Old 08-08-2006, 09:41 AM   #1
bradcad

Default Your thoughts on the new(er) falcons

Gday

I'm really probably not asking the right people here I've got a feeling the answer might be a bit biased....

anyways about 2 years ago I was looking to finally buy my Ford. I had gotten my drafting business to the stage where i could geta loan and finally a decent car. And lose the Daewoo at the same time. (which incidentally was the best car I've ever owned!)

Got to the car yards, looking through prices and found a really nice looking dark blue AU 6. Standard, no wheels just clean. All excited, jumped in with the wife- and I've never driven a car I could honestly say I've been more dissappointed in. Bugger all torque, handled like a boat, really plain plastic dash and just not appealing. All from a sub 100 000k car.

Same yard, all ****ed off and defeated, my wife spotted a VT Berlina 6. Midnight blue, standard, 118 000k's. She liked it, I resisted initially and thought may as well drive it.

Drove like a dream! floated like a cloud (not now she's lowered and on 18" wheels) nice stereo, beutiful interior, torquey, smooth and far more comfortable. The only downside- the falcons brakes were stronger.

Even more recently- drove work's BA ute- all excited again, but plastic, understeer, gutless, similar story from my mates.

So my question- How do you guys feel about the AU? In fact, how do you feel about Falcons in general since the EA? I'm just a bit dissappointed is all and almost wish we were in the day of the XD, and just wondered if I'm alone in this...

bradcad is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 09:53 AM   #2
FGX-351
Supercharged Mang-mobile

I completely disagree with you
09/00 VX HSV XU6 Build #0001 of 0171
http://fordforums.com.au/showthread....09#post5571209
-- Best E/T: |14.982 @92.12mph | R/T:0.013 | 60' 2.213| 330: 6.283 | 1/8: 9.624 @ 73.17mph | 1000: 12.529 | 25Deg, N/A Hum, 1010mb | Willowbank Raceway 7/12/16

Tickford EL Falcon XR6 RIP
-- Factory Manual
-- Best E/T: |14.991 @ 92.71mph | R/T: 0.607 | 60': 2.215 | 660': 9.665 |13Deg, 86%H, 1024mb, 184RA @ Willowbank Raceway
FGX-351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 09:58 AM   #3
Aeron
DJR Fan

I've never driven an AU, but I don’t think driving a BA work ute should turn you off BA's. Unless you buy a performance model, you wont get the kind of performance you are after. I'll guess it was an auto that you drove. The old 4speed can feel a bit sluggish in N/A models. With the understeer, cars these days are designed to understeer for the simple fact that its safer and easier to correct than over steer. If you want a performance car, buy a Tickford/XR6T/XR8/FPV.
EC 1:51.283
WP 1:10.190

Me Drifting on the Skid Pan **Video**
Aeron is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 10:03 AM   #4
bradcad

It's not so much that I was expecting a performance car, but my VT with 200 000k's and standard pulls harder (and its a lot heavier)- in fact I was happy with my car again after driving the ford.

Just the overall package of the fords isnt there. Like the ute- she just wan't finished I thought.
Old 08-08-2006, 10:03 AM   #5
LG

You can't compare a Berlina to a stock AU Forte. Jump in a Fairmont, or Fairmont Ghia (which most came with Leather), all Climate Control, (some even came with a VCT motor). Then we'll see what you think of it.

The 4 speed Auto does kill the performance, but they are a family car. You can't expect everything from them.

If you spent the same amount of money on the Ford as you did for the Holden; it would be far superior. I.e. handling, looks, etc.
Old 08-08-2006, 10:05 AM   #6

Originally Posted by bradcad
Gday

I'm really probably not asking the right people here I've got a feeling the answer might be a bit biased....

anyways about 2 years ago I was looking to finally buy my Ford. I had gotten my drafting business to the stage where i could geta loan and finally a decent car. And lose the Daewoo at the same time. (which incidentally was the best car I've ever owned!)

Got to the car yards, looking through prices and found a really nice looking dark blue AU 6. Standard, no wheels just clean. All excited, jumped in with the wife- and I've never driven a car I could honestly say I've been more dissappointed in. Bugger all torque, handled like a boat, really plain plastic dash and just not appealing. All from a sub 100 000k car.

