You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 18-03-2021, 07:26 AM   #241

Default Re: Driving - Your "pet hate" on the road

Originally Posted by EBSXR6 View Post
So called Professional Driving Instructors not making their students drive in the left lane on multi lane roads.
When I was getting lessons prior to getting my license we were going up the Calder Freeway, I was in the left lane and another person was coming onto the freeway so I moved across to the right lane to let them on and my instructor went nuts over it, saying they have to give way to me and I shouldn't have moved over.

They got on then I moved back over.

We get to the next onramp, a semi is getting on the freeway, I deliberately don't move over........

Driving instructor goes, we need to move over into the next lane to let him on, hold up you said that I shouldn't move over? NOW ISN'T THE TIME FOR ARGUING!
Old 18-03-2021, 12:17 PM   #242

Originally Posted by Franco Cozzo View Post
When I was getting lessons prior to getting my license we were going up the Calder Freeway, I was in the left lane and another person was coming onto the freeway so I moved across to the right lane to let them on and my instructor went nuts over it, saying they have to give way to me and I shouldn't have moved over.

They got on then I moved back over.

We get to the next onramp, a semi is getting on the freeway, I deliberately don't move over........

Driving instructor goes, we need to move over into the next lane to let him on, hold up you said that I shouldn't move over? NOW ISN'T THE TIME FOR ARGUING!
Lol, sounds like old mate knows which fights are worth having and which arent when the enemy is aproaching from his side, personally i do what you did where possible, move over and give space.
Old 18-03-2021, 12:21 PM   #243

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

It’s a team activity. Nobody likes a player who hogs the ball.
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-03-2021, 12:25 PM   #244
kevino

It’s easier just to move over a lane to let oncoming traffic joining from a ramp.
1. The oncoming vehicles won’t be checking their mirror until the ramp dies
2 Most will have only got up to 80 kms hour and I ll be doing 100 or 110 depending on speed limit

Merge like a zip is the No buzz line
Merge like a drongo here in Qld
kevino is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-03-2021, 08:38 PM   #245

Originally Posted by BENT_8 View Post
Lol, sounds like old mate knows which fights are worth having and which arent when the enemy is aproaching from his side, personally i do what you did where possible, move over and give space.
Yeah, I do the same, move over or speed up to get past and create a spot for them to cleanly pull in behind me.

Most of the time it's speed up because it seems no one understands you're supposed to be doing the speed limit at the end of the ramp, not 20 under lol
Old 18-03-2021, 10:59 PM   #246
GCRXR6

I had today did a run home from Cairns to just south of Rockhampton. Fair dinkum, people must htink overtaking lanes mean you have to drop the hammer. On nearly every overtaking section, I had Ma or Pa Kettle plodding along at around 10 or even 15k under the limit on perfectly safe roads. I set up for the overtake, and they drop the hammer and race me to the flamin' end. One dope even tried to tackle a B Double!! What are these clowns puttin' in their Bushells?
Old 18-03-2021, 11:02 PM   #247

There also needs to be some limits placed on where truckies are allowed to leave unused trucks/trailers. We've had a tipper hire company start using our street as their depot. Parking in and of itself wouldnt be an issue, but today they put cones out over the middle of the road blocking one side of the road off, so they could do maintenance on one of the trucks.
b0son is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-03-2021, 11:32 PM   #248
PG2
#neuteredlyfe

Originally Posted by b0son View Post
There also needs to be some limits placed on where truckies are allowed to leave unused trucks/trailers. We've had a tipper hire company start using our street as their depot. Parking in and of itself wouldnt be an issue, but today they put cones out over the middle of the road blocking one side of the road off, so they could do maintenance on one of the trucks.
What size are the trucks?

Trucks are not allowed to park in suburban areas.
PG2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-03-2021, 09:25 PM   #249
MercuryT

Not so much on the road but still infuriating imo (sorry if mentioned before)

At a petrol station you wait behind a car who goes in to pay......but then decides to look at drinks, chips etc and takes an eternity to return.

Just move your car out of way first, don't clog up the lanes browsing the store!!!

