You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 20-01-2011, 12:38 AM   #1
BradZ
I'm still alive

Default P Plater car-sneaky.

I am currently looking for a p plate car for when i do get my P's and have been offered a really cheap and really clean xr6t for 10,500. Its a BA, 6 speed manual, full leather, 270rwkw. Looks completely stock. I realise this is illegal, but if/when i do get my bonnet popped is there anything i can do to make the turbo less noticeable? Its got a heat sheild over the extractors which covers the most part of the turbo, only real prob is the 'TURBO INTERCOOLED' badge on the intake. Any ideas?

Visual
-Lowered on SSSL's
-5000k Headlight conversion
-DJR Bobtail
-Darkest legal tint
-Tinted taillights

Audio
-Ford Premium Sound
-Pioneer 1000W 12'' Sub
-Pioneer Class D Digital 800W Amp

Performance
-Custom Cold Air Intake

Build Thread http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11344773
Old 20-01-2011, 12:43 AM   #2
snappy

Not unless you can change the engine no . One look at the rego sticker and you done there's no need to pop the bonnet .
An when the police run your rego plate with the new fandagle scanners it well send off alarm bells in the tune of turbo turbo .

Sorry Mate but thats life

My advice is if the car nice enough Buy it sell it for $14k and buy yourself a nice crusier
Old 20-01-2011, 12:54 AM   #3
BradZ
I'm still alive

Oh yeah the rego has xr6t doesn't it. That's not good. How do i change the engine no. lol?

Visual
-Lowered on SSSL's
-DJR Bobtail
-Darkest legal tint
-Tinted taillights

Audio
-Ford Premium Sound
-Pioneer 1000W 12'' Sub

Performance
-Custom Cold Air Intake

Old 20-01-2011, 12:59 AM   #4
MexicanBatman

since when is the exact model listed on the rego label

mines a ford sedan, then all other details are reg number vin and engine numbers and exp date that all
Old 20-01-2011, 01:03 AM   #5
snappy

Originally Posted by MexicanBatman
since when is the exact model listed on the rego label

mines a ford sedan, then all other details are reg number vin and engine numbers and exp date that all
Your probly right . Needless to say the engine no , will be tied to the car and when the plate is run through the computer it will sing and hell be proper ******
Old 20-01-2011, 01:05 AM   #6
BradZ
I'm still alive

Hm, another interesting thing. My mate whos on his red P's has a VT Clubby, has been pulled up and had his bonnet popped and somehow got away with it and still drives around happily. Any idea how this happened?

Visual
-Lowered on SSSL's
-DJR Bobtail
-Darkest legal tint
-Tinted taillights

Audio
-Ford Premium Sound
-Pioneer 1000W 12'' Sub

Performance
-Custom Cold Air Intake

Old 20-01-2011, 01:07 AM   #7

Originally Posted by BradZ
I am currently looking for a p plate car for when i do get my P's and have been offered a really cheap and really clean xr6t for 10,500. Its a BA, 6 speed manual, full leather, 270rwkw. Looks completely stock. I realise this is illegal, but if/when i do get my bonnet popped is there anything i can do to make the turbo less noticeable? Its got a heat sheild over the extractors which covers the most part of the turbo, only real prob is the 'TURBO INTERCOOLED' badge on the intake. Any ideas?
If it's illegal, then why are you doing it?

Old 20-01-2011, 01:08 AM   #8
Linkachu

Hm, another interesting thing. My mate whos on his red P's has a VT Clubby, has been pulled up and had his bonnet popped and somehow got away with it and still drives around happily. Any idea how this happened?

Luck, that is all it is.
Old 20-01-2011, 01:10 AM   #9
ThaFlash
Trusted Seller

clueless, doesn't even have a licence, 270kw for a test tube baby.

you are a headline waiting to happen mate, sad thing is will you take 3 mates with ya?
Old 20-01-2011, 01:13 AM   #10
BradZ
I'm still alive

Assuming im a stereotypical P Plater. And before you start on the fact that i want a turbo doesn't mean I'm going to drive like an idiot. I see you have 301kw? Does that mean you also drive like an idiot?

Visual
-Lowered on SSSL's
-DJR Bobtail
-Darkest legal tint
-Tinted taillights

Audio
-Ford Premium Sound
-Pioneer 1000W 12'' Sub

Performance
-Custom Cold Air Intake

Old 20-01-2011, 01:16 AM   #11
snappy

cop probably didn't know what he was looking at or just didn't care . Some fella's have all the luck .

