You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 14-08-2012, 06:12 PM   #1
stevz

Default Great Wall and Chery vehicles to be recalled over use of asbestos.

http://theage.drive.com.au/motor-new...814-246a8.html

Chinese car asbestos scare
August 14, 2012 - 5:03PM

They're cheap, but almost 25,000 Chinese cars are expected to be recalled for breaching a ban on the use of asbestos.

Almost 25,000 budget-priced Chinese cars are expected to be recalled in Australia to have asbestos components replaced.

The importer of Chinese brands Great Wall and Chery could be forced to recall 21,500 and 2250 cars respectively that contain the potentially deadly material in engine and exhaust gaskets.

The recall would affect almost all of the vehicles sold by the two brands – among the cheapest in their respective categories - since they went on sale here in 2009 (Great Wall) and 2010 (Chery).

The importer of both brands in Australia, Ateco Automotive, has known about the issue for "a period of months" and has been working with various government departments including Work Cover and the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission to determine a course of action, which is expected to be announced within days.
Advertisement

Despite the sensitivities surrounding asbestos – known to cause asbestosis, mesothelioma and lung cancer – it is understood some of the asbestos gaskets may not be replaced due to the complexities with replacing them and the likelihood many will never need replacement through the life of the vehicle.

Instead customers and the service industry may be instructed on the safe disposal and removal of components if and when necessary.

Ateco is refusing to speculate on what course of action will be taken, saying it is "waiting on the final ACCC ruling" and that it will comply with whatever measures are required.

The ACCC is refusing to comment on the likely course of action and even whether the car components contain asbestos. A spokesman said: "We are discussing a possible recall of some Great Wall and Chery vehicles but at this stage there is no recall in place. We anticipate the situation will be clarified in coming days."

As with the building industry, asbestos was commonly used in some car components and would still be in thousands of older models. As well as once being common in brake pads, it was also used in various gaskets, but as with all asbestos products has been banned since 2003.

An assessment commissioned on behalf of Ateco by occupational health and safety consultants Hibbs and Associates concluded there were "negligible" health risks for drivers, passengers and mechanics working on the cars.

"Even if carried out in an uncontrolled way, handling and removing these gaskets constitutes a very low asbestos related health risk," the report concludes.

However, the report acknowledges that in severe cases there is still some risk of breathing in asbestos fibres: "During replacement of gaskets containing asbestos severe mechanical abrasion would be required to release measurable quantities of respirable asbestos fibres."

The Victorian Automobile Chamber of Commerce, which represents more than 5000 Victorian automotive businesses, confirmed asbestos was commonly used in older cars.

"On these vehicles, service and repairer technicians replace old asbestos parts, when needing replacing due to wear, with non-asbestos parts, taking precautions and following approved procedures in the workplace, including wet down processes and wearing safety clothing, using appropriate equipment and disposing of asbestos parts in designated bins," said David Purchase, VACC executive director.

The anticipated recall is a further blow to the credibility of Chinese car makers, which have already raised the ire of safety authorities that have criticised the occupant protection of some Chinese vehicles.

Before signing on as the exclusive Australian importer, Ateco said it was given "written assurances" from Great Wall and Chery that their vehicles complied with Australian regulations and did not contain any asbestos.

It is understood Ateco uncovered the presence of asbestos in various gaskets and notified Great Wall and Chery but was given further assurances it was not used in the production process.

It was later proved that there was asbestos in as many as eight gaskets in each vehicle (some vehicles have only one or two gaskets containing asbestos).

Ateco says it froze stock and asked the brands to stop production and replace the affected components, which has been done on newer models.

However, the fact the recall impacts two non-related brands brings into question the Chinese supply chain.

Chinese cars have proved tempting to Australians due to their cheap prices, with Great Wall this year being the 17th most popular brand of more than 50 on sale in Australia.
stevz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2012, 06:21 PM   #2
RHR

Default Re: Great Wall and Chery vehicles to be recalled over use of asbestos.

Get what you pay for
RHR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2012, 06:25 PM   #3

bit like lead paint used in kids toys...

or plastic found in baby formula....

banned chemials in frozen vegies....

people buy them cause its cheap

Old 14-08-2012, 06:26 PM   #4

Originally Posted by RHR
Get what you pay for
And sometimes you get free asbestos, tossed in for your added comfort.

Burnout is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2012, 06:26 PM   #5
TC200six

Turns out it must have been worthwhile being in the dog house with your wife for paying extra for a new vehicle.
TC200six is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2012, 06:27 PM   #6
stevz

bit like lead paint used in kids toys...

or plastic found in baby formula....

banned chemials in frozen vegies....

people buy them cause its cheap
This is so typical of the Chinese attitudes... Just use the cheapest and nastiest materials possible, who cares about any potential health risks.
Old 14-08-2012, 06:30 PM   #7

Originally Posted by stevz
This is so typical of the Chinese attitudes... Just use the cheapest and nastiest materials possible, who cares about any potential health risks.
You forget the health risks of the workers there.... many who are poisoned at work because there is no PPE, OH&S.... crap wages bordering on poverty line.. where corruption is rife.