Same yard, all ****ed off and defeated, my wife spotted a VT Berlina 6. Midnight blue, standard, 118 000k's. She liked it, I resisted initially and thought may as well drive it.

Drove like a dream! floated like a cloud (not now she's lowered and on 18" wheels) nice stereo, beutiful interior, torquey, smooth and far more comfortable. The only downside- the falcons brakes were stronger.

Even more recently- drove work's BA ute- all excited again, but plastic, understeer, gutless, similar story from my mates.

So my question- How do you guys feel about the AU? In fact, how do you feel about Falcons in general since the EA? I'm just a bit dissappointed is all and almost wish we were in the day of the XD, and just wondered if I'm alone in this...
Let me get this right, you've joined ford forums to tell us you dont really like falcons after EA?

Old 08-08-2006, 10:07 AM   #7

Each to there own. Personally I love my AU.

Old 08-08-2006, 10:09 AM   #8
bradcad

um, no

i joined because I am a ford man, my old man has Fords (f truck & XR8 EB) my grandfather drives an escort, and I love the older fords.

I've been waiting for the fords to get up in the racing again, and their starting to.

I just wanted to see if others here feel the same, as most I talk to face to face feel similar
Old 08-08-2006, 10:10 AM   #9
bradcad

Originally Posted by Casper
Each to there own. Personally I love my AU.
Hey that's all its about- I'm not wrapped, just seeing how others feel
Old 08-08-2006, 10:12 AM   #10

Hey that's all its about- I'm not wrapped, just seeing how others feel
If you are in Melb I'd be happy to arrange you a ride in my AU I6. I can assure you that "sluggish" is not going to be something you relate to it by any stretch.

Old 08-08-2006, 10:13 AM   #11
bradcad

Brisbane champ
Old 08-08-2006, 10:30 AM   #12

Brisbane eh... OED666 I think you have a shotgun passenger awaiting!
Old 08-08-2006, 10:30 AM   #13
Aeron
DJR Fan

I've been waiting for the fords to get up in the racing again, and their starting to.
Starting to?!?! You would have been waiting back in 2002. Ford have won the V8Supercars for the last 3 years. 2003, 2004 (Ford 1-2), 2005 (Ford 1-2-3). And on Adjusted points Lowndes, in a Ford, is leading this year. Unless you are talking about some other sort of racing?

Old 08-08-2006, 10:33 AM   #14
bradcad

by the way didnt mean to upset anyone- just wanted your opinions...

and yes it is nice to see the Fords are competitive
Old 08-08-2006, 10:57 AM   #15
SunDrifter
To shreads you say?!

Sounds like another forum troll to me.

2/10 for effort.
I've owned Holdens and Daewoos, and had plenty of problems with Holdens and none with Daewoos. Of course, the Holden is the more desirable car to own and drive, but based on my experience it is not the higher quality of the two.
Originally Posted by SlickHolden
Weight means nothing to a cars handling...
SunDrifter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 11:03 AM   #16
apolloxbgt
cross breeder

My mum recently did the same thing,test drove a vt berlina,then an au 2 fairmont.Au won hands down,and is now in her garage,and she was leaning toward the vt before she drove one.
Old 08-08-2006, 11:04 AM   #17
bradcad

Originally Posted by SunDrifter
Sounds like another forum troll to me.

2/10 for effort.
WTF are you talking about exactly?

I asked a legitamate question, wanted to see if others felt the same as I get a similar reaction in real life, and I'm a troll. Nice one

Go bugger yourself buddy
Old 08-08-2006, 11:09 AM   #18
PepeLePew
Workshop & Performance

Well as an ex VX owner I can honestly say I dont know where you're coming from.

The VT 6 FEELS torquier off the mark, but i wouldnt rate its chances after that. Its pretty breathless once it up and happening, needs a kick down to get back in its zone. The Ford 6 FEELS less urgent, but theres really nothing in it once the things are moving and I'd suggest there is more available torque on the roll.

Interiors? As above, Berlina interior should compare to the Fairmont interior. They're both plasticky, but the higher in the range they go the less obvious it is....thats life these days.

