You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 25-08-2020, 09:38 PM   #2341

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 
Default Re: What made you feel good today?

After a trail down the black hole of perfectionism, finally have a towbar fitted.

I was pleased to see the makers helpfully stamp the tongue/ball assembly with the word “TOP” on the ball side.
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-08-2020, 02:33 PM   #2342

Beautiful day to revisit this Wodonga entrance way I did early in the year with more stone for a side panel wall to match.
Looks great with the hardwood gates completed by a guy from Hamilton in western Victoria. Their doggies were pleased to see me.

Called in at Aldi's for those KW and Pete Revell models. Grabbed 2 of each.

Thanks sneaky.

Old 26-08-2020, 02:45 PM   #2343

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

That flue needs a stone casing.
Old 26-08-2020, 02:53 PM   #2344

That flue needs a stone casing.
And to be about 4 ft higher.

Old 26-08-2020, 06:50 PM   #2345
Ross 1

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
Beautiful day to revisit this Wodonga entrance way I did early in the year with more stone for a side panel wall to match.
Looks great with the hardwood gates completed by a guy from Hamilton in western Victoria. Their doggies were pleased to see me.

Called in at Aldi's for those KW and Pete Revell models. Grabbed 2 of each.

Thanks sneaky.
Nice work on the stone and I like the gate, did a gate and posts similar to it at the start of the month out near the vineyards.
Ross 1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2020, 09:10 AM   #2346

Originally Posted by Ross 1 View Post
Nice work on the stone and I like the gate, did a gate and posts similar to it at the start of the month out near the vineyards.
Yes its hard to find good hardwood gate makers who know what they are doing and using properly seasoned timbers. Guy did a great one up at Eldorado here a couple of years back using only trennels.

Is that Queenstown stack stone ?? You can buy it in a 1T bag here.

Old 27-08-2020, 12:45 PM   #2347
Ross 1

Yes its hard to find good hardwood gate makers who know what they are doing and using properly seasoned timbers. Guy did a great one up at Eldorado here a couple of years back using only trennels.

Is that Queenstown stack stone ?? You can buy it in a 1T bag here.
Correct on the Queenstown part but unfortunately it is pre made sheets. We had to match what the builder had used around the entrance way.
Old 27-08-2020, 02:52 PM   #2348
Work Horse
Budget Racer

Originally Posted by Ross 1 View Post
Correct on the Queenstown part but unfortunately it is pre made sheets. We had to match what the builder had used around the entrance way.
Yes the block at the bottom of the right pillar was a hint to me it was cladding. It has come up really well!

I see so much cheap stuff used that has on way to make a corner, so they just mitre the sheets. It looks terrible and so clearly fake.

Yours looks like the real thing. Could put roKWiz out of a job.
Old 27-08-2020, 03:09 PM   #2349
Ross 1

Originally Posted by Work Horse View Post

Thanks for that. I wish I was that good with stone.
Old 27-08-2020, 03:10 PM   #2350

Originally Posted by Work Horse View Post

Doubt it.

Old 27-08-2020, 09:19 PM   #2351
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

A little off topic but I looked up the 'heritagestonemason.com/Fordlouisvillerestoration' and the work you do, good stuff. The restorations, well done that is

Last edited by Mr_G6ET; 27-08-2020 at 09:43 PM.
Mr_G6ET is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2020, 11:44 PM   #2352
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

to add to the Thread, our pug puppy. We got him at 3 months, now 9 months.
He greets me with a lot of energy (as they do) and shadows during the day.

Really using the lounge

Mr_G6ET is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2020, 12:12 AM   #2353
gooseneck

I'm thinking of getting a pig as a pet but they squeal when you pick them up.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uI6WsOhhrmI

"Spongebob is on, spongebob is on!" my kinda gal, knows what a guy wants.

Last edited by gooseneck; 28-08-2020 at 12:18 AM.
gooseneck is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2020, 08:39 AM   #2354

Originally Posted by Mr_G6ET View Post
A little off topic but I looked up the 'heritagestonemason.com/Fordlouisvillerestoration' and the work you do, good stuff. The restorations, well done that is
Thanks mate.

Old 28-08-2020, 03:06 PM   #2355
.:4:.
Kicking back

The only good to come out of yesterday. I ordered dominos delivery. Hadnt looked at the tracker thing on the app as i thought there would be a bit more of a wait. 13 minutes from placing the order to having my doorbell ring. It was hot and good. Well, maybe not gourmet pizza place good, but for cheap convenience food delivered, it was good. When it came to rate the service, rate the delivery guy, i gave it all 5 stars. I guess the delivery rider only had to go 1 way, but if i ordered pickup, it would take me way more then 13 minutes to drive over, find a parking spot, pick it up and drive home.
.:4:. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2020, 06:11 PM   #2356

Finished build on phase 2 of the project I've been on for a while and again only just got it over the line.

