Old 16-10-2010, 09:16 AM   #31

many a time i have been the one been traded in though........
Old 16-10-2010, 10:35 AM   #32
Elks

Originally Posted by wrongwaynorris
Sold a Genuine English CK 49 Twin Cam , a Bolwell Nagari and an XW GT to buy a house when I got married . God bless my lovely wife for thinking a roof over our heads was more important . I can get away with saying that as she never reads the forum . Regret every sale bitterly to this day .

DONT DO IT
+2 Don't do it.

$5K is handy but won't change you life. Cash comes and goes and before you know it you have now cash and no car.

I've done it a few times and regretted it. Things I'v sold included and all steel 40 Willys Sedan, marquis, a 351 ZC and worst of all my 65 F100, (Now somewhere in Sydney with twin turbo Nissan motor. If someone knows where it is. I want it back).

Its your 1st car and its not a late model car that is still depreciating, its an XC ute, just put it in storage, it wont be worth any less in years to come if you change your mind.
Old 16-10-2010, 10:48 AM   #33
iCat
doof doof doof doof

Depends what your car is to you. For me, my cars are an extension of me, and we have our little adventures together and that's what i think of when i drive them. they have a lot of my history wrapped up in them. i've put lots of my own work into them for me, not for anyone else and i will never ever get rid of them.

but, if your car is just a car, just something to fiddle with like a computer game because you are bored, or something you enhance just to prove to others you can make yours better than someone elses, then sell. it's not part of you, it's just an object.
Old 16-10-2010, 11:20 AM   #34
damo76

look, you sell your xc now, when the time comes you want another one there wont be any or you wont be able to get one.
Ive had heaps of cars like hq, 2door torana, xb, sc, xd, ltd, xb coupe and more but my favourite was an old xd spac which i sold to the wreckers for $500 because i couldnt take it with me and know its sitting under a tree still no rust but the bloke wont sell it back to me.
Regret it very much.
damo76 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-10-2010, 11:25 AM   #35

Keep it if you can, or sell it if you have to.

Old 17-10-2010, 01:03 AM   #36

Originally Posted by Crazy Dazz
+1

It breaks my heart when I read of guys selling their pride and joy because they need a “family car” or a bigger house.

I have spent my entire fekking adult life working my nuts off to (ultimately) pay for stuff for my family. So the missus has a $1M+ house, and the kids all get private education, and what do I get???
I don’t even get a bloody shed.
Bitter? You bet.

When the GFC hit, the company I was working for went tits up, and I was out of work for a while.
I sold my FPV GT Cobra so she could keep the house, and didn’t even get a word of thanks. Should have let the bank take the house, and sold her.

I’m not condoning irresponsible young CUBs who just blow all their money on toy after toy, but if you have one car that is your absolute pride and joy, then chances are you aren’t doing that anyway.

And why is it, that when a guy get’s married and he’s worked hard and saved to have a decent car, that he’s immediately expected to sacrifice that for a house deposit? How much is SHE contributing?

I'M SO WITH YOU ON THIS , how many blokes do i know driving a toyota ute , or van , working 2 jobs , whilst the wife has the nice house she always wanted ( that the husband is never in -because his at work ) and the wife has the nice new car .
LET'S ALL SAY IT TOGETHER BOYS - sensitive new age guy 1990 to 2000
MORE LIKE - i'm gunna walk all over you , you F_ _ _ in twirp.
now from 2000 onwards we have become BITTER . and there are young men dancing at night clubs with thier mates .
Old 17-10-2010, 11:31 AM   #37

Originally Posted by Blem
Mate
get over it .
It's an unfortunate part of life to unload one thing, & HOPEFULLY bring into your life something better.
Not wrong there mate. Just the way I try to think.

I sold my Clio Sport after three days on Carsales after putting down the order for the Golf. I always thought that I would keep the Clio forever as a genuine one owner Clio R/Sport 182 Cup (it was my first major car loan of a car I bought because I wanted it rather than what I could only afford), but even if it is hard and a bit emotional to part ways with a car I have loved for 4 years, an Upgrade to the latest and greatest is always nice

-Dan
Old 17-10-2010, 12:45 PM   #38
NAK302

Originally Posted by XCwillo
Just wondering how many of you have done it? and how many of you cant bear the thought of letting go of the car you built with your own hands.

Thought came to my mind today when i was deciding whether i should buy a new car next year when im in the Air Force, such as a Toxic Green BF XR6 ute, and that my dream car to rebuild would be a XB Falcon Coupe, which i wanna start on as soon as possible!
But my current XC Falcon Ute, i dont think i would be able to sell it, as i would need to for room if i where to restore an XB.

I mean i havent rebuilt my XC from the ground up, but its my first car which i have made what it is today, and all the stuff i've been through to get it the way i want it, and with all the attention she gets from just driving around town it gives me a real sense of acheivement, and i cant bear the thought of someone else lapping up the pride for something i once made.
I really want to keep it forever so i can have this around when im old and can be proud of what would then be one of the last remaining XC utes out!

But then again i might have to sell it if i where to get a new car. ahhh the joy of old cars :(

by reading this it's obvious you really love your ute. keep it, store it if you have to, but don't sell.
NAK302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-10-2010, 01:40 PM   #39
Resurrection
I was correct - AGAIN

I regret selling my first car - a 1979 GH Chrysler Scorpion. If I saw it again I'd buy it without hesitation and restore it to facory condition.
Resurrection is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-10-2010, 01:56 PM   #40

Lets see cars I once loved and now regret selling ..
'61 Studebaker lark (first car)
'65 Dodge Phoenix (great, reliable car)
'69 Dodge Phoenix, big-block powered hardtop (longest I held onto a car)
'68 Chev Impala SS coupe (great, original three owner car)
VH Charger 770 (want a Charger now but can't afford)
VG Valiant Coupe (want a coupe but can't afford)
XB GS Coupe (want a coupe now but can't afford)
AUII XL V8 ute (traded it in for a pittance and want it back as a real workhorse)

Most I want back 'cos but they are either too hard to find, too expensive or both. If you've got somewhere to keep your XC just store it, get a loan for something new and go back to the XC when you get a place of your own where you can work on it. My two cents ..
Old 17-10-2010, 02:49 PM   #41

Was this a promonition of the next post?
Originally Posted by gtfpv
............and there are young men dancing at night clubs with their mates .
Originally Posted by Danny
.........I always thought that I would keep the Clio forever as a genuine one owner Clio R/Sport 182 Cup .........

Old 17-10-2010, 05:43 PM   #42
RSgerry
Well hello Mr Fancypants

dont do it. i have done it and regretted it every day since, and that was over 10 years ago. i loved the car and was seduc ed briefly by an XR6. the XR was a decent enough car, but never got close to the fun of the Escort.
2012 Ford Focus ST
RSgerry is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post