You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 04-06-2023, 09:07 PM   #5431
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 
Default Re: What made you feel good today?

Rest day on The Pushup Challenge. I'm not the fittest person, particularly upper body. We're three days into a 23 day challenge, completing 3144 whilst raising awareness of mental health issues and raising money for mental health support agencies.

Day 1 was 96 pushups, day 2 was 130 and yesterday was 175, so the break is welcome.

Going to be a big week this week with the max daily target being 210 and the lowest 130.

E: oh, forgot to mention the significance of the 3144 pushups is that represents the number of people that died by suicide in Australia in 2021.

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor

Last edited by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0; 04-06-2023 at 09:24 PM.
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-06-2023, 09:07 PM   #5432
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

As a child, every Saturday my mother would take my sister and I to my grandparents for lunch. As girl who grew up on a farm, my grandmother was a brilliant country cook. Her food was never flash, but ALWAYS tasted so good. It was interesting to watch (and help) her cook, explaining that her rough cutting skills would "eat alright". Strange how such words and phrases stick with us for life.

Lunch always involved a table full of food, way more than five people would need but as a growing boy, I always found room for another helping of whatever was on that table. Through winter, she would make soup, sometimes she would make sausage rolls............way better than anything you could buy..........served with lashings of homemade tomato ketchup. Another favorite was Zucchini slice.

So simple to prepare, but the taste was always nothing short of delicious, and the smell from the kitchen mouthwatering. Whenever we cook her recipe, it's always a pleasant reminder of the wonderful lady my grandmother was.
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-06-2023, 11:32 PM   #5433
.:4:.
Kicking back

Originally Posted by DFB FGXR6 View Post
As a child, every Saturday my mother would take my sister and I to my grandparents for lunch. As girl who grew up on a farm, my grandmother was a brilliant country cook. Her food was never flash, but ALWAYS tasted so good. It was interesting to watch (and help) her cook, explaining that her rough cutting skills would "eat alright". Strange how such words and phrases stick with us for life.

Lunch always involved a table full of food, way more than five people would need but as a growing boy, I always found room for another helping of whatever was on that table. Through winter, she would make soup, sometimes she would make sausage rolls............way better than anything you could buy..........served with lashings of homemade tomato ketchup. Another favorite was Zucchini slice.

So simple to prepare, but the taste was always nothing short of delicious, and the smell from the kitchen mouthwatering. Whenever we cook her recipe, it's always a pleasant reminder of the wonderful lady my grandmother was.
You are lucky it can be replicated.
My grandmas signature dish is/was her spaghetti casserole. She never gave up her secret. Both my mum and my aunty have tried and failed.
Grandma is still kicking, but she is 96 and has forgotten her secret recipe. As simple as it sounds, grandmas spaghetti casserole was the best.
.:4:. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2023, 01:07 PM   #5434
TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys

Might not need an EV after all ?

https://www.msn.com/en-us/money/comp...v6/ar-AA1cmVCN
Old 12-06-2023, 10:35 PM   #5435

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Replaced the original battery on a 2008 A-Class today, it tested at 9% of rated CCA and was becoming reluctant to turn the motor over. That’s a pretty good result!
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-06-2023, 02:32 PM   #5436

Watching last weeks Dash Cams Australia with a driver asking siri to txt someone just as a car decides to cut the corner.

Siri then repeats his expletive sentence, that's gold.

Old 13-06-2023, 03:29 PM   #5437
TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys

Chopping a tesla at the lights
Old 13-06-2023, 10:43 PM   #5438
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Melbourne Knights qualified for the 2023 FFA Cup finals!