Look you could change the engine number , I don't know the best way to do this . I've never had the need to know. But im guessing if someone of authority pops the bonnet and discovers your little secret it would no longer be just a misdemeanor .
Old 20-01-2011, 01:21 AM   #12
BradZ
I'm still alive

Thats the kinda replies i was after, thanks. And i still have the prob of two slightly suspicious pipes dissapearing under the heatshield. Any cop with half a brain would know anyway. And then if i do get caught, theres 10,500 down the drain. Hmm.

Visual
-Lowered on SSSL's
-DJR Bobtail
-Darkest legal tint
-Tinted taillights

Audio
-Ford Premium Sound
-Pioneer 1000W 12'' Sub

Performance
-Custom Cold Air Intake

Old 20-01-2011, 01:21 AM   #13
buggo
[BU66OS]

If anything happens, like you rear end someone or crash it or whatever, you won't be covered by insurance because it's illegal for you to drive that car. You will have to pay off that hyperthetical Rolls-Royce for the rest of your life.
If I were you, buy a cheap(ish) car. Something cheap on petty, cheap on parts, don't mod it much. With all the money that would have been spent on the turbo (extra petty, performance parts, bling parts, etc) save it and save some extra and then in 3 years when you have your blacks, buy a BF or even FG for 15-20k.

BA XR8 Manual
Old 20-01-2011, 01:28 AM   #14
BradZ
I'm still alive

Something about putting it in the old girls name and me as the second driver is something I've heard of people doing. I am getting either BA or BF, but if its auto i want a BF with the better gearbox. Are there any differences between the BA to BF manual boxes?

Visual
-Lowered on SSSL's
-DJR Bobtail
-Darkest legal tint
-Tinted taillights

Audio
-Ford Premium Sound
-Pioneer 1000W 12'' Sub

Performance
-Custom Cold Air Intake

Old 20-01-2011, 01:30 AM   #15
Linkachu

All my cars before i turned 21 cost me $500, pieces of **** that i didnt care about. Now 21 and a proud owner of an EF XR8 that i drive sensibly... Most of the time =P
Old 20-01-2011, 01:31 AM   #16
Skotty

I'd be more concerned about driving it and getting crashed into...
Old 20-01-2011, 01:31 AM   #17
GSH
AU2 XR8

just dont do it...save yourself them hassle of being caught and prosecuted.....P platers shouldnt be having these cars anyway

PERTH W.A

0406 553 226
Old 20-01-2011, 01:32 AM   #18
snappy

Get a panel van best thing i done when i was your age.
Allthough my science teacher didn't think so when i knocked on his door picking his daughter up one mourning for a little joy ride
Old 20-01-2011, 01:33 AM   #19
BradZ
I'm still alive

True, might go for a tidy, manual xr6. Thanks all.

Visual
-Lowered on SSSL's
-DJR Bobtail
-Darkest legal tint
-Tinted taillights

Audio
-Ford Premium Sound
-Pioneer 1000W 12'' Sub

Performance
-Custom Cold Air Intake

Old 20-01-2011, 01:34 AM   #20
snappy

Something about putting it in the old girls name and me as the second driver is something I've heard of people doing. I am getting either BA or BF, but if its auto i want a BF with the better gearbox. Are there any differences between the BA to BF manual boxes?

You can put it in your mum's name but you cant be nominated as a secnd driver it illegal .
Or in words a young fella may understand . COMPUTER SAYS NO
Old 20-01-2011, 01:37 AM   #21
BradZ
I'm still alive

I do understand that. So, half change of topic, any difference in manual boxes from BA to BF?

Visual
-Lowered on SSSL's
-DJR Bobtail
-Darkest legal tint
-Tinted taillights

Audio
-Ford Premium Sound
-Pioneer 1000W 12'' Sub

Performance
-Custom Cold Air Intake

Old 20-01-2011, 01:42 AM   #22
Phyber
BF= Backend's Farked

Yep, 5 vs 6 speed, and much better strength I believe. BF's got better stock gearboxes in manual and auto guise. 5 speeds are regularly described as glass gearboxes on the forums!

-------------------------------------------
BFII XR6T - ZF box
Racewars 2017 result - 800m @ 229km/h - 1000m @ 241km/h
PB: 317rwkw - 11.94 @ 120mph - 2.093 60'
PB: Stock/208rwkw - 13.594 @ 105mph - 2.297 60'
-------------------------------------------
Old 20-01-2011, 01:44 AM   #23

I'm curious why this thought is even being entertained? Buy the car and work it until you are legally aloud to drive it, by that time you will have some experience on the road and will be more likely to respect the power the car has and know how to control it.

