You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 23-06-2020, 08:16 PM   #2191
Mr Brooksy
Youth worker

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Numerous helpful how-to's and sound advice! 
Default Re: What made you feel good today?

Poor old guy on a bicycle got hit by a car at about lunch today out the front of our place. Always seems to be an accident due to people not knowing road rules like giving way etc. Driver turned right and side swiped him.

He was very shaken but apparently kept asking about his bike, Ambos asked if I could look after it and I was happy to. Pulled it into the shed and had a look over it. He obviously loved it, but there were a few bits that had seen better days.

So I spent my study day repairing his bike. Panel beating skills came to the fore that I didn't even know I had. Straightened it all out for the old guy and gave it a hand polish to boot. Looks really nice and it has that old time period look that it would have had before the accident. The only thing I couldn't repair was the hand sewn leather handle bar covers that match the seat leather.

Now just have to hope the old guy can come pick it up soon.

2011 SZ Territory

Old Futura thread:
Brooksy's Ex Build
Mr Brooksy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2020, 09:10 PM   #2192
Tonz

if police were involved, have a little chat to them or else ambos they would know what hospital, deliver it to him.
Old 23-06-2020, 11:15 PM   #2193
MercuryT

Very insular I know, but having my sale funds transferred from my house into savings made me feel good.

Sure I'm nowhere near where I expected be (39, divorced, daughter I (bizarrely) can't see etc) but I'll focus on the positives to use in future.
MercuryT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2020, 11:20 PM   #2194
Mr Brooksy
Youth worker

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Numerous helpful how-to's and sound advice! 

Originally Posted by Tonz View Post
if police were involved, have a little chat to them or else ambos they would know what hospital, deliver it to him.
Funnily enough, an ambulance was at the scene faster than I was! All I had to do was go from the back of the shed to the front gate. Apparently the ambulance was on its way to something else and was literally seconds away from this accident.

I sent the guy/ambulance with my business card and called the hospital he was sent to and gave my address etc. If I don't hear something tomorrow I'll do some more chasing.

2011 SZ Territory

Old Futura thread:
Brooksy's Ex Build
Mr Brooksy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2020, 04:27 PM   #2195

After lying underneath the new place I'm building for the last 2 days, finally got the new diesel heater up and running. Works a treat.
Something that is so easy in a normal RV installation was a nightmare to do for a cabin.

Old 24-06-2020, 04:50 PM   #2196
MercuryT

Received an email from my Ex this arvo. (has to under Court orders)

Apparently my Daughter going really well at school and enjoying sport.

Better than nothing I guess and whilst upsetting, it's good to hear at the same time.
Old 24-06-2020, 06:50 PM   #2197
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

My morning coffee, with my newly arrived matching red grinds bin.

The day went downhill from there
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2020, 06:51 PM   #2198

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Late last night I rescued a semi-immobilised flying fox. Lying in the gutter, with a massive powerful owl waiting on a fence nearby to shred it for supper.

Called WIRES, first place they referred me to (a - cough, cough - small animal specialist hospital) cheerfully told me they’d kill it for free, but couldn’t keep it in for supervision overnight and volunteer collection in the morning. Err... I thought that answer wasn’t exactly what the charter of WIRES was about.

Another phone call, got the rescue up on their open jobs list, finder willing to deliver. 15 minutes later, a call to me. Wildlife carer innoculated against Lyssavirus, close by, could I drop the little tacker off please.

Job done, they felt its injuries were quite survivable and should be released without too much mucking about.
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
8 users like this post:
Old 24-06-2020, 07:06 PM   #2199
.:4:.
Kicking back

Since the refurb of one tenancy i work in, there were 3 pendant lights that werent level, every time id walk past they'd stick out to me like a dogs dick. Now i didnt install them and my client didnt understand why it annoyed me so much. Took them down last week to be painted and put them up today. Now theyre all even hight and level. Much better. All it took was about 3 minutes of minor adjustments and stepping back to eye them up. Its not hard doing decorative work right.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2020, 07:09 PM   #2200
ford71V8

Just finished reading Flea's book, Acid for the Children - really enjoyed that one.
Hope to see him continue writing his life story
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2020, 10:32 PM   #2201

Originally Posted by Mr Brooksy View Post
Poor old guy on a bicycle got hit by a car at about lunch today out the front of our place. Always seems to be an accident due to people not knowing road rules like giving way etc. Driver turned right and side swiped him.

