You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 09-03-2021, 08:44 AM   #961

Default Re: The Camping Thread

Originally Posted by MustangNicko View Post
Anyone done much camping along the Ovens River between Wangaratta and Bundalong? Looking for a reasonable spot to launch a 3.9m tinny. Have a 4x4 so no dramas. The more secluded the camping the better! Would ultimately love to get access up around Peechelba. Google maps shows some decent places but there's no way to tell unless you get there! (Coming from Geelong) Cheers
There are a few good camping areas along the Ovens north west of Wang.
Main rd (Wangaratta-Yarranwonga Rd) acess is good at various places including Peechelba. Only thing is river heights at this time of year are low with a few River Reds hindering boat progress in some places.

roKWiz is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-03-2021, 08:52 AM   #962
MustangNicko

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
There are a few good camping areas along the Ovens north west of Wang.
Main rd (Wangaratta-Yarranwonga Rd) acess is good at various places including Peechelba. Only thing is river heights at this time of year are low with a few River Reds hindering boat progress in some places.

Is a low river generally better or worse for fishing the ovens?
MustangNicko is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-03-2021, 09:04 AM   #963

Originally Posted by MustangNicko View Post

Is a low river generally better or worse for fishing the ovens?
Not being into fishing but I would imagine low river would allow dfish to bred and hang around more where as the river in flood season (after winter) would flush out more of their hiding places with all the fresh Alpine water coming down.
Someone else would know better than I.

Old 09-03-2021, 11:31 AM   #964

Nothing to add to the Ovens river chat.

Just booked to stay back at Deep Creek again in May with the mrs. Right after fire ban has lifted.

Will try and pick a different spot after this little trip. Thinking of the Flinders Ranges in winter. Flamin cold, but better than sweltering heat in summer.

Old 09-03-2021, 05:25 PM   #965
Tonz

have a sqizz over our side of state.

On average Lincoln is 3-5* warmer than Adelaide over winter and summer its reverse.

Dont book Pt Lincoln Caravan park thought, your still 12k out of town.
Old 09-03-2021, 07:03 PM   #966

Originally Posted by Tonz View Post

On average Lincoln is 3-5* warmer than Adelaide over winter and summer its reverse.

Dont book Pt Lincoln Caravan park thought, your still 12k out of town.
Been about 15yrs since Ive been to Pt Lincoln. Will put it on the list of must revisit places

Old 10-03-2021, 10:11 AM   #967
raised by monkeys

I flicked open the Advertiser last week with an inter-Australia travel guide lift out. SA places to visit included only Adelaide and anything East of

SY FPV F6X Territory #214
Previous
FG MkII G6E Turbo built by Heinrichs Performance and Tuning
BFII FPV TORNADO #0021 351rwkw - Heinrich Performance and Tuning

"Milk is for babies. When you grow up you have to drink beer" - Arnold Schwarzenegger
raised by monkeys is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-03-2021, 11:51 AM   #968
Tonz

and how much of our states revenue is generated from over this part of state, yet numbats in Adelaide have no F idea where we are.
Considering Pt Lincoln was considered for state capital early on in history. thank god that never happened.
Old 13-03-2021, 02:32 PM   #969
Gravelly

Originally Posted by prydey View Post
It kind of depends how often you discharge to those levels as to how badly the battery life will be affected. If it's only a handful of times a year, and the battery is stored properly in between times, then it probably won't matter.
Yeah I think this is probably right, especially based off the info here on the Kings fridges: https://outdoorexplorer.com.au/kings...reezer-review/
Gravelly is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-03-2021, 12:06 PM   #970
raised by monkeys

So we have committed to buying a caravan, got a reasonable price for an 80's golf tourer with bunks and queen. Plan is to pick it up next weekend and do a small reno to brighten and modernise it. Appears to be in reasonably good shape bar a few dents, is definitely functional and registered to use now but plan to do a little work. This includes paint inside and out, add AGM, solar panel, TV, food prep area, sink and retrim of seating. Has good storage and should be a fun little project. Pics to come in the following weeks.

Previous

"Milk is for babies. When you grow up you have to drink beer" - Arnold Schwarzenegger
Old 29-03-2021, 12:37 PM   #971

Been looking forward to Easter to get out in the 'bush' again, but not so much now with the forecast 33, 34 and 35 for Thurs, fri and Saturday. Not what you want when in the southern Flinders. Oh well, at least I won't be at work.
Old 29-03-2021, 12:41 PM   #972
raised by monkeys

not so much now with the forecast 33, 34 and 35 for Thurs, fri and Saturday
city folk!

plenty of heavy tree coverage in the rangers though, should be ok. Where abouts will you be?

Previous

Old 29-03-2021, 03:21 PM   #973

Originally Posted by raised by monkeys View Post
city folk!

plenty of heavy tree coverage in the rangers though, should be ok. Where abouts will you be?
Mambray ck.
Old 29-03-2021, 05:36 PM   #974
raised by monkeys

Haven't spent a lot of time around there but the Flinders is great.

kookaburra creek retreat is a great place to camp or to hire accommodation for anyone interested in the area.

