Old 03-09-2013, 08:56 AM   #1
Scrawny

Default Highway Patrol GT R-spec.

I don't know if this is in the right spot so feel free to move it if not.

On Sunday the 8th September (this Sunday), we are having our Spring fair for our school, Our Lady of the Nativity, Lawson.

One of our dad's is a Highway Patrol officer & has wrangled a day release for the GT to have as a display.

He's driving it up on Sunday morning so keep your eyes open for it & if your up in the Mountains on Sunday, stop in & check it out.

Scrawny is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 10:00 AM   #2
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 
Default Re: Highway Patrol GT R-spec.

Lucky School

Awesome Car HWY150

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

200BUX - AFF Drag Nats 2019 EF Wagon
Originally Posted by rednose View Post
Common knowledge that the more weight you take out of the car the less power you need to run the time.
Sorted is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 10:20 AM   #3
strobe

I want one.
strobe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 10:26 AM   #4
Scrawny

Originally Posted by strobe View Post
I want one.
He was saying they've had offers of over $150k for it.
Old 03-09-2013, 10:34 AM   #5
PepeLePew
Workshop & Performance

The children will wonder why they grow up dreaming of being police officers for years after the immediate memory dies....

Alpine 7909 30th/Alpine 5959/Audison Bitone.1/DLS Ultimate A6+A7/ Focal KRX2/Morel Ultimo 12/AudioEngine B1
A stereo that happens to have a XR5 wrapped around it
PepeLePew is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 10:55 AM   #6
brismike

I want to be a cop in NSW!

Wife's - 2018 Peugeot 3008 Gtline, Pearl White - 6 Speed Auto - Fully Optioned.

My Toy - 2014 Smart Fortwo Passion Crystal White, Black Tridion Cell - 5 Speed Auto with Flappy Paddles - Tint - Twin Exhaust

The only good Commodore is the one now very very quickly disappearing in my rear view mirror.
brismike is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 11:03 AM   #7

Finally someone has put the correct badge number on the side
Old 03-09-2013, 11:26 AM   #8
Dash_XR

What next C63's or Ferraris? I'd prefer more police on the streets then another unnecessary expense doing minor traffic stops.
Rapid Systems Intercooler & Battery Relocation - ID 1000 Injectors - Process West Surge Tank - Venom 100 Cell Bolt On Cat - XForce 3.5 inch Catback - Plazmaman 4 inch Turboside Intake - Crow HD Valve Springs - Glowshift Gauges (Oil temp, Oil Pressure, Boost, Volt) - Malwood Opt 5 - XR50 Interior - FG2 Limited Ed 19's - Nitto Invo's

Dash_XR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 11:35 AM   #9
bangm001
Mopar! But Own F6's..

BOSS 400 hey!! MMMM...
Old 03-09-2013, 12:18 PM   #10
FALCONXTV8
JUST CRUIZEN

Originally Posted by Dash_XR View Post
What next C63's or Ferraris? I'd prefer more police on the streets then another unnecessary expense doing minor traffic stops.
...not again

2012 KIA OPTIMA PLATINUM for the wife
FALCONXTV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 12:30 PM   #11
Dash_XR

I can't think of one police related task that a GT RSpec could do that an XR6 Turbo couldn't. People don't like it when pollies waste tax money on "business" trips but its ok for the police to waste thousands on the most expensive cars they can buy?

Most HWY Patrol guys I've worked with are bigger hoons then me too lol
Rapid Systems Intercooler & Battery Relocation - ID 1000 Injectors - Process West Surge Tank - Venom 100 Cell Bolt On Cat - XForce 3.5 inch Catback - Plazmaman 4 inch Turboside Intake - Crow HD Valve Springs - Glowshift Gauges (Oil temp, Oil Pressure, Boost, Volt) - Malwood Opt 5 - XR50 Interior - FG2 Limited Ed 19's - Nitto Invo's

Old 03-09-2013, 12:32 PM   #12
FALCONXTV8
JUST CRUIZEN

I thought this was going to be a positive thread about a guy informing people of this great GT R Spec promotional tool being used for a school fair. Obviously I was wrong.