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-06-2023, 05:09 PM   #5439

Got an argon bottle from BOC a while back for welding while doing rust repairs on the XC.
Got an email from them saying to return my argon bottle as contract is due to expire, or renew for $199.
Not planning on doing any work for a while on the car so I returned it, practically empty too.
Bloke behind the counter says I get a free one because I'm under the old plan where you get one free refill.
Cool, thanks.
I'm still confused why they asked me to renew for $199, but not looking a gift horse in the mouth.
Old 14-06-2023, 06:04 PM   #5440
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by jaydee View Post
Got an argon bottle from BOC a while back for welding while doing rust repairs on the XC.
Got an email from them saying to return my argon bottle as contract is due to expire, or renew for $199.
Not planning on doing any work for a while on the car so I returned it, practically empty too.
Bloke behind the counter says I get a free one because I'm under the old plan where you get one free refill.
Cool, thanks.
I'm still confused why they asked me to renew for $199, but not looking a gift horse in the mouth.
Seems that one hand doesn’t know what the other is doing.The $199 will be the annual rental whereas the free fill s a supply bonus.Some companies(Nubco here) sell cylinders then you just pay for the exchange full cyl.
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-06-2023, 07:39 PM   #5441

Originally Posted by TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys View Post
Chopping a tesla at the lights
You got chopped
Old 14-06-2023, 07:48 PM   #5442

Originally Posted by jaydee View Post
Cool, thanks.

Originally Posted by Tassie f100
Seems that one hand doesn’t know what the other is doing.The $199 will be the annual rental whereas the free fill s a supply bonus.Some companies(Nubco here) sell cylinders then you just pay for the exchange full cyl.
Maybe you should try bunnings if you have a store near you that does Mig Gas, pay as you go with no rent fees.

https://www.bunnings.com.au/coregas-...g-gas_p5910386
Itsme is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-06-2023, 08:09 PM   #5443
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by Itsme View Post
Maybe you should try bunnings if you have a store near you that does Mig Gas, pay as you go with no rent fees.

https://www.bunnings.com.au/coregas-...g-gas_p5910386
Haven’t used mig gas for a few years now,but it appears that Bunnings charge a$200 deposit on the bottle plus $99 for the gas,but no annual rent to BOC.That was the killer with me.At the time might have been $130 rental and about $100 for the gas.Problem was it would take at least 5 years to use a bottle of gas,so over 5 years that would cost me $7-800
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-06-2023, 02:35 PM   #5444

Successful shop, down at the KW Candy store.

This beauty just came in. "Road Train" trim and in a great old school 'Seminole"
paint scheme.
(No, didn't get to keep it but did score some great EOFY bargains)

Old 15-06-2023, 06:50 PM   #5445

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
Successful shop, down at the KW Candy store.

This beauty just came in. "Road Train" trim and in a great old school 'Seminole"
paint scheme.
(No, didn't get to keep it but did score some great EOFY bargains)

Hope you have deep pockets, KW merchandise is not cheap......
Itsme is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-06-2023, 07:15 PM   #5446
Kicking back

I picked my brother up today to go visit our grandparents, specifically my grandma. Grandmas short term memory has faded, but her long term is still there. So she was happy to have visitors, when i asked her if she knew the date she said she had not checked. When i said it was the 15th of june she instantly said it was her birthday. Bingo, we were there for her birthday. She was really happy. Dunno if she knew or not, but the facility was putting on a special lunch for grandmas birthday. Not that its a competition, but my grandpa kinda treats it like that, but if he and grandma arent the oldest in the place, they arent far off. Grandma turned 96 today, grandpa turns 97 at the end of next month. Dunno if this is the secret to longevity or not, but my grandparents are both ones to always see the positives in life as opposed to being grumpy old people.
Old 15-06-2023, 07:22 PM   #5447
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Netherlands 2 - Croatia 4

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 15-06-2023, 10:33 PM   #5448

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Had a laugh with the duty manager of a Supercrap today, I was looking at all the stuff they pitch at young people to add appeal to their cars. Suggested they should be also selling some family planning basics in case these bits actually do “get the chicks”. He could see the humour in this, too.
Old 16-06-2023, 08:16 AM   #5449

Originally Posted by Itsme View Post
Hope you have deep pockets, KW merchandise is not cheap......
Admired the merch but bought lots of spares for EOFY.

