You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 22-06-2016, 09:13 PM   #1
fordomatic

Default 55" Hisence TV

So my Samsung 50" plasma packed it in after many years of good service. I want a 55" and my budget is $1,000. I don't need bells and whistles and all this fancy 4k stuff, i just need a TV to watch Netflix on, that's all we use our TV for. The salesman drive me crazy trying to flog me $4,000 TV's that have way too much tech for what i need.

I can get a non smart 50" Samsung for $700 or a 55" Hisence for $900ish. The Hisence have the three year warranty and from what i've read are a great option.

Thoughts?
fordomatic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2016, 09:33 PM   #2
arronm
BA/F6 BF/F6 SSV/R TTG

Default Re: 55" Hisence TV

I have a hisense 55 in the bedroom and a 50 inch in the spa room. Both are sweet.

Nizpro equipped and Tuned by the BEST in the west
Xtreme Ford Tuning

479RwKw Fuel limited, more pumps and power too come.

F6#0507 & #0639 Pro racer and Tech expert

NIZPRO modifying falcons like Premcar can only dream of , see VIDEO below.
https://youtu.be/oa4IfguGQ-A
arronm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2016, 09:35 PM   #3
bernbo

The good guys have a jvc 55inch fhd smart tv for 995.
bernbo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2016, 09:38 PM   #4
BOSS302

Had a hisense for approx 3yrs. Was hesitant at first but it's proven perfect. Never had an issue.
Got my folks one too and same experience for them.
2008 BF MKII 6spm GT Cobra - Build #363
...Hurricane Ceramic Coated Stepped Headers; Venom 200cpsi Cats; HiTech 'Bionic' Stainless Steel Catback System; Herrod Cams;
Herrod CAI; Herrod Oil Breathers; Melling Oil Pump; PowerBond 25% Under Drives; Eaton TrueTrac; Braided BrakeLines All Round; Shockworks CoilOvers...
- Herrod Motorsport Tuned -
BOSS302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2016, 09:53 PM   #5
fordomatic

Thanks guys,

Looking at this one now https://www.thegoodguys.com.au/hisen...rt-tv-58k322uw

Think i will take the plunge, just worried it's too big haha
Old 22-06-2016, 09:53 PM   #6
rst2000

My BL has the 55" Hisense and has had trouble from day 1 with the Lip Sync, he has to adjust it every time he watches any live TV...
rst2000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2016, 09:59 PM   #7
fordomatic

Originally Posted by rst2000 View Post
My BL has the 55" Hisense and has had trouble from day 1 with the Lip Sync, he has to adjust it every time he watches any live TV...
I'll only be watching Netflix, hardly ever watch normal TV
Old 22-06-2016, 10:01 PM   #8
Trump
bitch lasagne

Aldi have a 65" 4K smart TV coming up for $1199:

http://www.bauhn.com.au/product-list...d-led-smart-tv

I run two of the Bauhn TV's and they have been flawless.

Scaled Business Solutions
For Your Small Business IT Needs
Trump is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2016, 10:05 PM   #9
fordomatic

Originally Posted by Loud_Noises View Post

I'm already nervous about thinking of getting a 58". We only view the TV from about 3 metres.
Old 22-06-2016, 10:08 PM   #10
Trump
bitch lasagne

I'm currently watching on the 58" and it's about 3.5m away from the couch and its fine.

Old 22-06-2016, 10:34 PM   #11
sprintman1

Originally Posted by fordomatic View Post
So my Samsung 50" plasma packed it in after many years of good service. I want a 55" and my budget is $1,000. I don't need bells and whistles and all this fancy 4k stuff, i just need a TV to watch Netflix on, that's all we use our TV for. The salesman drive me crazy trying to flog me $4,000 TV's that have way too much tech for what i need.

I can get a non smart 50" Samsung for $700 or a 55" Hisence for $900ish. The Hisence have the three year warranty and from what i've read are a great option.

Thoughts?
Costco. Best range and prices and more importantly the best return policy in retail period!
sprintman1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2016, 10:56 PM   #12
Junkyard-Dog
*barks incessantly

I'll go against the grain. Buy a Chinese TV.