Ride? Nothing in it. Hard to compare two cars when you dont know where they've been. I drove both when reasonably new and there wasnt squat in it. AU steered more directly, VT had the steering feel of a tank.

I went from VX to BA, but moved up in the interior stakes so cant directly compare. But the VX/VT interior is showing its age comparitively...
Old 08-08-2006, 11:12 AM   #19
pennybrain
Heart of Blue

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=59566
Similar thread but the driver has gone from a VT to an AU.
Old 08-08-2006, 11:14 AM   #20
bradcad

Originally Posted by PepeLePew
Well as an ex VX owner I can honestly say I dont know where you're coming from.

The VT 6 FEELS torquier off the mark, but i wouldnt rate its chances after that. Its pretty breathless once it up and happening, needs a kick down to get back in its zone. The Ford 6 FEELS less urgent, but theres really nothing in it once the things are moving and I'd suggest there is more available torque on the roll.

Interiors? As above, Berlina interior should compare to the Fairmont interior. They're both plasticky, but the higher in the range they go the less obvious it is....thats life these days.

Ride? Nothing in it. Hard to compare two cars when you dont know where they've been. I drove both when reasonably new and there wasnt squat in it. AU steered more directly, VT had the steering feel of a tank.

I went from VX to BA, but moved up in the interior stakes so cant directly compare. But the VX/VT interior is showing its age comparitively...
Yeah that's probably fair enough...I think the ford did steer quicker than the VT.. all thos fluid filled bushes in the Holdens dont help. Didn't really wind the falcons out either.

How do the fords go with an exhaust and intake upgrade?
Old 08-08-2006, 11:17 AM   #21
bradcad

..and diff gears....
Old 08-08-2006, 11:19 AM   #22
Aeron
DJR Fan

I see where you are coming from. I like the VT interior over the AU, i will say that. And if I was buying a bottom-of-the-range AU or VT i'd go for the VT.

Old 08-08-2006, 11:27 AM   #23
plext
Forum Director

It's not so much that I was expecting a performance car, but my VT with 200 000k's and standard pulls harder (and its a lot heavier)- in fact I was happy with my car again after driving the ford.

Just the overall package of the fords isnt there. Like the ute- she just wan't finished I thought.
A 1600 odd KG VT a lot heavier than a BA ute? That must be some stripped down, kevlar special you have at your workplace.

I would also note that a VT is good for about 8.9 seconds 0-100, while a BA ute should get to the same speed in about 8.5.

It would appear that you are allowing bias to interfere with facts.
plext is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 11:33 AM   #24
bradcad

No bias here champ

I would have thought the Berlina (electric windows, 18" steel rims, climate, etc etc) would have weighed more than a ute (alloy wheels, small cab, alloy tray) but hey I didnt look uo the specs

I know of a wagon a mate says is the same- slow off the mark. I dont know quarter times or 0-100 times in comparison, but the falcons just felt slow

as far as bias is concerned the amount of near punchups I got into when I didnt know a throttle body from the spare tyre says I really wish I felt differently
Old 08-08-2006, 11:34 AM   #25

I've said it time and time again, and this'll be the last time!

Stock I6 auto Falcons are sluggish from a standing start compared to a stock V6 auto Commodore. It's all in the gearing.

There is no way in hell when my Falcon was auto it could even come close since I've changed to manual (from a standing-start). Likewise against my friends' VR/VS Commodores. They're really quick (and rough) through first, hit second gear and power seems to drop off. They had the edge when mine was auto, now it's a whole different game.

Then again, who's to say the AU you test drove wasn't a bit of a dud? It'd be interesting to know how you feel after driving a couple more AUs (Series II/III, manuals, Fairmonts/XRs etc.)

But each to their own. The different feel of cars will always suit different tastes - we're just fortunate to have that option and competition.

[And yes, you will get some biassed reviews :P]

Old 08-08-2006, 11:36 AM   #26
bradcad

lol good on you mate

bias has nothing to do with it when my earliest memories were falling asleep to the gentle rumble of the twin 2.5" feeding from the 351 clevo in my old man's XC seabreeze...
Old 08-08-2006, 11:43 AM   #27
SunDrifter
To shreads you say?!

