You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

View Poll Results: Aprroximatly how many dollars per hour is spent to keep Australia's welfare wheels turning?
$16,000 per hour 2 8.33%
$160,000 per hour 0 0%
$1,600,000 per hour 9 37.50%
$16,000,000 per hour 9 37.50%
$160,000,000 per hour 4 16.67%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

Old 26-02-2015, 01:15 PM   #1
cheap
Wirlankarra yanama

Default The Australian Welfare System

On average every hour an amount of money is spent keeping the wheels of the Australian welfare system turning, this includes pensions, family payments, unemployment benefits and child care support (to name a few).

How many dollars per hour do you think is spent to keep the welfare wheels turning?
Old 26-02-2015, 01:23 PM   #2
TRAU BLAU

Default Re: The Australian Welfare System

A lot.

Last edited by GasoLane; 26-02-2015 at 01:46 PM. Reason: Try to keep politics out of posts please.
Old 26-02-2015, 01:25 PM   #3
GSP07R

Going off thier budget for 2014-2015 its around 146 billion for the year.
Im sure it will be more.
Old 26-02-2015, 01:25 PM   #4

Right so do you have the answer cheap? Otherwise your just poking in the dark. And if you do have the answer how did you come to it?
Old 26-02-2015, 01:27 PM   #5
cheap
Wirlankarra yanama

I did the maths, have a go with the poll.

Maybe I should have asked for a dollar per minute or per second.
Old 26-02-2015, 01:40 PM   #6

Are you on Newstart? Bit of time on ya hands mate.
Old 26-02-2015, 01:47 PM   #7
jpblue1000

about 35 percent of all hourly spending by the taxpayer or circa 16 Million 660 thousand, 666 dollars and change based on Government 2014 budget figures

From the national commission of Audit
'Around 4.6 million Australians receive an income support payment of some kind from the Australian Government in the form of a pension or allowance (27 per cent of the population aged 15 years and over):
  • in 2006–07, Australian Government expenditure on the income support system was $71.6 billion, or around 6.8 per cent of GDP
  • 77 per cent of Australians over the age of 65 receive income support, and 17 per cent of Australians aged 16–64 years
So not much really in the grand scheme of the economy could be less, could be more.

JP
Old 26-02-2015, 01:49 PM   #8
MDS69

I can see this going downhill
Old 26-02-2015, 01:49 PM   #9
MercurySilver
Isn't it obvious?

i really dont see the point in this poll
are we all having a guess and the answer is revealed at midnight or something??
Old 26-02-2015, 01:58 PM   #10

Originally Posted by MercurySilver View Post
i really dont see the point in this poll
are we all having a guess and the answer is revealed at midnight or something??
No Colin from MKR is going to rate the thread. His a hard **** apparently.
Old 26-02-2015, 02:13 PM   #11
Grunter
Not of the Sooty variety!

You need to add time, to the poll, before this thread turns political or nasty, and then is locked.

I'll go for locked between 4.30pm and 5.00pm.

The Toy: 2002 AUIII TS50
The Daily and Tow Vehicle: 2016 VW Amarok
Old 26-02-2015, 02:24 PM   #12

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

If people are actually interested.

Welfare, social security expenditure
Figures for 2014-15

The aged – 38.7 per cent
Families with children – 25.6 per cent
People with disabilities – 18.7 per cent
Unemployed and the sick – 7.2 per cent
Veterans and dependents – 4.6 per cent
General administration – 2.8 per cent
Other expenses – 2.5 per cent

Figures: Department of Finance
Hopefully the simplification of the figures will make the costs associated with welfare lower and more simple (not really sure how complex it is).
Old 26-02-2015, 02:32 PM   #13
xxx000

it's a political thread from the start imho

designed to shock, then blame those on welfare for much of Australia's perceived problems and one side of politics will claim they'll 'crack down'
Old 26-02-2015, 02:58 PM   #14
CoupeKing

Heaps, but they give most of it back if they smoke and drink.
Old 26-02-2015, 03:08 PM   #15

Originally Posted by xxx000 View Post

designed to shock, then blame those on welfare for much of Australia's perceived problems and one side of politics will claim they'll 'crack down'
Agreed.

But I choose to pay taxes to support these systems in the belief that it benefits our society in the long run. Sure you get some people who will rort it and any system you try and implement. But we as a society choose to have it so you cant complain about it unless your prepared to march.

Important to have it reviewed though and change the thresholds if needed.