So selfish and lack of respect imo
MercuryT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-03-2021, 11:15 AM   #250
Rambunctious

People doing a u turn from the right lane at an intersection who move into the left lane first by a metre or more because they have no idea how to drive.
Rambunctious is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-03-2021, 11:20 AM   #251
Rambunctious

Originally Posted by MercuryT View Post

At a petrol station you wait behind a car who goes in to pay......but then decides to look at drinks, chips etc and takes an eternity to return.

Just move your car out of way first, don't clog up the lanes browsing the store!!!

While I agree, that is a debatable one because I have moved my car on numerous occasions only to be told by the console operator it is not legal to do so.
I must pay before I move from the pump.
My answer was to inform them it is not illegal provided I stay on the premises.
Rambunctious is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-03-2021, 11:27 AM   #252

Originally Posted by MercuryT View Post

Agree but they get real salty over it in Melbourne if you get in your car and move it without paying first

Hell you get locked out of the joint after 10PM and you gotta pay through some prison cell window thing

Relax Chachi I'm not here to steal like 45L of diesel or rob the joint for the like $36 you got in the till, just want to pay for my fuel and the occasional super rip-off snack, your tactical placement of the rip off snack doesn't work if you won't let me in the building
Old 20-03-2021, 12:07 PM   #253
Rallye Sport
RS The Faster Fords

My beef with the servo's is that they're all coffee shops now.
I'm standing at an empty counter waiting to pay for fuel whilst the attendants making coffees at the other end.
...and here was me thinking this was a petrol station.
FG XR50 Daily.
Rallye Sport is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-03-2021, 12:51 PM   #254

People doing u turns at traffic lights when there is no right turn lane or even a road to the right. Had some mouth breather with qld plates stop in the right lane in a 70 zone to do this in NSW where all traffic light u turns are illegal.
Surely that’s not even legal in qld.
If there’s a right turn lane I understand but not when there’s not.
Old 20-03-2021, 09:18 PM   #255
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

People that stop at give way signs..... or ****s that speed up so a merge is not there
Mr_G6ET is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-03-2021, 10:26 PM   #256

Originally Posted by Rallye Sport View Post
My beef with the servo's is that they're all coffee shops now.
Drives me up the wall. But its not like they'll put paypass at the pump (though I'd happily pay extra for it).
b0son is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-03-2021, 10:36 PM   #257
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

People that use their indicators as "confirmators". This usually occurs at roundabouts.
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-03-2021, 10:47 PM   #258

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

As in “Hey, I just changed lanes/took the exit/turned in front of you…”?
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-03-2021, 10:54 PM   #259
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

As in “Hey, I just changed lanes/took the exit/turned in front of you…”?
More like arriving at a roundabout without indicating, enter the roundabout and then indicate when they begin to turn. In other words, the are not "indicating" but rather "confirming" their intention.
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-03-2021, 12:05 AM   #260
Rallye Sport
RS The Faster Fords

Drives me up the wall. But its not like they'll put paypass at the pump (though I'd happily pay extra for it).
First to make it happen gets my vote for a Nobel Peace Prize
FG XR50 Daily.
Rallye Sport is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-03-2021, 12:36 PM   #261

People doing u turns at traffic lights when there is no right turn lane or even a road to the right. Had some mouth breather with qld plates stop in the right lane in a 70 zone to do this in NSW where all traffic light u turns are illegal.
Surely that’s not even legal in qld.
If there’s a right turn lane I understand but not when there’s not.
Watched a police car do a U - turn right in front of a no U - turn sign the other day. One rule for them, one for us.

No lights or sirens, and seemingly weren't in any hurry to get to a call out. Funny thing is there was a place they could legally do a u - turn about 50 metres up the road
Old 22-03-2021, 01:00 PM   #262
hayseed

They'd miss out on the opportunity to sell you overpriced drinks Lollies ECT, if they did that..
hayseed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-03-2021, 01:50 PM   #263
tweeked
N/A all the way

Roundabouts in general. Virtually no users know how they work.

