Old 09-10-2006, 12:47 AM   #1
paddle

Default Are you sick of Holden vs Ford?

Just surfing the net with my mate who is a Holden boy,loves his VK to death,just came across this thread on one of his regular sites,also where I found out about the unfortunate death of Mark Porter which is very,very sad.
http://forums.justcommodores.com.au/...ad.php?t=41569
Would like your views on this as I hate to say it I tend to agree with what they say,It's us (HOLDEN/FORD) against the ricers.

paddle is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 12:50 AM   #2
Des
V8 Rock'n'Roll....

Location: You got me Rootin' like a Hog, Barkin' like a Dog, Climbing trees and Jumping logs....

Um....No....No, I'm not sick of it.

208.8 rwkw stock, update soon

20x8.5 fr 20x10 rr
Rumble thanks to:
Sureflo Exhaust - Stainless Cat's & 3.5in single catback system

"Tell 'em the guy with the Blue Mohawk sent Ya"
Des is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 12:51 AM   #3
Kenster

once Ford enter the drift completiton i think its going to be Nissan vs Ford and the tradtional Ford vs Holden would still go on, ah well it just a friendly debat no harm in it
Kenster is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 12:55 AM   #4

I think the rivalry is important. I rather enjoy it. But it also depends on what level it operates on.

If it's seen as a bit of fun, a bit of lightweight ribbing and such, I think it's great.

It's when it becomes personal is when problems start.

I think that while some of us may totally hate Holdens (which I don't btw), we also respect the cars. Sure, we may not like the look of them as much as Fords, but they still can claim credibility in their success in the V8 Supers.

So as long as it's a healthy rivalry where respect is given, I think it's a good thing.

Oh, and death to ricers!
Old 09-10-2006, 12:55 AM   #5
cupic
Nikon

Hell NO I like the fight between FORD V/S HOLDEN
fuel for the fire
cupic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 12:58 AM   #6

....never! All in good fun...............I think?

Old 09-10-2006, 01:00 AM   #7
Full Spectrum
Only a matter of time.

All you ford guys are cactus sitters:P

I don't remember much of it when i was younger, As i have got older it's a touch overboard at times. But the competitiveness is needed or they wont test each other to there limits which means we don't get better for same price. A good fight always attracts a crowd
Old 09-10-2006, 01:06 AM   #8

Has been around for along as I have been interested.......and that going back to the twin XC coupes being the oldest races I can remember having 'heated' discussions about.

Because of the competivness, Fords & Holdens will always be trying to out score each other which means its good!!!!!

Old 09-10-2006, 01:06 AM   #9

no...
Old 09-10-2006, 01:13 AM   #10

Yes ....Very.

New enemies now
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 01:24 AM   #11
Kenster

well Holden vs Ford is like Melbourne vs Sydney throught centuries why break it plus its bring great fun towards both side and everyone could have a chat about or laugh about it
Kenster is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 04:28 AM   #12
normxb

Location: Sitting on the Dunny , Contemplating "What to do Next".

As long as it's "tongue in cheek" between mates , fine , where everyone comes out smiling : but if it becomes serious Naaaaaaa !!!!

When I was 17-18 , 3-4 carloads of us used to go to the races , 1/2 Ford guys , 1/2 Holden guys , EXCEPT one mate , he loved the Chargers , was quite fun if a Ford or Holden was in front , plenty of "Booing & Hissing" each way , but if a Charger was in front , boy that guy copped it .....from both sides .

When the races were over and walking back to the carpark, we'd just have a good laugh & respect the others opinion . (cause we had to get home somehow :evil_laug )

Ricers ? ? another story , but still respect. I love cars ,but not worth fighting over.

Keeping FORDS in the family

(Embarressment :yeees: , Son now has a "Camira" : )
"Look Right , Look Left , Look Right , BEFORE crossing Roads"
normxb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 08:42 AM   #13

Ford V's holden willbe around until one brand closes.

It's all good as long it's not taken too serious.

I hear alot of kids say "Ford's suck"
I then ask "Why"
Then they say, "because it's a Ford"

Ha ha ha, kids they have no idea.
Old 09-10-2006, 09:27 AM   #14
Perun
SSith Lord

I am not getting sick of the rivalry, as a matter of fact, I love it! What I AM getting sick of are the people who can't admit defeat at times and who will bag the product only becuase it wears the wrong badge. Sometimes, you have to admit defeat and wait for the time when you can come back with a vengeance. Like Bathurst yesterday!

My prediction on the rivalry is that the camps will change. Once our numbers start to dwindle (lets face it, Holden and Ford sales are sliding) and we're outnumbered by the import brigade, we'll join forces and become almost one group. Very much what happened with hot rodders and street machiners some years ago.

Originally Posted by SlickHolden
All you ford guys are cactus sitters:P
What the hell's a cactus sitter mate?
Perun is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 09:33 AM   #15
red_hotxr6

No, it just goes to show ford,s superiority.Go FORD.
red_hotxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 10:03 AM   #16
Bud Bud

Originally Posted by Kenter
well Holden vs Ford is like Melbourne vs Sydney throught centuries why break it plus its bring great fun towards both side and everyone could have a chat about or laugh about it
And like Essendon vs Collingwood, but if we go to war, then we are all Australians (hopefully).

