You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

View Poll Results: which tradie 4x4 dual cab to buy?
isuzu d-max 5 10.42%
triton 19 39.58%
hilux 17 35.42%
navara d22 7 14.58%
Voters: 48. You may not vote on this poll

Old 23-10-2010, 01:47 PM   #1
JC807
sucksqueezebangblow

Default what tradie 4x4 dual cab to buy?

which would you pick?

isuzu d-max

triton

hilux

navara d22

Old 23-10-2010, 02:15 PM   #2
82XD393.3v

the new ranger

FG F6 Manual 366RWKW tuned by BLUE POWER

82XD393.3v is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2010, 02:37 PM   #3
JC807
sucksqueezebangblow

i thought that was 18 months away? it does look the goods.
Old 23-10-2010, 02:40 PM   #4

Obviously not interested in the current Ranger?

I'd go for the Navara but the D22 is the older shape one isn't it?
Old 23-10-2010, 02:51 PM   #5
JC807
sucksqueezebangblow

d22 is the older shape. pros = cheap, cons = possible engine reliability issues (renault diesel)

hilux. pros = resale, cons = $$$ and its at end of life and will be the 'old' model within 18 months.

isuzu. pros = ok price, should be pretty tough, cons = resale?

triton. pros = good interior, rave reviews, ok price, good warranty. cons = not sure.

not in a huge rush to buy, but not sure if i can wait 18 months to see what new hilux is like or whether it has v8 (like the tundra is meant to be based off), or whether ford ranger will have a bigger motor capable of running e85.

help me out guys, i had a good suss of them one after the other at the motor show this week, definitely leaning towards the triton or the isuzu.
Old 23-10-2010, 04:40 PM   #6
MAGPIE

Originally Posted by JC807

hilux. pros = resale, cons = $$$ and its at end of life and will be the 'old' model within 18 months.
Yet your considering the old shape Navara

I'd be going the Navara STX450
MAGPIE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2010, 06:00 PM   #7
castellan

Ssangyong stavic dual cab a dude was saying it's a lot better then his last years navara he had and said it drives like a car. but it looks like
castellan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2010, 06:09 PM   #8
JC807
sucksqueezebangblow

navara d22 is an odd ball really. its so much cheaper than the rest because they re-released the old model as the d40 wasn't selling, and its only available in one spec.
to me, buying it & knowing its a new 'old model' for 30% less than the toyota equivelent is a bit different to buying a brand new hilux only to have it become the 'old model' next year.
my current work ute is a 2004 hilux, the last of the old shape. I don't want to do that again, despite any run-out savings later in the year.

ssangyong, nah not considering it, if hyundai was selling a 4x4 dual cab i would consider it though, they are making good quality cars atm.
Old 23-10-2010, 06:25 PM   #9
fordv8!

geart wall......... pfft not i think the new ranger looks the goods and i'd imagine that the amorook or whateva form vw would be good but expensive!!!!
fordv8! is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2010, 07:57 PM   #10
dannyhilton

Out of that list, the Triton. Yes it's slightly ugly, but IMHO the best overall. Good inside, good features, very good safety, good engines, great warranty and pretty cheap. The company I work for has a fair few utes (Navara, BT-50, Triton) and the Triton is pretty darn good. The D40 Navara is better, but not on your list :-)
Old 23-10-2010, 09:04 PM   #11

We looked at this for our fleet.
Forget Toyota. They are overpriced to buggery due to huge demand created by mining companies “buy only Toyota” policy.

Isuzu are not only the cheapest but have good spec levels, and excellent pedigree. They are basically a specialist commercial vehicle manufacturer, and their utes have been here for years with a holden badge.
I think that due to their relative youth as a standalone brand, they are very keenly priced, and dealers are eager to deal.
Resale should not be an issue, as they have a good rep, and are cheaper than the identical holdens.

My second choice would be the current Ranger, as they are reasonably priced, especially compared to their Mazda twins.
Crazy Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2010, 09:25 PM   #12
MR_SIDO
you'd be popular too.....

