You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 07-12-2013, 09:10 PM   #1
Fairlane63
Fairlane

Default AU Boot strut mount broken. how to fix?

Hi all,

I went to change my boot struts in the Fairlane and the ball mount snapped of from corrosion.
I have a new ball mount but now I cant remove the old one because it just spins when I try to remove it. (rusted to the nut)

anyone know how to sort this?

Thanks,

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Fairlane63 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2013, 12:28 AM   #2
mif73
CNC fixer guy

Default Re: AU Boot strut mount broken. how to fix?

Might have to drill it out while someone holds the ball mount with pliers.
Weekend Toy: S1 AU Fairlane V8 with LTD bits, Tickford 17" wheels, front and rear chin spoilers, series 2 front brake conversion with Super pro bushes, Pacemaker headers, rear muffler removed, Kings/Pedders lowered suspension, Koni adj rears, painted headlight bezels, HR 2300kg hitch, 2 stage shift kit, trans cooler, reverse cam and media player.

Wife unit's : 2010 update FG XR6, reverse cam, HR 2300kg Hitch, German Maestro speakers, parcel shelf sub, trimmed mudflaps, batman stickers.
mif73 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2013, 09:00 AM   #3
Fairlane63
Fairlane

yes I had this in mind but installing the new one will be a challenge

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Old 08-12-2013, 09:39 AM   #4
mif73
CNC fixer guy

Can you attach a pic or 2?
Weekend Toy: S1 AU Fairlane V8 with LTD bits, Tickford 17" wheels, front and rear chin spoilers, series 2 front brake conversion with Super pro bushes, Pacemaker headers, rear muffler removed, Kings/Pedders lowered suspension, Koni adj rears, painted headlight bezels, HR 2300kg hitch, 2 stage shift kit, trans cooler, reverse cam and media player.

Wife unit's : 2010 update FG XR6, reverse cam, HR 2300kg Hitch, German Maestro speakers, parcel shelf sub, trimmed mudflaps, batman stickers.
Old 08-12-2013, 10:53 AM   #5
Fairlane63
Fairlane

Originally Posted by mif73 View Post
Can you attach a pic or 2?

I drilled an inspection hole to see what was happening at the nut end.

Trying to upload pictures but not letting me. says upload failed.

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD

Last edited by Fairlane63; 13-04-2016 at 08:27 PM.
Old 08-12-2013, 11:40 AM   #6
peterljohnson55

You will probably looking at a clean up of parent metal in the area, anyway, so perhaps a side cutter after you have shielded areas around the area.

Then clean up, weld new ball mount into position and repaint.

Alternatively, and depending on whether any spare length in your strut, abandon the first hole and start afresh in an adjacent spot.
-------- Preventative Maintenance Policy --------
peterljohnson55 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2013, 01:15 PM   #7
Sox
RIP...

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: As recommended by Ropcher. Personifies the spirit of AFF. 

Can you get an angle grinder in?
Old 08-12-2013, 01:52 PM   #8
FTe342

There is a product called Rost-Off (no not Rust-Off) made by Wurth that dissolves rust in a jiffy. Its 20 times better than say WD40. If you can get that to the nut end it will come apart easily.
Saying that, I didn't know there was a nut on the back end but am guessing you know because you have a new part ?
T3 TL50 #147 Silhouette Auto ESS - Brembos - Last of 3 in T3 spec, only AUIII TL50 ever built -14.2 sec @ 98mph bog stock. Only customer ordered T3 TL50 built, only LWB sedan plated AUIII and the last performance enhanced LWB sedan built by Ford Aust.

AUII Fairlane Ghia Sportsman 5.0L in Blue Pearl

OWN THE ROAD
FTe342 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2013, 02:50 PM   #9
Fairlane63
Fairlane

Originally Posted by FTe342 View Post
There is a product called Rost-Off (no not Rust-Off) made by Wurth that dissolves rust in a jiffy. Its 20 times better than say WD40. If you can get that to the nut end it will come apart easily.
Saying that, I didn't know there was a nut on the back end but am guessing you know because you have a new part ?
the new part is thread only. the nut is meant to be captive. if Ford had painted the part in the first place this would not be an issue.

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Old 08-12-2013, 02:51 PM   #10
Fairlane63
Fairlane

Originally Posted by Sox View Post
Can you get an angle grinder in?
yes at a pinch

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Old 08-12-2013, 02:51 PM   #11
mif73
CNC fixer guy

I would say the nut is spot welded to the sheet metal.
If you cant re use the nut then perhaps clean up the rust and treat it and repaint then get a longer ball mount and drill the old nut a tad bigger then place a new nut behind the old one.
If the rust is too bad in the boot channel perhaps a stainless washer under the ball mount?

