sorry, too worn”. $30 now is obviously easier than trying to upsell.
Mmmm, I just plug my own, and my neighbours too, my kit was about $20 and that was 10 years ago, you don't even have to remove tyre to plug, if it was in the tread maybe not, but in the valley even 1mm is OK, not like it's going over the pits!!....is it?