Originally Posted by CoupeKing View Post
LOL
Old 26-02-2015, 03:15 PM   #16

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by CoupeKing View Post
Is that what pensioners do all day?
Old 26-02-2015, 03:30 PM   #17
xxx000

How about a better poll

How much per hour do all our politicians, state and federal, and their staff cost us?
Old 26-02-2015, 03:31 PM   #18
cheap
Wirlankarra yanama

Reading your comment and replying took about 30 seconds, during the same 30 seconds, welfare system cost you/me/everyone nearly $140,000.

Since posting the thread roughly 7200 seconds ago the welfare system has cost you/me/everyone over $33,000,000 ($33 million dollars)

You are correct when you say it is a shock!
Old 26-02-2015, 03:36 PM   #19
xxx000

Originally Posted by cheap View Post
Reading your comment and replying took about 30 seconds, during the same 30 seconds, welfare system cost you/me/everyone nearly $140,000.

Since posting the thread roughly 7200 seconds ago the welfare system has cost you/me/everyone over $33,000,000 ($33 million dollars)

You are correct when you say it is a shock!
Everyone?
It doesn't cost the wealthy much as they pay little or no tax and hence don't contribute
Old 26-02-2015, 03:39 PM   #20
mcnews
Trev

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Trev has owned several boosted fords and has really contributed a lot of info on them. His posts in the bike section are also very helpful. I think he should be recognised as a technical contributor. 

So the second biggest bill after old age pensioners is for middle class family welfare where everyone else gets to pay for people pumping out kids?
Old 26-02-2015, 03:40 PM   #21
cheap
Wirlankarra yanama

Everyone?
It doesn't cost the wealthy much as they pay little or no tax and hence don't contribute
Really, the rich pay little or no tax?

Can you provide evidence, every member here would dearly love to know how to pay little or no tax.

Another 30 seconds added to the welfare cost...
Old 26-02-2015, 03:57 PM   #22
xxx000

http://m.smh.com.au/comment/budget-p...513-zr9o3.html
Old 26-02-2015, 04:05 PM   #23

Originally Posted by mcnews View Post
So the second biggest bill after old age pensioners is for middle class family welfare where everyone else gets to pay for people pumping out kids?
Look at it this way. If you cut $15 off every payment (per fortnight) the government would save 2 billion dollars.
Old 26-02-2015, 04:09 PM   #24
revcore

Originally Posted by vztrt View Post
Look at it this way. If you cut $15 off every payment (per fortnight) the government would save 2 billion dollars.
As it stands at present many pensioners are struggling to survive as it is without taking $15 off the fortnightly payment.
Old 26-02-2015, 04:16 PM   #25
cheap
Wirlankarra yanama

Maybe I'm missing something, but the evidence seems to be based, a newspaper story reporting 75 "ultra rich" people supposedly paying little no tax.

I think you're drawing a really really really really really really long bow.

Last edited by cheap; 26-02-2015 at 04:24 PM.
Old 26-02-2015, 04:25 PM   #26
xxx000

No I think you're missing something perhaps because it doesn't fit in your beliefs or with the point I think you were trying to make

I think it's obscene that the rich/richest/wealthiest don't pay tax. Do you?
Old 26-02-2015, 04:42 PM   #27

Originally Posted by revcore View Post
As it stands at present many pensioners are struggling to survive as it is without taking $15 off the fortnightly payment.
There's the problem. The age pension will be getting bigger each year. Besides efficiency improvements there isn't all that much saving in it.

Maybe when the carbon tax was removed all the tax breaks that went with it should have been removed as well.
Old 26-02-2015, 05:10 PM   #28
jpblue1000

Gee that's a lot of money cheap and I think the time taking to type this cost us all another million or 17 so sorry guys for being part of the problem. But I'm not so wise like cheap so hope he/she can provide some suggestion how we as a community can fix this problem without causing many more.
For without answers the question is irrelevant and unnecessary and Im willing to bet cheap does have an answer. Please help us cheap my internet is broken and I can search it out for myself, plus my green brain wont see the truth for the fresh air and clean water

JP
Old 26-02-2015, 05:11 PM   #29

Is that what pensioners do all day?
Nah, they do pokies too, he forgot to mention that to complete the trifecta
Old 26-02-2015, 05:21 PM   #30
revcore

There's the problem. The age pension will be getting bigger each year. Besides efficiency improvements there isn't all that much saving in it.

Maybe when the carbon tax was removed all the tax breaks that went with it should have been removed as well.
Yep...An ageing population is where alot of the tax payers hard earned will be going. Probably not alot the government can do about that. Having said that, As previously mentioned by others, If alot of pensioners didn't blow their payments on the pokies etc then they could support themselves far better without seeking additional handouts.