You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 18-04-2011, 10:36 PM   #1
shb

Default Damn Aurion vs G6 in a 0-60 dash!

Can the aurion really beat a G6 at traffic lights take off? Ive been reading about it?I know the aurion has a wee bit more HP than the G6 even though the G6 has more torque! I know from stand-starts,even 4cyl honda accords can take off faster as they are much lighter but later on the G6 takes over but the speed limit kills it all.

shb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-04-2011, 10:47 PM   #2

Default Re: Damn Aurion vs G6 in a 0-60 dash!

Apparently the quickest Aurion is 0-100 in 6.8 while a non turbo G6 is 7.3 - 100kmh
So yes, Apparently. I drove a brand new Aurion and was impressed and surprised with hos quick it was.
Old 18-04-2011, 10:50 PM   #3

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Its also about 110kg lighter then the Falcon.
Old 18-04-2011, 10:55 PM   #4
Barry_v
rocknrolla

..and a V6 tarago would blitz them both.
Barry_v is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-04-2011, 11:10 PM   #5
malazn mafia
Boss 335

G6 With ZF should obliterate the Aurion. Does Aurion have a 5 or 6 speed?
malazn mafia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-04-2011, 11:13 PM   #6

six. aurion has less weight, more power and less drivetrain loss
Old 18-04-2011, 11:26 PM   #7
malazn mafia
Boss 335

doesn't an FG produce over 200 killer wasps when running on 98 octane? If the FG was running crap fuel, then the aurion may get the lead..
malazn mafia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-04-2011, 11:29 PM   #8

not sure why peoples' pride seems to be hurt when they find out another brand can beat their car. It's called power to weight as already mentioned.. I had an '85 corona that was only a fraction slower than my dad's 5 speed BA. Who cares?
Professor Farnsworth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-04-2011, 11:29 PM   #9
FPV GTHO

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Sharing his knowledge of performance exhaust setups for the NA 6 cyc Barra Falcon from BA to FG. 

Yes, but again the Aurion weighs alot less.
FPV GTHO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-04-2011, 11:32 PM   #10

I didn't buy a Falcon because I wanted the fastest 0-100 stock 6-cylinder around...
As a full package, it's a great car.

Given that one should not be taking off at the lights in a drag, who really cares whether the Aurion is faster or not in a straight line?

I love my Falcon and even if Toyota, Skoda or Datsun have a faster alternative, I don't care...

Old 18-04-2011, 11:32 PM   #11

Originally Posted by Professor Farnsworth
not sure why peoples' pride seems to be hurt when they find out another brand can beat their car. It's called power to weight as already mentioned.. I had an '85 corona that was only a fraction slower than my dad's 5 speed BA. Who cares?
I had an XW Falcon 250 4 speed and I got hosed by a V6 Capri, how do you think *I* felt >:-(

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 18-04-2011, 11:40 PM   #12

Everyone who buys a G6 or an Aurion buys it for the amazing speed of course....

Old 18-04-2011, 11:40 PM   #13

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Valued contributor especially in the FG threads. Offers help and information to all. Posts are always in a positive manner. 

They would be neck and neck. The Aurion is a quick unit, I've seen 14.5 second passes stock.
Dave R is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-04-2011, 12:00 AM   #14

But the G6 is a G6 and the Aurion is an Aurion....
I dont care how fast the Aurion is I know what I'd pick.
Old 19-04-2011, 12:10 AM   #15
barra265t

But the G6 is a G6 and the Aurion is an Aurion....
I dont care how fast the Aurion is I know what I'd pick.
The G6 is also the name of a Jet. I would have thought the Ford G6 would at least live up to its name . Maybe they should have left the name 'Fairmont', for the old fashioned comfy cruiser that it really is.
barra265t is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-04-2011, 12:17 AM   #16

Wink Re: Damn Aurion vs G6 in a 0-60 dash!

