Old 12-08-2012, 01:13 AM   #1
alter_EGOXR
BF MKII XR6

Default Reliable, Cheap daily ute

Hey guys,

As the title suggests, im looking for a ute that will be a good daily and very reliable. I have been looking at 1.8L hiluxs, but im thinking i should look at buying a holden or ford ute on gas?

what are your thoughts?

Thanks

alter_EGOXR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 09:13 AM   #2

Default Re: Reliable, Cheap daily ute

Originally Posted by alter_EGOXR
Hey guys,

As the title suggests, im looking for a ute that will be a good daily and very reliable. I have been looking at 1.8L hiluxs, but im thinking i should look at buying a holden or ford ute on gas?

what are your thoughts?

Thanks
Go the Ford on gas , I drove an xf van for 5 years and 120k , cost almost nothing and never ever let me down , sold it for the same as it cost me
Old 12-08-2012, 09:16 AM   #3
MrEL
Sick Puppy

I could hook you up with an AU 5.0 manual.
Believe it or not very cheap to run.
MrEL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 09:29 AM   #4
kenz
BOSS Pilot

I've had au and ba utes on gas. Au was straight gas and ba was gas/petrol. Both very cheap to run and never had any engine problems when I owned them

Blue SY Territory Ghia

Originally Posted by CAT600
No matter how good the F6 is (and it is damn good), its missing two cylinders.
kenz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 10:03 AM   #5

Originally Posted by alter_EGOXR
Hey guys,

what are your thoughts?

Thanks
Hilux 4 pots and cheap to run , arent in the same sentence
My mates 4 potta hilux uses as much fuel as my AU 6 ute
Definately uses more when theres aload on the back and trying to get up hills,the AU lunches him in that area
My cheap runabout ute is an AU ute 6 /auto
Good enuf on fuel, plenty of squirt when you need it and your not flogging a dead horse goin places,and it was cheap as chips ....
Reliable, cheap, enuf power, win win
Old 12-08-2012, 11:39 AM   #6
big_landau

hilux 4cyls suck heaps of fuel are are overated.
go a falcon,get gas if you can.
big_landau is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 12:45 PM   #7
alter_EGOXR
BF MKII XR6

thanks guys for the reply. I do prefer getting a Falcon on gas. However, probably should have mentioned my budget is around 5k. What i am worried about, in regards to gas, is the backfire issues people talk about. Also would the lpg gas tank need special kind of servicing?

thanks again
alter_EGOXR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 01:44 PM   #8
OffRoadFalcon
"Flooded it mate?"

If your budget is 5k, I'd say get an AU ute on gas.

About the gas tank servicing, our BAII XT sedan had a gas system installed a few years ago, and runs on petrol and gas. The gas system does get serviced. It was installed in Bunbury, but the business closed down soon after, and now to get the system serviced we take it to Perth. In Sydney I doubt you'd have to take it far.

Not sure about the factory systems.
OffRoadFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 02:44 PM   #9
Till_Lind
E-series fan

AU utes are great, if you can live with the look.
Old 12-08-2012, 02:46 PM   #10
Jack960

diesel hilux, they just don't die.
Jack960 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 03:01 PM   #11
DoreSlamR
Fiat POWAAH!

Originally Posted by Till_Lind
AU utes are great, if you can live with the look.
The AU utes had the looks department right from day 1 if you ask me.
Old 12-08-2012, 05:36 PM   #12
BlueFG2

Originally Posted by Jack960
diesel hilux, they just don't die.
evidence to the fact
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnWKz7Cthkk
BlueFG2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 07:14 PM   #13

Originally Posted by BlueFG2
biggest load of crap ever.
Old 12-08-2012, 07:57 PM   #14
BlueFG2

biggest load of crap ever.
Top gear is a comedy show featuring cars, you don't watch it for informed opinions, just entertainment.
Old 12-08-2012, 08:13 PM   #15
TC200six

Top Gear is just automotive related entertainment. A lot of their segments, including the Hilux one are extremely contrived. Any other vehicle can be repaired on the spot after being submerged in the sea and I guarantee a US pickup being given the same treatment would also hold up similarly.
TC200six is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 08:14 PM   #16

Top gear is a comedy show featuring cars, you don't watch it for informed opinions, just entertainment.
Sort of pointless putting the link up to support the theory then isnt it?
Old 12-08-2012, 08:15 PM   #17
smoo

Yeah, its just a bugger all the sheep take it as fact, drive up prices and pay top dollar for the gutless lemon 2lt or 1kz found in the surfs/4 runner and wonder what went wrong when the head cracks, again, and again...
The 2.4 and 3.0 diesel hiluxs aren't too flash on fuel 10l/100km unloaded with the 4x2, I'd bet the 2.7 petrol would be worse, can't beat an AU my old XR6 would return 8.5 on a trip unloaded (same as my bosses old XH 4.0 BTW).
smoo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 08:37 PM   #18
BlueFG2

My au has done 400,000 k's and is still mechanically sound, sure bits are broken and paint is chipping, but that is just aesthetics, my au is invincible.

