Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > MotorSport > Drag Racing

Drag Racing Discuss Drag Racing here be it dirt or tarmac. Sponsored by Sydney Dragway.

Old 27-08-2006, 08:22 PM   #1

Default Not a bad day at Heathcote…..14.774@88.90mph in a VCT(updated)

Over the last 5 or 6 months I have been asked by many people when I was going to race again. My answer was always the same.. “When the car is ready to race”. I was not going to be rushed but today was that day. Along with a few others and the team from G&D we headed up for a test and tune session at Heathcote to try out the latest incarnation of the car.
Mods currently are only:
G&D CAI
Pacemaker 4480 comps
G&D race exhaust
G&D Race auto with custom hi-stall
4.11 Diff gears.
G&D Custom tuned AU Edit

That’s it basically, nothing opened and nothing hidden. It’s running the original factory head, cam, injectors and leads. Even the cam’s dial in unchanged.

End result.. the car ran 14.83@92.10mph pretty much straight off the truck.
There is still a little bit of work to be done with some more bolt-ons and the motor is still 100% unopened (for now) so this is just the beginning. It compares very well with what Hamo got in his unopened AU (14.80) with a very similar setup so I think we are on the ball for our first time out.

For all those that supported and went out of their way to help, I thank you from the bottom of my heart for all the encouragement and assistance. It has made a huge difference and the fun has only just begun. You know who you are and I can’t thank you all enough. This was simply to try out the current tune and to get some track time to sort out anything we needed. There is so much more to come.

Finally, to all the guys at G&D Performance. Thank you for your patience, your hard work and your belief. This is the beginning of the fruits of your labour. I can’t thank you enough for what you have created here. It has been a long road to just get to the beginning but looking at the results has certainly shown me how good you guys are. You all know the future plans and you all know just what this little black car will be capable of when we really start work on it!
2006 is the “Year of the Ford” at G&D, I think 2007 is looking to be more of the same

I want to also make a special note to Joanne, Russ and all the guys at Heathcote raceway (along with the G&D guys) for their help today. The car missed the entire morning session when one of the wheel nuts on the read refused to come off and shredded itself onto the wheel. 2 hours later, one mangled wheel nut, a welder, breaker bars, jacks, chisels and a rather damaged wheel later we were good to go. G&D Jet lent me his wheelnuts, the guys from Heathcote interrupted their lunch to scruntineer the car and I was given first shot at the after lunch session to make up for it. When thanked they all simply said it was no big deal. The truth is it was a very big deal. Both the Heathcote and G&D guys went out of their way to make it possible for me to run today and I appreciate it very much! Thank You.

Old 27-08-2006, 08:26 PM   #2
Melz

Congratulations Shane, we all know how long you have waited for this!! Glad to see you are back at the track and having fun (well at the end of it all!)
Melz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 08:36 PM   #3

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

Good work, that bloody wheel nut was unreal...
14.8 is a good start for unopened, this is where we started with Hamo's AU6 14.80 before we cracked the head off.

Old 27-08-2006, 08:41 PM   #4
Stav

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always ready to help others over the years on AFF with advice and tips along the way 

You crazy guy!!! Bloody congratulatios!!!! :sm_headba :sm_headba

After your painful wait for so long its finally very good to hear.Time to pull out some heavy artillery.

Single din radio fascias for fg to fgx fords Australia wide .

FG 1 2 and 3 gauge holder in stock now! https://stingraycar.com.au/shop/
Site Sponsor See Sponsor Stingray Car Security 😍👌✌

AU wagon 6 14.241@96.75 1/4 mile sold.Octane fg xr6 turbo!! 12.312 112.21 mph home tune f6 injectors gone ..now in nitro fgxr6t ready to go again
Stav is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 08:42 PM   #5

Originally Posted by SpoolMan
Good work, that bloody wheel nut was unreal...
Yes. I think Ford should make CV's from the same metal as wheel nut and/or stud. They would never, ever break. It was the wheelnut from HELL!
Originally Posted by SpoolMan
14.8 is a good start for unopened, this is where we started with Hamo's AU6 14.80 before we cracked the head off.
Thanks mate. I'm pretty happy with it given whats done to the car. I know its just the start too and we know what we need to work on. I think it will only get a lot faster from here. :

Old 27-08-2006, 08:43 PM   #6
MYLO_XR6

Originally Posted by Casper

End result.. the car ran 14.83@92.10mph pretty much straight off the truck.
Why did you take the car to the track with a truck?
Does it idle at 4000rpm on the freeway? or somewhere there.

