Old 04-09-2013, 10:15 AM   #1
davenl5l

Question vf in the flesh

driving back from Adelaide yesterday I finally saw a vf crapadore on the road.normaly when a new falcon or crap come out I see one driving with in about a week.very surprised its taken so long considering all the hype and adds.......oh in my opinion it looked like s*#t

Old 04-09-2013, 11:08 AM   #2
HSVKILLA
moonlight rider

Default Re: vf in the flesh

Saw a black vf ute a week ago here in nz and i can tell you now that i am glad i'm a blue blooded man because it looked so wrong in every way BLERK!!
HSVKILLA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 11:11 AM   #3

Have seen a few VF SS and Calais around and to be honest I think it looks alright.
Far more cleaner and upmarket than the VE.
Old 04-09-2013, 11:18 AM   #4
GQ_Smooth
Long live the inline 6

I see quite a few in Melbourne now, I like the look of all the sedan's bar the Evoke. Following wagon's and ute's I cannot spot the difference between a VE/VF. For a "car nut" like myself, that's very disappointing

Hers
BFII Ghia
GQ_Smooth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 11:20 AM   #5
40RDT

Calais looks alright, SS looks pretty average. The VF utes looks awful imo, much prefer the VE utes
Old 04-09-2013, 11:43 AM   #6
qdda5

Its the inside of the car that most of the changes have been made.
Thats where the car shines imo.
Outside is too plain.
qdda5 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 11:48 AM   #7
Perko
Loving The Blown Goodness

Drove one the other day. The interior is very very good and to drive it is an improvement over the VE. However there is no model in the range that is yet to turn my head. This would be disappointing considering I was a big fan of the VE. If the 2014 Falcon lives up to expectations it will really turn the Commodore on its head. Hopefully Ford can keep the candle burning until then and the local media get behind it.

Previous 2003 BA XR8 Ute Phantom
Ford Forum Build Thread

The Project 1991 EB XR8 Sedan Monza Red
Project Build Thread
Perko is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 11:53 AM   #8
pursuit2359

I think there are some distinctly American design cues with the VF, particularly the front bumper and the tail-lights. I know it's been designed for export as the Chevrolet SS, but it doesn't look like an Australian design in the same way that the VE did (though I didn't like it's tail-lights, either).
pursuit2359 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 12:32 PM   #9
malazn mafia
Boss 335

Seen a fair few on Sydneys roads. But seems that the takeup is nowhere near what Ford achieved in 2002/2003 with BA, they flooded the streets of melbourne from day dot. The évoque looks like an Opel insignia. Maybe they will start importing insignia to replace VF when it's time is through. The rear of the clubsport is shocking, like an obese woman wearing a g string.
malazn mafia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 01:10 PM   #10

Originally Posted by Wretched View Post
Have seen a few VF SS and Calais around and to be honest I think it looks alright.
Far more cleaner and upmarket than the VE.
^ That's my thoughts too..
Old 04-09-2013, 01:12 PM   #11
Falcon_Crazy
PX3 WildTrak & RTV

i thought it looked fresh in the pics, but in flesh, far more "bulbous" and keep thinking its a Malibu. the utrs dont work IMO. and colour is important with em

saw Drive had G6 and the VF seperated by only 1 point...and that point was pricing...wow..
BA Falcon RTV - Project Ute 265,000km
Sold PXII Ranger XLT Cool White. 105,000
Sold PX Ranger XLT in cool white, 151,700km on clock.
Sold FGII XR6T Ute LTD Edition in Kinetic.
Sold FG XR6 Ute
Sold BA Falcon RTV. 251,300km.Was a great mate for last 7 years

Sold AUII XLS Ute
Sold '85 XF & Crashed 84 XF
Falcon_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 01:14 PM   #12

^^Rear of the Calais is a shocker too. I don't mind the front end of the VF's and the interior is also okay but overall the look doesn't impress and in a word I agree with the poster above, they look "bulbous" very much like I'd imagine a bloated Holden Epica to look like.
Old 04-09-2013, 01:21 PM   #13
*ICEMAN*

i saw a VF SS on the road. It only had a mini rear spoiler on it. to me looked like an omega with a set of wheels. very very subtle and understated.

i think it needs more flair.
*ICEMAN* is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 01:29 PM   #14
dleach80
GSnBoooooost