Some of those (pictured) Drake model trucks are in the $500 region, that's a good set of Meritor brakes.

Funny, one parts guy there told me lots of holidaying Europeans come in and buy the KW bug emblems to take back.

Old 16-06-2023, 11:36 AM   #5450
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

Had a laugh with the duty manager of a Supercrap today, I was looking at all the stuff they pitch at young people to add appeal to their cars. Suggested they should be also selling some family planning basics in case these bits actually do “get the chicks”. He could see the humour in this, too.
So that's where Cav shops, then? Mind you, don't think he'll need to make use of any 'family planning basics'

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 16-06-2023, 02:00 PM   #5451
marty351
Shenanigans..............

Originally Posted by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 View Post
So that's where Cav shops, then? Mind you, don't think he'll need to make use of any 'family planning basics'
Maybe, if they sell drill sharpeners.
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-06-2023, 07:48 PM   #5452
Kicking back

So yesterday was the family do for my grandmas birthday. So both her kids were there, 4 out of 6 grandkids and 4 out of 5 great grandkids.
So when it came cake time, i dont do cake but my kid was given a slice. He knows his allergies and asks me about the cake. It had wallnuts in it, he cannot eat wallnuts. So, yeah i should have asked beforehand but good on my boy for picking up the slack in that regard. So my cousin asks my son if he likes wallnuts? My son says dunno because he is allergic to nuts. My cousin is a funny bloke. So his mum (my aunty) made the cake and knows of my kids allergies as she is a doctor who specialises in children, my cousins wife is also a doctor who specialises in allergies. So in good humour, my cousin gets his wife and mum together and asks them if they are trying to drum up business? My aunty then remembered but before she went into apology mode was let know it was just a laugh.
Old 18-06-2023, 09:42 PM   #5453

As one comment on the video said, “beautiful cars, beautifully driven”.
Old 19-06-2023, 04:35 PM   #5454
marty351
Shenanigans..............

El-cheapo can opener works better than more expensive and part-time faulty can opener.
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-06-2023, 10:59 PM   #5455
asagaai

Having lunch sitting at Newcastle beach in the sun- watching whales.

Today was insane- I saw some 8 pods of whales (numbering 2-4 whales per pod) in about 20 minutes. And that was just in a 1 km linear line out from where I was sitting- there was further whale spouts further out.

I have never seen the volume of whales in the North migration that I have seen June this year at Newcastle.

Just a really nice way to spend 30 minutes eating lunch.

Ford Fiesta ST Mk 8 -daily- closest thing to a go kart on road for under 50K

FG X XR8 smoke manual - Miami hand built masterpiece by David Winter, BMC Filter, JLT Oil separators, Street Fighter Intercooler Stage 2, crushed ball, running 15% E85 and 85% 98- weekender
asagaai is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2023, 09:45 AM   #5456

Waking up to read we beat the poms in cricket.
I watched for as long as I could last night but got too late, we had a 50, 50 chance.
So up yours barmy army with your chants about Rolf Harris, cheating and boring Aussies.
Old 21-06-2023, 10:48 AM   #5457
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Originally Posted by asagaai View Post
Having lunch sitting at Newcastle beach in the sun- watching whales.

Today was insane- I saw some 8 pods of whales (numbering 2-4 whales per pod) in about 20 minutes. And that was just in a 1 km linear line out from where I was sitting- there was further whale spouts further out.

I have never seen the volume of whales in the North migration that I have seen June this year at Newcastle.

Just a really nice way to spend 30 minutes eating lunch.
Hard to believe that at least 5 out of the 13 species of great whales were hunted so much by humans that they are listed as endangered! Great to see these gentle giants making a comeback!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 22-06-2023, 12:20 AM   #5458
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

NSW lost another state of origin series!

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 22-06-2023, 10:35 AM   #5459
LG17

A certain game of footy last night!
LG17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2023, 10:45 PM   #5460

Belmont butter shortbread back on the shelves at Aldi. Heaven!