You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 21-06-2007, 05:40 PM   #1
AC/DC
" Let there be Rock "

Default Townsville Weather. ( an Nth Qld )

For those who dont live in north queensland, , this is about the coldest I can ever recall it being during the days.

I have been here for 35 years, and it has never been this cold.

ITs currently 15.5 degrees in the back yard, and about 19 degrees inside the house.

Here is a link from the net with 4.30pm temperatures....

Current Temperatures Adelaide: 12.8°C
Alice Springs: 12.0°C
Brisbane Ap: 16.5°C
Cairns: 20.4°C
Canberra: 7.6°C
Darwin: 26.2°C
Hobart: 4.9°C
Melbourne: 10.3°C
Newcastle: 12.2°C
Perth: 17.5°C
Sydney: 13.7°C
Townsville: 13.8°C
Wollongong: 10.1°C

Are we crazy in Townsville to say that maybe we actually could benefit from a heater, or electric blanket ? ?

Looking forward to the weekend when the sun is expected to shine.

AC/DC

( bring back the 40 degree days ! )

AC/DC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2007, 05:44 PM   #2

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

Nice and warm ... Tuesday was cold.
Was in the workshop upgrading my cam in the ute ... and the thermometer they had sitting on the bench was reading 7.2 deg C .... and that's in Sydney at 1pm in the afternoon ... it was a cold day for Sydney.

Tassie gets cold.

I am dreading the frosts though ... last year we were getting -5 deg C at about 5am (not fun when getting up at 4:30am to get ready for work and having to go out and feed the horses). And this is only about 60km NW of Sydney city.
Old 21-06-2007, 05:45 PM   #3
Grum
Bringing the Spartan back

Well today is the winter solstice ….

East Coast Suspensions
Road - Race - Performance & Prestige Car Service

BOSS 5.4L Silicon hose kits for sale
BA/BF FPV parts for sale

The only negative thing in your life should be camber

Blue Power Racing Enhanced
Chris & Craig - Thanks!
Grum is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2007, 05:52 PM   #4
Outbackjack
Central to all beach's

I heard that Darwin has had its coldest day on record today.... It got to 20deg.

I has certainly been rather cold in the Alice the last couple of weeks.
Old 21-06-2007, 05:53 PM   #5
AC/DC
" Let there be Rock "

Sydney and tassie are supposed to get cold...

We are talking 1600km NORTH of brisbane, where its supposed to be HOT

AC/DC
Old 21-06-2007, 05:56 PM   #6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

Yeah ... but Sydney isn't meant to get to 7 deg in the middle of the day ... it's been colder than usual here as well.
Old 21-06-2007, 06:02 PM   #7
my gt
Extreme Machine

i have a house in the hinter land of cairns its cold there as well
my gt is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2007, 07:23 PM   #8
troppo
Mr old phart

Darwin almost had the coldest day on record. It came in equal second as the coldest day on record but took the title for coldest day in June on record.

http://www.ntnews.com.au/article/200...28_ntnews.html

Bloody near cold enough to put pants on!!!

BA GT-P Blueprint
troppo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2007, 07:25 PM   #9
jason_85

This is the first time in 3 yrs i havent used my air con to sleep at night!

def the coldest i have ever seen in townsville
jason_85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2007, 07:53 PM   #10
Dazza XLT
Back in a Ford

Got to 13 degrees in our shed.
As low as 9 degrees south of Proserpine.
Dry Season... What Dry Season??? :P
80+ mm so far this month. Up to 150mm+ in some areas.
Tomato farmers are starting to crack, as they can't get the picking machines into the paddocks... Powdery Mildew is going OFF!

Darran
Old 21-06-2007, 07:54 PM   #11

Middle of brisbane got to a huge max temp of 13 degrees yesterday. Its weird, I work in a cold room, and it felt no warmer outside, due to the wind. I was actually glad to be inside working all day.
Old 21-06-2007, 07:55 PM   #12

I have gotten off a plane at Proserpine airport on a cold windy day ... and boy when it's windy there ... it's blowing a gale.
Old 21-06-2007, 07:55 PM   #13
Pedro

Hey AC/DC where do you get the little circle degree sign on the keyboard?

It warmed up to 7 this morning on Mount Tamborine after a chilly 5 two days ago when the max climbed to 10.

The temperature range at Wentworth Falls where my sister lives went from 4 - 5 last Tuesday.
Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2007, 10:53 PM   #14
GTS_300_Coupe
Mandy Moore FTW!

Pffft! Today wasnt even that cold, went to work without no extra clothes.

Are all you guys from townsville also??

Represent! :
GTS_300_Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2007, 11:00 PM   #15
AC/DC
" Let there be Rock "

Originally Posted by Pedro
Hey AC/DC where do you get the little circle degree sign on the keyboard?

It warmed up to 7 this morning on Mount Tamborine after a chilly 5 two days ago when the max climbed to 10.

The temperature range at Wentworth Falls where my sister lives went from 4 - 5 last Tuesday.
The little circle was copied from the net, , sorry !
Old 21-06-2007, 11:25 PM   #16

here at Miriam Vale (near Gladstone ) we ranged from 8C TO 13C today giving us the lowest June maximum on record by 3.1C . the minimum wasnt a record but the day just didnt warm up.

i moved from down south to get away from this weather.

atleast its raining a bit now, so far we have only had half our average rainfall for the first half of the year. 382mm instead of the 725mm average.

i got this info off the" www.weatherzone.com.au " site.
Old 22-06-2007, 12:20 AM   #17
woodsy109

Good to see its warming up. I rode my motorbike from cairns to townsville at 4am on wed morning and it was very wet and very cold. Least the trip home might be a little less wet.

Out here at mt isa its been raining and cold as well.
woodsy109 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2007, 02:16 PM   #18
XAGSV8
Member 178

Rockhampton matched its coldest day 2 days ago with a maximum of 12.1 degrees.

1963 Morris Mini

1999 NU Fairlane Ghia
XAGSV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2007, 02:49 PM   #19
herbs

Originally Posted by XAGSV8
Rockhampton matched its coldest day 2 days ago with a maximum of 12.1 degrees.
While not quite as cold as Thursday, I absolutely froze playing footy at the cricket grounds by the Fitzroy River yesterday, wet, muddy and bloody miserable.
herbs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2007, 06:21 PM   #20

It got to -5 here the other night, but then we are only 2hrs from the snowfields :-)

And a question for all those in FNQ what is the weather like in Cairns, on average, around Feb/March. I'm thinking of holidaying near Cairns next year.
Old 24-06-2007, 06:39 PM   #21
S3SR

good luck mate, if i had a heater for everytime i got asked for one......id have alot of heaters

according to the BOM it also reached 4 degrees one night

2002 Ford Falcon AU S3 SR
2006 BF MKI Falcon XR6
2008 Mazda BT50 SDX
2004 BA XR8 ute
2006 AUDI A4 B7
2013 FG II XR6 Ute
2006 Ford Territory TX
2003 Ford Falcon XR8
2009 Territory Turbo Ghia

Current: 2012 Audi A4 B8 2.0T Quattro
S3SR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post