But at the end of the day good competition is healthy competition and is good for the development of products and programs that ultimately benefit the punter in the street.

Most people here can steer their way through the crap to make good and informative observations about both camps, and if they don't, are usually singled out any way.

And don't think for one moment that this rivalry between Ford and Holden was personally lost on Polities and now with Gorman or even Mooney for that matter.

It's all good!
Bud Bud is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 10:38 AM   #17
noosacuda

When will they let the C300 play? Go Mopar!
noosacuda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 11:00 AM   #18
Grechie

as the gusy on just commo's said, we should join forces n crush the ricers!!!
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 - 255/35/19 - 275/35/19
Shockworks Coilovers
PITLANE AUTOMOTIVE & PERFORMANCE
Grechie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 11:04 AM   #19
Ryan

Hey that's my thread, on JC. :P

Anyway, like I said on there, I don't mind it, in a well natured way. It's just when it gets taken, to a personal level.

Both sides are equally at fault, when it comes to this.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 11:05 AM   #20

ford & subaru ftw

Old 09-10-2006, 11:17 AM   #21
Genghis
It's Clobberin' Time!

I like the tribal side of it all, but it can get petty and boring at times.

I think the common enemy is the 'Ricer' without sounding derogatory.

The Aussie V8 and Six is and should be held dear to our hearts and the trend for Fast and Furious styled cars should be jumped on from a great height by a combined Ford/Holden alliance.

I love the Ford brand, but I respect the GMH one also.

Former Fords:
2003 Blood Orange BA XR8
1993 Winter White XG S Ute
Genghis is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 11:23 AM   #22

I think its quite healthy but as was said before, only to a certain point until it becomes a personal attack.
It keeps the manufacturers on toe too !!!
Old 09-10-2006, 11:55 AM   #23
Full Spectrum
Only a matter of time.

Originally Posted by turbo_nick
What the hell's a cactus sitter mate?
You sit on a cactus what do you get? A pain in the rear
Old 09-10-2006, 12:16 PM   #24
Sapper
Back to the AU

The rivalry is good fun but to be honest, i think its a bit more complex than just holden vs ford. In particular, the XR6 Turbo has really shaken things up.

From my experience, most of the die hard holden fans who say "fords are crap cause they're fords..." have never driven a ford, and vice versa. For the record, i'm a convert from the red lion and i doubt i'll ever go back. Thats not because i hate holdens, its because i love sixes and i can't see holden making a better six than ford any time soon.

And for the record, i drove a VX SS before i bought the ST.
Old 09-10-2006, 12:27 PM   #25
RavenLS1

Are you sick of Holden vs Ford?
no!!!
Old 09-10-2006, 12:33 PM   #26
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

I have always been a Ford man,It was Alan Moffatt and Dick johnston that stired my interest in cars,but my biggest love is V8 and aussie muscle cars,I am more new v's old school biased you could say.
My ford loyalty comes from one thing only,the big port cleveland engine,my favourite car of all time is the XA falcon hardtop,suprisingly for a Ford die hard my second favourite car is the LX torana hatchback,these two cars have certian similarities and are the tuffest cars out,along with the R/T chargers..
The rivalry is what makes it,I have mates that own all brands,and there isnt anything much more fun than match racing each other,and the wisecracks that follow..
nugget378 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 01:38 PM   #27
Jock260
Cast Iron fan

yep i rekon its holden and ford vs ricers, two great aussie mucle cars
Old 09-10-2006, 02:30 PM   #28
Bud Bud

Originally Posted by nugget378
I have always been a Ford man,It was Alan Moffatt and Dick johnston that stired my interest in cars,but my biggest love is V8 and aussie muscle cars,I am more new v's old school biased you could say.
My ford loyalty comes from one thing only,the big port cleveland engine,my favourite car of all time is the XA falcon hardtop,suprisingly for a Ford die hard my second favourite car is the LX torana hatchback,these two cars have certian similarities and are the tuffest cars out,along with the R/T chargers..
The rivalry is what makes it,I have mates that own all brands,and there isnt anything much more fun than match racing each other,and the wisecracks that follow..
It is interesting to see that you refer to your interest in V8 muscle cars is more new school biased as opposed to old school but still list all the old school cars and drivers! And I agree with you though, while the 2 door Falcon was "killa” in its day, the V8 Toranas were also the business particularly the A9X.

It would have been great to see what straight line speed was available to Chrysler through the Charger if they weren't so unreliable through lack of funds.

I have spoken to some American friends about this rivalry that we have in this Country in the past and they don’t understand it either. They tend to appreciate muscle cars for what they are rather than by who made them.
Bud Bud is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 02:46 PM   #29

I am over the whole Holden V. Ford thing on a personal level, ie. "I like Ford", "Your an idiot then" stuff, (which I ahev been known to say now and again against Holden players), but in the battle between Holden and Ford as a company, I like the rivalry as it creates better cars, and they need each other. On the Ford/Holden V. Ricers thing, Hell yeah, rice sucks, lol. "The only rice I eat is while driving my car".
Old 09-10-2006, 03:07 PM   #30
BAWagonWheels

ford vs holden... a trademark of this country, never can get rid of it.
qld vs nsw... a trademark of this country, never can get rid of it.
sydney vs melbourne... a trademark of this country, never can get rid of it.

you get the point... dig it!!!
BAWagonWheels is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post