Unless you're 100% into having accurate colour, etc. You can get a great TV for a great price. 1 year ago I paid $400 for a new 48" 1920x1080 TV. I have used it for online gaming and it's not bad. Nobody will know the difference in average viewing, it will still look great watching HD films.
Junkyard-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2016, 11:04 PM   #13
fordomatic

Originally Posted by sprintman1 View Post
Costco. Best range and prices and more importantly the best return policy in retail period!
Had a look at Costco today mate, their prices aren't that good and you can't bargain with them.
Old 22-06-2016, 11:13 PM   #14

wow that is cheap! I thought I did alright getting my cheap TCL 4K 65" for $2500 last month. I think I will buy one of those for the bar. On TCL. I know its a non-premium brand but my last TV was TCL and is still going strong 10yrs later. I couldn't be happier with the new one too.
Old 23-06-2016, 08:01 AM   #15
sprintman1

Had a look at Costco today mate, their prices aren't that good and you can't bargain with them.
You're l forgetting the return policy. Use it for 12-18 mths say and return it, get whatever is the newest technology. Try that anywhere else!
Old 23-06-2016, 10:56 AM   #16
Grunter
Not of the Sooty variety!

Worth seeing if you can view varying types of content on any TV in store you may be looking at. Take along your own DVD/Blu-Ray/4k content that you're familiar with and also ask to test various FTA channels you may watch (SD & HD).

I'm no TV guru, but have found its very worth testing the TV's upscaling ability with FTA/DVD/Blu-Ray on any 4k TV. Depending on the panel and software behind it, can be the difference between up-scaled content looking great to very unwatchable.

The Toy: 2002 AUIII TS50
The Daily and Tow Vehicle: 2016 VW Amarok
Grunter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2016, 12:22 PM   #17

I need two of these in 3-4 months and was thinking - wow, better jump on that now.

By the time I want to buy they will probably be under a grand and you could get the 70" for that price.

At this time, seems that 65" screens are the best buying. Can be had for under a grand. As soon as you go to 70" the price jumps big time.

Last edited by Yellow_Festiva; 23-06-2016 at 12:41 PM.
Old 23-06-2016, 12:29 PM   #18
adumb
FG G6ET

Try and find a model with a 200hz refresh rates. I honestly think I makes the picture visibly smoother (and better). I have a 6 year old Sony 47" FHD 200hz and the picture holds up the the 1 year old 60" LG UHD 200hz.
Old 23-06-2016, 01:01 PM   #19
arronm
BA/F6 BF/F6 SSV/R TTG

There are only a few screen manufactures of screens. The premium brands have better processors and up scaling for 4 k. My main TV is Sony 75 inch 4K.

It really depends on what quality of picture you are looking for. I am quite fussy so it's 4K for my 2 main TVs. But the other 4 tvs in the house are only FHD.

Xtreme Ford Tuning

Old 23-06-2016, 04:00 PM   #20
olfella
Cranky old bastard

Originally Posted by sprintman1 View Post
You're l forgetting the return policy. Use it for 12-18 mths say and return it, get whatever is the newest technology. Try that anywhere else!
I tried looking that policy up but cannot find it. Can you tell me how it works?
olfella is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2016, 04:30 PM   #21
Trump
bitch lasagne

Maybe I'm alone with this thought but there is no way I could justify spending much more than $1000 on a TV. The content isn't worth the extra spend, regardless if its FTA, pay-TV or Bluray.

Old 23-06-2016, 05:35 PM   #22
arronm
BA/F6 BF/F6 SSV/R TTG

Probably don't want to know how much I have spent in TVs. Be able to buy a new car

Xtreme Ford Tuning

Old 23-06-2016, 07:57 PM   #23
sprintman1

Originally Posted by olfella View Post
I tried looking that policy up but cannot find it. Can you tell me how it works?
You can return anything, anytime, no receipt, no questions asked, funds credited. It is the reason to buy from Costco yet very few know or understand it. For instance wife bought 3 pairs Levi's, slightly too large, hot washed, super hot dryer and still not shrunk, returned and credited. I returned one of those LED neon writing screens after 9 mths, too hard for daughter to clean, credited. Try that with any other retailer period!
Old 23-06-2016, 11:25 PM   #24
In Focus

Originally Posted by arronm View Post
There are only a few screen manufactures of screens. The premium brands have better processors and up scaling for 4 k. My main TV is Sony 75 inch 4K.