Previous

Old 29-03-2021, 06:06 PM   #975
Tonz

Easter Pt Lincoln just saying

THU 1 Apr 15 30 Sunny

FRI 2 Apr 15 31 Mostly sunny

SAT 3 Apr 17 32 Mostly sunny

SUN 4 Apr 15 22 Partly cloudy
Old 29-03-2021, 09:34 PM   #976
mad2
Regular...with metamusal

THU 1 Apr 15 30 Sunny

FRI 2 Apr 15 31 Mostly sunny

SAT 3 Apr 17 32 Mostly sunny

SUN 4 Apr 15 22 Partly cloudy

GTown-

wed-24 partly cloudy

thur-30 mostly sunny

frid-29 sunny [was 30]

sat-32 sunny [was 34]

sun-22 partly cloudy

hopefully mundy & tuesdy are goood?
mad2 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-03-2021, 11:23 PM   #977
Tonz

Originally Posted by mad2 View Post
GTown-

wed-24 partly cloudy

thur-30 mostly sunny

frid-29 sunny [was 30]

sat-32 sunny [was 34]

sun-22 partly cloudy

hopefully mundy & tuesdy are goood?
hells bells this IS Victoria you are talking about 5 days and no rain. hang on your not in Melbourne ....my bad
Old 30-03-2021, 10:23 AM   #978

hells bells this IS Victoria you are talking about 5 days and no rain. hang on your not in Melbourne ....my bad
Yep, in our case once your over the ranges north of Melb it doesn't rain much.

Old 30-03-2021, 03:23 PM   #979

THU 1 Apr Finish work at 5pm, pack camper/car

FRI 2 Apr 9hr drive, set up

SAT 3 Apr Recover from 9hr drive

SUN 4 Apr Relax in preparation for 9hr drive

MON 5 Apr 9hr drive, unpack camper/car

TUE 6 Apr Plan a holiday after exhausting easter weekend
FTFY
Old 30-03-2021, 05:29 PM   #980
raised by monkeys

Originally Posted by BENT_8 View Post
FTFY
Low blow.

Previous

Old 30-03-2021, 05:56 PM   #981

I'm heading down south of Sydney Jervis Bay.
Culburra actually.
Friday 24 15 overnight
Saturday 26 16
Sunday 25 18
Monday 22 17
Perfect !
No camping mind you rented a house
Old 30-03-2021, 09:24 PM   #982
Tonz

Originally Posted by BENT_8 View Post
FTFY
ouch
Old 05-04-2021, 10:39 PM   #983

As mentioned earlier, the weather was very hot over easter in the southern flinders, however we still had a great weekend.

Site no.3 at mambray ck campground in the mt remarkable national park was our home for the weekend. Its a double site with lots of room to spread out. My eldest daughters boyfriend also joined us so we invested in a gazebo as 5 is just too many for congregating in the van, esp given the temp. For those playing at home, its an oztrail deluxe 3mx3m and a pretty good piece of kit i must say. Pricy at $200, but no messing about clicking poles together or anything. Very happy with it. Made for a great area to hang out in the shade.

On the table in one of the pics you can see a blue bottle looking thing. This is one of 5 misting fans we bought from jaycar for $8ea. They paid for themselves many times over, over the weekend. worked an absolute treat. Well worth it if camping in hot areas and no a/c.

Had 3 of the local monitors regularly visiting. Have to make sure nothing is left unsecured lying about outside. The folks in the neighboring site learned the hard way. They left some hot x buns out on top of an esky, and numerous rubbish bins, and had left for the day. We explained to them what had happened once they returned, and why their rubbish bags were moved to their trailer for them.

This is still probably our favourite place to come and kick back. Even with it stupidly hot it stilled cooled down a lot overnight and we were still able to have a good relaxing weekend.

The only negative about this site is the greed of the national parks. We booked it nearly a year ago, knowing how popular camping is now, and paid $33/night, which for a national park is pretty high, but given they have flushing toilets and hot showers, we didn't mind. I think single car sites were around $22/night. As of early this year, they have now gone to $45.50/night for the 2 car site we were on ($33/night for single). To me that's taking it a bit far. I know parks victoria are actively dropping their prices yet here in sa the prices are going up, yet very little is happening by way of improvements to any facilities etc. A bit disappointing for me but anyway, thats a topic for another day.

Old 06-04-2021, 12:00 AM   #984

Also forgot to mention, its our first time back there in 2 years. In that time we've changed from optus network (virgin mobile) to telstra network (boost mobile, supposedly full telstra) ironically for better coverage as we do regularly travel by roadtrip to my folks in bris, and do the odd camp trip to these types of places.

As it turns out, mambray ck just happens to be a black hole for the telstra network (unless they had a tower out or something). No coverage/reception in the campground all weekend. Even vodaphone (daughters boyfriend) had coverage. Didn't think they would ever outperform telstra!

when you look up the telstra coverage map, mambray ck should be all 4g, but they do have a lot of caveats and fine print to absolve them from any performance issues.

