Old 17-10-2007, 10:48 PM   #61
perthxr6t
PERTHXR6T

I'm glad i'm not a high payed sports player or super star and have my every move watched by all the media and every other dork and jackass in the country.

I'm bloody sure most of us here have done something at some stage that would get us in the or fined if we were caught.

I don't agree with what he has done but wouldn't it give you the sh*ts if every move you made during the nite or day was being watched by some low life with a camera.

You can stick the fame and fortune where the sun don't shine i'll just stay happy with my family,friends and loved ones and my F6

Panther Black XR5T Mondeo
Sunroof
BlueTooth
Mods So Far

Air Box Mod
Lowered Eibach Springs 25mm
Alloy foot Pedals
Waiting for the Edit to come
Custom Cat Back Zorst
Old 17-10-2007, 10:52 PM   #62

Originally Posted by 1970galaxie
I think the best thing is to wait until fronts the court tomorrow.
Who says they weren't prescribed for him anyway?
Do you think he would have been arrested if he had a prescription?
Old 17-10-2007, 10:55 PM   #63

Eitherway Good luck to him in gaining his health and getting rid of his problems..
He has done alot for wce.
06 Turbo Terri AWD 6 sp in Neo with stuff i didnt even need, side steps,15.2 inch roof mounted DVD,Pioneer $tezza,Selby 30/18mm swaybars,debunged,100 cpsi Ballistic cat,Plazmaman under battery Cai injectors 14/lb boost,ZF tuned,Xtreme's magic. :
Old 17-10-2007, 10:57 PM   #64

Originally Posted by GTP006
Do you think he would have been arrested if he had a prescription?
Hypothetically...:

What if he wasnt carrying his prescription?? (who does?)
What if the tablets were loose in his pockets without packaging or id?

The news were speculating tonght that he was only caught with perscription medication once it had been identified.
Im sure all the facts will come out tommorow, its a shame WCE couldnt wait till after then to sack him, after all he's only been charged on alleged offences, not convicted yet, this may just be a mix-up, but then again it might not.. tomorrow will tell.

Old 17-10-2007, 11:10 PM   #65
1970galaxie
Fat 460

I honestly don't think it is too fair being charged for carryinig "someone elses" prescription drugs either.

Imagine have Becotide on you, and being charged, for example. It's an asthma relief!!!
2003 BA XR8 Ute. Blood Orange. 5.4/5 speed.
2006 Territory Turbo. Silhouette. 4.0/6 speed auto.
Old 17-10-2007, 11:10 PM   #66
falzoony
Rockin '67

its a shame, he is/was one of the best players in the league

'67 XR Wagon
Old 17-10-2007, 11:11 PM   #67
1970galaxie
Fat 460

Originally Posted by falzoony
WOOHOOO!
Try reading the above posts first mate.
Old 17-10-2007, 11:12 PM   #68
TUF514

A struggling club should snap him up on the cheap!
Old 17-10-2007, 11:12 PM   #69
falzoony
Rockin '67

Originally Posted by 1970galaxie
WOOHOOO!
Try reading the above posts first mate.
I just did :hence the edit.

'67 XR Wagon
Old 17-10-2007, 11:18 PM   #70
1970galaxie
Fat 460

Originally Posted by falzoony
I just did :hence the edit.
HA HA Sorry.
I was too quick with the keyboard LOL.
Old 17-10-2007, 11:23 PM   #71
BAxtER
ive been 4490'd

in a way i do feel sorry for him, at the beginning of the year i was bagging him out to mates but now i really do feel sorryt for the bloke, i think he needs a new start at a different club. Does anyone know if he can get into the PSD (pre season draft). I think a coach like paul Roos could fix up the bloke hes a strict coach that doesnt take crap, which is why the swans became a gret side in 05-06
just my opinion anyway, even leigh matthews would be similar in what Roos would do, but then again which club would want him now? maybe carlton ..reunite him with Judd.
www.taipanmotorsport.com.au
Old 17-10-2007, 11:32 PM   #72
perthxr6t
PERTHXR6T

maybe carlton ..reunite him with Judd.