But then on the flip side we all whinge about pricing ourselves out of the market.. with high wages, good working conditions....

Its OUR attitude which also leaves a lot to be desired... as WE buy this crap

Old 14-08-2012, 06:56 PM   #8

Anyone who buys one of these cheap hunks of Chinese junk deserves whats coming to them.

The Chinese are dodgy, do people seriously expect these vehicles to last any more than a few years before they fall to pieces.
Old 14-08-2012, 07:03 PM   #9
GS608

Anyone who buys one of these cheap hunks of Chinese junk deserves whats coming to them.

The Chinese are dodgy, do people seriously expect these vehicles to last any more than a few years before they fall to pieces.
Too true, we have a 09 Great Wall at work and after 70,000kms its had a couple of small electrical fires, the interior looks like its done 600,000kms and drives like a bucket of ****..would not recommend one to my worst enemy.
GS608 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2012, 07:16 PM   #10
stevz

Originally Posted by JET270
Too true, we have a 09 Great Wall at work and after 70,000kms its had a couple of small electrical fires, the interior looks like its done 600,000kms and drives like a bucket of ****..would not recommend one to my worst enemy.
Yet sadly, the stupid Australian consumer will continue to buy them in droves, because they are 'cheap'.
Old 14-08-2012, 07:22 PM   #11
05_ENFORCER

Stupid, Consumer and Cheap, you got it in one.

No wonder the Australian car manufacturing industry is in trouble.
Old 14-08-2012, 07:27 PM   #12

Originally Posted by 05_ENFORCER
Stupid, Consumer and Cheap, you got it in one.

No wonder the Australian car manufacturing industry is in trouble.
Yet people howl and crap on about how rubbish locally made Fords are, when you have these sorts of cars being brought into the country and being freely and willingly snapped up.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 14-08-2012, 07:28 PM   #13

Not all "Chinese" are dodgey.... its the system which they have isnt all that good.

When you look at their military... they are building high quality items.

Most household electrical goods (big name brands) are being built there as well.... have a look at your sony, toshiba, awa, GE etc.. and youll find its built in china.

Old 14-08-2012, 07:34 PM   #14
Springfield_Johny

Originally Posted by JET270
Pretty much sums up what people said about Hyundai.
My dad purchased a Datsun 1000 in the late sixties or early seventies and that's what people said about Japanese cars back then

Look how far Japanese cars and more recently Korean cars have come.

Give them a few years to learn more about the Australian car market and they'll be selling cars by the squillions

Daily drive 2010 Mitsubishi triton single cab turbo diesel

1968 XT Falcon (project yet to be started)
Springfield_Johny is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2012, 07:37 PM   #15

Not all "Chinese" are dodgey.... its the system which they have isnt all that good.

When you look at their military... they are building high quality items.

Most household electrical goods (big name brands) are being built there as well.... have a look at your sony, toshiba, awa, GE etc.. and youll find its built in china.
There's a significant difference between those two examples. The big name brand stuff is made in China using the specs and requirements the big name company specifies, lest the manufacturing agency in China making the said product loses its contract.

However products that are an indigenous development like these cars are based on things they have reverse engineered and henceforth have been "developed" without the inherent R&D needed to make them a reliable, safe product.

Originally Posted by Springfield_Johny
Pretty much sums up what people said about Hyundai.
My dad purchased a Datsun 1000 in the late sixties or early seventies and that's what people said about Japanese cars back then

Look how far Japanese cars and more recently Korean cars have come.

Give them a few years to learn more about the Australian car market and they'll be selling cars by the squillions
The difference there is that the Datsun 1000 was a very good little car, reliable and well made. My Mum had one, bought new in 1968. She sold it in 2002. It had been around the odometer about 3 times.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 14-08-2012, 08:06 PM   #16

Well at least death is cheap.

Guy at work has a couple year old Great Wall SUV.
He says it's falling apart. Door handles, electric windows and all other little things like that keep breaking. Not what should be happening with a near new car.
Old 14-08-2012, 09:35 PM   #17

Just like the Chinese furniture for our ambulances, dodgy powdercoat, crap welds, 15 different shades of white, sharp edges, not square, has to be reworked.

Give them 5 years, they'll probably have it right by then.
Old 14-08-2012, 09:52 PM   #18
Falconxf88

"The importer of Chinese brands Great Wall and Chery could be forced to recall 21,500 and 2250 cars respectively that contain the potentially deadly material in engine and exhaust gaskets."

I thought asbestos Gaskets and Brake pads where common practice like everywhere?
Falconxf88 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2012, 10:04 PM   #19

Originally Posted by Falconxf88
"The importer of Chinese brands Great Wall and Chery could be forced to recall 21,500 and 2250 cars respectively that contain the potentially deadly material in engine and exhaust gaskets."

I thought asbestos Gaskets and Brake pads where common practice like everywhere?

ah no....

Old 14-08-2012, 10:08 PM   #20
DoreSlamR
Fiat POWAAH!

Originally Posted by Falconxf88
Not since the mid 90's my friend.
Old 14-08-2012, 10:14 PM   #21

good! Just **** right off with your horrible, disgraceful cars.

