Old 24-01-2008, 04:47 PM   #1
Hybrid34
|AFordEd|

Default White Van Scam (melb)

I bet you all have heard of this one, one place or another,
Title Explains is all, and i was stupid enough to go along,
White Van, 2 Dodgy guys asking me if i want to buy speakers, well to my curiosity i went along with it, had a look at it, did a bit of barganing n brought them, centre and rears for $275..
Went home played them...they sound VERY VERY nice,
after this i did some research on the net, found out that these speakers don't exisit, and that they could have been fakes from Denmark,

I heard from reading that these guys are goign all around melbourne Mainly S.E trying sell it off saying "Extra Stock came in n we gotta sell it off",
So I guess a warning to those who havn't passed them,
VW White Van (didn't get the rego),
Selling Magnus & Larsson Speapkers (maybe others)
1 male Ethic Looking
1 male Anglo Aussie Looking...

Has anyone else passed them before? Dispite i got these speakers really really cheap, they sound pretty awesome..

- Ash

3:4:5 LSD diff
JMM Extractors
2.5" Stainless Steel highflow cat
2.5" Exhaust
T5 transmission
Front Slotted rotors
Lowered on Pedders Sports Ryders
....and a cherry scented airfreshner

Speed determines how fast you hit the Traffic Light....Power determines how far you take it with you.
Hybrid34 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 04:54 PM   #2
lukey
www.lukehimself.net

Yeh I had them before. Sounds like the same guys and van actually. I'm in SE Vic and they tried to sell me speakers at 7/11. I had heard of the scam and just said I wasn't interested. He told me they were doing a delivery and had been given too much stock so they wanted to sell them off quickly.
Old 24-01-2008, 04:55 PM   #3
sfr rob
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○ ○○○○○

I have bought a couple sets of these speakers they are AWESOME.
I got fleetwood full surround speakers X2. Very happy, VERY cheap, VERY dodgey! :
sfr rob is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 05:00 PM   #4
XR8GRL
Powered by Tickford

One time awhile ago in Dandenong, some guy pulled up next to us at the lights and was telling us to pull down the window. It looked like they were admiring the ute, but they asked if we were interested in buying a stereo system. Not sure if it was these guys, quite possibly.

SILHOUETTE AUII XR8
Leather, Premium sound, Momo S/wheel & gear knob, Sunroof, 20" Advanti Desires, Bulge, XR50 Front, Pacemaker extractors,
Ballistic cats, 2.5" cat back system, Rebel bar & skirts, XR scuff plates, Kings SL & SSL springs
XR8GRL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 05:03 PM   #5

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Had the same sorta guys approach me twice up here in QLD, one day i told them to off or else id get the coppers to come and check them out. Second time I told them to come over to my car (at the time a BA white Futura with antennas all over it) and they thought i was a cop so they bolted yet again... they are definately dodgy...
Old 24-01-2008, 05:07 PM   #6
TadKa
Wait? What?

sorry for my ignorance but what is the scam? I assume they are hot.
TadKa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 05:38 PM   #7
Hybrid34
|AFordEd|

Originally Posted by XR8GRL
One time awhile ago in Dandenong, some guy pulled up next to us at the lights and was telling us to pull down the window. It looked like they were admiring the ute, but they asked if we were interested in buying a stereo system. Not sure if it was these guys, quite possibly.

Yeah Their ALLways around the dande n springy area..

Scam...Yes means their selling NON-legit items...
They were pretty good at convincing me (even though the whole time i knew it wasn't 100% right), but im 100% happy with what i got very clear speakers (lets just see if they last any long)
3:4:5 LSD diff
JMM Extractors
2.5" Stainless Steel highflow cat
2.5" Exhaust
T5 transmission
Front Slotted rotors
Lowered on Pedders Sports Ryders
....and a cherry scented airfreshner

Speed determines how fast you hit the Traffic Light....Power determines how far you take it with you.
Hybrid34 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 05:43 PM   #8
hanky
TF Corty

Originally Posted by TadKa
sorry for my ignorance but what is the scam? I assume they are hot.
In Sydney they try to flog off cheap speakers as "name brand" speakers. You can buy them at the markets. Most people think they're stolen speakers and buy them thinking they are Bose or some other brand.
Old 24-01-2008, 06:02 PM   #9
boss-290

Yep had this happen to me and my Dad.

We were in Mornington, as Dad just had a doctors appointment at the Eye specialist. We were waitng for my sister to come pick us up (as I didn't have my licence then). These guys in a "Thrifty" van called us. I didn't respond and I just ignored them as they looked dodgy. One guy got out of the van and came over and asked if I wanted to buy a home theatre system. Dad and I declined. The dodgy guy explained that his boss oredered too much stock and he needed to get rid of them cheap.

