You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 20-01-2011, 05:53 PM   #1
Spudz27
Call me Spud

Default What a day

Hey guys I know these topics are old but I had something to post.

Back story of how my day goes (is rellevant to the end of this)
So today I have the FG XR6 due to my Fairmont being in having it's brakes done and I had pre op stuff at the hospital. Never mind it took 3hrs , 2 seperate sessions at the blood clinic and a call to the specialist to get sort some stuff out. I am on blood thinners (have been for 17yrs) my cardiologist is on holidays and got his coleague to take my case. I was never once told to stop taking my meds, but now I have to have 2 units of Plasma to clot my blood before surgery as no one even told me to stop taking my thinners. So after 3 hrs and realising I might not be goinghome on Sat as planned I left RPH. We decided to go to Miss Maudes for lunch, saw the Smorgassboard and thought why not, except inadvertantly I read the breakfast price. So sitting there thinking awesome value I go to pay. Turns out lunch was $10ea more, plus I had a beer and a coke and I was already stretching the budget, but it was my own fault. I left there fuming, got to the car park and found the machine did not accept $50 notes, so had to give it my debit card, which I was very uneasy about. So by this time I am not having a good day. We go up to where we parked the car and I am confronted with this

So as quickly as I could I rushed around to look for damage, scratches etc, thanfully nothing there. But and this is why the back story is rellevant, I was soooo mad and frustrated by my day I wrote them a note, I never swore in it or anything but it said "next time you want to park your car, go and learn how to do so before hand. I will be checking my vehicle for damage and have taken a photo of your excellent skills, along with your numberplate. If I should find any damage I will be reporting it. Once agaain learn how to park before entering a car park. Have a nice day" This car had damage on it on the side because they previously reversed into a pole, but at first glance I thought it was the FG they took out.

Was I too harsh or did there parking deserve it? I don't think I was but I also don't think they will care. Thankfully no damage to the FG.

What a day lol.

Spudz27 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-01-2011, 06:04 PM   #2

Right, can't wait to see how many will oh so predictably jump onto the "Oh another stupid Camry, Aurion, Avalon, Corolla driver" thing, when the car has little to do with the nkob driving it.
Old 20-01-2011, 06:10 PM   #3
GreenR

I think it comes down to how much the driver cares about their car. If they do then no way in hell would they park like that!

I find it is normally older/cheaper cars that are parked very badly because they obviously don't care about damage. Don't think I have ever seen a nice respected undamaged Falcon parked badly.
GreenR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-01-2011, 06:13 PM   #4
My poor XF
Geelong FC 07, 09 & 2011

I have done the same thing, had someone park resting against my towbar. They got a note saying i have photos and rego numbers and if I find any damage they will hear from my insurers.

It's really not hard to park with consideration for those around you.
Old 20-01-2011, 06:18 PM   #5

Sorry, I was going to mention that you parked close to the line but had another look and saw they've parked way the hell over on theirs.

This is the sole reason keyings happen.
Old 20-01-2011, 07:07 PM   #6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Lol in qld we only have 1 line... Its always fun and games up here.. No point in having a nice car and going to the shops in it..
Old 20-01-2011, 07:57 PM   #7
MAGPIE

Going by that photo your not perfect yourself
MAGPIE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-01-2011, 08:03 PM   #8
Spudz27
Call me Spud

Originally Posted by MAGPIE
Actually mate the bay was the same gap on the otherside. I was dead centre in my bay. It is a multistory car park and all the bays are tiny. If you notice, had they parked in their bay properley there would uave been plenty of space.
Spudz27 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-01-2011, 08:43 PM   #9
GreenR

One of the reasons I always choose a park further away. Worth the extra walk knowing there may be a slight less chance getting dents on your doors etc
GreenR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-01-2011, 09:10 PM   #10
XR6Runner
Sling Shot

Originally Posted by MAGPIE
If you look at the photo more clearly, you will notice there are 2 lines separating each parking spot. (I don't mean this in any rude way, just pointing out as it is easily mistaken that there is only one line between parking spots. There are 2)
XR6Runner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-01-2011, 09:25 PM   #11
glavas

I don't understand both cars are with in the line just?
glavas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-01-2011, 10:07 PM   #12

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: As Silver Ghia his contributions to the AU and BA technical areas have been of high quality and valuable to the member base. 

