You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 19-11-2011, 01:11 AM   #1
56L
a.k.a PAULY

Default Leathermans tool banned at mine site

Some underground electrician cut himself whilst using a leathermans tool and now we all had to sign off on the banning of leathermans tools on the whole mine site,above and underground.

Some guys are devastated as they loved their leathermans tool LOL

1947 ford thames tipper V8 21 stud flat head
1939 ford beer barrel truck V8 24 stud flat head
HZJ diesel ute
HJ47 diesel ute
56L is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 01:20 AM   #2
74_XB_Ute
See..Everybody Loves Ford

Default Re: Leathermans tool banned at mine site

Sounds like a knee jerk reaction to me by the site OH&S. Similar stuff goes on in my work place. OH&S seems to never take into account that sometimes things happen but they are obligated to put something in place to prevent further incidents. It's the world we live in these days!
74_XB_Ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 02:51 AM   #3
05_ENFORCER

I would be flabbergasted if it was a sparky (albeit a mole) that used a leatherman and caused the incident.

Open bladed knives seem to be the OH&S idiots beef on many sites.

How about be engineer the idiots out of the equation.

Gees that would be different.
Old 19-11-2011, 03:22 AM   #4

I love my leatherman. Fantastic tool, if you use it correctly. I have used mine for 2 years without an issue. My work had a fairly strict "no knives" policy but after I put my case to them they relented and bent the rules. It's a pretty awesome tool if you are smart about it. I can't believe a minesite banned such a versatile tool! Sounds like post number one is right, very knee jerk reaction to a small incident.

Old 19-11-2011, 05:57 AM   #5
wrongwaynorris

I have been breaking the law for years by carrying my Swiss Army knife everywhere with me . Grew up in an era where you were encouraged to carry one . Which evil organisation encouraged me to carry a knife everywhere I hear some of you asking , the Scouts . Be prepared .
wrongwaynorris is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 09:29 AM   #6

With regards to knives ExxonMobil did the same about 6 months ago, only knives with a non-slip handle fitted with a guard and sharpened on one side are allowed, you are not even permited to have Stanley knives in your tool box......

They have also implemented a rule that while ever you are onsite gloves are to be worn all the time, it does not matter whether you are working or not, you could be just transiting the area, everyone has to be wearing gloves.....

Old 19-11-2011, 09:35 AM   #7

Some restaurants now dont serve meals with knifes for fear or being robbed by people using the restaurants cutlery

The world has gone crazy
Old 19-11-2011, 10:56 AM   #8

Sounds like where i work.
Something happenes - get rid of it altogether - even if it was an accident.
Old 19-11-2011, 12:05 PM   #9

Servicing a 12 tonne excavator, one mob made us use scaffolding and a safety harness.........it's getting worse by the day.......
Old 19-11-2011, 12:13 PM   #10
bungarra

Been banned on a lot of mine sites in WA for a couple of years. Most sites have to have the auto retracting blade. Unfortunately we have socially engineered out self responsibility and the idea of using a brain!
bungarra is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 12:25 PM   #11
fordomatic

WOW talk about knee jerk reactions, glad to see its not just in my job
fordomatic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 01:39 PM   #12

Originally Posted by bungarra
Been banned on a lot of mine sites in WA for a couple of years. Most sites have to have the auto retracting blade. Unfortunately we have socially engineered out self responsibility and the idea of using a brain!
Same goes for any of the Ford factories, must have auto retracting blade because some moron cut his finger.
Old 19-11-2011, 02:31 PM   #13

When I was at Honda we had one of the mechanics accidentally put a chisel into his arm, they where banned from then on.

Then another guy hit his hand with the hammer instead of what he was intending to hit so they got banned.
Old 19-11-2011, 02:47 PM   #14
belvo

Then another guy hit his hand with the hammer instead of what he was intending to hit so they got banned.
ha how can they ban a hammer?
belvo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 02:55 PM   #15
AdamL

Originally Posted by 74_XB_Ute
Sounds like a knee jerk reaction to me by the site OH&S. Similar stuff goes on in my work place. OH&S seems to never take into account that sometimes things happen but they are obligated to put something in place to prevent further incidents. It's the world we live in these days!
Couldn't agree more.

Our policy at work is that "all accidents are preventable" and with hindsight they are. There will always be little cuts and scratches in my industry. The pencil pushers just don't understand the real word.
AdamL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 03:12 PM   #16
Krytox

Damn, I keep mine in my work toolbox, Maybe I'll need to be inducted for 45minutes at each site.

I better have my $9 'disposable' 15watt Nicholson soldering iron test and tagged too.