I dont understand when someone says that Toyota have the re-sale value. If you have a look on www.redbook.com.au it states the following for a 2009 Toyota SR5 Dual Cab 4X4 Diesel:

* Private Price Guide $39,000 - $42,800

* Trade In Price Guide $31,700 - $35,500

* Average Km 20,000 - 30,000

Price Guide $51,980* Price Guide

It states this for a 2009 Ranger 4X4 XLT 4X4 Diesel Dual Cab:

* Private Price Guide $32,500 - $35,700

* Trade In Price Guide $27,100 - $30,300

* Average Km 20,000 - 30,000

Price Guide $45,990* Price Guide

Lets just say you took the lowest of the trade-in figures for the Hilux $31,700 and you go off the Price Guide pricing that is a $20,280 loss. Have a look at the low trade price for a Ranger and it is $27100, take that away from the Price Guide price and you have a $18,890 difference. As far as I am concerned you pay more at the start you get more at the end but the percentages are very similar. I understand that the Price Guide is just that, a guide. You can buy a XLT Ranger for $37,990 Driveaway and I am sure you could get a Toyota cheaper than the price guide too, this discounting at the top end does affect re-sale values but I bet that the difference at the moment between those two comparisons if you got two quotes today would be in excess of $10,000.
Old 23-10-2010, 09:35 PM   #13
InfernoSR
Sales Representative

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For research and posted write up on cooling system care and repair in AU.COM and offering help where possible 

I'm very biased, and for that reason i'll be saying the Hilux SR5 Turbo Diesel.
Old 23-10-2010, 09:44 PM   #14
JC807
sucksqueezebangblow

all good points guys - keep em coming!

i saw the VW amarok at the motor show. looks awesome and is nice inside. only a 2litre motor though, so must be running huge boost. looks like its taking aim at the premium end of the market, but kind of strange with only the one motor option (being the smallest capacity motor you will find in trucks like these).
Old 23-10-2010, 09:46 PM   #15
JC807
sucksqueezebangblow

isuzu was fairly nice to sit in and felt well made, and definitely not trying to be anything but a commercial vehicle though. i think the LS-M would be the model i'd be getting, sort of mid spec.
Old 23-10-2010, 09:50 PM   #16
JC807
sucksqueezebangblow

a few mechanics i know who used to swear by Toyota say they are just dropping the ball too much these days. the bulk of people who make up their sales just want reliable cars for a reasonable price so they better be careful. obviously there are many buyers who will continue to buy Toyota because of the 'brand' even though its not really a premium brand.
one guy i know who just bought an SR5 now wishes he had bought the triton instead, probably because of the latest recall.
Old 23-10-2010, 09:53 PM   #17

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

navara d22 is an odd ball really. its so much cheaper than the rest because they re-released the old model as the d40 wasn't selling, and its only available in one spec.
to me, buying it & knowing its a new 'old model' for 30% less than the toyota equivelent is a bit different to buying a brand new hilux only to have it become the 'old model' next year.
my current work ute is a 2004 hilux, the last of the old shape. I don't want to do that again, despite any run-out savings later in the year.

ssangyong, nah not considering it, if hyundai was selling a 4x4 dual cab i would consider it though, they are making good quality cars atm.

They re released the D22 as it continued selling to a lower budget market, D40's are everywhere and selling just fine.

The Hilux is over rated and not good value for money against the others. You could buy two D22's for the price of an fully optioned SR5 even with it's antiquated 4 speed auto.

If in the market now I'd consider the Triton if buying manual, it won Ute of the year with and has added safety features + the rear window opens and it has an optional rear diff lock.

The Isuzu is still based on the 2003 body and a size smaller than than the others except the D22.

The Navara D40 is the pick for an auto, well it was before the new Ranger came out with the 6 speed, that's what I'd be looking hard at in the present market.
The D40 has a bunch of features the others don't that make living with it day to day a breeze, mine was in first shipment to the country (early 2006) and has towed a trailer every day since without missing a beat.

It seems you missed the threads on the Ranger:

http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11311916

http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11311444
Falcon Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2010, 10:07 PM   #18
snappy

Depends on your job if you can keep it clean i would be getting the isuzu D-Max limited edition 2 .
snappy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2010, 10:12 PM   #19
JC807
sucksqueezebangblow

i'm a sparky, so i'll be getting a canopy, etc.

to be honest i think the d-max limited edition looks way too tarted up. you can buy all those plasti-chrome stick-on-bits on ebay which cheapens the whole deal.
Old 23-10-2010, 10:36 PM   #20
snappy

i'm a sparky, so i'll be getting a canopy, etc.

to be honest i think the d-max limited edition looks way too tarted up. you can buy all those plasti-chrome stick-on-bits on ebay which cheapens the whole deal.
outside is a bit rough your right but leather and the command centre looks good
snappy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2010, 10:38 PM   #21
GK351

Hilux hands down.
GK351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2010, 10:45 PM   #22
scotty_dee

Hilux for sure, there great utes. Id steer clear of the D40 Navaras, know three people who have had endless problems with them, one which has gone through 3 motors under warranty and the owner ended up cutting his losses and selling it. Not to mention the Nissan Customer service is shithouse.