Saw a white vf clubsport over the weekend at first I thort it was a beefed up Mazda at a glance, they have some pretty big exhaust tips on em, they seem to have a more European look to them I'm sure they will grow on ppl still ugly as $&@$ in my opinion.
dleach80 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 01:50 PM   #15
hodge_williams

cant say i liked them at first but they do grow on you. Seen every model so far bar the gts on the road.
hodge_williams is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 01:53 PM   #16

Originally Posted by hodge_williams View Post
cant say i liked them at first but they do grow on you. Seen every model so far bar the gts on the road.
Warts grow on you too...
10 users like this post:
Old 04-09-2013, 02:07 PM   #17
chopstar87
The Original ChopstaR

I think in SS trim and Calais Trim, the front looks good... but the rear rear (c-pillar back) is just horrible!

the interior is not to bad..

My partner who is a Holden fan and wants a VE3 Maloo, hates the new model.

May 2006 – October 2006: 2002 Proton Persona
October 2006 – July 2013: 2004 BA Ford Falcon XR6 (Blueprint – 4 speed Auto – Premium Audio - No Tracton Control )
July 2013 - ???: 2013 Chrysler 300c Luxury (Bright white – Panoramic Sunroof – 19 speaker 900 watt Harmon/Kardon stereo)
November 2013 - ???: 2013 Ford Focus Sport (the missus's car, white, manual)
chopstar87 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 02:24 PM   #18
|Nate

A neighbour has an Evoke, haven't asked them about it yet but it looks pretty bland. It's silver, which accentuates that even further.

The new Calais definitely catch my eye when driving though, other than that I don't really think much of them. There's definitely a few getting around on the Peninsula though.
|Nate is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 02:34 PM   #19

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Seen every model now bar a GTS. Don't like the look of them. The wagon is the weirdest as the back hasn't changed. So ugly front and nice rear end.

Should go take a look inside one but from the pictures I've seen I'd hate it.
Old 04-09-2013, 03:00 PM   #20
SS_01
Erebus Motorsport Fan

In Pics, I like the SS and hated the Calais, Now i have seen them in the flesh, I like the Calais, and HATE the SS. poor exterior design, the back end being the worst part.

Agree with most, the interior is nice to sit in, but wouldnt sway me due to its exterior.
Old 04-09-2013, 03:37 PM   #21

I've seen quite a few on the road. The Clubsport looks like an SS at a distance.

I'm going against the flow here but I reckon the rear design is the best part, I really like it. The front is okay but nothing special IMO.

The rear sort of reminds me of the older IS350

Old 04-09-2013, 03:41 PM   #22
malazn mafia
Boss 335

Originally Posted by Chopped View Post
I've seen quite a few on the road. The Clubsport looks like an SS at a distance.

I'm going against the flow here but I reckon the rear design is the best part, I really like it. The front is okay but nothing special IMO.

Rear looks a bit VW's new taillight design language, but could also be a 21st century interpretation of the VR-VS tail lamp design.
Old 04-09-2013, 04:03 PM   #23

Still looks like an oversized daewoo
Old 04-09-2013, 04:33 PM   #24

Looks like Falcon will have a big job to catch up on features to match VF. If features are what buyers are after, that is (i think most are).

Originally Posted by Chopped
it DOES look very similar. not that emulating Lexus is a BAD thing (entirely).

Originally Posted by Polyal View Post
If they exported them to Korea, they would be!
Old 04-09-2013, 04:38 PM   #25

Originally Posted by Polyal View Post
Which one would that be?
Old 04-09-2013, 05:54 PM   #26
malazn mafia
Boss 335

Originally Posted by Wretched View Post
Which one would that be?
Daepoo epica fail
Old 04-09-2013, 06:19 PM   #27
FG50T

I've seen a few new SSV's. The orange looks horrible but fell in love with the blue and the black. Then this morning I saw an R8 in black. Drool! Looks much less 'intimidating' than the VE and a bit classier. Absolutely loved it.
FG50T is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 06:58 PM   #28

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Saw a R-spec wannabe SS...

Old 04-09-2013, 07:03 PM   #29
Fab

Seen a couple of Calais V's in that new green/grey colour and they look really nice.
The standard SS with the rear wing and 17" wheels looks crap.
Fab is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2013, 07:50 PM   #30

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

I saw a black clubbie yesterday...but I could hardly tell it was one, Numberplate and badge gave it away...very subtle in black. And yes, the SS with the wing looks pox, the lip is much betterrer...