Go the Blues in the top 8 in 08 :

Panther Black XR5T Mondeo
Sunroof
BlueTooth
Mods So Far

Air Box Mod
Lowered Eibach Springs 25mm
Alloy foot Pedals
Waiting for the Edit to come
Custom Cat Back Zorst
Old 17-10-2007, 11:35 PM   #73

The media is always going to sensationalise.

I am going to wait and see how it develops.

Old 18-10-2007, 12:01 AM   #74
DoreSlamR
Fiat POWAAH!

As a lifelong fan of West Coast Eagles i would like to say it is sad to see Cousins let go, they really had no other choice, its been a tough year for Eagles fans, but we will keep on keeping on.

I've held my tongue on quite a few occasions in regards to posts relating to the Eagles or it's players and there have been a few more than a fan would want to see...So i thought i'd speak up and address a considerable amount of people here who seems to be sitting way too high on their proverbial high horse.

If you people think for a second that the Eagles are the ONLY team to have a drug problem you are seriously deluded, heres a little fact that most people seem to overlook... Cousins NEVER tested positive, yes obviously he used drugs, but he took it upon himself to admit his problem and then try to do something about it, unlike all the other drug abusing AFL players who manage to remain nameless and protected. We even get his peers going off on un-informed tandems about Eagles players being on drugs, seriously Akermanis must be on some good drugs himself.

At least we can still heap praise and respect on a man who went on drug benders throughout a large part of his career, played a huge part in the overdose and death of a young woman, oh and hes an AFL hall of famer...

So lets all damn a man who obviously has some problems...he is only human.
Old 18-10-2007, 12:14 AM   #75
Green X

Not a surprise at all,

Don't know the full story, only what the media has reported, the Old man a cop and knows a few things and he has been very quite about it all, which makes me to believe there may be a little bit more to this story, who knows but.
Old 18-10-2007, 12:17 AM   #76

AFL star Ben Cousins arrestedArticle from: Font size: Decrease Increase Email article: Email Print article: Print Submit comment: Submit comment October 16, 2007 04:02pm

BREAKING NEWS: Troubled West Coast Eagles star Ben Cousins has been arrested after police searched his car in Perth today,
Further comment is being sought from WA Police and the West Coast Eagles.
Frankly he should be prosecuted to the full extent , damn fool he is .. otherwise I simply cant care.
Old 18-10-2007, 08:32 AM   #77

Originally Posted by DoreSlamR
heres a little fact that most people seem to overlook... Cousins NEVER tested positive, .
neither did joey johns or marion jones. all this does is further show how much of a joke drug testing is.
Old 19-10-2007, 02:31 PM   #78
HOON69

news just in

charges of possession will be dropped due to the substance wasnt illegal.
Old 19-10-2007, 02:35 PM   #79

Originally Posted by HOON69
news just in

charges of possession will be dropped due to the substance wasnt illegal.
Well well, this is a nice mess isnt it... Ben got the sack for being charged for something he didnt do...
As i predicted earlier he was most likely caught with his own medication in his pockets which wasnt packaged.
Nice mess for the WCE now... will they do a back flip? Will he sue for wrongful dismissal?

It never pays to jump the gun.. its best to wait for ALL the facts before making hasty decisions...

Old 19-10-2007, 02:36 PM   #80
Jase
-Village Idiot-

Just a little bit of a mess. :togo:

The drug charge that led to Ben Cousins' sacking from the West Coast Eagles will be dropped, the AFL footballer's lawyer Shane Brennan says.

"I have just been informed by the organised crime squad that the charge of possession of the narcotic will be dropped on Monday morning at nine o'clock," Mr Brennan told Southern Cross Broadcasting.