Should never have been allowed in in the first place.

Yeah, people want these crappy cars cause they're so cheap, but my labrador wants to eat all the biscuits too, cause he's too stupid to realise what's good for him.

I take away the biscuits. Gov should take away these nasty cars
Shonky. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2012, 11:04 PM   #22
stevz

I wonder if the techs at the Great Wall dealerships will have to come to work looking like this
Old 15-08-2012, 12:19 AM   #23
GCRXR6

There should never have to be recalls of defective goods that don't meet our standard. Why aren't these things tested to comply with our standards before being allowed to enter our market? Surely there must be some rules for imports to comply?
Old 15-08-2012, 01:15 AM   #24
robbyj

China bought Volvo remember, they will make decent cars eventually.

but until they do this **** shouldnt be allowed in
robbyj is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2012, 01:31 AM   #25
flooded one

I wonder if the techs at the Great Wall dealerships will have to come to work looking like this

might have too wear it after you been in an accident or witness an accident with one.

this doesnt suprise me thou. give the chinese time. they get it right. look at cars like kia and hyundai nowdays. there a hell of alot better then the old ones of 10 years ago. just dont expect great wall too get better over night
flooded one is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2012, 02:02 AM   #26
SPArKy_Dave
Too many Fords........ :)

So let me get this straight.........

asbestos contaminated chinese cars
and irradiated japanese cars.........

Do we need any more reasons to buy Australian cars people?

97 EL V8 wagon - cool cruiser, or street bruiser? CLICKY
93 XG panel van - at your door in 60 secs, or the first hr is FREE........ yep, that's the goal.
95 XG ute - awaiting a head gasket...... grrrrr.

74 XB GS pano..... factory optioned with all the good stuff..... not much there now. ........long term resto.
XB Coupe and Van TV Ad
you know........ there's a little bit of Bathurst in every Ford Falcon.... think about it
SPArKy_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2012, 02:15 AM   #27
flooded one

Originally Posted by SPArKy_Dave
So let me get this straight.........

asbestos contaminated chinese cars
and irradiated japanese cars.........

Do we need any more reasons to buy Australian cars people?
even with all this people will still buy the overseas product thats cheap and **** poor compared to our cars. i buy cars that i like and it happens most cars i like are australian. i feel i am a few left in a dying breed in a way. people now seem too buy cars that are "trendy" or cheap nowdays.
flooded one is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2012, 03:00 AM   #28
delete94

The big name brand stuff is made in China using the specs and requirements the big name company specifies, lest the manufacturing agency in China making the said product loses its contract.
That’s what they want you to believe.... but I'm still a sceptic.

I know I'm a bit off the topic here, but even the so called “high quality” brands are now just rubbish. I'm not sure how it happened, but somewhere along the way, a lot of people seem to have been brainwashed into thinking if we get a couple of years out of something that’s OK, because it was “cheap”, and that includes cars. But it’s not cheap when you have to replace things every few years. We’ve got Panasonic TV’s, supposedly a big name "quality” brand, but both have been back for repairs, one of which was only 6 months old. I don’t think the word quality, or even the concept, exists in Chinese business culture.

Our Fridge, washing machine, hot plate and oven were all made here in Australia, 24 years ago and still going strong. Same for the first TV me and the Mrs brought, still works and still used by my parents. But then, we all expected things to last for more than 5 years back then. In hindsight, these were actually the cheapest appliances we’ve ever brought!

I happily pay more for something made here (though finding anything made here is a rarity these days) , or for that matter, made just about anywhere else but China. People keep saying Chinese quality will improve, but they’ve been making things there for a long time now, and most of the stuff is still just as much rubbish today as it was 5 years ago.

I work with steel and like someone mentioned above, Chinese powder coating is rubbish, welds are rubbish, galvanising is rubbish and a lot of the steel actually has soft spots in it, which is why I only use BlueScope steel. But if you listen to the guys who bring this stuff in, they'll tell you that it's now actually better than Australian steel.... yeah right, pull the other one.
delete94 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2012, 07:11 AM   #29

While I agree with most of what you say delete94, the "high quality" brands MUST make a profit.. if items were made to last 15yrs then the product DOESNT SELL.... hence NO PROFIT.

There is built in obsolesence into all products these days, unlike30 or 40yrs ago where items were built to last and built to maintain a companies reputation.

My compaq laptop needed a new screen within 2months... new battery and fan after 6months, another new battery after 11months....

My Toshiba TV, lasted 2 months before it needed a new sound card....

Now go back to products your parents bought 30yrs ago:

Mums Westinghouse chest freezer... lasted 38yrs, repaired once due to flooding!
The GE fridge she got in the 1980s... lasted until 2010 and she got rid of it because it was getting rusty, but it still ran fine, repaired 2 times only.
Her new LG fridge needed a new fan after 21months.

Her old NEC TV lasted 28yrs! repaired 3 times....

If you make a product that lasts your company goes broke very quickly as we live in a "consumer" based society.

Old 15-08-2012, 07:27 AM   #30

melamime in milk was my favourite...