Never seen double lines before. I've only seen single lines here in Vic. Seems the width of the space is made narrower thus taking the space between the double lines into account. Good idea really as long as drivers have pride in their driving skills and centre their car when parked. So many drivers just dont care at all however, just like the car on the left in the photo.

Must admit I'm quite paranoid when parking at these places. Try and avoid these carparks as much as possible. Especially when they have the lines marked at minimum width to fit more cars, so there is very little space between especially when there is a big 4WD in the next space in which case I then look for another space to park.
Silver Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-01-2011, 10:37 PM   #13

Go for a walk through a university car park sometimes...I've seen much, much worse than that. Still, good on you for leaving the note. If I was in your situation and someone had damaged my car through careless parking, I'd be very tempted to get the tyre iron/screwdriver out and leave them a present.
Old 20-01-2011, 10:49 PM   #14

I thought it was a Honda Accord...

Old 20-01-2011, 11:20 PM   #15
block58

Originally Posted by uranium_death
I thought it was a Honda Accord...
Easy to get that impression from the headlights, but it's a current model Corolla.
block58 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-01-2011, 11:48 PM   #16

Originally Posted by block58
Easy to get that impression from the headlights, but it's a current model Corolla.
Fair enough...now that we've got the important stuff out of the way

Old 20-01-2011, 11:50 PM   #17
3vXT

Originally Posted by Rapid_Axe

This is the sole reason keyings happen.
Keyings happen because some people have no respect for other peoples property. As inconsiderate as this is it isn't an excuse to damage their car.
3vXT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-01-2011, 12:07 AM   #18
GazzF6
Perth WA

Originally Posted by XR6Runner
If you look at the photo more clearly, you will notice there are 2 lines separating each parking spot. (I don't mean this in any rude way, just pointing out as it is easily mistaken that there is only one line between parking spots. There are 2)

Good call XR6Runner, I didn't even notice there are two lines.. I always put the passenger side up as close as I can to a wall, if I have a passenger I ask them to get out first, and then get in when I'm out. (Things we do)

2016 Jaguar XE Black Pack R-Sport
GazzF6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-01-2011, 12:15 AM   #19
AC/DC
" Let there be Rock "

You are going to hospital for tests , the extra $10 for lunch was "stretching" your budget and you still blow out about people who cant park.......

My 2c of advice would be keep your phone in your pocket, get over it, and drive off.

You aint going to change the world.

AC/DC
AC/DC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-01-2011, 12:27 AM   #20

While they are over the line, yours is crooked too, so I'd call that a mexican standoff. I once parked passenger side up against a concrete island in a carpark, with the wheels about 2 inches away from the gutter, which left around 2 feet between my drivers side and the painted line. I get back to the car a few hours later, and a suzuki jiminy 4wd has parked with both it's wheels over that line and into my car park. I had less than a foot to open my door and may have inadvertently left a crease in theirs (and theirs was a newer car than mine at the time). Buggered if I was getting in through the passenger side.

Old 21-01-2011, 12:30 AM   #21
ILLaViTaR

Originally Posted by Danny
Right, can't wait to see how many will oh so predictably jump onto the "Oh another stupid Camry, Aurion, Avalon, Corolla driver" thing, when the car has little to do with the nkob driving it.
Not quite.

In one sentence: Those drivers will almost always drive those cars.

Those are the cars that appeal to incompetent drivers. You know the ones that haven't a clue regarding anything and buy whatever their royal auto magazine tells them to?

I know what you're saying but a clear majority of uneducated/incompetent drivers drive those vehicles so yes they hold the majority of bad drivers compared to other brands.

If what you were saying is true, then why don't I see every P plater hooning around in a Corolla instead of a BA XR ute?

The brands appeal to certain groups, they're all different. Toyota happen to target the group that can't drive competently and put everyone elses lives in danger, I guess that's why the safety rating is such a big selling point for these people!!!