2012 KIA OPTIMA PLATINUM for the wife
FALCONXTV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 12:35 PM   #13
Dash_XR

It's still positive, I'm the only one that thinks its a joke.

Old 03-09-2013, 12:40 PM   #14
GQ_Smooth
Long live the inline 6

I can't think of one police related task that a GT RSpec could do that an XR6 Turbo couldn't. People don't like it when pollies waste tax money on "business" trips but its ok for the police to waste thousands on the most expensive cars they can buy?

You will find that HSV/FPV being used as police cars are either supplied free of charge as a promotional tool to be given back after the designated time period or at the same cost as their regular Highway patrol cars. They are not charged 1 extra cent from their budgets for use of the vehicle.

No need to stress or write a letter to your local member.

LOL @ member (Didn't even mean to be funny).

Hers
BFII Ghia
GQ_Smooth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 12:42 PM   #15

It's still positive, I'm the only one that thinks its a joke.
I agree with you.
I am on the fence about this whole thing, I like the idea of the police having promotional cars like this but not when us tax payers are funding it.

I would be more positive towards it if Ford had donated it (like Porsche with the Panamera) and a tuner donated the time and resources (did it really even need to be tuned and shouted to everyone it has 400kw when Police are enforcing the "speed kills" mantra?)
It just doesn't look good when many of these departments are screaming for funds from governments but then go and spend $$ to do this when really it could have been better spent.
Old 03-09-2013, 12:44 PM   #16
Dash_XR

Originally Posted by GQ_Smooth View Post
You will find that HSV/FPV being used as police cars are either supplied free of charge as a promotional tool to be given back after the designated time period or at the same cost as their regular Highway patrol cars. They are not charged 1 extra cent from their budgets for use of the vehicle.

No need to stress or write a letter to your local member.

LOL @ member (Didn't even mean to be funny).
If that's the case then that's fine.

Old 03-09-2013, 12:47 PM   #17

Queensland Police have similar cars.

Last edited by csv8; 14-09-2013 at 08:18 PM.
csv8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 12:47 PM   #18

Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Very helpful and gracious with photoshop work to help others.. 

It will be a great draw card for the fair I'm sure but I have to agree with Dash_XR
Russ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 01:11 PM   #19
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 

Really - sooking about your poor tax dollars lol

Guess you also sook about your poor tax dollars paying for all the road signs advertising the police eg Speed Kills, Wipe off 5 etc etc

Your missing the point of this car completely and you even missed this thread about the car and about how they paid for it or did you sook in there as well - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...t=police+400kw

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

Common knowledge that the more weight you take out of the car the less power you need to run the time.
Old 03-09-2013, 01:50 PM   #20
GTP534

^^^^^ Thanks Sorted.
Old 03-09-2013, 01:57 PM   #21

impressive vehicle, should be a very good drawcard for the youngsters......wonder what goodies she has inside.....any pics??

may your day's be filled with smiles, your life be filled with love, may your children know nothing but happiness and joy, cherish the memory of those who strove before us for they cleared the way, spare a thought for those who serve we owe so much to so many, life and the freedom to enjoy it is a special gift that can be taken away far too soon!
Old 03-09-2013, 02:10 PM   #22
Scrawny

Originally Posted by poppa smurf View Post
impressive vehicle, should be a very good drawcard for the youngsters......wonder what goodies she has inside.....any pics??
All the boys at the school are pretty excited about it (along with a lot of the dads).

I tried to talk them into a 50 ticket at $50 a pop raffle for a ride in the passenger seat down the strip at Eastern Creek but they wouldn't be in it.

I'll post a few photos on Monday (hopefully).
Old 03-09-2013, 02:13 PM   #23

Originally Posted by Scrawny View Post
All the boys at the school are pretty excited about it (along with a lot of the dads).