The good news is that we have heard nothing but compliments about phase 1 so far. Huge uptake despite only being a soft launch.

Now onto phase 3 which looks to be just as if not more of a crazy deadline. I'm well worn though so I'm not exactly getting things done quicker or better as this year goes on
Old 28-08-2020, 08:20 PM   #2357

Seeing this nice looking 351 XC on the superslab outside Baddaginnie hitching a ride, Melbourne bound. Had a Pony car up front.

Old 28-08-2020, 08:49 PM   #2358

Seeing this nice looking 351 XC on the superslab outside Baddaginnie hitching a ride, Melbourne bound. Had a Pony car up front.

I wonder if the VE/VF could fall on the XC and cause a dent haha

I remember we had this wicked hail storm in Canberra a few years back where our pergola got torn to shreds yet my brothers X series ute was out in the open.

I was thinking about going out there to put a blanket over it but once they started pounding down through the pergola it was a big nope. I think I found one dent in it when I looked hard enough for one.

Both my WRX and mum's Cruze were parked under a carport and both our bonnets and quarter panels were dented to ****
Old 28-08-2020, 09:13 PM   #2359
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

30 km mountain bike ride with a mate around Lysterfield, Belgrave Heights and Churchill Park.

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2020, 09:36 PM   #2360

Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
30 km mountain bike ride with a mate around Lysterfield, Belgrave Heights and Churchill Park.
****en hell 30km. I remember the last MTB ride I did. Almost torn my balls off on a barb wired fence, and then got them smashed even with suspension on it.

Finally made it through all that **** jumping over fences and climbing rocks in near 40 degree heat to the sweet relief of the river. Most flogged I have ever been by far. My mate and I woke up with a hangover one day and thought we would do it.

I don't understand how people do this **** for fun, so more respect to you
Old 28-08-2020, 09:42 PM   #2361
CoupeKing

Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
How dare you!

And you should be ashamed and ridiculed if you didn't wear a mask.
CoupeKing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2020, 09:51 PM   #2362
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Finished a rather large annual project at work today. Glad to have it finished for another year and rather pleased to see it all completed to my usual OCD standard.

Now I need to see a Chiropractor to mend my poor back.
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2020, 10:27 PM   #2363
wodahs

my tri monthly cortisone injection
followed by the news they think the shoulder will need another reconstruction

rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually

just remember don't be afraid to try something new.
Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!

I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !!
wodahs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2020, 08:20 AM   #2364

Originally Posted by MITCHAY View Post
****en hell 30km. I remember the last MTB ride I did. Almost torn my balls off on a barb wired fence, and then got them smashed even with suspension on it.

Finally made it through all that **** jumping over fences and climbing rocks in near 40 degree heat to the sweet relief of the river. Most flogged I have ever been by far. My mate and I woke up with a hangover one day and thought we would do it.

Originally Posted by DFB FGXR6
But how were their pink cupcakes?
There's a great 80km circuit around Canberra but includes bakery, café stop every 10kms to ease to pain. (or make you completely sick)

Old 29-08-2020, 09:58 AM   #2365
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Originally Posted by MITCHAY View Post

My 50+ year old body is feeling it this morning.

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 29-08-2020, 06:10 PM   #2366
.:4:.
Kicking back

Was speaking to my mum yesterday. I had some paperwork to fill out. She initially said she would come over for an early lunch at my local sports club but had to shoot off because her boyfriend was coming over in the arvo and they were having friends around for dinner. So i simply put forward, invite your boyfriend for lunch. Lunch was really good. Ever since my mums boyfriend stopped trying to be my effing dad, i get along with him well. Yeah he is 12 years older then my mum, and 16 years younger then my grandpa, but he's alright.
.:4:. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2020, 07:37 PM   #2367
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Originally Posted by CoupeKing View Post
How dare you!

And you should be ashamed and ridiculed if you didn't wear a mask.

I hope for your sake that you are taking the pis.

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 30-08-2020, 10:14 PM   #2368

Finally got the mongrel Pug 307 running.

Halfway last attempt, paired keys and remote but it wouldn’t unlock the ECU for me. Today, success - I treated the ECU as a virgin, and started from scratch. The kicker? The pairing routine took all of a minute!

Now going through the auto-adaptations of engine cooling and idle settings. This will take most of an hour from stone cold.
Old 30-08-2020, 10:24 PM   #2369
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Melbourne Heartless City just lost the ANZ-League Grand Final

My cars

Current ride

Previous rides
Old 31-08-2020, 05:24 PM   #2370
TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys

After a solid month of car searching including one i am still waiting for a refund of my deposit on, i have a vehicle i never thought in a million years would be sitting in my garage