Old 08-12-2013, 02:52 PM   #12
Fairlane63
Fairlane

Originally Posted by FTe342 View Post
could be an option with that product thanks

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Old 09-12-2013, 07:34 AM   #13
shazaam

I need to do mine before it gets real bad. Where did you get a new one from?
shazaam is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-12-2013, 08:59 AM   #14
Fairlane63
Fairlane

EBAY mate. I think $19

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Old 09-12-2013, 06:17 PM   #15
shazaam

Got a link? Couldn't find one for a falcon.
shazaam is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-12-2013, 06:37 PM   #16
Fairlane63
Fairlane

Originally Posted by shazaam View Post
Got a link? Couldn't find one for a falcon.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/GENUINE-F...00b8c59&_uhb=1

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Old 09-12-2013, 06:59 PM   #17
graham_h

Do you reckon mine would be the same ?

I'm guessing AU and BA would be identical ?
graham_h is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-12-2013, 07:03 PM   #18
Fairlane63
Fairlane

Originally Posted by graham_h View Post
Do you reckon mine would be the same ?

I'm guessing AU and BA would be identical ?

I am guessing so mate. they sure get ugly don't they!

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Old 09-12-2013, 07:08 PM   #19
rmack

This was mine.

I cleaned it up and was able to slip a nut in behind

The ball was from a BA
7" DVD/GPS Radio
19" Wheels

HIS
FG XR8 Ute
Lux Pack
Tech Pack
Touch Screen GPS
rmack is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-12-2013, 07:20 PM   #20
Fairlane63
Fairlane

Originally Posted by rmack View Post
This was mine.
I cleaned it up and was able to slip a nut in behind
imageimage
The ball was from a BA

That is interesting. I may be able to cut a slot in the body mount big enough to put a nut in behind once I grind the old one out.
Hmmmm..

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Old 09-12-2013, 08:10 PM   #21
mif73
CNC fixer guy

Might want to invest in a dremel type grinder to get in the tight spots.

Old 09-12-2013, 08:15 PM   #22
Fairlane63
Fairlane

Originally Posted by mif73 View Post
Might want to invest in a dremel type grinder to get in the tight spots.
That my friend is good advice. thank you.

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Old 09-12-2013, 09:02 PM   #23
graham_h

what size nut ?
Old 09-12-2013, 10:04 PM   #24
mif73
CNC fixer guy

As a matter of interest, do you know if the car has been or is usually parked on an angle (nose down) where water can collect near the hinge?

Ps. Get some rust treatment and gal primer etc happening.

Old 09-12-2013, 11:00 PM   #25
graham_h

nope
Underground parking all it's life
But yeah rust treatment first then get that nut
Old 12-12-2013, 04:39 PM   #26
Silver'
T-Series Club Member Vic

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Excellent write ups on AU technical issues. 

Originally Posted by Fairlane63 View Post
But this link is for an E-series bonnet strut?

They are different to the AU boot strut so don't expect to find a nut on yours. Will work well once you get the old one out though

Hope you get it sorted!
TE2 #116
Build/Maintenance thread here.
www.fte.ford.com.au lives! 2001 2002
Add a T-series to the Registry HERE
Silver' is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2013, 11:20 PM   #27
Fairlane63
Fairlane

Originally Posted by SilverT2TE50 View Post
But this link is for an E-series bonnet strut?

They are different to the AU boot strut so don't expect to find a nut on yours. Will work well once you get the old one out though

Hope you get it sorted!
after much debating I decided to just go beside the old mount in the double panel.
looks a bit how ya goin but in the scheme of things is hardly noticeable unless you know what you are looking for.

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD

Last edited by Fairlane63; 13-04-2016 at 08:27 PM.
Old 15-12-2013, 11:35 PM   #28
mif73
CNC fixer guy

Smile Re: AU Boot strut mount broken. how to fix?

Originally Posted by Fairlane63 View Post
after much debating I decided to just go beside the old mount in the double panel.
looks a bit how ya goin but in the scheme of things is hardly noticeable unless you know what you are looking for.

Another hole but at least it will stop the boot lid falling and putting holes in your head.
Just get rid of the metal filings, fill the old hole and treat the rust before it gets worse.

Old 15-12-2013, 11:40 PM   #29
Fairlane63
Fairlane

yep.
it's amazing how much better it is with two new struts. they sure do a good job holding that dead weight! It used to slam shut with gravity but now you have a task to pull the boot down. very nice!

2006 TS Territory AWD
2016 Everest Trend 4WD
Old 29-12-2013, 11:08 PM   #30
mif73
CNC fixer guy

I had a good look at my strut mounts today and found minor surface rust so i flooded it with rust converter.
Hopefully that slows it down.
The problem is water can intrude into the unpainted section that's welded on.