Originally Posted by barra265t
The G6 is also the name of a Jet. I would have thought the Ford G6 would at least live up to its name . Maybe they should have left the name 'Fairmont', for the old fashioned comfy cruiser that it really is.
I'll give it 24 hours before Adrenaline argues that point with you
Professor Farnsworth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-04-2011, 12:23 AM   #17

Now I'm feeling so fly...like a G6?

Old 19-04-2011, 12:33 AM   #18
barra265t

Originally Posted by uranium_death
Now I'm feeling so fly...like a G6?
Upon first hearing that chorus when browsing the radio.. didn't realise it was a song. I swear I thought it was some funky new jingle from Ford about the G6
barra265t is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-04-2011, 12:33 AM   #19
1TUFFUTE

what if its raining??? or the car has 3/4 passengers???or a trailer...
1TUFFUTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-04-2011, 12:35 AM   #20
Buntz
Straight Eight

FWD will always have that edge right off the line. But the Falcon will get out in front of about 50-70 metres of that race.

That's if the Aurion hasn't torque steered into you or a traffic light pole.
Old 19-04-2011, 01:17 AM   #21

i`d put money on it the aurion has diff ratio to suit fast take off , like a mitsu 380, different car different gearing, would be very little in it once the falc gets rolling i would think.
Old 19-04-2011, 01:32 AM   #22
nasss92

well iv got an untouched g6, 5 spd auto.. n have definitely out accelerated aurions to the speed limit. on bp 98 or v power ofcours
nasss92 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-04-2011, 01:49 AM   #23

Interesting article from a few years ago.

http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/Ar...rticleID=44733

V6 Tarago v BF XT v Cayenne

Tarago ran 14.9
XT ran 14.59
Porsche ran 15.45

Old 19-04-2011, 02:06 AM   #24

Originally Posted by XR6 Martin
Interesting article from a few years ago.

http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/Ar...rticleID=44733

V6 Tarago v BF XT v Cayenne

Tarago ran 14.9
XT ran 14.59
Porsche ran 15.45
that was an interesting read..
very supprising
Old 19-04-2011, 02:24 AM   #25
StrawbZ
Bumble Bee XR6T

Was a good read

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11341880
StrawbZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-04-2011, 02:54 AM   #26

Originally Posted by nasss92
well iv got an untouched g6, 5 spd auto.. n have definitely out accelerated aurions to the speed limit. on bp 98 or v power ofcours
Where did you find an Aurion driver willing to challenge you to a drag race, just curious......
A G8E would be good if Ford marketed squarely at Calais V8 owners. They need to bring back the walking fingers like in the initial FG ads, but this time have the fingers crushing Calais' as they walk along, with some relaxing background Led Zeppelin music and Marcos Ambrose in stubbies and singlet driving it.
Old 19-04-2011, 03:04 AM   #27
ST

Originally Posted by Gobes32
Where did you find an Aurion driver willing to challenge you to a drag race, just curious......
The car park of the local Bowls Club at 10am on a Sunday morning.
Old 19-04-2011, 05:09 AM   #28

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Valued contributor especially in the FG threads. Offers help and information to all. Posts are always in a positive manner. 

Originally Posted by Professor Farnsworth
I'll give it 24 hours before Adrenaline argues that point with you
He doesn't know what he's getting himself into
Dave R is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-04-2011, 07:41 AM   #29
RAPID_BA

Originally Posted by Gobes32

I have a company car aurion and a BA fairmont.

The aurion is very quick, its first gear is like someone smacks you across the face with a large fish. After that it still pulls well.

The BA wont get it 0-60 but after that i think its got it covered. Maybe a 6spd auto falcon would be in the hunt off the line

Does anyone wanna line up the aurion at eastern creek to settle this? Its a company car and i get free fuel and servicing so i dont care if it cops a hammering at the drags.
RAPID_BA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-04-2011, 07:53 AM   #30
EgoFG

I am not too fit, but I reckon I could beat any australian manufactured car across the lights on my repco 12 speed.
EgoFG is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post