He was very shaken but apparently kept asking about his bike, Ambos asked if I could look after it and I was happy to. Pulled it into the shed and had a look over it. He obviously loved it, but there were a few bits that had seen better days.

So I spent my study day repairing his bike. Panel beating skills came to the fore that I didn't even know I had. Straightened it all out for the old guy and gave it a hand polish to boot. Looks really nice and it has that old time period look that it would have had before the accident. The only thing I couldn't repair was the hand sewn leather handle bar covers that match the seat leather.

Now just have to hope the old guy can come pick it up soon.
Good on ya mate, well done.
Hope someone pays it forward to you one day.
If you're real lucky you might get a mention in his will one day
Old 25-06-2020, 10:31 PM   #2202
Kicking back

Well, the new tradesman at work gave me a hand on site today. Cant fault the bloke, he is good at what he does. But he is 100% new school. My apprentice and he joke about my old school ways as if im a 70 year old tradesman. I do know the new school ways of doing stuff, but sometimes they take longer. I was taught by older tradies. So i know both. But this job, going new style would waste time. Tradesmans eye. Thats not something you instantly know, its also not something taught. Its just instinct. So i eyed it off. Drilled. Put the level on it. No not an app on a phone, a spirit level, yep, she was apples.
So the question was how did i know without a set of plans? I was working off a loose description, used my proffessional opinion, sprinkeled a handfull of experience in, if i had a specific location i would have plumb bobbed it, none of this lazer crap.
Old 27-06-2020, 09:27 PM   #2203

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Middle Eastern grub. Falafel with flatbreads, hommous, tabouleh, stuffed vine leaves; the whole box and dice. Coffee, and all the Turkish delight one can eat. I am so full tonight.
Old 27-06-2020, 09:55 PM   #2204

LFC has made me feel great - won the English Premier League after a 30yr slumber !
You know Real Football, I've been following this club since their '70's heydays.
No big deal in the big scheme of things but yer I'm happy as !!!
FTE217 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2020, 11:36 PM   #2205
Kicking back

Took my driveway ornimant for a drive for the first time in 5 or 6 weeks. No need to jump it, it has been started and warmed up twice a week. Cant complain. Goes better then the diesiel things ive grown used to living with. Also i fixed the remote.
Old 28-06-2020, 08:27 AM   #2206
sneaky

I spent yesterday afternoon sitting in a beach side carpark looking and listening to the waves while hiding in the car from the wind/cold and reading a book. There is always something else to be doing at home so I don't ever get around to reading, it was good to escape 'life' for a few hours and sit in the quiet.

**edit**
just realised my post count is 999, yeewwww almost cracked 1000!!
Old 28-06-2020, 08:43 AM   #2207

Originally Posted by sneaky View Post
I spent yesterday afternoon sitting in a beach side carpark looking and listening to the waves while hiding in the car from the wind/cold and reading a book. There is always something else to be doing at home so I don't ever get around to reading, it was good to escape 'life' for a few hours and sit in the quiet.

**edit**
just realised my post count is 999, yeewwww almost cracked 1000!!
Were you at Nobby's or Merewether beach ? beautiful places to sit mate.
Reply and you have the 1K congrats.

Old 28-06-2020, 01:27 PM   #2208
Kicking back

My tank of premix was empty, so thats for my 2 stroke stuff. My bottle of bar lube for my chainsaw was also near empty. Appart from re winding the spool on my whipper snipper, that thing doesnt require maintenance. But it was a good excuse to do the chain and maintenance my chainsaw. Cleaned the thing up, not that it was that bad, but now its super clean, chain brake is also super clean and does exactly what it claims. New chain, tentioned to how i like so minimal runout. The old chain wasnt terrible, but i had hit a few knots and also a nail, so it wasnt deadly sharp. First test hit was a lump of hard wood and it was butter. Plus i did my running around in my driveway ornimant. Yeah the brakes need attention, but it runs good.
Old 28-06-2020, 04:43 PM   #2209
sneaky

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
Were you at Nobby's or Merewether beach ? beautiful places to sit mate.
Reply and you have the 1K congrats.
Dixon Park just for something different

and thanks for the setup to #1000 lol
Old 29-06-2020, 10:25 PM   #2210
Kicking back

I was giving my bosses dad a hand today cleaning out our warehouse and doing tip runs etc. He is retired but helps out around the place to stay busy. I havent seen the bloke in about a decade. But he is still a top bloke. Only a year older then my dad if he was still alive, so 67, but a character. My boss said bluntly, even if the old bloke wants to do the heavy lifting etc, tell him to f off and sit down. So i did that. But in the car we had a yarn. Since last time, i already had a kid, but in the time inbetween id got married, bought a house, got separated from said marriage. And all for him to just joke about his 4 divorces. What a legend. Also, so he retired from a job in a hospital. Panal beater by trade, but hospital maintenance guy later in life, that legend hooked me up with fast track appointments in 2017 with a neurologist when my left arm stopped working.
Old 02-07-2020, 11:43 AM   #2211

Justice Jacqueline Gleeson’s judgement in favour of Mr Geoffrey Rush.

