You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 28-03-2012, 04:14 PM   #1
jimbobaxr8

Default we need more track and powercruise type events

if the cops want all this "hoon" behavior off the streets give us more track and powercruise type events and make them more affordable im not talking about the skidpan or drags at eastern creek but let us get out on the track, do a few burnouts and hit some fast corners if we could do that most w/e and it was affordable im sure the "hoon" behavior would decrease.... maby the government should look into it because it must be such a HUGE problem its all aca and today tonight keep going on about..........

jimbobaxr8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-03-2012, 04:42 PM   #2

Default Re: we need more track and powercruise type events

Contact the ARDC who run Eastern Creek. There are plenty of days available for track based fun. However, not too many for Powercruise type events.

Old 28-03-2012, 05:10 PM   #3
lockieoc

Yep, get yourself a helmet and come join the ARDC.
Couple hundred bucks a year which gets you 2 track days (straight away pays for itself) plus a heap of other perks.
The calender is chockers with events from skid pan days, club days, training days as well as your public power cruise events.
Plus, being a ARDC member you get free entry to any event at EC.
lockieoc is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-03-2012, 06:53 PM   #4
Ducati888

Great idea, but there are limitations:

There's not that many tracks.
Weekend dates are impossible because they are all booked for racing by bike & car clubs
If you do a burnot on a racetrack you face a big, big fine because they damage the surface,

It would be nice if the powers that be could put some of the money from fines and taxes towards new tracks and dragstrips. it seems to be a big invisible black hole. Easier to pour money in to footy ovals and the grand prix.
Old 28-03-2012, 07:00 PM   #5

Originally Posted by jimbobaxr8
if the cops want all this "hoon" behavior off the streets give us more track and powercruise type events and make them more affordable im not talking about the skidpan or drags at eastern creek but let us get out on the track, do a few burnouts and hit some fast corners if we could do that most w/e and it was affordable im sure the "hoon" behavior would decrease.... maby the government should look into it because it must be such a HUGE problem its all aca and today tonight keep going on about..........

In all honesty do you expect the government will give you something (as in millions of dollars) to build a facilty just like that??? out of the blue?

If you dont get organised, make your business case, plan, find a suitable bit of government owned land which isnt earmarked for anything, then nothing will ever happen.

Its all very well to say we have no where to go......

The problem is getting EVERYONE together and not just one or two different classes/ groups etc.... but EVERYONE no matter what type of motor sport it is all batting as a team and putting your case forward, then nothing will happen.

In Townsville there has been a big push this year to get our promised facilty (promised 4 or 5yrs ago!) and finally everyone has come together.... the last cruise we had to gain support had 700cars.

Old 28-03-2012, 07:00 PM   #6

Have a read through this.

This was one of my threads from last year.

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...ighlight=hoons
Old 28-03-2012, 07:46 PM   #7
jimbobaxr8

to be honnest i have only been to 1 powercruise event and i had the best day ever it was just awsome, i no there is heaps of legalities in these events but i think if there were more of them it wouldnt fix people hooning but would certainly help it and it would provide places for people to do it correctly not fly down streets at 1am if i had the cash or the no how i would probably look into getting something started thats where the gov should step in and i dunno charge $25 a car for an hour of track time or sumthing but have heaps of cars on the track like power cruise im sure they would get 300 cars a nyt at eastern creek thats $7500 if everyone just pays for 1 hour... anyway just a thought
Old 28-03-2012, 07:52 PM   #8
jimbobaxr8

It would reduce but not eliminate it. there are 2 types of hoons the first type just want to cut loose occasionally and the presence of a legal venue would all but eliminate this type. They will be happy to be able to compete in a legal manner with trophies and prizes and big crowds of legal spectators to cheer them on
The other type are antisocial morons with no respect for anyone and they will hoon just to annoy everyone else. There are the kind of people who call the police pigs , start riots for fun, and often have extensive criminal records that they wear like a badge of honour. they are often inbred bogans from public housing estates, the only way to stop these idiots is gaol and that is only a temporary fix as they will start again on release ( often in a stolen car)

i got this from that thred link and agree 100%
Old 29-03-2012, 12:29 AM   #9
GCRXR6

Grab an EF or EL for example, knock out the glass, plastics and interior, add a roll cage to specs and go Speedway racing. Satisfy your right foot and give you something to do beween meets. It works .. been there.
Old 29-03-2012, 03:19 AM   #10
EATHSV
Oo---oO

Or find a mate with a paddock. Each get a $500 runner and go banger racing. Great fun. (google it)

I have mates that do it. No more than $500, 1.6l or less. Minimal body contact.

Successful transactions with the following members:
Ride, Raised by Monkeys, TICK4D-TAS, Falcman007, 2002AU, JC.
EATHSV is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-03-2012, 04:52 AM   #11
jimbobaxr8

Haha Yeh i do that now at a mates place always a good laugh
Old 29-03-2012, 08:04 AM   #12

The thing with these kinds of events, and having so many of them, doesnt stop people doing it on the streets. It attracts those who do it on the streets as SPECTATORS, who then proceed to rip skids in the carpark and road outside the event, because they can, Then this gives everyone else a bad name.
For example, Queensland Raceway was opened up for us to break a world record attempt, most cars doing donuts in the one place at one time. Whoever wanted to go out there could, on a track, be filmed, and put on TV, and be part of breaking a world record. Instead, the bogan falcon and commodore drivers thought it would be easier for them to do burnouts in the carpark, spraying everyones cars with rocks and debris instead.
Old 29-03-2012, 10:37 PM   #13
GCRXR6

Originally Posted by The Monty
The thing with these kinds of events, and having so many of them, doesnt stop people doing it on the streets. It attracts those who do it on the streets as SPECTATORS, who then proceed to rip skids in the carpark and road outside the event, because they can, Then this gives everyone else a bad name.
For example, Queensland Raceway was opened up for us to break a world record attempt, most cars doing donuts in the one place at one time. Whoever wanted to go out there could, on a track, be filmed, and put on TV, and be part of breaking a world record. Instead, the bogan falcon and commodore drivers thought it would be easier for them to do burnouts in the carpark, spraying everyones cars with rocks and debris instead.
That's the sad part of life Monty. There are those who entered this life before collecting their brain at the start of the journey.