WTF are you talking about exactly?

I asked a legitamate question, wanted to see if others felt the same as I get a similar reaction in real life, and I'm a troll. Nice one

Go bugger yourself buddy
Oh, nice sentiment there, very classy. And you say you're not a troll?

You want a contrasting real life comparison. I drive any of 7 different vy - vz commodores for work. They are all executives with some of the optional extra's included.

They all :
Shudder when breaking
Change gears eratically
shunt in 1st and 2nd gear
have massive body roll for a recent model car
have massive understeer compared to my car
are slower then my car

Funnily enough, my car doesn't have the problems these cars do, but see, i look after my car. And my car is an XR, rather then a bog stock standard job. So judging two different manufactorers cars on a couple of 2nd hand examples is not always going to be the greatest base for comparison.

Is this a fair comparison? No. But it's not untrue, and it holds about as much water as your comparison.

Otherwise, i'm in agreement with PepeLePew above. The commodes feel faster because of the lower gearing, but its pretty much negated in the XR's (moreso in the ute's).

You get 3/10 now for making me reply :
I've owned Holdens and Daewoos, and had plenty of problems with Holdens and none with Daewoos. Of course, the Holden is the more desirable car to own and drive, but based on my experience it is not the higher quality of the two.
Originally Posted by SlickHolden
Weight means nothing to a cars handling...
SunDrifter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 11:51 AM   #28
plext
Forum Director

Then perhaps my choice of word was imprecise. I apologise if so.

My point is that what feels fast and what is measurably fast are two radically different things.

I have no issues with the fact that you prefer your VT to any late model Falcon. That is a matter of taste, for the individual driver to decide. My wife prefers her 2004 1.4 Micra to my Pursuit, but I still think a lot of her.
plext is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 11:59 AM   #29
bradcad

Originally Posted by SunDrifter
Oh, nice sentiment there, very classy. And you say you're not a troll?

You want a contrasting real life comparison. I drive any of 7 different vy - vz commodores for work. They are all executives with some of the optional extra's included.

They all :
Shudder when breaking
Change gears eratically
shunt in 1st and 2nd gear
have massive body roll for a recent model car
have massive understeer compared to my car
are slower then my car

Funnily enough, my car doesn't have the problems these cars do, but see, i look after my car. So judging two different manufactorers cars on a couple of 2nd hand examples is not always going to be the greatest base for comparison.

Is this a fair comparison? No. But it's not untrue, and it holds about as much water as your comparison.

Otherwise, i'm in agreement with PepeLePew above. The commodes feel faster because of the lower gearing, but its pretty much negated in the XR's (moreso in the ute's).

You get 3/10 now for making me reply :
Sorry sundrifter, but dont insult someone making an independant judgement, then asking for other's opinions and respecting them.

Now, as far as you're saying that's fine.

I am asking because I still have a soft spot for the oval badge, and I wanted to hear peoples good stories about why they like their falcon, or why they might agree with me or why they dont give a toss. I didnt say the new fords were a piece of ****.

All I said was I felt the ones I had driven weren't as good as the Holdens. Simply bad examples? I'm happy to cop that. In fact I'd prefer to hear that.

Now, not a fruitless excercise- I've already learned the falcons are geared higher, and interior wise you really ought to look at the berlina/ calais alongside the fairmont
Old 08-08-2006, 12:10 PM   #30

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

My BA mark II 4.0 XLS was a Cult Car, much much quicker then any stock v6 holden I have driven, as for my BA XR6 it was also a very very quick car with only intake mods.

VT Berlina - 18 inch steal wheels? They come with 15 inch alloys lol.

VTs were crap to drive, very floating and disgraceful trim in them. The AUs werent the best car but yet again my AUIII XR6 would easily keep a stock VT in its place, as for build quality I would still take the AUIII over a VT - VZ Commodore, atleast it never sounded like the motor was going to vibrate itself off the engine mounts when you gave it a bagfull.
2024.50 Mustang Darkhorse 6M Blue Ember + Appearance pack ETA Jan 25.