You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 28-07-2023, 03:36 PM   #5551

Default Re: What made you feel good today?

Waking up for first morning in Milano Italy, pulling back the hotel room curtains to see the Italian Alps in the distance.
Old 28-07-2023, 05:26 PM   #5552
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
Alison Rose, NatWest Bank CEO resigns in disgrace after her vindictive actions against customers were revealed.

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=%22alison+...r=news&ia=news
Another woke idiot gone! Peter Flavel resigns.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/b...-b2382793.html

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2023, 10:23 PM   #5553

I have had a few days with the new tyres on and they are awesome. So much more grip and less steering angle needed. Goes good with the DBA T2s and Hawk brake pads

Keen to see how they go in the wet.
Old 29-07-2023, 08:48 PM   #5554

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

My “rushed refresh” Alfa left at dusk yesterday, all boxes ticked. Two weeks of mayhem, picking up the slack of nine months doing nothing to it. Next job is already in the service bay (AKA parked out front).
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2023, 05:28 PM   #5555

My “rushed refresh” Alfa left at dusk yesterday, all boxes ticked. Two weeks of mayhem, picking up the slack of nine months doing nothing to it. Next job is already in the service bay (AKA parked out front).
Busy,busy.
Old 03-08-2023, 10:33 PM   #5556

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Another bunch of parts off the spare room’s floor and onto a car. #decluttering
Old 04-08-2023, 09:31 AM   #5557
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

Formally own my XR8 as of yesterday. Been on lease since I got it way back when. Payout was crazy: $7.5k! Mad not to but it out, even if you weren't going to keep it given you could get $50-55k for it, without batting an eyelid.

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-08-2023, 09:41 PM   #5558

Slept nine hours last night, it was great. Beats some of the sub-five hour efforts earlier in the week.
Old 06-08-2023, 06:47 PM   #5559
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Shane Drumgold has resigned in disgrace after it was revealed that he attempted to pervert the course of justice in the Bruce Lehrmann case.

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides

Last edited by Syndrome; 06-08-2023 at 07:16 PM.
Old 06-08-2023, 07:03 PM   #5560

I was acquainted with his brother, M. Both straight talkers from true “fibro” roots. Shame that mature age education didn’t lead to a better outcome long term.
Old 06-08-2023, 07:26 PM   #5561
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Where did they go wrong?

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 06-08-2023, 07:51 PM   #5562
Tonz

smell of $$$$$
Old 06-08-2023, 10:46 PM   #5563
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Sweden eliminated USA

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 07-08-2023, 10:25 AM   #5564

Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
Where did they go wrong?
I suspect SD was backed into a corner by inferences that it would be bad for his career if he didn’t hold the line he initially did. Then when it fell apart, the people pushing him shrank into the shadows once more. I hope he can reestablish his vocation away from the Canberra Bubble.

MD had a technical career, his first place was a fibro in Marayong and he (gasp!) happily had housemates to help him service the mortgage. As his career progressed, I believe he bought more property with a nose for deals and is probably on the cusp of a comfortable retirement. In the late ‘90s / early 2000s he had a white XP Deluxe hardtop with 289/C4 - how I knew of them.
Old 08-08-2023, 03:53 AM   #5565

Travelling through the Swiss Alps o the Bernina Express.
Just stunning.
Old 08-08-2023, 11:37 PM   #5566

Ten days later, the car has done over 1000km, is averaging 7,7/100 two up plus some junk and using (extrapolated) one litre of oil per 2000km. I’m happy with those figures given the CF3 Alfa engines are notorious for oil burning and this one has led a hard life in the past. Plus the Selespeed isn’t really geared for open roads so it’s going to use more fuel prior to 5th gear coming in. Really impressed with how much deposit the Nulon Pro-Strength engine oil flush removed at the last change - dipstick colour is still fresh.
Old 08-08-2023, 11:46 PM   #5567
.:4:.
Kicking back

Every week when i go for dinner with my kid i always give him a couple coins for the chocolate claw machine. Its more for the sport, but he is pretty good at it. Tonights haul was 17.
Last time the machine had been loaded up with lolly pops. For some reason the claw that is assumed to be rigged would pick them up even by the sticks. So last time he ended up with 9 chocolates and a comical 25 lolly pops. At the time he asked me what is he supposed to do with 25 lolly pops. My response was 'thats a you problem bud'. Well he tells me tonight he took them all to school and gave them to friends and it made him quite popular. I find that funny.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2023, 03:09 PM   #5568

Finished this little Beechworth gateway today.

Geeze all the stuffing around trying to adapt modern saddle hinges with an old Sunshine gate fittings was a bear.

I thought I felt at home here, the locals tells me it was the original towns bakery.

Old 09-08-2023, 09:25 PM   #5569
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Anheuser-Busch selling parts of their business at fire sale prices in a desperate attempt to raise cash.

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 10-08-2023, 01:15 AM   #5570
randel

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
Finished this little Beechworth gateway today.

Geeze all the stuffing around trying to adapt modern saddle hinges with an old Sunshine gate fittings was a bear.

I thought I felt at home here, the locals tells me it was the original towns bakery.

RW, that is such a skill/talent/art. Love your work.

Toys - 351 XY Falcon and FG GT
randel is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2023, 12:51 PM   #5571

Originally Posted by randel View Post
RW, that is such a skill/talent/art. Love your work.
Thanks randel.

Had a lovely brekky in town this morn at a new cafe, "V's". Enjoyed the beaut BLT, partner loves the fritters, of course she's already been during the week.

Old 10-08-2023, 01:01 PM   #5572
Tassie f100

Geez Rok.Between checking Nth East Vic bakeries and looking for older cars I am surprised you get time to get any work done LOL
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2023, 01:07 PM   #5573

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Geez Rok.Between checking Nth East Vic bakeries and looking for older cars I am surprised you get time to get any work done LOL
Always been my philosophy........... work to live not live to work.

One job a month is all I require now.

Old 11-08-2023, 12:35 AM   #5574
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

FFA Cup Round of 32

Melbourne Knights 4 - Lions FC 1

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 11-08-2023, 10:35 PM   #5575

I finally got back on the "tools" this week actually coding instead of dealing with all this management bull**** achieving nothing

Makes the week go a lot quicker
Old 14-08-2023, 07:36 AM   #5576

Finally got home last night from nearly 3 weeks in Italy.
Buggered.
Old 14-08-2023, 07:59 AM   #5577

It feels like you never left the forum. Hope you returned to find family well.
Old 14-08-2023, 09:06 AM   #5578
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

My 'little' girl turned 18 yesterday. She went to Melbs on Saturday to head out to the night clubs from midnight!

Went out after tea last night to the pokies and I bought her my first legal drink. Feels weird! Driving test on Tuesday, assuming she gets it, that'll feel weird that she's driving herself around!

I'm feeling old

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 14-08-2023, 04:41 PM   #5579
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Originally Posted by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 View Post
My 'little' girl turned 18 yesterday. She went to Melbs on Saturday to head out to the night clubs from midnight!

Went out after tea last night to the pokies and I bought her my first legal drink. Feels weird! Driving test on Tuesday, assuming she gets it, that'll feel weird that she's driving herself around!

I'm feeling old
Look out, the XR8 will be on the road a lot more now. "Daaaaaad, can I borrow the car?"
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2023, 06:34 PM   #5580
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Originally Posted by DFB FGXR6 View Post
Look out, the XR8 will be on the road a lot more now. "Daaaaaad, can I borrow the car?"
And she drives it great, too!!

Very sheepish the first time, tho.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~