Congratulations anyway.....start preparing a new head and cam! open that motor up!
MYLO_XR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 08:46 PM   #7

Originally Posted by MYLO_XR6
Why did you take the car to the track with a truck?
Does it idle at 4000rpm on the freeway? or somewhere there.

Congratulations anyway.....start preparing a new head and cam! open that motor up!
took it on the truck because it was at G&D getting the diff and I was at Werribee. I drove my family up to Heathcote and we met up there.

As for the freeway, its going to run at about 2400rpm at 100kph, pretty tame actually. Only about 19% increase in revs if that.

Old 27-08-2006, 08:50 PM   #8
347_XR8
Slide Baby Slide

Finally! Been a long time coming... Good to hear the result. Will we see it at The AFF Drag Nats?

Mr Super Skid-Man
347_XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 08:53 PM   #9

Yes, it will be back for the nats.

Old 27-08-2006, 08:58 PM   #10
cArSiK

fantastic time for an unopened VCT. Cant wait to see what this car does once its finished! Well done shane.
cArSiK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 09:00 PM   #11
Bren260

congrats on your time dude, any idea what a stock I6vct would run?
Bren260 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 09:02 PM   #12

Originally Posted by Bren260
congrats on your time dude, any idea what a stock I6vct would run?
15.9 on a good day.

Old 27-08-2006, 09:03 PM   #13

Where the hell are my donuts?

Sounds like you had some fun to start the day, and it just gets better from there, a few little tweaks here and there, no sweets till the 9th, and we should see some quicker times.

A long time in the making, but a brilliant result for the 1st track run, well done to all.
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 09:10 PM   #14
FRDGAL
GT-P #0336

Congratulations on the 14.83 Shane!!

Sorry I wasn't out there today with you all but I was a little busy enjoying a bit of luxury in a Phillip Island Penthouse

Well done Shane and to all the guys at G&D

Krissy.
2003 FULLY OPTIONED MERCURY SILVER BA GT-P BUILD #336
REVERSE CAMERA - SAT NAV - PIONEER SUB & AMP - SUNROOF - DVD PLAYER - CUSTOM DUAL EXHAUST
~Tuned By Bluepower Racing~
FRDGAL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 09:34 PM   #15
jabba

Congrats Shane.. Go and show the others how it's done with out craking open the head

Tuned by Elite Automotive

11.91 @ 117mph Vid
jabba is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 09:40 PM   #16

Is 14.8 good? I've never been into drag racing, so I'm a bit oblivious to how it all works and what it is in comparasin to. Going to seem like a stupid question, but if a stock vct does it in 15.9 seconds and yours does it in 14.8 seconds, 1.1 seconds doesn't really seem like much of an improvement. I'm sure it is, but I would have thought the margin would have been greater. I'm just after a little insight into the importance of the times and what the times really do mean.
Old 27-08-2006, 09:44 PM   #17

Is 14.8 good? I've never been into drag racing, so I'm a bit oblivious to how it all works and what it is in comparasin to. Going to seem like a stupid question, but if a stock vct does it in 15.9 seconds and yours does it in 14.8 seconds, 1.1 seconds doesn't really seem like much of an improvement. I'm sure it is, but I would have thought the margin would have been greater. I'm just after a little insight into the importance of the times and what the times really do mean.
Consider it the difference between a 16" rim and a 19" rim mate.
(Put it in bling terms for you)

Old 27-08-2006, 09:48 PM   #18
Quadcams

Much of a improvement 1.1 seconds is about 10 car lengths in 1320ft.

