You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Escort, Cortina, Sierra and Capri

Old 04-03-2009, 04:55 PM   #1
spliceMk1

Default Escort quickshift install?

G'day all.

I have picked up a factory RS2000 / Capri quickshifter. I am no mechanic but am handy enough with the tools to pull things apart and put them together again...with alot of swearing included, ha.

Does anyone know the process to install these? I have read that they are just a simple swap-over of the existing gearstick/selector, but I have never removed one before so don't know where to start.

Any help would be great. Cheers!

Old 04-03-2009, 07:11 PM   #2
V8falcons

Remove the console,Unscrew the old one out and screw the new one in very easy in the 4 speed(thats if it the 4 speed)

Be carefull with the thread though!!!!
V8falcons is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-03-2009, 09:20 AM   #3
spliceMk1

Thanks for your help, excellent news to start my day....that's easy done!

Does the thread strip easily does it?
Old 05-03-2009, 02:07 PM   #4
Puzzlescort
Rally Nut

yes the threads are a nylon bush and can strip / cross thread very easily.
the standard quick shift is a marked improvement on the standard option

If you find the gearlever is sloppy or it starts to come outin your hand either from the age of the lever to being a bit anxious on the gear level an option to look out for is the quiafe shifter to suit. This shifter is pretty much a rose joint using a metal retainer to the box - heaps stronger and even a little shorter in throw
Puzzlescort is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-03-2009, 05:15 PM   #5
spliceMk1

Understood. Guess I better get my lovin' hands out then, ha!

Do you by any chance have a contact for an Aussie supplier of the rose jointed shifter? Would be useful just in case this one is a bit sloppy.

Cheers!
Old 05-03-2009, 06:03 PM   #6
Puzzlescort
Rally Nut

there are a few places - best let your fingers do the walking

http://www.burtonpower.com/pic_viewe...Quickshift.jpg

Andrew at Quickco might carry them as well

they are fantastic - well worth the money
File Type: jpg QS02%20Quickshift.jpg (4.0 KB, 28 views)
Puzzlescort is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-03-2009, 10:35 AM   #7
feral

http://www.smckaperformance.com.au/

Not sure if it is a quaife job.
feral is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-03-2009, 02:52 PM   #8
spliceMk1

Originally Posted by feral
http://www.smckaperformance.com.au/

Not sure if it is a quaife job.

Thanks. I have actually been speaking to this bloke as I have just joined the Small Ford Owners Club. He'll be getting a fair bit of my business over the next couple of years!
Old 11-03-2009, 03:15 PM   #9
spliceMk1

Originally Posted by vctxr6ute
Remove the console,Unscrew the old one out and screw the new one in very easy in the 4 speed(thats if it the 4 speed)

Be carefull with the thread though!!!!
Tried to do this yesterday. Removed the console, then realised that I didn't have the right tool to finish the job. Very disappointed. I need a good set of tools so badly it is depressing.