If a car can survive me learning to drive in it, then me driving most of my red P's with it, then my brother learning in it I consider it tough.
Old 12-08-2012, 08:42 PM   #19
XP6
Formerly ST170ish

Another point the falc has over the earlier jap utes is towing capacity, most are only rated to 1.5t whereas the AU is 2.3t.
Also can carry more over the rear axle too, the falc chassis is a monster compared to any jap ute
XP6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 08:53 PM   #20

Its not much but I bought this beater to cart dirt and manure around for about $1000 the other day. Solid as a rock and if I break it parts are dirt cheap. Good value IMO. CD, AC, PS, SOHC, A4, etc...

Old 12-08-2012, 08:55 PM   #21
HBWC

hell at 5k i would be looking for a b series
other wise can pick up a realy nice au for well under 3k and that's west Aussie prices
71 xy wagon
05 xr8 RTV
69 f100 ambo future skid pig
HBWC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 09:36 PM   #22

Originally Posted by HBWC
hell at 5k i would be looking for a b series
other wise can pick up a realy nice au for well under 3k and that's west Aussie prices
If you can find really nice AU utes for $3k then you will be able to retire by Xmas as they are all up near $10k here
Old 12-08-2012, 10:01 PM   #23

If you can find really nice AU utes for $3k then you will be able to retire by Xmas as they are all up near $10k here
Agree. $3500 was the cheapest I could find and it was a heap. Although you can buy a very nice AU XR8 ute down here in vic for $7-8K. Very good on fuel too.
Old 12-08-2012, 11:13 PM   #24
flooded one

Originally Posted by DoreSlamR
The AU utes had the looks department right from day 1 if you ask me.
dam straight they did. one of the reasons why they sold very well!! my biggest problem was the forte and futura grilles on the series one sedan and wagons. that "unique" egg crate grill did wonders !! I love my AU ute!! best car i've ever own.
flooded one is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 11:17 PM   #25
flooded one

same here.
flooded one is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2012, 11:38 PM   #26

for $5000 you should be able to get a decent AU or X series (XF - XG - XH ) .

they are tuff, reliable, strong, cheap for parts and someting nobody has mentioned = "comfortable" , drive a falcon and you will save $$$ on chiropractors fees .
Old 13-08-2012, 01:07 AM   #27
HBWC

you must be on drugs xr8's can be had for under 9k and my ba only cost $1000 mind you i did have a 600km round trip to go look at it
71 xy wagon
05 xr8 RTV
69 f100 ambo future skid pig
HBWC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2012, 08:41 AM   #28

Originally Posted by HBWC
you must be on drugs xr8's can be had for under 9k and my ba only cost $1000 mind you i did have a 600km round trip to go look at it
As I said, if you can get nice AU utes for $3k send them over to the east coast and make yourself a fortune.
Same with BAs.

Of course a "nice" ute is not a clapped out XL with > 300,000km........
Old 13-08-2012, 09:18 AM   #29
Springfield_Johny

There are a number of 4 cylinder diesel utes that could be worth a look, many with good towing and load capacity

Daily drive 2010 Mitsubishi triton single cab turbo diesel

1968 XT Falcon (project yet to be started)
Springfield_Johny is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2012, 10:45 AM   #30

Originally Posted by XP6
Another point the falc has over the earlier jap utes is towing capacity, most are only rated to 1.5t whereas the AU is 2.3t.
Also can carry more over the rear axle too, the falc chassis is a monster compared to any jap ute
This depends on what model or spec AU ute
The XLS/XR series are only 650 KG ,its only the 1 tonners that are rated to the tonne
But theres not many hilux that are 1 tonne

Even with the talk of diesel or turbo diesel hilux, youll pay alot more than a decent AU, the AU will still not use much more juice than the turbo diesel and still nail it in the power stakes
My AU XLS tray back ,300 K , good clean example was 3500 regoed
Air,steer,windows,central locking,cruise,mags,low profile tyres,4 wheel disc, nice interior
Youll pay that for a povo pack underpowered overrated hilux