Would a simple disclaimer waive this issues?¿

I'd much rather use a tool that I'm used to instead of a modified safety item i have to 'work out' how to use before a basic wire strip. Someone might lose concentration and wire my smart meter in reverse due to these complications.
Old 19-11-2011, 03:26 PM   #17
AdamL

Originally Posted by belvo
ha how can they ban a hammer?
It happens.
My work place banned sledge hammers without putting into place a suitable substitute. They eventually got slide hammers that take 2 people to use and are far more stressful on the body than any sledge hammer ever was.

Solving one problem by creating 6 other problems is not a good solution in my book.
AdamL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 04:00 PM   #18
redxm
64 Deluxe 4 door

Should have seen yesterdays effort. I was at a railway site inside a mine.............
redxm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 04:23 PM   #19
XD 351 Ute
Excessive Fuel Ingestion

Cement Australia is the latest to get on the downward travelling common sense train.

Luck for them I have a hammer and a short temper.
Failing that, I will try cutting anything with an oxy.........

Ed
Old 19-11-2011, 04:24 PM   #20
Lotte
YE-US! Wait. I don't know

When I was at Honda we had one of the mechanics accidentally put a chisel into his arm, they where banned from then on.

Wow, if my company did this, we'd have to ban electricity.... (only because we engineers are teh smart, and one of our guys, despite being an electronics engineer, whould never be allowed to touch anything with electricity running through it....)
The Weekender: '06 BF Pursuit, Toxic, lumpy af

Lotte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 04:44 PM   #21

A lot of mines now only allow stanly type knives that have auto retract blades . makes stripping cable a real pain

Old 19-11-2011, 04:47 PM   #22
tex
Broken

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: With the exception of maybe HSE2, nobody writes a review like Texy. 

How gay.

11.4 @ 128, 1.88 60ft.
tex is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 05:03 PM   #23

Originally Posted by tex
How gay.
very muchly.....
pottery beige is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 06:26 PM   #24
v gate

you can ban them but im dumb an i forgets stuff an things. if you no what i mean
v gate is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 07:23 PM   #25
Streets

How do they actually dig the mine these days? Are they still allowed to use dynamite or do they have to rub the rock with a damp sponge until it erodes?
Streets is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-11-2011, 07:34 PM   #26

Originally Posted by Streets
How do they actually dig the mine these days? Are they still allowed to use dynamite or do they have to rub the rock with a damp sponge until it erodes?
THIS .............................................
Old 19-11-2011, 09:03 PM   #27
LyleXR8

Weve just had electric ramps installed that raise and lower to avoid a trip hazard cos there is upto 100mm height difference over the 40 trucks, all because 1 clown stood on a rubber guard that had DO NOT STEP written on it and twisted an ankle, lord knows how many thousand it will cost to do all 3 and how long til they **** themselves. We manage to walk over a conveyer and up 4 meters of stairs twice a day but can't step up a 100mm step. Also changed the processes after we leave the ramps cos another clown pulled out in front of a grader, LV and another truck in the one day, so instead of fixing the problem driver they changed the rules, blocked off quick access routes and make us do a massive lap out through the fuel farm and parking area in a first gear restriction zone,
LyleXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2011, 01:44 PM   #28
sexyxe

I am awe struck at the lunacy and idiocy of OH&S.

Best part of where I work, is the people who make the rules never use the equipment and dont understand it anyway. Example - One limit for the chopper im in says 'No inverted flight. No rolls. No loops.' No freaking one in their right mind would attempt that anyway!
sexyxe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2011, 03:44 PM   #29
mrghia

Company's need to keep blunt people away from sharp objects!
We had a contractors at our work of a day a instead of using a duck knife to open a box he used a stanly knife and ended up cutting his arm open 25 stitches later the company decided to take all the stanly knives away from the people that need them. Whats gonna happen next company's gonna remove all water hoses because someone thought they would wash a power point?
Old 20-11-2011, 03:56 PM   #30

Originally Posted by mrghia
Company's need to keep blunt people away from sharp objects!
We had a contractors at our work of a day a instead of using a duck knife to open a box he used a stanly knife and ended up cutting his arm open 25 stitches later the company decided to take all the stanly knives away from the people that need them. Whats gonna happen next company's gonna remove all water hoses because someone thought they would wash a power point?
I reckon the stanly knife is the most dangerous tool you'll ever use, so many people have done themselves over with those bastard things, but thats not to mean you ban them, they're fairly useful.

1) ALWAYS USE THE RIGHT TOOL FOR THE RIGHT JOB

2) If cutting something with a stanly knife, cut away from yourself, so if you slip, you slip outwards, not into your hand/arm.

If I'm stripping wires, I'm using a pair of side cutters, wire strippers or the trusty "SuperCrimp III" from Belanco.