You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 07-10-2021, 05:48 PM   #1621

Default Re: Australia housing bubble

Originally Posted by fordomatic View Post
When this thread started 4 years ago there were people saying pain is coming, in that time one of my assets i've owned for 10 years went up 60%. When i bought my two assets 10 years ago all my mates told me I was dumb and the bubble will pop. Both those assets are worth double what I paid. I'm still here waiting...................
i giggles at the butt hurts in this thread
Old 07-10-2021, 05:56 PM   #1622

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

I see much of it as a knock-on. Where I am in Sydney is Chinese funded; would dearly love to see proper forensic accounting on this circus. The Aussies cash out and that’s driving other areas up. I’m on a quarter acre and we used to joke about selling for $12M but think the risk of that being taken seriously is only a few years off… 🤬

Even my acreage at the ****-end of Ganmain is creeping up and I’m starting to consider whether it would be better converted into residential fringe at Moama or similar. That sucks in a way, because I wanted big space on the unloved edge of a Riverina town and it’s no longer that.
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-10-2021, 05:57 PM   #1623

Originally Posted by 290GTP View Post

There's no stock available, as soon as something half decent hits the market its snapped up.
I'm still looking at buying. Want something in the lower Blue Mountains just outside of Sydney.

Properties are under contract within days. I've given up looking to be honest as I think I'm forcing myself to find 'anything' rather than something I like.

I'm changing my mind every week in terms of what I'm looking for. After missing out on several properties I was going to buy a unit as a short term solution but I can't see myself throwing half a million $ at an older 2br unit just to then move again in a year or 2 and renting it out or selling.

Will sit back and watch the world go by. I think once borders open and lending rules get a little harder we will get a better indication of where the market is heading.

I'll keep an eye on listings none the less but will stick to renting where I am till I find a decent block of land to build on or a house I'm happy to move right into.

Too many variables to predict where the market is heading. Not expecting a big drop, not expecting double digit increases either.

I've noticed that more properties are being listed at a price rather than auction, and that places for auction are selling before the day.

There is not much available at the moment so will wait and see.

Old 07-10-2021, 06:25 PM   #1624

well Im in the process of building another house within the next 12 months. Going by some of the predictions here, Im hoping I will sell my current house for some of this inflation people are experiencing and own the new house outright.

Old 07-10-2021, 07:11 PM   #1625
GO FURTHER

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Fitting New Iridium Plugs & the state of the old ones - (Photo Essay) 

For those who believe the bubble is going to burst soon...

Consider this... There has not been a crash in Australian house prices in the major cities for the last 50 years.

During that time Australia has weathered:
  • High mortgage interest rates of up to 17.50% in 1990
  • Higher unemployment rates than we have currently
  • Higher inflation than we have today
  • The recession of 1990
  • The GFC in 2007
  • The current Covid Pandemic.

Still house property prices continued to rise, despite the above factors.

There may have been some slight corrections in the housing market along the way, but nothing major, causing people to jump out of buildings.

So why do people all of a sudden think it is going to crash now?

What do they think will create the perfect storm?

GO FURTHER is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-10-2021, 10:18 PM   #1626

I think that while we have lower immigration rates there is still demand. And demand is higher than supply, rates are cheap, and people have stashed a lot of cash of the last two years.
Old 07-10-2021, 10:27 PM   #1627
hayseed

Originally Posted by fordomatic View Post
When this thread started 4 years ago there were people saying pain is coming, in that time one of my assets i've owned for 10 years went up 60%. When i bought my two assets 10 years ago all my mates told me I was dumb and the bubble will pop. Both those assets are worth double what I paid. I'm still here waiting...................
Exactly, It's Time in the market, NOT Timing the Market. that Gets you Capital Gain..
hayseed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-10-2021, 10:42 PM   #1628

interesting forecast

https://propertyupdate.com.au/proper...cycle-continue

Old 08-10-2021, 12:07 PM   #1629

Originally Posted by GO FURTHER View Post
For those who believe the bubble is going to burst soon...

Consider this... There has not been a crash in Australian house prices in the major cities for the last 50 years.
Well, if you're going to say bubble, then it's really only appropriate to look at the last 20 years when it has actually been a bubble (we never had prices so out of step with income before that, so little reason they would crash).

The two big events that should have precipitated a crash, the GFC and the pandemic, didnt. The GFC, we were relatively unscathed because of a combination of substantial stimulus and booming resources, so unemployment never shot up.

When the pandemic hit, there was unprecedented financial stimulus, larger than the GFC. Lower income workers who were stood down actually had an increase in income on the support payments. The eviction moratoriums and mortgage holidays insulated that portion of the market from the pandemic's impacts, there were a number of stimulus schemes directed at the property market.

So yes, the property market hasn't had a crash, but we've been spending more and more government funds to make sure it doesn't. How confident are you we can just keep money-printing our way out of these messes?
b0son is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-10-2021, 01:25 PM   #1630

It is interesting being we've brought up the '07 GFC for the climb UP in everything since then has been alot steeper than pre GFC.
Have a good geeze through some of the graphs below
https://australiandebtclock.com.au/

Despite that who's confident ?
I thought just the same post GFC, if we can say we're in a bubble since then its been a huge ride, who knows when its going to stop/pop but sitting on the fence wondering what if or when ? hey thats the gamble just don't over extend yourself - hopefully you keep healthy or avoid any other hiccup you'll work around the down slide whenever it occurs I guess.
Old 01-11-2021, 10:49 PM   #1631

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-11-...nder/100584112
Old 01-11-2021, 11:06 PM   #1632
T3rminator

I'm calling it now. Tomorrow's RBA meeting will result in a 0.25 points rise.