Old 20-01-2011, 01:55 AM   #24

Good luck mate
Old 20-01-2011, 01:59 AM   #25
buggo
[BU66OS]

Yeah you can put it in your mums name, it works out alot cheaper. But because it is a turbo you still will not be covered by insurance.
The assesor will come see the details, driver, what happened, etc. He'll check out the car, see the turbo, denied. I'm sorry mate there is no way around it.
Please take my advice, something I wish someone told me before I bought my car.
The car I have now is my first car-BA XR6, and while it's awesome having a cool car on your p's, I sometimes regret it.
For a start, petrol is a killer, a big chunk of my money goes on petrol. Especially when I was at school doing my HSC, and not working heaps. I would never have much money, I wanted to do my car up a bit, but couldn't afford much more than a can of paint for the dash.
Also, because I was on my red's, blokes at school and around with VN's and Vt's etc would always try and g you up for a race. And being 17, and knowing I'd win, wouldn't really never say no. I remember after school every week or two there's be 5-10 cars go to this local road that had a 0-400m marked out. And this road isn't very good. Its uneven, rocky, has ditches lined by tress either side, reletivley narrow, so two cars side by side going well over 100 is not smart. and has two corners on each end of the 'drag strip' so cars are a bit of an issue, even though we had spotters.
Than there was the Friday and Saturday nights. Because we were 17 and too young to go out, we'd just go driving looking for races. Some things I did then I regret big time. If I saw some dumb kid doing what I was doing I'd deck him, no question. Really dumb now that I look back.
I alsways said that I'd never do dumb stuff or be a tool, but you just get in the moment and before you know it your going around a corner side ways. It has alot to do with age I think. Even though it wasn't all that long ago, I don't do, or even enjoy that kind of stuff at all anymore, in fact I'm half embarressed if I chirp the wheels accidently in the wet.
Alot of that growing up I think had alot to do with when I was in a crash. I was in the back of my mates car, being dumb, he goes around a corner at 60/70 odd, reefs the hand brake, losses control, and we smashed into a power pole. I was in the back with the window down and my head and shoulders was chucked out the window at a hundred miles an hour. I missed hitting the pole with my head by about 2 inches. I could have shat myself.
You don't want to have an experience like that beleive me, it could've ended with me not here and my mate being locked away.

Man I'm starting to ramble but if I can help it I don't want anyone to be in that situation if at all possible.

Too get away from the gloomy stuff, another reason is also getting a better, quicker car when you get your blacks or even on greens.
Take me for instance, I bought an auto xr6 with no options a few weeks before I got my red's because that is all I could afford. I worked out, with all the money I had spent on it, all runnin cost included, I could have bought a BF manual with options in great nick if I just waited 18 months odd. If I waited another 18 odd months I could have an FG turbo or even BF Typhoon, a much better car that would only cost me some waiting and a cheapo run around for a few years.

Enough from me though, talk too much haha.

Too answer your question (I assume your talking about turbo boxes)
BA=T5Z. 5 speed manual
BA2-BF2=T56. 6 speed. (I'm pretty sure they have the same box)
FG=TR6060. 6speed.

BA XR8 Manual
Old 20-01-2011, 02:02 AM   #26
BradZ
I'm still alive

I know what you mean, im steering away from the turbo. And no i meant the N/A boxes.

Visual
-Lowered on SSSL's
-DJR Bobtail
-Darkest legal tint
-Tinted taillights

Audio
-Ford Premium Sound
-Pioneer 1000W 12'' Sub

Performance
-Custom Cold Air Intake

Old 20-01-2011, 02:06 AM   #27
buggo
[BU66OS]

With n/a, ba is the T5, and the BF got the T56. The 6 speeds are alot better, so try to get one of them if possible.

BA XR8 Manual
Old 20-01-2011, 02:22 AM   #28
XRGhia
meh.

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Contributions in the technical arena. 

someone needs a cheap gas system to put on their car...
Old 20-01-2011, 02:33 AM   #29
BradZ
I'm still alive

Er, why?

Visual
-Lowered on SSSL's
-DJR Bobtail
-Darkest legal tint
-Tinted taillights

Audio
-Ford Premium Sound
-Pioneer 1000W 12'' Sub

Performance
-Custom Cold Air Intake

Old 20-01-2011, 02:45 AM   #30
XRGhia
meh.

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Contributions in the technical arena. 

it was aimed at Buggo-GT... 50L of gas for $17 plus you can do up to 400kms of hard-ish driving with it tuned correctly with using up 50L

now, back on topic...