I tried to talk them into a 50 ticket at $50 a pop raffle for a ride in the passenger seat down the strip at Eastern Creek but they wouldn't be in it.

I'll post a few photos on Monday (hopefully).
look forward to them, especially the technical gear inside to see whats new, thanks for posting.

the way schools have to pay for everything now a small "viewing fee" would have helped the coffers a bit.

P.S. I would have been first in line to take a look at that.

may your day's be filled with smiles, your life be filled with love, may your children know nothing but happiness and joy, cherish the memory of those who strove before us for they cleared the way, spare a thought for those who serve we owe so much to so many, life and the freedom to enjoy it is a special gift that can be taken away far too soon!
Old 03-09-2013, 02:16 PM   #24
Sorted

Pics as requested - some are off facebook so if you have facebook blocked at work the pics won't show and get back to work

What is under the HOOD

The Office

Eagle Radar

The Disco Lights

Even fitted with Solar Panels

Dick Johnson with HWP150

Dick Johnson signature on the COP 400's engine

Dick Johnson going for a spin HWP150

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

Old 03-09-2013, 02:17 PM   #25

Originally Posted by Sorted View Post
Really - sooking about your poor tax dollars lol

Guess you also sook about your poor tax dollars paying for all the road signs advertising the police eg Speed Kills, Wipe off 5 etc etc

Your missing the point of this car completely and you even missed this thread about the car and about how they paid for it or did you sook in there as well - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...t=police+400kw
I do criticise the use of tax payers $$ for the rubbish speed kills theme. That money too could be better spent building roads that are above 3rd world standard.

Like I said I have no issues them having promotional cars (VicPol have done so in the past) but I do have a problem with government departments screaming for $$ giving reasons that public safety is at risk then go and do this with the money. If they are struggling so much for the $$ then things like this should be fully funded by the promoting organisation (Ford).

According to the link below the car was funded by Govco.
Funded by the NSW Motor Accidents Authority, the crime-fighting RSPEC carries build-number 150 (of 350), with the number specifically chosen to commemorate the NSW Police Force’s 150th anniversary in 2012.
http://www.themotorreport.com.au/554...w-police-fleet
Old 03-09-2013, 02:33 PM   #26
PepeLePew
Workshop & Performance

Originally Posted by Scrawny View Post
I don't know if this is in the right spot so feel free to move it if not.

On Sunday the 8th September (this Sunday), we are having our Spring fair for our school, Our Lady of the Nativity, Lawson.

One of our dad's is a Highway Patrol officer & has wrangled a day release for the GT to have as a display.

He's driving it up on Sunday morning so keep your eyes open for it & if your up in the Mountains on Sunday, stop in & check it out.
I'll just requote the original post for those who have drifted off.....lets drop the who funded what discussion or discuss in the other thread about this vehicle.

Alpine 7909 30th/Alpine 5959/Audison Bitone.1/DLS Ultimate A6+A7/ Focal KRX2/Morel Ultimo 12/AudioEngine B1
A stereo that happens to have a XR5 wrapped around it
PepeLePew is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 02:36 PM   #27
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

Tax payers money pppfftt. It was never ours it's the governments cut. Nothing we can do about it. Great car, good on them.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 02:42 PM   #28
rancidpunx
FPV GTR

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For technical contribution to all things car-care related. And helping/advising forum members with the best possible information. 

I believe it got Injectors as well as the noticeable exhaust, filter and of course a tune. Its 400kw at the wheels as well.
- Veridian Green PJ Ranger XLT -
The Work Truck

rancidpunx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2013, 02:43 PM   #29
yakcam
I drank what?

Man, the car looks fantastic! I can't wait to see more pics after the event.

I hope the spring fair goes well for you all
Old 03-09-2013, 02:54 PM   #30

I wonder what tricky dicky thought about the vehicle and how it compared to his racing stable of old.

something "star wars" about the whole vehicle, very impressive.

good luck from me for your day......I hope it pans out well.