Rides (past and present)
Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual
Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m)

AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button.
T3rminator is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2021, 11:46 PM   #1633

Originally Posted by T3rminator View Post
Too early. Well before 2024 as previously stated but I'm thinking we will see movement mid 2022.

Old 01-11-2021, 11:51 PM   #1634

Went to 7 open houses on Saturday. One place I really liked. Advertised $620-660k.

Put in my offer of $671 including paying holding deposit and docusigning contract.

Got the call Sunday it sold for $693k. No option to over bid as by the time they called me both parties signed.

Other places were crap...

Back to the drawing board I go.

Old 02-11-2021, 12:02 AM   #1635

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

I think as a whole it’s going to start impacting peoples’ mental health a lot more, across the country. Trying to rationalise an illogical but unstoppable situation while balancing your financial position vs perceptions of risk. Add a few more hot dry years and the arduous absurdity will be grinding so many down.
Old 02-11-2021, 12:11 AM   #1636

Yeah nah mate. No way they will put rates up this month. There are concerns about inflation but not this month.
Old 02-11-2021, 12:16 AM   #1637

When’s that feral election? I know the RBA is supposed to be impartial but suspect if they demonstrate too much autonomy right now, they might feel a government breathing down their collar…
Old 02-11-2021, 11:01 AM   #1638
hayseed

I've got $10 that says; Not until after the Federal Election early next year..
hayseed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2021, 11:54 AM   #1639
slowsnake

I think as a whole it’s going to start impacting peoples’ mental health a lot more, across the country. Trying to rationalise an illogical but unstoppable situation while balancing your financial position vs perceptions of risk. Add a few more hot dry years and the arduous absurdity will be grinding so many down.
Your advice and comments are always in my opinion, and my opinion only, spot on, the housing market is fed by greed, and its greed that destroys a person's health, its never going to be an even playing field again CB, but of course you are correct, you cannot rationalise something that is based on greed alone, you say illogical but in reality it's unobtainable to 90% of our population.
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2021, 02:12 PM   #1640
oldel

Nah, this isn't like a regular meeting in the past where they actually do anything straight away. This is about them previously saying they wouldn't do anything until 2024, and revising that and saying they might do something in 2023 instead.

(Next year they'll have a meeting and despite saying today they wouldn't do anything until 2023, they'll again revise that and say they might do something in 2022 instead.)

IE, they said in the past they aren't going to do anything about rates (back when they were worried about recession and stagflation). Now they have to slowly walk that back without causings alarms by gradually saying they are preparing to lift rates sooner than expected. But it won't be for a year or two.
They're just warning people to expect something in the future, and sooner than expected.

Last edited by oldel; 02-11-2021 at 02:18 PM.
oldel is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2021, 04:52 PM   #1641
T3rminator

The "courageous" call didn't come off..... Banks have spent the last 6 or so months moving customers to fixed or part fixed rates. I still reckon there will be an increase, within the next qtr.

https://www.theage.com.au/politics/f...02-p5957g.html

"The official line that a rate rise would not occur until 2024 was missing from Dr Lowe’s statement on Tuesday."

Rides (past and present)
Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual
Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m)

AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button.
T3rminator is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2021, 08:26 PM   #1642
Mont5.0

Now with the borders open, await the influx of o/s buyers.
Price hike time!
Old 02-11-2021, 08:41 PM   #1643
slowsnake

Originally Posted by Mont5.0 View Post
Price hike time!
Yeh, and where does the low income hard-working aussie battler fit into the equation!
Old 02-11-2021, 10:16 PM   #1644
FairmontGS
WT GT

Default Australia housing bubble

Price hike time!
I was just thinking this today. Mmmm. I love it when investment properties go up
FairmontGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2021, 10:25 PM   #1645
Mont5.0

Originally Posted by slowsnake View Post
Yeh, and where does the low income hard-working aussie battler fit into the equation!
they dont.
Old 02-11-2021, 10:36 PM   #1646
DTFRMONT

Price hike time!
Not to mention there will now be a lot more returning expats with quarantine no longer a thing for most. Especially from places such as Hong Kong.
DTFRMONT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-11-2021, 11:29 AM   #1647
slowsnake

they dont.
They should!
Old 03-11-2021, 02:39 PM   #1648

I read yesterday that house values in my area have officially increased by nearly 25% in the last 12 months. That's insane.

But i'll take it
Old 03-11-2021, 03:18 PM   #1649
FairmontGS
WT GT

Originally Posted by slowsnake View Post
They should!
FairmontGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-11-2021, 05:02 PM   #1650

hehe so true......
People can go on about its all too hard but I see it in my own kids @ 16/21/29 many times.
On mobile - check
Uber eats - check
Buy shoes - check
Buy shirts - check
Sports Bet - oh gamble responsively - check
Cafe smashed avo brekky - check
Buy this buy that - check
Dad want anything ? I look at time, its midnight, no thanks, Uber eats - check

Spending money today is all too damn easy but they are at their own peril.