OLD
05 BAII XR8 Ute
Shockwave
6 Speed Manual - Leather - Tinted Windows - 2.5" X-Force Catback Exhaust - John Bowe Ceramic Coated Extractors - Typhoon Console Lid and Dash Spears- Lowered - Hardlid - SS Inductions CAI - 20" Verde Kaos
Build Thread: http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11297046
scotty_dee is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2010, 10:49 PM   #23

At the moment you can get a D22 Navara STR for 30880 driveaway. All these twin cab utes are crap so you might as well get the cheapest one.
Old 24-10-2010, 06:57 AM   #24

Actually it seems there are some good deals to be had at the moment. D-Max are still well in front on list price, but it seems the others are now being discounted aggressively. For our purposes we really liked some of the standard features on the D-Max, such as the skid plates, the speed-sensitive power steering, and cruise control. They didn’t come with alloys which you might want.
They were comparable in size and performance to the Ranger and Nissan.

The deals being offered on the D22s are tempting, but I would be in two minds about buying a superseded vehice.
Crazy Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-10-2010, 10:31 AM   #25
aquahead2001

Originally Posted by Falcon Coupe
The Isuzu is still based on the 2003 body and a size smaller than than the others except the D22.
D-Max/Rodeo/Colarado are the same and true are a 2003 vintage, but they were the first of the "big" compact pick ups and match the D40 for interior size.
aquahead2001 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-10-2010, 11:52 AM   #26
PHATXR8
PHATXR8

I am assuming you want a Turbo diesel here:

Can't really comment on the new Navara bacause i haven't driven one.

I have driven the DMax, not too bad but not a lot of low down torque. A bit dissappointing really off-road or when fully loaded...

If you want something that is most expensive but has great resale, then get a Hilux. Well made utes that get a long really well and will be trouble free motoring for years.

But if you want a powerful ute, that is the best off-road, best on road, is safest for occupants, has 2wd, 4wd or All wheel drive capabilities and goes like a scalded cat, get a TRITON.

It is better than Hilux off road in steep and rough situations, and more responsive on and off road.

Triton also has the electric back window which is handy to quickly cool the cabin when its been sitting in the sun for a long time.

And bext of all it is about $10k cheaper with a far better warranty if you are wanting a new one.
PHATXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-10-2010, 12:07 PM   #27

I've just gone from 3.5 Isuzu 4 door auto to Triton Diesel turbo 4 door 4 wheel drive.. I cannot fault it's power once going.. I do notice a little throttle response lag which I have to be careful at intersections, roundabouts. But I'll get use to it..
Its far more comfortable.. The old Rodeo was 2wd, the Triton sits quite abit higher but the handling seems about the same.. I see the 4WD gets the higher output engine..
One thing I do notice is that I only have to fill it up with fuel every 4 days...
The 3.5 Rodeo was filled every second day...
You still have to remember these are light trucks.. Gets me when office stuff borrow your vehicle and complain how they drive!!!
I drive alot of bush fire trails checking overhead power lines.. Done this for 8 years.. Now they tell me "NOT" do it with 2WD...
Aha the Triton does it with ease..Good on the highways also.. For a light truck !!!
The Toyota was over priced and out of budget with 4WD duel cab etc...
Old 24-10-2010, 12:07 PM   #28

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

Originally Posted by aquahead2001
D-Max/Rodeo/Colarado are the same and true are a 2003 vintage, but they were the first of the "big" compact pick ups and match the D40 for interior size.
I went from an 2003 Rodeo to a D40 and no, the size is not even close.
Falcon Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-10-2010, 12:13 PM   #29

Originally Posted by Falcon Coupe
I went from an 2003 Rodeo to a D40 and no, the size is not even close.
Good luck...
Old 24-10-2010, 02:28 PM   #30
dannyhilton

Originally Posted by Brazen
At the moment you can get a D22 Navara STR for 30880 driveaway. All these twin cab utes are crap so you might as well get the cheapest one.
You raise a bloody good point. Looking at the pricing of them all (bar the Indian and Chinese), these duel cab utes are horribly overpriced for what you get. They would be **** cheap to manufacture as they are bloody basic yet some of the basic ones are $35k+!