You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 30-08-2005, 08:01 PM   #1
Sprint347
Tickford

Default Looking for a old school car

I want to go oldschool... if anyone sees a:

XA/XB GT
XC Cobra
68-69 Camaro
HK Monaro

I'd be interested in either a project or a complete car... and would also consider trading my ED XR8 Sprint with a brand new forged 347 for the right candidate, I'm not that bothered with the condition if it is to be a project.

http://hi-performance.net/stuff/sprint/cleansprint.JPG

You may have something sitting out in the shed, or know of someone who does - please let me know if anything springs to mind

Sprint347 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2005, 08:12 PM   #2

Originally Posted by nitrane

XA/XB GT
XC Cobra
68-69 Camaro
HK Monaro

I'd be interested in either a project or a complete car... and would also consider trading my ED XR8 Sprint with a brand new forged 347 for the right candidate, I'm not that bothered with the condition if it is to be a project.

You may have something sitting out in the shed, or know of someone who does - please let me know if anything springs to mind

Hope you've got plenty of folding$$!!
Classic musclecars have become the new investment option for allot of people and prices have skyrocketed.
Australian muscle car sales has plenty of "project std" vehicles, a cheap XBGT but it needs allot of work..
A good full bare shell resto will set you back $45K easily.

Old 30-08-2005, 08:30 PM   #3
Sprint347
Tickford

The prices people are asking on that site are INSANE!

Makes me sad remembering when dad couldof bought a electric blue XY GT for $24k and it feels like yesterday (more like 10 years ago).

Oh well, something's bound to pop up... maybe the sprint will one day become the equivelant of a GT (even the previously laughed-at John Goss coupes are fetching good money)

And yes i'd be interested in a Goss too
Old 30-08-2005, 08:30 PM   #4
XA-Coupe

Good luck in the hunt. I was lucky to find my coupe sitting in a front yard... my brother in law's actually!
If you want a genuine GT you will pay a fortune as 4V Man said but at least it should appreciate. If you want to race it, I would recommend dooing what I did and getting a lesser model.
XA-Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2005, 08:32 PM   #5
Sprint347
Tickford

I'd never turn an original piece of australian motoring into a race car... all my life a GT has been "something to step up into", it's getting to a point where I can see them quickly move further and further out of my reach...
Old 30-08-2005, 08:44 PM   #6

I'd never turn an original piece of australian motoring into a race car... all my life a GT has been "something to step up into", it's getting to a point where I can see them quickly move further and further out of my reach...
Ill give you a hot tip, the yellow XBGT on australian muscle car sales for 12K is a rare 1973 model..
the 73 XBGT had a toploader and american big port 4V engine, (just like XW,XY and XAGT's), only 211 ever made, 139 sedans and 72 coupes, its a steal at 12K even if it needs a full resto!

Old 30-08-2005, 08:46 PM   #7

http://www.carsales.com.au/pls/carsa...ch_distance=25

That's a non-GT... not a bad idea though, even the normal Falcon 500 coupe's are getting quite rare..

Old 30-08-2005, 08:48 PM   #8
Sprint347
Tickford

Ill give you a hot tip, the yellow XBGT on australian muscle car sales for 12K is a rare 1973 model..
the 73 XBGT had a toploader and american big port 4V engine, (just like XW,XY and XAGT's), only 211 ever made, 139 sedans and 72 coupes, its a steal at 12K even if it needs a full resto!
definetly caught my eye... i'd LOVE a coupe though...
Old 30-08-2005, 08:51 PM   #9
XA-Coupe

Stop staying that ... I virtually gave away one about 15 years ago. :gren:
Old 30-08-2005, 08:53 PM   #10
Sprint347
Tickford

Originally Posted by XA Coupe
Mate i sit and reflect on the money i've spent on other cars and realise i couldof bought a genuine gt, left it in the shed for sunny sundays and been a hell of a lot more ahead of the game what i am now...

but no regrets
Old 30-08-2005, 08:59 PM   #11
XA-Coupe

I am just bleeding I got rid of it at a weak moment. My XA may be faster and handle better blah blah but it's not a genuine car... so yeah.. plenty of regrets on that one

If you are pre[ared to pay bigger bicks, contact the local GT Falcon club.
Old 30-08-2005, 09:05 PM   #12

sorry, i know this won't help but a low mile 73 manual XBGT coupe recently sold for 48K...
What color was your XBGT?

Old 30-08-2005, 09:21 PM   #13
XA-Coupe

yellow blaze , manual 4V heads, sunroof, B2 trim *sob*
Old 30-08-2005, 09:28 PM   #14
Dodge
i like to be stroked

how bout a XY ute, thats a real mans ute.
Old 30-08-2005, 09:36 PM   #15

yellow blaze , manual 4V heads, sunroof, B2 trim *sob*
This is mine.

Old 30-08-2005, 09:37 PM   #16
conordec

nice.....
conordec is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2005, 09:40 PM   #17

Originally Posted by conordec
nice.....
thanks, its fully restored now.

Old 30-08-2005, 09:40 PM   #18
big_pete
Sublime

my mate just bought a beautiful Charger.
original paint and all.
very nice
paid around 4-5 thousand

Old 30-08-2005, 09:41 PM   #19
conordec

XA/XB GT
XC Cobra
68-69 Camaro
HK Monaro

Mate try www.norulesnolimits.com.au
They normally have all of that cars you're after at one point or another, and most look legit/clean.

Good luck.
conordec is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2005, 09:45 PM   #20
XA-Coupe

This is mine.
That's just beautiful. I even had globes on mine... for a week.
Old 30-08-2005, 10:08 PM   #21
BuuBox

Want about 4/5th's of a HK Monaro? Rust got the rest...
BuuBox is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2005, 10:10 PM   #22
Ryan

I would go with the

XA/XB GT

Or

HK Monaro
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2005, 12:19 PM   #23
Sprint347
Tickford

Originally Posted by VY18s
I would go with the

XA/XB GT

Or

HK Monaro
same ;)
Old 31-08-2005, 01:07 PM   #24

same ;)
If Monaro go HT, its a Bathurst winner but has the bigger 350 engine and will be worth more later on than the 327 HK.

Old 31-08-2005, 01:28 PM   #25

Its probably a lot cheaper to buy a Mustang/Fairlane/Torino coupe than an Aussie musclecar? Personally I'd live with a Torino coupe .. very XA-coupe-ish!
Old 31-08-2005, 09:27 PM   #26
*rayman*
454 Power

What about the 69 camaro you want? Try this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/1969-CAMARO-4...QQcmdZViewItem

It only has a few days left though, so you better be quick. I'm tempted to go extend the mortgage and put this baby in the garage myself. I really shouldnt, as i just bought a 68 BB.

TOY - 68 SS 454 Camaro
*rayman* is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2005, 09:35 PM   #27
Bluehoon
Hoon On The Rise

if you are after monaros, i would try

http://oldholden.com

they are always popping up there for sale.

Also a great site for anyone that likes the GM :gren:

FGX-XR8 Manual, BFII E-Gas, '11 GSXR 1000 - Love 'em!
FPV Tickford Club of NSW - www.fpvclub.com
Bluehoon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2005, 02:26 AM   #28
FGX-351
Supercharged Mang-mobile

theres a couple of hk's for sale in the queensland trading post atm
FGX-351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post