"Their (police) problem stems from the fact that the alleged narcotic isn't a prohibited substance, as I understand it."

The 29-year-old midfielder was charged with possessing a prohibited drug after police pulled him over for driving erratically on Tuesday.

He was also charged with failing to comply with a requirement to undergo a driver assessment.

Cousins has never tested positive for illicit drugs.

West Coast chairman-elect Mark Barnaba told ABC Radio dropping the charge against Cousins would not change the club's decision.

But in March this year, he underwent several weeks of drug rehabilitation in the US, returning to Perth in April after agreeing to a zero tolerance clause to testing positive to banned substances.

He also agreed not to fall foul of the law.

The charges this week led to his sacking by the West Coast Eagles on Wednesday.

He appeared in the Perth Magistrate's Court yesterday where the matter was adjourned for three months so that he could return to rehabilitation in the US.

Today, Mr Brennan says Cousins was delighted to learn the charges would be dropped.

"He's as happy as Larry, so would you or I be," Mr Brennan told ABC Radio.

"In essence, the charge was completely misconceived from the start, as I indicated to the media yesterday," he told Southern Cross Broadcasting.

Mr Brennan said Cousins still planned to defend the failure to take the blood test charge.

The lawyer would not comment on how this may affect Cousins' application for a visa to the United States.
The fun continues
Old 19-10-2007, 02:36 PM   #81
NGN 351
FoMoCo Fan

LETS STICK TO THE FACTS...
Yes he should not have been driving, he has bought alot of this on himself BUT...you cannot bust someone for a PRESCRIPTION drug that they have been prescribed to take by a DOCTOR. And not just any GP but the clubs own GP.
END RANT !!!
Old 19-10-2007, 02:37 PM   #82
NGN 351
FoMoCo Fan

and one more thing... it wasnt a narcotic. Bloody idiots...
Old 19-10-2007, 04:13 PM   #83
kremmen

who is he?

*snore*
Old 19-10-2007, 04:21 PM   #84
HOON69

he still has the charge of failing to undergo a driver assessment.
thats enough for the club to sack him,as he was bound by his contract to not get into trouble.
Old 19-10-2007, 04:25 PM   #85

PERTH has to have something happening, to break its dullsville image !!!!
Old 19-10-2007, 04:32 PM   #86

He is an idioit! :
Old 19-10-2007, 04:49 PM   #87
Jase
-Village Idiot-

Originally Posted by HOON69
he still has the charge of failing to undergo a driver assessment.
thats enough for the club to sack him,as he was bound by his contract to not get into trouble.
I think he is expected to be charged for that.

Part of driver assessment is bloody test, which is what he refused, afaik.

I think the drugs found in his car can be used to mask amphetamine use also.

A lot of coincidences in how he was stopped, who buy, chick getting down at the same time, and all those shenanigans, must be something else going on *inspector gadget music*

At least it gave me something to read for the last day or 2
Old 19-10-2007, 05:24 PM   #88
1970galaxie
Fat 460

Just heard on the radio that the police have admitted they made a mistake.
So...if it wasn't for their mistake, then Ben would never have been asked to do the drug test in the first place.
Must make WCE feel pretty stupid too.
Old 19-10-2007, 05:43 PM   #89

Despite the obvious historical facts that he's been in trouble in the past he's never actually tested positive to a drug test, i just think maybe the media need to get off his case and leave him alone. Everyone in this country is entitled to the presumption of innocence till proven guilty.. in this case he was wrongfully charged and as a result plastered all over the papers and as a result he lost his job.
Think about this: In how many other work places can you loose you job when wrongfully charged (i.e innocent) for an offense that was allegedly commited away from the work place on your own time....

Old 19-10-2007, 06:22 PM   #90

Innocent this time? Fair enough, hope he keeps it straight & narrow.
Under the very close watch of the Organised Crime Group? He better be a very, very good boy with a renewed approach to his freedom.