I hope another upcoming matter of similar nature is also addressed with procedural fairness.
Old 03-07-2020, 07:00 PM   #2212
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Poured two of these this morning.

Sadly, my lunchtime coffee choices just don't compare.

Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-07-2020, 07:11 PM   #2213

Driving back to Perth from working on my cousins farm in the wheatbelt.
Got overtaken by an XR6 and a Commodore doing about 125.
Thought, yep they can be my shield so I stepped it up a bit.
Sure enough, came to a 90 zone where there's a fuel stop and I saw a red light on the side of the road flash twice. I always slow down for here anyway, usually a speed trap.
Didn't feel good for them, but felt good I didn't get caught.
Old 03-07-2020, 07:14 PM   #2214
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

My birthday.

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-07-2020, 07:31 PM   #2215

I knocked off really this week. I usually do it but not as much for the last few months as I have been working to what is an impossible deadline.

I figured if people want to consume my time in endless phone hookups for more than half a day worth in 3 days, and after massive network issues which meant I had to drive into the office (60km round trip) when I just said **** it I will WFH today to get a head start.

It was still ****ed there and has been 4/5 days so they have no cause to complain
Old 03-07-2020, 07:31 PM   #2216
MercuryT

Getting my (small) Tax Return in account.

Sure it was the financial year before as I forgot, but better late than never I guess!!

I assumed a fine but heard nothing yet......
Old 03-07-2020, 07:44 PM   #2217
MercuryT

Originally Posted by DFB FGXR6 View Post
Poured two of these this morning.

Sadly, my lunchtime coffee choices just don't compare.

Looks great on your pouring skills. Great work.

I didn't learn until older I can't drink coffee. Never occurred to me why until I had a few holiday periods and each time became anxious as.......yep, the (stronger, nicer) coffee regularly cruising at cafes I don't ever do at work.

Butterflies in stomach something massive.......dread feeling. Strange I know but definitely true (for me at least)
Old 03-07-2020, 08:55 PM   #2218
Kicking back

Applied for a course earlier in the week. I had to as it could affect my employment. Anyhow, with the training company to start with they always ask generic questions. I understand that people often lie or cannot produce the required paperwork. But i had all that ready and sent during the phone calls. But i got off the bull**** roundabout really quickly. I didnt pull all my customer service tricks out of the bag. But, i was listening, and the bloke i have been talking to let slip he grew up in the area i currently live in. So i took that, turned myself from just another client into a person. That fast tracked things. So old mate didnt email me the application form. To save, or what he claims, to save processing time he filled it out for me. So the wheels are in motion.
Work wanted a concrete plan by today. That got pushed back. To me a plan is ideas that you want to impliment. So, as i have already implemented stuff and started the course, its no longer a plan. Its action. So it feels pretty good to end the week with results that cannot be questioned as all evidence has been forwarded and i have been completely transperent.
Old 05-07-2020, 01:24 PM   #2219

Receiving the latest Vicroads rego renewal and finding it $10 cheaper than last year.

Old 06-07-2020, 12:59 PM   #2220
Kicking back

Been putting some kays on my car. Its sat for a while, ive owned it for 10 years but for the past 8 my brother has had it. The first 4 years he put a stack of kays on it, but since 2016 he has been on the bike and the car has done under 1000km per year. It also had not been looked after. So initially i didnt want to even look at the thing. But cleaned her up. It came up, well, not good, but up. Burnt off the old fuel so shes on the good juice. After enough drive time the battery is now happy. Not that things were low, but topped off the power steering, motor oil and coolant. Fixed up the remotes. Its not pretty anymore, but everything works. Ac is good, and being a bf with dual zone, the dual zone works. I still like the car. Its not stale to me yet. I just grew used to diesels. I just have to watch myself, 80 is the new 50. I have forgotten what its like in a car that gets to 100 in under eventually. Its still not a fast car, but its a car not a comercial with a few hundred kgs in the back.