Old 14-11-2005, 01:37 PM   #1
KEV EB XR8
XR8 v Lee. love you Lee

Default little mistakes, great gains.

I was washing the pod filter yesterday arvo, had put it back in skrewed up but forgot to clip it back on again. I didnt think about it and took her for a run to deliver a quote this morning, and "WOW" forgot all about not clipping it up, the car seemed to have a new lease of life, exhaust note sounds different, she just got up and screamed.
Ive tried a couple different filters ant intakes and even insulated the box and they all seemed to make minute differences , but virtually just the pod drawing in all the air it wanted made heaps of difference

I know some people have just pods and nothing else but is it legal to drive around like this, this is the first time my car has reached the 5thou redline and seemed to wanna keep going only i chickened out and changed. :

As original from showroom floor with all options
Additions - Pacemakers turbo400 3" exhaust
Custom cai prototype No 4
Stage 1 shift kit with neck brace
Still to come DIVORCE
KEV EB XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2005, 02:00 PM   #2

im not sure what you mean
are you saying you just had the pod on the throttle body pipe unexposed....or you had no filter at all
Old 14-11-2005, 02:12 PM   #3
KEV EB XR8
XR8 v Lee. love you Lee

Originally Posted by gozza
im not sure what you mean
are you saying you just had the pod on the throttle body pipe unexposed....or you had no filter at all

Just unexposed but connected...........

Still to come DIVORCE
Old 14-11-2005, 02:17 PM   #4

ahhh thats how i had mine for ages
i modded the air box to sheild it and have a bit of piping in the orignal hole droppin down into the wheel guard

mine felt like slug fully exposed

guess your lucky....so you think its better than other setups youve tried..??
Old 14-11-2005, 02:18 PM   #5
Stampy

Im in Qld and my focus has roadworthy with the K & N Typhoon pod filter

http://www.kandn.com.au/hpk.php
Old 14-11-2005, 02:21 PM   #6
BlackLS

Originally Posted by KEV EB XR8
I was washing the pod filter yesterday arvo, had put it back in skrewed up but forgot to clip it back on again. I didnt think about it and took her for a run to deliver a quote this morning, and "WOW" forgot all about not clipping it up, the car seemed to have a new lease of life, exhaust note sounds different, she just got up and screamed.
Ive tried a couple different filters ant intakes and even insulated the box and they all seemed to make minute differences , but virtually just the pod drawing in all the air it wanted made heaps of difference

I know some people have just pods and nothing else but is it legal to drive around like this, this is the first time my car has reached the 5thou redline and seemed to wanna keep going only i chickened out and changed. :

You don't think the gains came from the cleaning of the filter?
Old 14-11-2005, 02:25 PM   #7
KEV EB XR8
XR8 v Lee. love you Lee

Mine is a k&n filter and it had the aluminium pipe to the maf, it seemed to get too hot so i took it off (back to original). and then got the big mouth intake from an el. all in the box. But it just seems so much stronger without it after all the money on the other stuff

Still to come DIVORCE
Old 14-11-2005, 02:27 PM   #8
KEV EB XR8
XR8 v Lee. love you Lee

Originally Posted by ArgonEF
You don't think the gains came from the cleaning of the filter?
May be, but i clean it often as i have a 200mtr dirt drivway, hasnt been this good before.

Still to come DIVORCE
Old 14-11-2005, 02:40 PM   #9
Hardtopxb
Once PHASED.

Well of coarse its going to go better, virtually unrestricted airflow. also virtually no filtration,in no time engine wear big time....
Old 14-11-2005, 02:47 PM   #10
KEV EB XR8
XR8 v Lee. love you Lee

Originally Posted by Hardtopxb
Well of coarse its going to go better, virtually unrestricted airflow. also virtually no filtration,in no time engine wear big time....
Not sure if you misunderstood , cause the filter is still on. but maybe your saying its not enough on its own ?

Still to come DIVORCE
Old 14-11-2005, 03:00 PM   #11
Hardtopxb
Once PHASED.

Sorry mate, thought you meant not sealed.if its sealed no problems at all...
Old 15-11-2005, 11:13 AM   #12
cogdoc

A bare pod in the engine bay will give the least restriction, BUT will also be able to draw in hot engine bay air in start stop traffic. Great for induction roar, and for the highway, but I think you'll find increased fuel consumption and less grunt down low in traffic. The ultimate seems to be as big an insulated box as possible with large air feed from the front of the car, preferably in a high pressure area such as the front bumper area.