It really depends on what quality of picture you are looking for. I am quite fussy so it's 4K for my 2 main TVs. But the other 4 tvs in the house are only FHD.
Out of curiosity, what 4K content are you watching?

Hers: 2020 Ford Puma JK: 1.0 Ecoboost 3-cylinder, 7-speed DCT in Frozen White.
In Focus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2016, 12:49 AM   #25
arronm
BA/F6 BF/F6 SSV/R TTG

Netflix

Xtreme Ford Tuning

Old 24-06-2016, 01:55 AM   #26

Originally Posted by In Focus View Post
Out of curiosity, what 4K content are you watching?
netflix does have some 4k content ........ but out of all the 4k movies though , if you where a fussy bastard like me that likes sci fi and action and no girly stuff imo i`d say its somewhat limited .
Old 24-06-2016, 02:13 AM   #27

Thoughts?
While your talking TV`s , a while ago our hyundai 42" after a very good service life....probably 10 years + decided to cark it , for its replacement we bought a sony smart telly, 55 incher with all the bells and whistles, and its quite good , but one thing that still ****** me off ,

And its a thing you find on many tellys , it is remote controls that work at snails pace ,
your watching a movie and its cuts to commercial that is never louder than x amount of decibels according to the studio (BS ) ........ or an action movie that has suddenly gone up loud enough to wake the family or the neighbors next door ................... you reach for the remote and hit the volume control to turn the din down and it has the response a snail on mandrax ..... and you watch the huge sound bar graph thing that takes up half the screen and moves one dot at a time for gods sake !!!!!
I might add if you go the emergency route and hit the mute button , it mutes fine , but while its muted on the nearly $ 2k tv you still cant turn volume down while its in mute mode (ffs )................... so you then have to take it out of mute mode and turn the volume down hoping that when you remove it from mute mode the excessive sound has gone down enough so it doesnt wake every one in the house .
the old hyundai remote worked with common sense like a beauty , you could turn it down in mute mode .
Its only a small pet peeve , but surely a big company with street cred could get it right , so all im saying is any tv you buy you should check that the remote works up to scratch (i did not ) ,
paying lots of good money is no guarantee you will be happy.
Old 24-06-2016, 07:25 AM   #28

I have a faultless 50" LG currently and I have been looking to upgrade.
Looking at Samsung 65" but the price is way out of my budget. Non-Curved UHD is still about $3500!

Closest to my budget is a 55" UHD for $1698. Whilst it is UHD it isn't much bigger than the 50" I have now.

Soniq do a 65" for $1298!!

Who would have thought it would be tough to by a TV?
Old 24-06-2016, 09:20 AM   #29

Originally Posted by mik View Post

And its a thing you find on many tellys , it is remote controls that work at snails pace ,
your watching a movie and its cuts to commercial that is never louder than x amount of decibels according to the studio (BS ) ........ or an action movie that has suddenly gone up loud enough to wake the family or the neighbors next door ................... you reach for the remote and hit the volume control to turn the din down and it has the response a snail on mandrax ..... and you watch the huge sound bar graph thing that takes up half the screen and moves one dot at a time for gods sake !!!!!
I have seen this with many new TV's - volume that is 5% more louder at number 50 than it is on number 25 of the bar...

Is this because the built in speakers are rubbish and they assume you will have it hooked up to an amp??

I'm using an older Samsung TV and the base of the remote is bloody curved! Why is this annoying? because if it's sitting on the table in front of me and I only have 1 hand free I can't use it as it just rocks to the right or left and the button won't depress. You need to physically hold it in your hand to use it..

Yeah... I know.... 'First world problems'.....

Old 24-06-2016, 09:22 AM   #30

Originally Posted by LTDHO View Post
I have a faultless 50" LG currently and I have been looking to upgrade.
Looking at Samsung 65" but the price is way out of my budget. Non-Curved UHD is still about $3500!

Closest to my budget is a 55" UHD for $1698. Whilst it is UHD it isn't much bigger than the 50" I have now.

Soniq do a 65" for $1298!!

Who would have thought it would be tough to by a TV?
Or this one for just under $1k...

https://www.jbhifi.com.au/tv-home-en...lcd-tv/887416/

Ok, I see, the difference is the UHD bit.