This van was a Thrifty van it has the logo on the side with a big dent.

My Mum saw them in Springvale also.
boss-290 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 06:05 PM   #10
Josh_XC

Its not just melbourne ive seen a few guys around canberra doing the exact same thing.
Bionic BF XR8 - 6 speed manual, reversing sensors, premium sound, GT starter button. 218rwkw - Got to love the BOSS!!
Josh_XC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 06:08 PM   #11
AC/DC
" Let there be Rock "

Would you believe that they are in Townsville ( NTH QLD ) at the moment.

They are selling the same stuff that you can get in stores like JB, WOW, Strathfield etc etc, , but they are selling it for double the price.

AC/DC
AC/DC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 06:12 PM   #12
XW 393
"WHEEZER" POWERED

Yeah I have seen them in Dandy and also in Melton, probably where they load their van up from !!!
Old 24-01-2008, 06:12 PM   #13
boss-290

They must be successful in their operation as they are nationwide.
boss-290 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 06:14 PM   #14
S3SR

Originally Posted by AC/DC
Would you believe that they are in Townsville ( NTH QLD ) at the moment.

They are selling the same stuff that you can get in stores like JB, WOW, Strathfield etc etc, , but they are selling it for double the price.

AC/DC
they wouldnt be called harvey norman would they? :P LOL

i wish i got offered some jamo speakers for that sort of price ($275), id buy two sets

2002 Ford Falcon AU S3 SR
2006 BF MKI Falcon XR6
2008 Mazda BT50 SDX
2004 BA XR8 ute
2006 AUDI A4 B7
2013 FG II XR6 Ute
2006 Ford Territory TX
2003 Ford Falcon XR8
2009 Territory Turbo Ghia

Current: 2012 Audi A4 B8 2.0T Quattro
S3SR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 06:16 PM   #15

Most sell cheapo asian units branded as a Euro name, and price it as such so it seems a good deal. There must be a few, I've been hounded by them filling up at a Cranbourne servo once and again and Hoppers Crossing.

I've also had a guy in a leather jacket selling watches (open the coat like in the movies), a guy selling cheap work boots and a bloke selling porno's out the back of an old porsche!
Old 24-01-2008, 06:18 PM   #16
kyro_02
V8 wannaabeee

lol my bro go scammed, except the speakers sounded GREAT, complete home theatre system .. I think he picked it all up $200ish

hoppers crossing, white van, 2 guys
RG digital
kyro_02 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 06:18 PM   #17
RAREV8
Previously ScottishXC

Its not actually a scam- they get brand "X" speakers from China and just sell them from a van- no overheads other than the car cost but they are not necessarily stolen or dodgy and many will sound ok>
As always, buyer beware! Who will you go to in the event of a warranty claim?
The real dodgy ones are the ones selling B.O.S.E lectronics gear that looks (to the uninitiated) much like a Bose Lifestyle system...very clever but very illegal and an absolutely appauling imitation that doesn't last 5 minutes!
Most of these guys are off ebay now and the vans are far fewer than last year.
A basic rule of thumb- if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is! Do your research first!

Gilesie
XAGTCoupe
Pilch
Aussie_afroman
Donut King
Bad Boy Benny
BAWITHLOT
Greenmachine
CUZ351
OhioXB
Falconunbelievable
4VXC
Uncleraggy

FG G6 Ego, tech pack, Tropic gold 1973 Landau, Cosmic blue 1975 P5 LTD....long term project
Im just bored of the single/narrow minded...
RAREV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 06:20 PM   #18
sprjenkins
Spr Jenkins

yep, had these guys come up to me. Wanna buy some speakers?

-Mathematicians have found that due to the excessive amount of women Chuck Norris has slept with, it is guaranteed that he appears in your family tree a minimum of three times

-Chuck Norris doesn't sleep. He waits.

-Chuck Norris once worked as a weatherman for the San Diego evening news. Every night he would make the same forecast: Partly Cloudy with a 75% chance of Pain.
sprjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 06:37 PM   #19

Had 2 guys try the same thing on me at the Westgate servo a few years ago. Read the paper a few weeks later and they were in court, turns out they worked for Steve Bennet hi-fi down here in Geelong and they were trying to sell speakers they had stolen from work. Morons.
Old 24-01-2008, 06:49 PM   #20

Similar type of operation has been going on for the last 10 years at least here in Melbourne. I've been approached a few times but always declined.
Like others have said, if sounds too good to be true it probably is.
Pinkbits is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 06:56 PM   #21
paule11

had it in townsville probably 8 years ago they had a story they had brought or been delivered too many and wanted to sell them cheap before the boss found out.