By the way well done casper.
Quadcams is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 09:49 PM   #19
ten[A]cio[U]s

Ouch hehe. Harsh, but Fair.

Well done mate. Not the easiest thing to get AU's running these times, but yourself (with the help of others) seem to make it look simple. Great time and good luck with the next step :1syellow1

Future fun: 1968 Ford Galaxie 500

ten[A]cio[U]s is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 09:49 PM   #20
sfr rob
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○ ○○○○○

LOL, i was hoping to see you post up a 14.00 flat time.. isnt that what stiddy has ran?
I think i need to take my AU down to G&D soon.

Shane can you refresh my memory, and tell me what time best you ran with all the old mods?
sfr rob is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 09:51 PM   #21
sfr rob
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○ ○○○○○

i think that came out wrong.. probably sounded like i was paying you out.
I wasnt... just curious.

i am worried about the 4-11's i am going to eventually get when i am cruising on the freeway doin 110 up to gippsland... going to be sittting at 3000 rpm i reckon.
sfr rob is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 10:16 PM   #22
RspecAU
BA GT-P Owner

Well done Shane i will be looking forward to see u run at the nats in a couple of weeks
ON MAXXIS MAV1's 275/45/17 13.27 @ 106mph
RspecAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 10:28 PM   #23
CAMS290
trying to get a leg over

well done Casper, there is plenty left in your car
Old 27-08-2006, 10:48 PM   #24
DanXR6T
Eat more peanuts....

Running on street tread Casper?

Formerly owned:
'99 AU Falcon Ute
'88 EA Falcon GL
DanXR6T is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 10:49 PM   #25

so you have gained .2 from 4.11's, hi stall and changing from JMM gear to G&D ? Doesn't seem like much but I guess if you are happy with it then good on ya. I thaught JMM had played with the cam timing on it when it was there, I think I remember reading that somewhere.

What tyres were you running ? and what were your 60 ft times like ?
Damo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 11:01 PM   #26

Originally Posted by Damo
so you have gained .2 from 4.11's, hi stall and changing from JMM gear to G&D ? Doesn't seem like much but I guess if you are happy with it then good on ya.
As I said, this was the cars first outing since doing all the mods to it. It was specifically to test what wasnt going to show on the dyno. Although the total imporvement wasnt large there is a lot more to it than that. The 60' times were consistantly 2.0's with a 2.02 as the best (nothing over 2.06 all day) and we found that it needs a bit more sorting up to as we were not running the MPH we were expecting. All part of the package.
I thaught JMM had played with the cam timing on it when it was there, I think I remember reading that somewhere.
Nice bending of the facts there. No. What was done was that Brenden too the rocker cover off and measured the cam setting to see if it was at the factory specified setting. It was and no adjustment was made, period.
It doesnt really matter now anyhow as I dont plan to continue down the unopened path too much longer anyhow however, for the moment, it is 100% factory stock.

What tyres were you running ? and what were your 60 ft times like ?
The tyres we ran were M/T's. Running this stall and 4.11's it was not practical given the short time I had today to bother trying to see if we could get grip with the road tyres I had there to play with. I wanted to ensure we got off the line without smoking up and get a few decent runs in to test the car out.

Old 27-08-2006, 11:16 PM   #27
Firefox7
T3 Terrorist

Well done mate...14.8 from an unopened I6 is a good time, and you have beaten your old PB. Congratulations mate and well done G&D. I'm confident you will better that time at the Nats. :sm_headba

Fastest Lap time At wakefield park on Dunlop Sp9000's : 1:14:30, Came 2nd in outright driver, in the overall V8 result, 2006 N.S.W dutton rally :1syellow1

:king: T3 :king: The Mightiest & Deadliest Tickford Ever To Hit The Road........
Firefox7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2006, 07:19 AM   #28

Down I understand :
Old 28-08-2006, 07:38 AM   #29
Kev_BLNXR8_Ute
Hmm Project XW VAN !!!!

Well Done Casper.
Im sure there is plenty more to come...

Yella Terra Supercharged

Power Output?
ENOUGH TO BREAK EVERY THING MORE TIMES THAN I CARE TO COUNT