Stuck with Boost until august, but if there are no real benefits to being on the telstra network, then the value of their plans falls considerably...
Old 06-04-2021, 08:58 AM   #985
Tassie f100

As mentioned earlier, the weather was very hot over easter in the southern flinders, however we still had a great weekend.

Site no.3 at mambray ck campground in the mt remarkable national park was our home for the weekend. Its a double site with lots of room to spread out. My eldest daughters boyfriend also joined us so we invested in a gazebo as 5 is just too many for congregating in the van, esp given the temp. For those playing at home, its an oztrail deluxe 3mx3m and a pretty good piece of kit i must say. Pricy at $200, but no messing about clicking poles together or anything. Very happy with it. Made for a great area to hang out in the shade.

On the table in one of the pics you can see a blue bottle looking thing. This is one of 5 misting fans we bought from jaycar for $8ea. They paid for themselves many times over, over the weekend. worked an absolute treat. Well worth it if camping in hot areas and no a/c.

Had 3 of the local monitors regularly visiting. Have to make sure nothing is left unsecured lying about outside. The folks in the neighboring site learned the hard way. They left some hot x buns out on top of an esky, and numerous rubbish bins, and had left for the day. We explained to them what had happened once they returned, and why their rubbish bags were moved to their trailer for them.

This is still probably our favourite place to come and kick back. Even with it stupidly hot it stilled cooled down a lot overnight and we were still able to have a good relaxing weekend.

The only negative about this site is the greed of the national parks. We booked it nearly a year ago, knowing how popular camping is now, and paid $33/night, which for a national park is pretty high, but given they have flushing toilets and hot showers, we didn't mind. I think single car sites were around $22/night. As of early this year, they have now gone to $45.50/night for the 2 car site we were on ($33/night for single). To me that's taking it a bit far. I know parks victoria are actively dropping their prices yet here in sa the prices are going up, yet very little is happening by way of improvements to any facilities etc. A bit disappointing for me but anyway, thats a topic for another day.

Geez National parks rip it into you over there.Here the standard rate for national park camping is $13 night,but capped at $50wk.Some have no facilities whilst others have either proper flushing toilets or the old long drops.No many have showers etc,but that is what camping really is about.If you want hot showers etc stay in a motel not out in the parks.It is pretty easy and cheap to set up a basic shower tent as most of us do to have a basic facility.
Tassie f100 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-04-2021, 01:31 PM   #986

With regard to the pricing, it is a rort, now everyone is holidaying at home they are trying to cash in despite doing nothing to upgrade the facilities.
When we first started going back in 2014 it was $14/night, then the following year it went online and bumped up to about $18, we were told the extra revenue was being spent on better site facilities, then it went up again, still no upgrades and when i went to book our regular mid year pilgrimige as you say its gone up again and no upgrades as yet, i didnt bother booking, heaps of vacancies mind you which highlights that people are baulking at the price.
Why stay there for $45 when you can stay in a caravan park with a pool for similar coin.
I dont think i'll be going back unfortunately.
Old 06-04-2021, 03:21 PM   #987

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Geez National parks rip it into you over there.Here the standard rate for national park camping is $13 night,but capped at $50wk.Some have no facilities whilst others have either proper flushing toilets or the old long drops.No many have showers etc,but that is what camping really is about.If you want hot showers etc stay in a motel not out in the parks.It is pretty easy and cheap to set up a basic shower tent as most of us do to have a basic facility.
Yeah pretty much had it with camping sites and caravan parks, they have seem to forgotten their "bread and butter" year round customers now they have a new wave of Covid Caravanners. Jacking all the prices up with this peak season, shoulder season etc and online booking crap which never existed before. It was always first in best dressed.
Its getting cheaper to stay in nice little country motels now anyway without all the hassles.
Wasn't real impress with a CPark I regularly stayed at, kicking some travelling workers out of a cabin because John Holland offered above the rate to place their railway worker in. That just not right.

I'm now only working on jobs which have room to park the motorhome or local showgrounds which don't take tourists.
New found interest while working close by is house sitting pets, we get to stay in some nice places looking after little furry friends.

Old 07-04-2021, 12:13 PM   #988
raised by monkeys

Couldnt book on the parks site for the Lincoln NP. Instead bought 2x day passes (6am-11pm) and camped with friends who had already booked their site - have to register vehicles. Day passes were $12 ea.

Previous

Old 08-04-2021, 11:05 AM   #989

Originally Posted by raised by monkeys View Post
Couldnt book on the parks site for the Lincoln NP. Instead bought 2x day passes (6am-11pm) and camped with friends who had already booked their site - have to register vehicles. Day passes were $12 ea.
Deep Creek is like that. We booked a weekend there this may and paid and Ive got family who'll stay 1 night and I just said just pay for a vehicle day pass and camp on our booking. Not bad for them.

Old 09-04-2021, 04:47 PM   #990
raised by monkeys

Meet Alf - well that's our chosen name for now pending how he/she looks after some paint and modernising.

Previous