Old 18-02-2012, 05:04 PM   #31
billy302

Default Re: Which one would you buy?

Well I'm going to be different.
Drive both and pick the one you want. the one you feel more comfortable with or in. Nothing else matters.
Personally I've owned both and in the city I prefer the VCT I6 and in the country the V8. As I do both I sold the V8 and kept the Fairmont Ghai with the VCT I6.
billy302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-02-2012, 05:10 PM   #32
TATT2
100% aussie hillbilly

V8.................
TATT2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-02-2012, 05:38 PM   #33

Having own an XR6 and a TE50.
V8 theres not much in it with running costs
Old 18-02-2012, 06:19 PM   #34
stev3n

V8 looks good

Last edited by stev3n; 18-02-2012 at 06:26 PM.
stev3n is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-02-2012, 06:23 PM   #35
TMC
SY TS AWD LPG TEZZA

V8 Windsor. Long lived lazy motor.
4th car 90 XF ute (work car)
5th car 06 SY TS AWD Territory Orbital LPi
6th car 95 XG ute
7th car 2014 SZ Territory TX Petrol
Fords all my life.
TMC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-02-2012, 06:26 PM   #36
falconator
Regular Yobbo

V8,and work on that sweeeeeeeeeeeet sound!
falconator is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-02-2012, 07:40 PM   #37
noosacuda

Your decision mate,i'm old and have a V8 monster toy,and go the 6 cyl, but look at rego and insurance costs. Both are over priced in my opinion, i'd be looking for an AUII or III Fairlane for that sort of money.
noosacuda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-02-2012, 08:00 PM   #38
Sep 97 EL XR8
Miami power

i would buy the V8.
if you are going to keep it will be worth more as V* are rarer. It also sounds so much better.

The most important thing is to drive them both and work out which gives you the most excitement. It's your call.
Sep 97 EL XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-02-2012, 08:08 PM   #39
AU Mont

Originally Posted by noosacuda
i'd be looking for an AUII or III Fairlane for that sort of money.
overpriced they are, but a fairlane isnt exactly any much better, imo is worse

extra weight and wheelbase over the fairmonts means more fuel consumption, less performance

Originally Posted by Sep 97 EL XR8
The most important thing is to drive them both and work out which gives you the most excitement. It's your call.
i think he mentioned it being a daily so not sure how much the excitement factor would play into the decision. Im wondering what the O.P. 's thoughts are after 2 pages of advice?
AU Mont is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-02-2012, 08:38 PM   #40
calais

The Ghia V8 would be my pick with a simple gas system fitted.

But as for which one is going be more desirable.... After a few years as a daily, I'd say neither. And the Windsor will require some potentially expensive maintenance as the kays stack on.

Nice cars, but an XR8 220 will always have the wood on a Fairmont in regards to desirability.
calais is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-02-2012, 08:46 PM   #41

Originally Posted by calais
And the Windsor will require some potentially expensive maintenance as the kays stack on.
I'm curious to know what kind of expense the windsor would need as you so called it ?.
Old 18-02-2012, 08:50 PM   #42
calais

Things such as timing cover leaks if it hasnt been maintaned properly, ignition components which arent as prevalent as for the I6 VCT etc;

As I havent personally owned either I do apologise if I am quoting in error.
Old 18-02-2012, 08:59 PM   #43

Originally Posted by calais
Things such as timing cover leaks if it hasnt been maintaned properly, ignition components which arent as prevalent as for the I6 VCT etc;

As I havent personally owned either I do apologise if I am quoting in error.
Any vehicle not maintained properly will incure those drama's, and those that you have mentioned are not as expensive that you make them sound out to be, the way you worded it, you made it out as if the Windsor was known for those specific problem's which is not true, like I said any vehicle that has not been maintained will have drama's.
Old 18-02-2012, 09:13 PM   #44
calais

Duly noted galaxy.
Old 18-02-2012, 10:21 PM   #45
in_xcess

Deal's done... thanks to all that provided advice.

Initially it was about 70/30 in favour of the V8 but once I took out the 'the V8 sounds better' and 'V8 makes you more of a man...' type stuff it was about 50/50.

I've bought the Fairmont Ghia 75th Anniversary VCT 6.

I saved a grand over the V8 (not that much I know but only $3000 out of pocket after trading a Mitsubishi Challenger costing me more every week on repairs), insurance is $200 less per year ($460 with Youi and cheaper with the budgetdirect-type insurers), I don't have to worry about rego until Jan 2013, will save some $$$ on fuel per week until I get injection LPG fitted and due to it being one elderly owner and regularly serviced with Ford from day 1 I'm confident its 136,000 kms are good kms and the result of sedate motoring.

As an aside thought, it'd be great to know what people are paying to insure their AU's (not matter what the badge) to get an idea. I'm 44yo with 60% NCB and currently insured with YOUi. The premium on the Challenger was $517.

It looks the goods - IMO much nicer than any XR6/8 and without being a magnet to ********* in V6/8 Commodores, Imprezas, Nissans and/or our friends in the HWY Patrol! Resplendant in a metallic bronze/tan colour, it has 17in Elegance rims (tyres will be a long term cost over the V8) and has a 12 mth (my mechanic) warranty - no strings attached.

The V8 looked like an upmarket taxi in white and the windsor a slight overkill for what I'm doing.

The 6 will make a perfect daily driver where I do 50/50 hwy/city kms in Canberra so the V8 would have been slightly thirstier. I don't need to spend anything on it but with the V8 I would have been looking straight away to spend on rims, headers and exhaust. The 6 will get filter, headers and exhaust in time but of no consequence now.

Thanks again.

Images can be viewed via flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mark_will/

in_xcess is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-02-2012, 10:39 PM   #46
calais

Nice car. Well done
Old 19-02-2012, 12:01 AM   #47
Venomous1
5.0 means business

Glad to see you did what makes you happy.
Old 19-02-2012, 10:18 AM   #48
noosacuda

Originally Posted by Venomous1
Glad to see you did what makes you happy.
That's what really matters.
noosacuda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-02-2012, 10:47 AM   #49
babyf6
Young Ford Enthusiast

Congrats on the new car
Old 19-02-2012, 05:25 PM   #50

you could`nt really go wrong with either , i have a vct and other than an oil leak after 160000 k`s of hard work which you would expect by that mileage in anything, it`s been absolutely faultless best engine/car ever imo. good luck with your new baby.
Old 19-02-2012, 06:57 PM   #51
dags41v
Black 2006 XR8

V8 because ........................ oh just because
Old 19-02-2012, 07:10 PM   #52
STRAIGHT_SIX

Nice car looks like a good buy
STRAIGHT_SIX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-02-2012, 09:32 PM   #53
deadlywill

the v8 for me if you've got the bux to run it...
deadlywill is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post