95% of drivers think it is give way to the right.
95% of pedestrians think you have to give way to them as in a give way or stop sign at a regular intersection.
If 4 cars enter at the same time they all legally have to give way to each other.

The should be only built on ultra large intersections, at least the "give way to those already on the roundabout" can work there. One near my house the roundabout island is lucky to be 10 feet across.

tweeked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-03-2021, 08:47 PM   #264

Originally Posted by Bossxr8 View Post
Watched a police car do a U - turn right in front of a no U - turn sign the other day. One rule for them, one for us.

No lights or sirens, and seemingly weren't in any hurry to get to a call out. Funny thing is there was a place they could legally do a u - turn about 50 metres up the road
Hopefully they weren't as bad as the unmarked cop car who featured on the Dashcam Owners Australia compilation yesterday. Illegal Uturn with no lights and ran a car off the road in the process. Around the 5:50 mark in the following video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lS70cpQbzIw&t=351s

Saw a Highway Patrol today turning the fast siren on and off behind a car who was stopped at a red light with a red light camera.
I bet if the car ran the red to let police through they will still get a fine.
Old 23-03-2021, 10:51 AM   #265
xkxlxm

Must have been mentioned before but ... drivers at front who, when right turn green arrow comes on, stay put until the light goes off and then they turn. No one else gets through.

Or the turn arrow has gone red but the green lights are still on, meaning front car can creep into the intersection but they don't.

Drivers who swing out in the opposite direction to which they are going to turn.

Yesterday I got to an intersection, stopping to look both ways on a busy street before I cross, selfish idiot behind me wants to turn left so moves out to get a better view of traffic coming from the right, thus blocking my view of the left.

Narrow street, parked cars, two vehicles approaching each other, one has to let the other through. Ignorant morons who don't make the simple, cost-free gesture of a hand wave to acknowledge you letting them through.
xkxlxm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2021, 06:33 PM   #266
tweeked
N/A all the way

When you are on a road that has the slightest bumps at night and a new SUV or dual cab is behind you or coming towards you and it has Xenons.

tweeked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-03-2021, 12:19 AM   #267
XP6
Formerly ST170ish

Bro's in their Bro dozer 4x4's that dont adjust their bazzillion LED headlights down after all the illegal mods to the height... and its ute not F'n truck Bruh!
Old 24-03-2021, 08:52 PM   #268
MercuryT

Originally Posted by tweeked View Post
When you are on a road that has the slightest bumps at night and a new SUV or dual cab is behind you or coming towards you and it has Xenons.
You mean Xenons or LEDs? The latter is much worse.

Xenons don't cause any issue imo.
MercuryT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-03-2021, 10:14 PM   #269
roddy1960

Two pretty obvious ones .... Any idiot that holds their phone while driving . Not kidding I reckon anyone caught breaking that rule needs to sit out at least 6 months for a first offence and at least double that if caught again . And a substantial drop in the bank balance like a grand or so if I had my way . Literally no excuse for mucking around with a phone while the vehicle is transiting anywhere .

If someone is seen fiddling with audio or climate control settings etc while dribbling along in motion is just as bad . Surprises me that UHF radio users don't get that much attention too and it'd be interesting to see if in an accident a UHF operator would be charged if they were holding a mic at the time like would be the case with a phone in hand .

And ......bloody tailgaters . Why someone needs to be up the tailpipe of a car in front defies logic .

Last edited by roddy1960; 25-03-2021 at 10:28 PM.
roddy1960 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-03-2021, 03:24 PM   #270
shedcoupe

Originally Posted by Franco Cozzo View Post
etc etc

This situation reminds me that many steering wheel attendants have NFI.

I'm on the highway and see a car trying to enter the stream so I move into the right lane to give the poor sod a chance.
So the muppet does nothing and looks confused as I go by.
So now I don't bother. In the past most drivers would get it and do something about it.

These days I only bother to move right if a truck is trying to enter the stream from a side road or parking bay.
Those guys get it and give a wave as I go past.
They're professionals. Mostly.
shedcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post