Told them I wasnt interested and they asked if I knew anyone who was, said I had a few mates who were in the policeforce who may be interested then they took off
paule11 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 07:10 PM   #22
HavocXR8
yay still alive

yep same thing here in canberra
they said that they were left over from a job
HavocXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 07:45 PM   #23
paul_r_d

Ash
This happend to me before christmas, 2 guys in a white van (windows all blocked out) as u described pulled up at the petrol station near me as I was filling up asking me if I wanted to buy a home theatre system. I delcined, and they took off asking others who were filling up. This was in north-west of melb, so possibly the same guys.

The missus
2003 Rav4 4 door Cruiser
paul_r_d is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 07:51 PM   #24
paul_r_d

Originally Posted by AUlien
Yeah I have seen them in Dandy and also in Melton, probably where they load their van up from !!!
Lol if you read my previous post I said it happend at the servo... guess where in Melton at the Caltex LOL

The missus
2003 Rav4 4 door Cruiser
Old 24-01-2008, 08:22 PM   #25

these guys have been investigated by a few organisations and nothing was found to be dodgey or illegal, so they are not scammers at all.
as mentioned, they are trading from the back of a van, no overheads etc and they arent breaking any laws.
if the product sounds good and your happy with it, whats your gripe?
unhappy you didnt get to pay top dollar?

Last edited by Kryton; 24-01-2008 at 08:34 PM.
Old 24-01-2008, 08:26 PM   #26
paul_r_d

Originally Posted by davway
these guys have been investigated by a few organisations and nothing was found to be dodgey or illegal, so they are not scammers at all.
as mentioned, they are trading from the back of a van, no overheads etc and they arent breaking any laws.
if the product sounds good and your happy with it, whats your grip?
unhappy you didnt get to pay top dollar?
Yeah I am sure these people have an Australin Business Number and claim tax.....NOT there for making it illegal.

The missus
2003 Rav4 4 door Cruiser
Old 24-01-2008, 08:35 PM   #27
fastlane
In here

Originally Posted by Hybrid34
I bet you all have heard of this one, one place or another,
Title Explains is all, and i was stupid enough to go along,
White Van, 2 Dodgy guys asking me if i want to buy speakers, well to my curiosity i went along with it, had a look at it, did a bit of barganing n brought them, centre and rears for $275..
Went home played them...they sound VERY VERY nice,
after this i did some research on the net, found out that these speakers don't exisit, and that they could have been fakes from Denmark,

I heard from reading that these guys are goign all around melbourne Mainly S.E trying sell it off saying "Extra Stock came in n we gotta sell it off",
So I guess a warning to those who havn't passed them,
VW White Van (didn't get the rego),
Selling Magnus & Larsson Speapkers (maybe others)
1 male Ethic Looking
1 male Anglo Aussie Looking...

Has anyone else passed them before? Dispite i got these speakers really really cheap, they sound pretty awesome..

- Ash
Yeah my mate was approached in Croydon about the speakers. He was told that he had got them from his boss and had to sell them off quickly. My mate was tempted but I later told my mate not to listen. The people in the van pretend that it is hot but in actual fact it is just dodgy products. That is the trick that people fall for. :
fastlane is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 09:03 PM   #28
SiKoRa_eL_97

Ive had this happen to me as well and i tried messing around with them actually pulling over and asking them stupid questions etc... Discount Warranty and receipts for tax purposes etc etc0
From what i hear off my work colleague these guys are actually all closely knit into a gang from Sydney... and that wouldnt try messing around with them luckly i wasnt to much of a smart *** or i would have copped something :S

better confiscate his computer.
SiKoRa_eL_97 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 09:48 PM   #29
AusM
AusMotorsport

I remember being approached in 1992! This has been happening for decades... usually it's cheap stock sold for several times what it's worth.
AusM is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2008, 09:53 PM   #30
Bosman
T Series Club Member No24

Know a guy that bought these 'speakers'.
Yep they look great , here you go take the unopened box.....Got box home and had just paid 200 bucks for 4 bricks!!! Classic!

FTe Venom T3TE50 No229 5.6L Manual Don't drive one! Because like so many others , including ME , you will become TOTALLY addicted.

2016 Harley Davidson Softail Heritage customized.
Dead set gorgeous!
Bosman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post