Last edited by ILLaViTaR; 21-01-2011 at 12:38 AM.
ILLaViTaR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-01-2011, 12:35 AM   #22
Halfmo Rocks
Bearded Hermit

i don't claim to be a parking professional, i would get in there crooked sometimes...but i will have a 2nd dig to straighten it up, can't stand the arrogance/ignorance of parking this bad.
Originally Posted by Spudz27
Was I too harsh or did there parking deserve it? I don't think I was but I also don't think they will care.
agreed, i doubt they will care...probably spend ages complaining to their friends about some idiot who put a stupid note on their car...but i reckon that's the exact right thing to do mate

you never know, they may learn from it.

previously...AUII Futura, BAII XR6T ute, BFII XT, BF XR6...with a holden barina & a renault clio thown in at times of financial crisis
Halfmo Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-01-2011, 12:43 AM   #23

Originally Posted by JC
While they are over the line, yours is crooked too, so I'd call that a mexican standoff.
The OP has parked within a couple of inches of straight and within his bay. There is a painted median between each bay and the Corolla is parked way over it.
Old 21-01-2011, 11:43 AM   #24
AC/DC
" Let there be Rock "

I dont get why its so much HASS ? ? Just get in and drive off..............

Running a huge thread and complaining about it isnt going to fix it !
AC/DC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-01-2011, 01:29 PM   #25
Powdered Toast Man
Professional Mouse Jockey

I'm guessing the driver of the Corolla was a small statued or something. I am basing my reasoning on the fact that I couldnt squeeze my fat frame out of the drivers door if I parked like that. The OP is probably lucky that it was on the left side of his car.

Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana. Groucho Marx
Powdered Toast Man is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-01-2011, 02:53 PM   #26
max
LWBforME

I'm confronted with that kind of situation all the time Spudz27. Was your car parked dead centre of the space? If so, it's a damn squeezy car park! Interesting that the other car backed in, almost as though the driver anticipated difficulty get out of or into the car. Ah well, we can't all be perfect I guess! One thing I always do in car parks though, is to fold in my mirrors.
max is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-01-2011, 03:14 PM   #27

I think that your note was fair, as you said you did not swear and you just made a point of it. Maybe it will save someone from getting there doors dented next time by this driver. Maybe if everybody took 1 minute extra to make sure there parking is straight and not over the line then we would not have so many parking accidents.

I just wish people would take more care. My car was parked on the side of a busy Melbourne road yesterday. Was parked as close to the gutter as I could. Came back when it was time to move my car for the clear way and some one had come along and hit the mirror knocking the mirror part off the side of the car. And yes it was folded in at the time, I am just lucky they did not take the whole side of the car out. I just wish people would take more care while driving or at least leave a note, which of course no one did, so now my poor BA GT has no mirror insert.

Due someone not caring, It was difficult driving home in city and freeway traffic last night.Had to drive past Albert Park golf course, then onto kings way and onto West Gate freeway. You do not realize how much you rely on this mirror.

But yes I think it was fair what you did.

Last edited by xisled; 21-01-2011 at 03:20 PM.
Old 21-01-2011, 03:17 PM   #28

It's a corolla, what is there to say?
Pathetic attempt at a park.

I used to work at a shopping centre and saw idiots like this daily.
One that I remember so well is a 21 year old girl in a near new VW Bettle pulled into a park with her back wheel completely in the other parking space. She got out and looked at her pathetic park and then walked away.

About 1 minute later a guy pulled into the park next to her with an old POS magna. He had his passengers side of his car about 1 foot from hers. Good luck to her to get back in easily lol
Old 21-01-2011, 03:53 PM   #29

If i made a thread for every time someone next to me parked funny...
Old 21-01-2011, 03:57 PM   #30

Originally Posted by DASH GT
Lol in qld we only have 1 line... Its always fun and games up here.. No point in having a nice car and going to the shops in it..
took me a second to notice the second line, until then I was thinking it didnt look too bad.

At least they had the courtesy to reverse it in so drivers doors may have had room. Trying to provide room on drivers side may explain the slight angle.

All I can say now is what an awful parking lot if the amount of room on the other side is similar. Looks like you need to leave the windows down and get back in like the Dukes of Hazard.

Originally Posted by ken2903
Keyings happen because some people have no respect for other peoples property. As inconsiderate as this is it isn't an excuse to damage their car.
Damn you and your logic.